Customer Reviews for

Eve and Adam

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read

I don't know if many of you remember Katherine Applegates's middle grade series (also written with her husband) that was really popular in the early 2000's entitled The Animorph Series. I hope some of you do because those books were among my best of friends when I was 1...
I don't know if many of you remember Katherine Applegates's middle grade series (also written with her husband) that was really popular in the early 2000's entitled The Animorph Series. I hope some of you do because those books were among my best of friends when I was 10 til the time I was 12 years old. Katherine Applegate is one of those iconic writers from my childhood so when I saw that she had written a new novel albeit with her husband I had to request it from NetGalley regardless of what it was going to be about I knew I had to have it.

Luckily, the publisher granted me approval and the same day I got my ARC I had read and finished the book in a matter of hours. Hours that had me neglecting poor Mr. Turning the Pages. That's right ladies and gents. The book was that good seriously.

Right off the bat I was hooked. I love a good book where there are genetically engineered characters. Evening is one of my favourite characters of the year. I loved how smart she was and her take charge personality. Plus I loved that even though she came from money, and had a mother with some major control issues and a type A personality that she was very mellow to a certain extent. Mostly we see this as she interacts with her best friend Aislin who has some issues of her own. You can tell that when Evening loves and cares about someone that she loves hard. Even if it means putting herself in danger.

What really surprised me about the novel was how well developed the plot was. I liked that the big thing (You have to read the book to find out what it is because I am so not spoiling that for you) didn't happen right away. Even though the book starts off pretty dramatically it didn't really slow down all that much which I loved. The fact that Evening is so smart and she's an artist really endeared her to me because she wasn't the typical cold hearted braniac (We'll reserve that title for her mother who does love her daughter very much in her own way).

The book was very action packed and there was a lot of twists and turns and Solo was one of the biggest mysteries until the very end. I really enjoyed that there was some romance between Evening and him but it wasn't over done and it was absolutely not a case of the dreaded insta love.

After all the hullabalooh, of the first bit of the book or so we're introduced to Adam whom, in a roundabout way is how the reader starts to learn about the genetic mutations being carried out at Evening's mother's laboratory and the story behing Eve's own existence comes to light as well.

When all is said and done this was a fantastic novel, and one of my favourite books of 2012 both in the YA category and the overall category. I really loved it and I highly recommend this one to everyone. It was a great novel and I enjoyed how the authors wrote it and the character development was spot on. I can't wait for the nect book in this series to come out but seeing as how the book was just published I may be in for a longish wait. In that case I think I'll read some of Grant's and Applegate's other books. Go buy this book people!


* I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts

posted by TurningThePagesBlog on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wavered back and forth when it came to reading this one. The

I wavered back and forth when it came to reading this one. There was something that both intrigued me and repelled me when it came to concept behind this book. I decided to go for and was pleasantly surprised.

Eve was an interesting character. She had very little r...
I wavered back and forth when it came to reading this one. There was something that both intrigued me and repelled me when it came to concept behind this book. I decided to go for and was pleasantly surprised.

Eve was an interesting character. She had very little relationship with her mother. And with the little dealing we see of them together in the beginning, it's not hard to understand why. Her mother seems cold and calculating and Eve seems just the opposite. When the accident puts them in close proximity to one another for an extended amount of time, it no wonder that they start to but heads. In hindsight, I wonder what the true purpose was behind having Eve create Adam?

It was interesting to watch Eve create Adam. I can't imagine that it would be easy to create a "perfect" person. Everyone's idea are different when it comes to those attributes. And Eve can't know exactly what she wants. She may think she does, but the reality of the matter is that she can't. That was my major problem with this story even before I read it, which I flowed over into my actual enjoyment of the book. It dealt with a matter I have a hard time thinking about, the idea that our advancement in science may lead to the very act of "playing god."

The good news is that Eve quickly discovers that her Adam isn't quite as perfect as she had imagined. Turns out a flesh and blood person with flaws in way more interesting. I"m extremely happy that the story played out that way. I would have been highly disappointed and frustrated if it had gone any other way.

Overall an average book. It had its up and downs. If you don't mind that idea of created humans, you might enjoy this more that I did.

posted by pagese on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    A Great Read

    I don't know if many of you remember Katherine Applegates's middle grade series (also written with her husband) that was really popular in the early 2000's entitled The Animorph Series. I hope some of you do because those books were among my best of friends when I was 10 til the time I was 12 years old. Katherine Applegate is one of those iconic writers from my childhood so when I saw that she had written a new novel albeit with her husband I had to request it from NetGalley regardless of what it was going to be about I knew I had to have it.

