Customer Reviews for

Eve of Destruction (Marked Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    This book. THIS BOOK. I thought Eve of Destruction was going to

    This book. THIS BOOK. I thought Eve of Destruction was going to kill me. The story picks up soon after Eve of Darkness ends, and did not quit surprising me and holding me on the edge until the very end.

    I was a little worried at the beginning of Eve of Destruction. Second books in a series, particularly Urban Fantasy, sometimes feel a bit lacking to me. The world has been established. The characters have been formed. It's time to get to business. I did not feel let down at all in this installment of the Marked series. Eve has survived her first few weeks of being a Mark; now she must train. Her training sends her off to a "boot camp", where she is under the guidance of her Archangel. Training doesn't go as planned, at all. In fact, things are going to hell, in the literal sense. Marks are dying, in a supposedly safe environment, and Eve needs to figure out who is behind the carnage, or she will be next. What's worse is that her guys, Cain and Abel, aren't there to save her now.

    Cain and Abel. These two... man, I can't even believe how much I like these guys. They have been at odds since the beginning, and I love the way the antagonize one another. In the last book, I couldn't decide which guy I liked the best, but I think I'm totally Team Alec Cain. He is so sexy and fun and I honestly believe he is so in love with Eve. As for Reed Abel, I do like him, too. I think there's a lot more going on with him than I originally thought, though we don't get much from his point of view. Despite being the "good" brother, he is definitely a little rough(er) around the edges when it comes to Eve. And though she wants to be with Cain, she is without a doubt drawn to Abel and his wicked ways. The chemistry between Eve and the brothers is intense. And deliciously complicated. She loves one, but is drawn to both. I was a little sad that Eve of Destruction had fewer steamy moments (no judging me), but I did love what few moments I got.

    Eve of Destruction had a HUGE plot twist that I did not think would come until further down the road. I was completely blindsided, and I felt majorly distraught. But, I have to say, that it was well played by Day, because I am dying, DYING for Eve of Chaos. That book will be a drop everything and read for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Great second book

    I cant wait for the next book! Just couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous Best in a long time

    Reading is very difficult for me I have dyslexia and it takes me six months to a year to read a book usually. But Eve of Destruction I read in three days which surprised me and my son. They story was very engaging and Kept my interest. Although some of the concepts are inaccurate biblically the story and characters are great and I would highly recommend the marked series. S.J. Day has a way of telling a story that you think you know the people in the story by the time you finish. If I could create a story as wonderful as she does I would be blessed thank you S.J. Day for sharing with us your talents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Vinestar

    She showed her bloddy teeth. Her patchy broqn and white fuf turned silver for a secong then she turned to normal "ill bring these clans dosn!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    loved all 3 books

    loved all 3 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Evangline or Eve Hollis didn't expect to be Marked six weeks ago

    Evangline or Eve Hollis didn't expect to be Marked six weeks ago but that's exactly what happened. She is Alec Cain's apple or temptation that he couldn't resist when she was eighteen years old and now. Cain is from the Bible, the original Mark, and along with his brother Reed Abel, who is mal'akh and Eve's handler. Raguel is an archangel with a hidden agenda that includes keeping both Cain and Abel under his command in the Mark system thru Eve. Archangels are given their full celestial powers for one week out of the year and Raguel has his. He plans to use the time to get Eve to trust him more than both famous brothers before the week is out. Eve doesn't trust or have faith in Raguel and God because she's agnostic yet she can't relate her new image of Raguel with his secular image. Eve and her fellow Marks are going to a military base called Fort McCloskey for their additional training. Eve feels isolated from the rest of the trainees partly because of her relationship with Cain, who is also her untrained mentor thru the Marked System, and thru Raguel making her be teacher's pet. Eve has an uneasy feeling about the upcoming training session on the military base that she can't shake and on top of that she's feeling sick but Raguel denies this fact like he does everything else. Reed and another mal'akh Mariel are investigating unknown Infernal that is killing experienced Marks. They go to Australia to meet the handler of the Mark that was killed and discover disturbing evidence about the killings. Yet the archangels are notorious for their infighting amongst themselves and now is not the time for their infighting ways. Meanwhile back at the military base unexpected things are happening which sets Eve on edge even more so than before. What kind of game is Raguel playing? What is killing powerful Marks? What is really going on with Eve? Can this new Infernal be found? Can Reed and Alec protect Eve? Your answers await you in Eve of Destruction.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The 2nd book in the series is just as captivating as the first. More action and adventure with a mystery to solve.

    Eve is very busy in this second novel in the series. She is undergoing her training as a Mark but, the training becomes more real than Cain or Abel like or want.

    There is a lot more character development. There is also a lot of intrigue. Some readers may not be comfortable with the idea that the guardian angels aren't as beautiful on the inside as they are on the outside. Somehow it seems that Earth's petty problems rise up into the heaven's.

    What I particularly liked is that none of the author's solutions to the characters' dilemmas seemed contrived or fabricated, they were a natural extension of knowledge and logic. In other words they were internally consistent.

    (See my review on the first novel for the recommended reading.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Change

    The second book in the Marked series has Eve changing from the fledgling Mark she was to a full Mark. She has to face infurnals she has already killed and the fact that Alec has changed as well. With Alec out of her life who will she turn to?

    All three books in the series so far have been wonderful, but this one would have to be the one where Eve has the second biggest change in her life after initially getting Marked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great second installment!

    After what seemed like forever (but was in reality about a month), I finally got my hands on a copy of Eve of Destruction, which is book two of the new Marked series by S.J. Day. I absolutely loved the first book, Eve of Darkness. It was truly exceptional, especially when you take into account that it was the first book of a new series in the increasingly crowded Urban Fantasy Genre. I am happy to say that the bar that was set in book one was actually exceeded in book two.

    At the conclusion of Eve of Darkness, our heroine Evangeline Hollis found herself burned to death by a dragon. In chapter one of Eve of Destruction, she finds herself waking up in her own bed. How is this possible? When your main squeezes are Cain and Abel of biblical fame, you have a little more clout than your average run of the mill mortal. And Eve isn't about to argue with her return to the realm of the living. With vivid memories of her own death clear in her mind, she has never been more grateful for her new status as a Mark.

    With a new lease on life, Eve is quickly whisked away to complete her training as a Mark (along with the rest of the newbies). Upon arrival at the training center, things go bad almost immediately. Eve feels feverish (despite the fact that Marks are not susceptible to human ills) and altogether not herself. Not to mention the fact that one of the Marks-in-training is brutally slaughtered during the first training exercise. With no real clues to go on, the newbies are all on edge. And since there is no love lost between Eve and her classmates (they are jealous of her personal life on several levels), she finds herself becoming a solo detective, and not entirely willingly.

    Eve of Destruction was exactly what I hoped it would be and more. Fast paced (but not rushed), exciting, and full of sexual tension between Eve and the two eternally rivaling brothers, it was impossible to put down. One of my favorite aspects of the book was that all of the characters were true to their initial portrayal in book one. It was great to see that neither Cain or Abel was willing to relinquish their struggle with each other or God in order to have an easy relationship with Eve. And that Eve was unwilling to sacrifice any part of herself to be with either brother. Overall, Eve of Destruction gets a five star rating from me. I am going to be on pins and needles until Eve of Chaos is released at the end of the month.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2