Customer Reviews for

Eve (Eve Duncan Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

How disappointing....an I was so excited to get this

Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get u...
Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get up to speed, then continued till I read the entire Eve Duncan saga and then everything else Iris Johansen wrote.

That said, I was so anticipating some closure for me as a reader and for the long-suffering Eve.

I do not appreciate authors who FORCE the reader to buy the next book and unless you are willing to chuck it all and say enough is enough you will now have to wait for July to see "what next" and then I am sure you will have to wail another 3 or 4 months for JANE to see POSSIBLY THE ENDING...COULD IT BE...or no wait, maybe we have to wait for her to write BONNIE before we can finishing sighing, crying and feeling bad and possibly feel a little BETTER for this character.

I believe a good auther makes you care about the characters, makes you get caught up in the plot and surroundings. So for anyone reading this entire series, you are not reduced to the greed of the author.

I bought this curled up and was so excited to get a bit of a glimpse into the past to hopefully finish the "future" Eve....not so.

I had found her last couple of Eve books to be rushed and disjointed feeling. If you compare the first 3 or 4 and the read the last 3 alone, it felt rusehd, no real depth to the plot or characters, which may be hard to do when you are reliving the same...OH WOE IS ME AND MY POOR BONNIE over and over. But for the most part, there was reason to continue to read and HOPE. Until now.

To so blatantly end a book where you must buy the next one to know what happened to a beloved character from book before????? unfair. I read one review where she states....Will Joe live? so I am not divulging anything not already spoiled by another reviewer (though why someone would put that in a review where someone may not have read the book is beyond me...that ruined it for them now didnt it)Until this point, each of the books in this series reiterated the Bonnie plot line and Eves work so that you really could just pick up say book #8 as I did and totally enjoy reading it on its own merit...not so any more.

I believe we will find the same "cliff hanging buy my next book" ending when we read Joe...we can only hopefully HOPE that Jane finally gives this series its ending.

You get captured by the story line...a murdered child....from the beginning, but the flaws become more evident with each and every book right down to EVE...is jane JANE or ADOPTED DAUGHTER JANE ADJ for short?? She is never just referred to as my "daugher" Jane. I was always curious why? I have friends with adopted children and they never say AND MY ADOPTED SON...it is and my son Josh...but every single book constantly refers to adopted Jane...like it is a poor thing...poor adopted Jane, instead of a loving thing.

I don't feel it was wrong to hope for closure for EVE in a bookd titled EVE.

Possibly the release lineup should have been Jane...then Quinn then EVE so the final chapter could have been final closure for the long-suffering Eve....and possibly for all fans looking to possibly see some happiness for this character.

If you are looking for something to close this for you, keep looking.

posted by Booker13 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Such a good read

    I have waited a long time to read this book...far too long I guess! I love Iris's work and this just adds to my list of faves! So much suspense keeps you wondering with each turn of the page. I cant wait to finish the trilogy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Loved it

    Loved this book, and the Eve Duncan series. good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Eve Fix!

    Another great Eve fix. The end is a tease, but I'm still happy with the book. I'm looking forward to the rest of the trilogy and learning those tidbits the author's been holding back on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    A wowzer!

    Always wanted more details about Eve's early years. Many questions answered. Favorite author did not disappoint. Can't wait for Quinn!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Great Read

    I never read Iris Johansen before I got this book. If you do not want to get hooked into a series do not read this... I picked up the first and am working my way thru the Eve Duncan series.

    Easy read, well written! An A+++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Enjoyed very much

    Enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great cliffhanger!

    I read this after a recommendation from a library chum. Very glad I did and although I really want to read Quinn, I have gone back to Face of Deception to really understand Eve. Love what I am reading about Joe and Eve! Chracters are friends I would love to have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Page Turning Read

    I have read all the Eve Duncan book series thus far so naturally needed to read this as well. While other's reviews weren't high, I felt this book to be a decent read. Parts of the book kept me very interested, not wanting to put it down. The characters had depth and I enjoyed the addition of Gallo. The cliffhanger ending forced me to buy Quinn minutes after finishing this one. I look forward to completing this and the next to finish Bonnie's mystery after years of waiting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    If U R A fan of the Eve Dincan series GET THIS BOOK!

