Customer Reviews for

Eve: The Empyrean Age

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    From an EVE player...

    I've played EVE on and off since 2004. I'm currently without a computer capable of playing the game so I thought I'd pick this up to immerse myself in the world I'm missing.

    Gonzalez does a fantastic job of capturing not only the details of the different ethnic groups within the game, but also gives the reader (and gamer) an understanding of the history and feelings these groups have. It really helped the whole universe click in my head.

    The plot is fantastic and stands on its own without knowledge of the game, but I highly reccomend giving the game a try in order to make some of the names, places and events more clear. I might imagine a reader having a difficult time following parts of the book without this reference.

    Overall the EVE universe is a highly refined set of ideas without this book and is solidified by its contents. I highly recommend it to gamers and non-gamers alike.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Good read

    Slow to start but took off like a rocket, fun read,looking forward to next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eve: The Empyrean Age by Tony Gonzales

    Knowing nothing about EVE online or anything about this book, I entered this world with no idea what I was getting myself into. What wound up happening was that I joined hearts and minds with a few characters, and found myself very upset when I finished the book because I really enjoyed escaping reality and entering this universe. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I've been thinking about joining EVE online to satisfy the emptiness! I've been seeing so many of their advertisements around online that it's a constant reminder to me that I want to. I now know how a fish feels when it sees that bright sparkly lure spin by in a flash... because of the EVE online advertisements I've seen after reading this book.

    About the book now. most of the characters are very strongly developed, and in many cases after you are introduced to certain characters you find out more about them, and even once you think you like them you begin to HATE them for the things they do; or once you find out who they really are. So much of the book is unpredictable, you will never guess what the Broker will do next. You will never guess Tibus Heth's motivation. You will never guess the depth to which the Gallentean President will go to save his people from war; or the extend to which others will go to in order to see two empires collide. Much more...

    This book has characters, stories, plots, and agendas out the wazoo. Only in as vast a universe as this, spanning many planets and empires, can so many characters influence the outcome of events so much. I really hate some of the characters for their pig-headedness, evil actions, and useless pride. I also really enjoy some of the characters for their selfeless-service, self-sacrifice, forethought, and ability to swallow their pride to help others.

    The book got a little confusing toward the end when all the characters' lives kind-of meshed into two seperate plot-lines. Still, I got the entertainment value I wanted out of those confusing parts. What the author lacked in character and plot development toward the end, he made up for in the appearance of Terran artifacts and ship-to-ship battles, and finally in concluding the story lines that prevailed in the book and re-directing things toward the next installment in the series; should it ever become a series.

    It's worth it to buy this book. It's well worth it to read it again and again, and my personal library isn't complete without this book in it. So I highly suggest getting and reading this book, and keeping an eye out for any sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    A Gripping Tie-In; Some Minor Flaws, but Extremely Enjoyable

    This was my first MMO tie-in book purchase; I've never read a World of Warcraft novel, for example, but I enjoyed EVE: The Empyrean Age despite not knowing what to expect from the genre.

    It was extremely well written and I had a hard time putting it down. The plot was engaging and I enjoyed reading how the EVE universe I've come to love in the video game changed with the Empyrean Age patch a year or so ago. The universe could have been better described for someone who had never played EVE; the cloning and reincarnation aspects were well done, but my girlfriend needed me to define some terms for her. A small glossary or encyclopedia at the end would have been helpful to complete her immersion.

    All of the main characters were vivid, deep, and emotionally gripping. I found myself deeply engaged with the plights of Falek Grange, Gear, Keitan Yun, and Tibus Heth. That said, all the secondary characters (Jamyl Sarum, the crew of the Retford, the Ammarian scientist, the Broker, etc.) were underdeveloped. I would have preferred that Gonzalez had spent more time exploring their worlds and experiences or had spent more time on the main characters.

    Those things aside, however, it was an excellent read, and I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys spacefaring science-fiction or is looking to learn about the EVE universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Tier 3 Awesome

    Working at a Barnes and Noble and having a slow day so I thought I'd post here concerning this book which is made of pure awesome. I've been playing EVE Online on and off since the summer of 2005 when visiting a friend in Germany. Generally in the past I've had bad experiences with video game tie in books in the past so I was expecting at best to be bored but since CCP (the creators of the award winning game) had never steered me wrong in the past I thought I'd give the book a shot.

    After finishing the book earlier today all I have to say is wow. This book floored me. I would highly encourage everyone from the most die hard EVE fan to the average sci-fi enthusiast to read this book. Gonzalez does an excellent job of explaining common EVE terms so that anyone new to the setting won't be lost. He does this in such a way without dwelling so long as to bore those of us who are already familiar with the lingo.

    I could go on for another 2347 characters explaining how much I enjoyed this book but I'll end it here simply saying that it is definitely worth the money and time to sit down and enter the New Eden system along side Tony Gonzalez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An outstanding read...

    EVE: The Empyrean Age is simply staggering. Tony Gonzales does a fantastic job of bringing the universe that is New Eden to life, with all of its races and factions, peril and suspense, wickedness and compassion. Gonzales manages to write about countless characters and their individual stories without being confusing and without losing the reader, and with much talent, somehow successfully combines them all into one amazing story. The action is intense, the detail is grand, the characters are gripping, and their decisions are capturing. I strongly recommend this book! (and the game)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3