Customer Reviews for

Eve (Eve Duncan Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

How disappointing....an I was so excited to get this

Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get u...
Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get up to speed, then continued till I read the entire Eve Duncan saga and then everything else Iris Johansen wrote.

That said, I was so anticipating some closure for me as a reader and for the long-suffering Eve.

I do not appreciate authors who FORCE the reader to buy the next book and unless you are willing to chuck it all and say enough is enough you will now have to wait for July to see "what next" and then I am sure you will have to wail another 3 or 4 months for JANE to see POSSIBLY THE ENDING...COULD IT BE...or no wait, maybe we have to wait for her to write BONNIE before we can finishing sighing, crying and feeling bad and possibly feel a little BETTER for this character.

I believe a good auther makes you care about the characters, makes you get caught up in the plot and surroundings. So for anyone reading this entire series, you are not reduced to the greed of the author.

I bought this curled up and was so excited to get a bit of a glimpse into the past to hopefully finish the "future" Eve....not so.

I had found her last couple of Eve books to be rushed and disjointed feeling. If you compare the first 3 or 4 and the read the last 3 alone, it felt rusehd, no real depth to the plot or characters, which may be hard to do when you are reliving the same...OH WOE IS ME AND MY POOR BONNIE over and over. But for the most part, there was reason to continue to read and HOPE. Until now.

To so blatantly end a book where you must buy the next one to know what happened to a beloved character from book before????? unfair. I read one review where she states....Will Joe live? so I am not divulging anything not already spoiled by another reviewer (though why someone would put that in a review where someone may not have read the book is beyond me...that ruined it for them now didnt it)Until this point, each of the books in this series reiterated the Bonnie plot line and Eves work so that you really could just pick up say book #8 as I did and totally enjoy reading it on its own merit...not so any more.

I believe we will find the same "cliff hanging buy my next book" ending when we read Joe...we can only hopefully HOPE that Jane finally gives this series its ending.

You get captured by the story line...a murdered child....from the beginning, but the flaws become more evident with each and every book right down to EVE...is jane JANE or ADOPTED DAUGHTER JANE ADJ for short?? She is never just referred to as my "daugher" Jane. I was always curious why? I have friends with adopted children and they never say AND MY ADOPTED SON...it is and my son Josh...but every single book constantly refers to adopted Jane...like it is a poor thing...poor adopted Jane, instead of a loving thing.

I don't feel it was wrong to hope for closure for EVE in a bookd titled EVE.

Possibly the release lineup should have been Jane...then Quinn then EVE so the final chapter could have been final closure for the long-suffering Eve....and possibly for all fans looking to possibly see some happiness for this character.

If you are looking for something to close this for you, keep looking.

posted by Booker13 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    How disappointing....an I was so excited to get this

    Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get up to speed, then continued till I read the entire Eve Duncan saga and then everything else Iris Johansen wrote.

    That said, I was so anticipating some closure for me as a reader and for the long-suffering Eve.

    I do not appreciate authors who FORCE the reader to buy the next book and unless you are willing to chuck it all and say enough is enough you will now have to wait for July to see "what next" and then I am sure you will have to wail another 3 or 4 months for JANE to see POSSIBLY THE ENDING...COULD IT BE...or no wait, maybe we have to wait for her to write BONNIE before we can finishing sighing, crying and feeling bad and possibly feel a little BETTER for this character.

    I believe a good auther makes you care about the characters, makes you get caught up in the plot and surroundings. So for anyone reading this entire series, you are not reduced to the greed of the author.

    I bought this curled up and was so excited to get a bit of a glimpse into the past to hopefully finish the "future" Eve....not so.

    I had found her last couple of Eve books to be rushed and disjointed feeling. If you compare the first 3 or 4 and the read the last 3 alone, it felt rusehd, no real depth to the plot or characters, which may be hard to do when you are reliving the same...OH WOE IS ME AND MY POOR BONNIE over and over. But for the most part, there was reason to continue to read and HOPE. Until now.

    To so blatantly end a book where you must buy the next one to know what happened to a beloved character from book before????? unfair. I read one review where she states....Will Joe live? so I am not divulging anything not already spoiled by another reviewer (though why someone would put that in a review where someone may not have read the book is beyond me...that ruined it for them now didnt it)Until this point, each of the books in this series reiterated the Bonnie plot line and Eves work so that you really could just pick up say book #8 as I did and totally enjoy reading it on its own merit...not so any more.

    I believe we will find the same "cliff hanging buy my next book" ending when we read Joe...we can only hopefully HOPE that Jane finally gives this series its ending.

    You get captured by the story line...a murdered child....from the beginning, but the flaws become more evident with each and every book right down to EVE...is jane JANE or ADOPTED DAUGHTER JANE ADJ for short?? She is never just referred to as my "daugher" Jane. I was always curious why? I have friends with adopted children and they never say AND MY ADOPTED SON...it is and my son Josh...but every single book constantly refers to adopted Jane...like it is a poor thing...poor adopted Jane, instead of a loving thing.

    I don't feel it was wrong to hope for closure for EVE in a bookd titled EVE.

    Possibly the release lineup should have been Jane...then Quinn then EVE so the final chapter could have been final closure for the long-suffering Eve....and possibly for all fans looking to possibly see some happiness for this character.