    Luckily, the publisher granted me approval and the same day I got my ARC I had read and finished the book in a matter of hours. Hours that had me neglecting poor Mr. Turning the Pages. That's right ladies and gents. The book was that good seriously.

    Right off the bat I was hooked. I love a good book where there are genetically engineered characters. Evening is one of my favourite characters of the year. I loved how smart she was and her take charge personality. Plus I loved that even though she came from money, and had a mother with some major control issues and a type A personality that she was very mellow to a certain extent. Mostly we see this as she interacts with her best friend Aislin who has some issues of her own. You can tell that when Evening loves and cares about someone that she loves hard. Even if it means putting herself in danger.

    What really surprised me about the novel was how well developed the plot was. I liked that the big thing (You have to read the book to find out what it is because I am so not spoiling that for you) didn't happen right away. Even though the book starts off pretty dramatically it didn't really slow down all that much which I loved. The fact that Evening is so smart and she's an artist really endeared her to me because she wasn't the typical cold hearted braniac (We'll reserve that title for her mother who does love her daughter very much in her own way).

    The book was very action packed and there was a lot of twists and turns and Solo was one of the biggest mysteries until the very end. I really enjoyed that there was some romance between Evening and him but it wasn't over done and it was absolutely not a case of the dreaded insta love.

    After all the hullabalooh, of the first bit of the book or so we're introduced to Adam whom, in a roundabout way is how the reader starts to learn about the genetic mutations being carried out at Evening's mother's laboratory and the story behing Eve's own existence comes to light as well.

    When all is said and done this was a fantastic novel, and one of my favourite books of 2012 both in the YA category and the overall category. I really loved it and I highly recommend this one to everyone. It was a great novel and I enjoyed how the authors wrote it and the character development was spot on. I can't wait for the nect book in this series to come out but seeing as how the book was just published I may be in for a longish wait. In that case I think I'll read some of Grant's and Applegate's other books. Go buy this book people!


    * I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Anonymous333 ; )

    It's only 193 very quick pages but the authors have beautiful technique. It is almost poem like in its tranquility and likeness to actual thoughts and feelings. I enjoyed it differently than I expected but it is an overall amazing story, I hope there is more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    The book title may have you thinking of something else, but if your looking for a book that will pull you in this book is a good choice. The main character is Evening Spiker. She gets in a terrible accident which injurs her leg tremendously. Her mom runs a bio tech company. To find out more get the book!!!!
    -A.S.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    Hmm¿ Girl creates boy¿ There is so much potential in those words

    Hmm… Girl creates boy… There is so much potential in those words. And let’s admit it, we all probably contemplated our perfect partners at some point in our lives. Eve and Adam brings the idea to life beautifully, combining it with a wonderful science fiction version of Adam and Eve. I was so easily swept away by its pages that I even forgot to read the book for my college discussion course. Oops.

    First off, other than loving the whole concept, I loved the dual point-of-view between the two main characters. Eve reminded me of me when I was in high school: shy; a loner; science geek; loyal friend; kind of rough on the outside at first, but a marshmallow on the inside. Yeah, I saw a lot of me in this one. The only difference was she got the chance to genetically build Adam! The perfect man! Apparently, one hot, perfect man! Okay, yeah, kind of jealous.

    Yet the best character, in my opinion, was Solo. He was an intriguing character: the typical, laid back California boy. But he was also very cunning, and even though he lived in a laboratory for most of his life, he was very street savvy as well. Two traits I always love in a character.

    However, what really made this book was the wicked twists and turns in the last several chapters. OMG, they were freakin’ awesome! And the best part, I never saw them coming!

    So, what is perfect? I wouldn’t really know. I gave up trying to find it out a long time ago. I would say, though, Eve and Adam is the perfect read. It’s quick, it’s fun, and it’s exciting. I would highly recommend adding it to your wish lists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wavered back and forth when it came to reading this one. The

    I wavered back and forth when it came to reading this one. There was something that both intrigued me and repelled me when it came to concept behind this book. I decided to go for and was pleasantly surprised.

    Eve was an interesting character. She had very little relationship with her mother. And with the little dealing we see of them together in the beginning, it's not hard to understand why. Her mother seems cold and calculating and Eve seems just the opposite. When the accident puts them in close proximity to one another for an extended amount of time, it no wonder that they start to but heads. In hindsight, I wonder what the true purpose was behind having Eve create Adam?

    It was interesting to watch Eve create Adam. I can't imagine that it would be easy to create a "perfect" person. Everyone's idea are different when it comes to those attributes. And Eve can't know exactly what she wants. She may think she does, but the reality of the matter is that she can't. That was my major problem with this story even before I read it, which I flowed over into my actual enjoyment of the book. It dealt with a matter I have a hard time thinking about, the idea that our advancement in science may lead to the very act of "playing god."

