Customer Reviews for

Eve of Darkness (Marked Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Perhaps one of the best Buffy the Vampire Slayer knock offs produced. Better than Princess of Wands and as good as Carpe' Demon

The book has a light style to it that plays heavily on the eroticism. Some readers may find the opening chapter(s) offensive. The book also uses strong catholic religious themes and they prevail throughout the series. This opening book into a trilogy is complete in and ...
The book has a light style to it that plays heavily on the eroticism. Some readers may find the opening chapter(s) offensive. The book also uses strong catholic religious themes and they prevail throughout the series. This opening book into a trilogy is complete in and of itself but, I found that I wanted to read the rest of series as soon as I finished the first book. I held off just to enjoy the anticipation.

What I particularly liked about this story is that it took a well known parable and looked at it sideways through a mirror. Cain and Abel are well known and the rivalry is known throughout christianity - usually as a warning. However, this book implies there's a lot more behind the scenes that we don't know.

Eve - Evangeline Hollis - is a smart resourceful character that has always thought her life should go one way and instead has gone 220 degrees in another. The character is believable (suspending belief in the whole scenario in which the character is placed.) In other words she seems like a real woman who lives in Southern California. She is also easy to admire.

I hope there are more to this series.

posted by MWanderer on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Interesting idea wasn't enough

Eve is an average gal until she hooks up with Cain and ends up with the Mark of Cain. This turns her into a supernatural bounty hunter working with Cain and Abel hunting down rogue demons. I didn't really enjoy the characters and wasn't hooked in by the plot or style....
Eve is an average gal until she hooks up with Cain and ends up with the Mark of Cain. This turns her into a supernatural bounty hunter working with Cain and Abel hunting down rogue demons. I didn't really enjoy the characters and wasn't hooked in by the plot or style. I'm not sure if I will continue with this series.

posted by narcam on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HOT NEW URBAN FANTASY SERIES

    Get ready for the next bestselling urban fantasy series, Marked, penned by S.J. Day for TOR debuting April 28, 2009 with Book #1, EVE OF DARKNESS. In present day Orange County, California, up and coming interior designer Evangeline Hollis is concentrating on landing her next big account when she gets sidetracked by a scorching encounter with a handsome stranger in a stairwell. After their brief encounter, she finds a triangular mark branded into her upper arm. Long-lost lover, Alec Cain, mysteriously reappears telling her that she's now a bounty hunter for God who must vanquish demons. He will mentor her now that his estranged brother, Reed Abel, Marked her. Eve is royally ticked at both brothers--Alec for abandoning her after taking her virginity ten years before, and Reed for changing her life forever. However, agnostic Eve is forced to work with both brothers to not only send the rogue Infernals back to Hell, but to insure her own survival. Oh, what an absolutely wicked, sexy triangle S. J. Day weaves between Cain, Eve, and Abel with fantastic verbal repartee and action-packed good vs. evil battles! Urban fantasy readers will be panting for the next installments: EVE OF DESTRUCTION (June 2 '09) and EVE OF CHAOS (June 30 '09).

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eve of Darkness by: SJ Day

    I really enjoyed this book. it was a challenge to put down once I started it. I loved all the characters and every thing that was in this book. I defiantly recommend this book for all who love seeing how the bible stories can be mixed with an authors creativity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series - Great book!

    Great series - Great book! I could not wait to get started. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic introduction to the Marked series!!

    Wow, S.J. Day puts together an exciting & romantic new take on the Cain & Abel story! There is nothing like two sexy brothers fighting over the same smart and strong woman! Ms. Day weaves a wonderfully exciting plot while still giving us some steamy romance! Can't wait to read the next book in the saga!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Action

    I love this series because of the action. The characters are great! It's also nice to see an Asian-American heroine.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Uniqueish

    The plot may or may not be similar to other books in the genre but S.J Day gives it her own style and flare. Eve is a unique character who has to change everything in her life once she's Marked. She has the two biblical brothers wanting her, sometimes despising her, along with the class of Marks she's supposed to get along with. In this first installment you will meet a strange cast that is both fun to read while urging you never to put the book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Eve of Darkness ROCKS

    I rarely branch out of the romance genre, so I was concerned with what this would be like. That said, I LOVED it.

    SJ immediately captured my attention and sucked me into the world and story. Eve kicks demon butt even as she's struggling with her new role in life. I couldn't flip the pages fast enough and when I reached the end I was sad to see it end, knowing that I would have to wait for book 2.

    I forgot that I was reading and was carried away to a world that made my stresses look minor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Wow

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Loved the Clockwork Princess

    I cried twice, can't wait for the next series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great series. A very captivating story with awesome characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    Having heard tons of praise for author Sylvia Day, but not havin

    Having heard tons of praise for author Sylvia Day, but not having read any of her books for myself, I had somewhat good expectations for Eve of Darkness. I enjoy a lot of the adult urban fantasy books that I read. I loved Eve of Darkness.