    If you are a fan of the Eve Duncan series pick this book up. Finally the back storie on Bonnies Father and thier relationship. Loses one star for draging it out (A guy thing.) I am not going to give the ending away. It is a quick read and ls easy to read. Get it, start it. you will not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    By this time in a series, the plots usually start to dull down. Not with this series! This book brings us back to Eve's past that I know I have been curious about, and Iris Johansen delivers...again! The end leaves us waiting for the next book!

    Lisa Corkern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eve

    Johansen does not disappoint!! I only hope she doesnt keep us waiting for the next 2 books too long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Some Questions Answered

    This is the first in a "backstory" trilogy of Johansen's mystery series featuring forensic sculptor Eve Duncan where readers learn more about Eve's past (the next two are about Quinn and Bonnie, Eve's boyfriend and daughter). Throughout the series readers learned that Eve's daughter Bonnie went missing several years ago and the case was never solved. But now, with the help of CIA Agent Catherine Ling, a name surfaces that could be linked to Bonnie's disappearance: John Gallo, Bonnie's father who was presumed dead. That's where the backstory comes into play as readers learn through Eve's flashback memories about her upbringing, how she met Gallo, and how she became a single mother. Now she must find and confront a sometimes emotionally unstable Gallo and learn whether he was responsible for the disappearance of their daughter.

    Not wanting to put the people she cares about in danger, Eve agrees to secretly meet Gallo alone only to find herself in danger from another enemy who wants them both dead. In the meantime Ling and Quinn are racing against time to find Eve before its too late.

    Overall, I did like the story with the kind of can't-put-it-down suspense I've come to enjoy from the author but felt disappointed that more wasn't resolved at the end even though many questions about Eve's past were answered. Perhaps there will be more closure about what happened to Bonnie in the final book of the trilogy. Not only does the character of Eve need it, so do readers like me who have followed the series for years.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eve

    Eve is the first in a trilogy of stories by Iris Johansen that delves into the characters that she has created. This one digs deep into the life of Eve Duncan, the Forensic sculptor that is obsessed by the disappearance of her daughter Bonnie and trying to find her murdered and bring her daughter home. I thought that after all this time, that the character would have been played out, but Ms. Johansen has added another level and we go back to Eve's life and learn what makes her tick, her love for her child, the relationship with the father and the explosive climax that makes this thriller exciting. I can't wait for the second book in this trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In the beginning there was "Eve" come read the first in the brand new trilogy that will finally answer all our questions.

    Eve Duncan after all the efforts not to, turned out to be more like her mother than she liked when at 16 she turned up pregnant, but Bonnie soon became the apple of her eye and the sun in her morning, one day 7 years later the sun stopped rising when Bonnie was kidnapped and murdered, but her body has never been found. Eve became a forensic sculptor to bring other lost children home, and in the same moment of her greatest tragedy met the man who stands beside her always, Joe Quinn. But Eve has one constant dream, a dream that has often come with a price between Joe and she and that dream is to bring Bonnie home. In Eve we will relive her early years and finally be introduced to the boy who broke through that tough untouchable exterior to find the hidden Eve and fathered Bonnie. We will in fact get as close as we ever have to finding out who killed Bonnie and if Eve and Joe survive the answer they may not survive the perpetrator.
    Ms. Johansen amazing teller of tales has really outdone herself this time as she reveals secrets that her characters have kept for decades. She will do it with the storyline that have kept fans coming back year after year and have garnered new fans at every episode, the real story of what happened to Bonnie Duncan. She will do it with her trademark to the point narrative that works so well with her very direct and in your face characters. Some of these characters will be new to us and some will be like family or old friends but all of them play an intricate part of this story. Is this a love story, yes, but it might be a stretch to call it a romance even though there are love scenes involved, but they only exist in the periphery, but periphery or not they will still steam the lenses of your glasses, so keep out of reach of children and on the top shelf of the bookcase. Wherever you want to file it one thing for certain is that this is a thriller from the nail biting beginning to the edge of your seat ending.
    Whether you're the biggest Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn fan or a first time visitor to their world, you will not be sorry you made the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5