    The good news is that Eve quickly discovers that her Adam isn't quite as perfect as she had imagined. Turns out a flesh and blood person with flaws in way more interesting. I"m extremely happy that the story played out that way. I would have been highly disappointed and frustrated if it had gone any other way.

    Overall an average book. It had its up and downs. If you don't mind that idea of created humans, you might enjoy this more that I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Bacon

    How long is the book?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Quick and Fun

    I really loved the book. I reccomend it. I wish it were longer because I also felt like some things could be elaborated on near the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was a good, quick read. The premise of this book was q

    This book was a good, quick read. The premise of this book was quite interesting, and the plot was executed very well. The storyline is compelling, and the characters are unique and likable. I also like the way the romance subplot in this book was not overwhelming, as is the way it goes in so many young adult books these days. Instead, in this book, the romance was an embellishment to the story, and did not consume it. The development of the main relationship in this book was also quite well-done.
    My only negative comment is that I think the ending could have been written better. I feel it was a little rushed, and it left me feeling confused. I think this book would've made more sense if it was a tad longer.
    If you like this book, I recommend reading The Adoration of Jenna Fox (which involves genetic experiments, like this book does), or The Compound (which reminds me of this book because of the crazy, controlling parent).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Really Amazing Book

    Eve And Adam is one of my favorite books of all time! A definite must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    A MUST READ!!!

    Amazing! I really wish that this was a series.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Best book ever!!!!!!

    I could literally not put this book down. It was sooooooooooo good! One night i was supposed to go to sleep at 9 and i ended up going to bed at 11 cuz this book was soooo good! Trust me its not a waste of money at all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Totally Twisted

    Even my two-year old cousin admitted it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Good book

    Eve gets hit by a car and then saves the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Simple review from Grace :)

    Hi I'm Grace,

    Trust me If you like science fiction and romance comedy, this may be the book for you. I know i may not be some "amazing editor reviewer" and happen to be a younger, but this book is pretty good. Yes it may cost some, and you might not be sure about if its a good book. Tak the chance and prepare for a excellent adventure only your eyes and mind can enjoy. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And girl created boy . . . With that tag line, a lot of us are

    And girl created boy . . .

    With that tag line, a lot of us are distracted physically, BUT there is so much more to creating a flawless
    human being when we consider the semantics of the "Big Brain"--- and how Iit shapes who we are and how we
    relate to ourselves and other people.  While creating her version of "Adam", Eve finds herself asking questions that we still ponder today: Is there beauty in awkwardness, are we a product of our environment, DNA or both?  How much do our experiences play a role in building our intellect?  Are some people destined to elf-destruct because they are just a bad seed?  Does love override ethical issues?  How far medically are we willing to go achieve the perfect huma race?  Eve comes to a startling realization about herself while working on the "Adam Project".  Will she forsake herself, loved ones and truth for her perfect boy creation?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Adam and Eve book was ok not my thing.

    Adam and Eve book ok not my thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Damien

    God give shade new life i begg of you!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I first picked up Eve & Adam because it's by Michael Grant.

    I first picked up Eve & Adam because it's by Michael Grant. I really like his Gone series, so I figured I'd check out this book. [Side note here, after checking out Katherine Applegate on Goodreads, I saw she wrote the Animorphs books. While I read many of these as a kid, I don't remember them enough to recall if she's a good author or not. Unfortunately, I haven't read anything else of hers.] I also read the summary and checked out the (mixed) reviews on Goodreads before reading the book. Even after all that, I was still really excited to read this book.

    I can say, without a doubt, I really enjoyed Eve & Adam.

    It's a book that makes you think a little bit while still remaining a bit fluffy. While the name might indicate something religious, it's not even approached in the book. I'm actually thankful for that. I was a bit skeptical to read a sci-fi book that might mix with religion. I figure there's too many ways that can go wrong and produce a bad book.

    Eve & Adam is unlike any book I've read before. The plot was original and creative. While the book is a sci-fi novel, it's not too much. It's just the right amount of sci-fi and love story to create a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Good but..

    Very interesting but only age appropriate for adults
    Inappropriate language, body themes, drinking, texting and driving, and criminal behavior

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Awesome

    So far, I am thoroughly enjoying this book. I got it just before Christmas, and I gave it to one of my daughter's friends. The cover is really cool, and the title is certainly intriguing. I think I read the cover notes, and I know I've heard of both authors, so I have high hopes that this will be a fun read once I get the book back. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2