    The story places the reader immediately into the Marked world. It was definitely attention-grabbing, but it did take me a bit to gain my bearings. I actually even double-checked to make sure I didn't pick up the second book in the series. Once I realized that the story was going to go back and fill in the details, I was okay. The Marked world was pretty cool and definitely fascinating. There is a good amount of religious aspects to the story, but I wouldn't let that put you off if you are afraid to read books with religion. I found my background with religion to be helpful to me with the world-building, but I admit that I'm afraid my grandmother would be devastated! Nevertheless, though there are angels, I wouldn't shy away from Eve of Darkness if you don't like angel books. This read to me as more of a demon hunter story. And it rocked.

    Eve is a badass. Minding her own business, she gets dragged into this insane world where she must fight demons and grapple with a world in which she is a pawn. Eve just sort of accepted the situation, which may be a tad unrealistic, but I was just happy that I didn't have to read about her denial of reality for pages on end. It should also be noted that Eve is biracial, Japanese/American. I loved her ethnicity and wanted to point that out for those looking for more diversity in their books.

    As for the men in Eve's life, Cain and Abel. Yes, that Cain and Abel. These two have been fighting since the beginning of the world, and the battle for Eve is no exception. The man are seriously sexy, seriously aggravating and seriously dangerous. I kind of loved them. They both have been involved with Eve, both seem to care for her. I'm not sure whose team I'm on, but I'm definitely leaning towards Cain. AND...this book is suuuuper steamy. Like, steamy enough that I was blushing and trying to hide my book as I was reading on a plane. YUM.

    Overall, I would say Eve of Darkness was pretty fantastic. Despite my initial confusion, I quickly fell in love and read the book in a matter of a couple hours. I will say that if you read it, definitely have book two, Eve of Destruction on hand because you will need that book immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Amazing book

    It keep me entertained!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Sylvia Day doesnt disapoint

    Loved the story and it pulls you in and you just dont want to put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Wow

    Im about half way thriugh the book but u can't seem to put it down!!! This is surely a must read, steamy and action packed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great book!!!

    This book turned out to be different than what I was expecting it to be.....and I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. It has a great storyline and great characters....and it's FUNNY!! It's a fast read that I finished in 3 days...I would have started the next book, but its not available for another week or so! I'm really happy I stumbled onto this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Evangeline Hollis is an interior decorator going to interview fo

    Evangeline Hollis is an interior decorator going to interview for her
    dream job at Gadara. When she finds herself having hot sex with a
    virtual stranger and branded in the process. Eve doesn't know what to
    think especially when Alec Cain appears on her doorstep. She spent one
    wild night with Alec that has ruined her for every male relationship
    since then. Alec calls Eve his Angel and tells her that she's about to
    be very sick. He wants to help her and Eve refuses to believe him let
    alone trust him. Eve reluctantly allows Alec to help her. Alec Cain also
    known as Cain from the Bible is Marked just like Eve, who happens to be
    Agnostic, that it's now her job to fight the Inferals. Eve doesn't
    believe him and is attacked by a tengu and a Nix before she starts to
    believe. Where there is Cain there also is Reed Abel, the two most
    famous brothers of the Bible fighting over the same woman Eve. Eve is
    stunned by this and vows not to be their new toy to fight over. Cain is
    an experienced Mark used to working alone but is now Eve's mentor much
    to Reed's dismay. Alec and Eve are sent out on a mission by Raguel
    before Eve has had any training to discover what is going on with the
    tengu infestation. Something is killing Marks before they have a chance
    to call for backup and there is no trace of what is killing them. Can
    Alec and Reed get along? What about Eve's feelings for Alec? Can Alec
    really help Eve? What is Raguel up too? Who or what is killing Marks?
    Your answers await in Eve of Darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    he first "Marked" romantic urban fantasy is a superb gritty tale

    In California, interior designer Evangeline Hollis meets a hunk on a stairwell and cannot resist his lure. After heating up Orange County, he leaves and she notices a triangle etched into her arm. Soon after her encounter, her decade ago lover Alec Cain arrives to inform her ironically that she a true nonbeliever is now marked as a killer for God.---------

    Eve is irate with Cain for deserting her ten years ago without a look back and the man in the stairwell, who turns out to be his brother Reed Abel for putting the Mark of Cain on her. Her new unwanted vocation is to destroy the evil Infernals while staying alive as demons have marked her for hell.--------------

    The first "Marked" romantic urban fantasy is a superb gritty tale starring a fabulous creative triangle. Eve holds the exciting dark story line together as the agnostic suddenly has a new belief system; hell she was just an Orange County interior designer and now she is Marked as a bounty hunter of Infernals heating the earth. Worse she has to deal with Cain and Abel as each fills her with desire that will ban her from attending Angels' baseball games. Sub-genre fans will enjoy the EVE OF DARKNESS and look forward to more gritty destruction as chaos has become the heroine's norm.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2