    If you are looking for something to close this for you, keep looking.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

    I JUST FINISHED QUINN ,AS EVE LEFT ME HANGING. SADLY, QUINN ALSO LEFT ME HANGING. THE BOOKS ARE TOO WORDY AND DRAWN OUT. THE TRIOLOGY WOULD HAVE BEEN A GREAT BOOK IF ONE NOVEL AND LESS OF THE BACK AND FORTH THOUGHTS OF "SHOULD I OR SHOULDN'T I??" STUFF. I WILL READ BONNIE ONLY BECAUSE I AM COMPULSIVER AND MUST KNOW WHO DID MURDER HER. HOWEVER, I WILL PROBABLY SCAN OVER MUCH OF IT AS I DID WITH QUINN.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Poor

    Will not waste time or money on next two books

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best of the Eve Duncan Series

    I have waited so long to get some type of closure on Eve's unending struggle to find answers about the death and whereabouts of her daughter. This book was very fast paced. I read it in a day and wanted to scream when I got to the last page. I can't wait till July when I can read Quinn. Will he live? Will he die? I almost don't want to know.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I love her books, but I have to agree with some of the other rat

    I love her books, but I have to agree with some of the other ratings. I felt as if the author had lost her mind. I'm so sick of the Eve Duncan's series that I'm finding it hard to finish them. Iris is so repetitious in terms that people just do not use. Either Eve is Strong or she's Weak! please make up you mind. The phrase that she constantly uses is Now!!!! Now hand me a cup of coffee, Now get in the car, Now leave me along....OMG! lady get a Thesaurus, of course this may not help her as she may not be able to navigate it. I know that some may say this is fictitional, but as a writer you want your reader to become part of the charaters, so you have to make it believable. This series should have been laid to rest a long time ago. I'm a mother and if anything happened to my child I would be devistated, but not to this degree. Eve or should I say Iris would have done us justice by letting Eve put a gun to her head and put us all out of our misery. Don't eve get me starte on Joe, let me just say if this is what a Navy Seal is like, who need's them, the man is a weakling.

    She's never going to love you, she's to obscessed over finding her dead daughter and you are second fiddle, grow a pair. I'm going to finish this series as I want to lay it to rest, if she creates another Eve Duncan book I will leave it on the shelf. It's really a shame, because her other books that do not include this Charater are really well written, oh don't get me wrong, she definitly loves the Now!! phrase. For those of you that gave this series more than a couple of stars, are you insane or family members? I'm not here to insult, but really????? My girl friend read all her books with this author over a 2 week span and is so burned out by this Charater that she has stop reading, which is sad as we are avid readers. I have Quinn & Bonnie to go and I'm dreading it. I can usually read a book within a day or two, these last books are taking me weeks. Iris could have written one book and ended this series, but no she's so greedy that she had to break them into 3, forcing you to purchase them all just to see if we will finally get closure. The first part of the book is a recap of the last, and it's not just a few pages but a few chapters. I loved this Charater at first, but now I hate this Charater. She's definitly not James Patterson: now he knows what diverse is, even with his Alex Cross series. If you haven't started this series, my advice is don't....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Shame on Iris

    I was appalled when I read this book. Iris Johansen should be ashamed of writing about erotic sex of a sixteen year old. I have read her other books about Eve and was excited to read about Eve when she had Bonnie. I knew she was sixteen when she had Bonnie out of wedlock, but to write in detail about her erotic sex was to much for me. If Iris wants to write about something like this let her write it about an adult. Will not buy another book.
    Patricia D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Hard to finish

    I wasnt crazy about it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I've read 10 of the 11 books in the Eve Duncan series. Start at the beginning and don't skip a book. Things happen quickly. This is not a foregone A+B+C=D book. There are twists, turns, cinkers, and eye opening surprises. Eve, her family, her friends, her clients, the missing and their families are people with lives - some better that others but all just people. Eve's dedication to her family and her craft open her up to many edge of the world moments and mind bogglikng turn abouts. The home by the lake provides Eve and her family a safe haven to step back form the madness - that is until it follows them home. Johansen's story telling draws you in. Step by step until your are as entrenched in Finding her daughter and the killer who stole her from Eve. You think you'll just quit this series, that is until the next one comes out and there you are buy or downloading the next one.
    Watch as each character grows and each step leads them and you closer to an answer. Keep reading about a woman of determination. I hope you enjoy this series as much as I am.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Such a good read

    I have waited a long time to read this book...far too long I guess! I love Iris's work and this just adds to my list of faves! So much suspense keeps you wondering with each turn of the page. I cant wait to finish the trilogy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Loved it

    Loved this book, and the Eve Duncan series. good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Good book, disappointing ending.

    The book was fine and I liked her daughters father. Considering the price and its a cliff hanger for this and the next one I don't know that I will buy them. Especially at their price point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Eve Fix!

    Another great Eve fix. The end is a tease, but I'm still happy with the book. I'm looking forward to the rest of the trilogy and learning those tidbits the author's been holding back on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    A wowzer!

    Always wanted more details about Eve's early years. Many questions answered. Favorite author did not disappoint. Can't wait for Quinn!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    The best

    Could not pit down cannot wait for sequel_Lynn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Great Read

    I never read Iris Johansen before I got this book. If you do not want to get hooked into a series do not read this... I picked up the first and am working my way thru the Eve Duncan series.

    Easy read, well written! An A+++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    The Eve Duncan series is getting tedious. It is the same plot l

    The Eve Duncan series is getting tedious. It is the same plot line over and over with just different character names. Eve is obsessed

    with finding Bonnie's killer and every book brings a new 'bad guy' that is never the one but
    they still get the bad guy. The ghost of Bonnie keeps telling Eve that finding her is not important and Eve keeps looking. Joe Quinn, her lover, goes along, but complains and gripes and is jealous, but finally gets injured helping. A different cast of supporting people are there to help, but it is still the same story over and over. In EVE, it is her long thought dead father of Bonnie. The entire first half of the book is about how she met him and got pregnant when she was 16. I will not read more...they are just the same book over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    My favorite eve duncan thus far!

    I read this one in less than a day and thus far its my FAVORITE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Eve


    Why does this book only go to psge 283?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    jolene

    abosoultly eve.. suspensiful non stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 460 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23