Customer Reviews for

Even Money

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dick and Felix Francis once again affirm that a father-son writing team can provide quality mysteries

The first day of the Royal Ascot horse races gala was like any other opening at the prestigious event and Ted Talbot, his co-worker Luca, and their assistant Betsy are taking book from the punters. Out of the crowd comes an elderly man demanding to speak with Ted. He ...
The first day of the Royal Ascot horse races gala was like any other opening at the prestigious event and Ted Talbot, his co-worker Luca, and their assistant Betsy are taking book from the punters. Out of the crowd comes an elderly man demanding to speak with Ted. He insists that he is Peter James Talbot, Ted's father. This is a shocker as Ted was raised by his paternal grandparents who claimed his parents died in a car crash.

Peter informs his still stunned son that he has two half-sisters living in Australia, but before they can get into a car, two thugs demand the older Talbot hand over the money. During the subsequent brawl, James is injured and rushed to the hospital where he dies. Ted goes to his dad's hotel room and finds proof that his father was involved in an illegal activity. The thugs still demand their loot and the code used on chips that are imprinted and then inserted into the horses. Ted's life is in jeopardy but he also wants justice for his father and the insurance these punks will not go after him or his loved ones in the future. He ignores the cops because the lead police officer investigating his father's death assumes he is guilty of something.

Dick and Felix Francis once again affirm that a father-son writing team can provide quality mysteries. Readers are caught up in British horse racing (a trademark of father) and the shenanigans that occur away from the track including some instigated by Ted. Still he receives plenty of empathy as criminals are coming after him as the likely recipient of his father's legacy, he has a mentally ill wife institutionalized, and a co-worker wanting to be his partner in the family business. With plenty of thrills, chills, and spills EVEN MONEY is a sure bet.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the Dick Francis I know and Love

I have read every Dick Francis novel and even preordered Even Money because I was so excited to see that a new book was being released. However, within the first few pages I could tell that Dick Francis probably did not contribute much to this book. One of the great a...
I have read every Dick Francis novel and even preordered Even Money because I was so excited to see that a new book was being released. However, within the first few pages I could tell that Dick Francis probably did not contribute much to this book. One of the great aspects of a Dick Francis novel is that you get to know and care about the main character very quickly (for example Sid Halley). The stories were always exciting and pulled you in. When Silks was released I was excited to see that Felix Francis was writing with his father. I thought that the Francis style would continue on. But that does not seem to be the case. Even Money seems to drag along at a very slow pace and is laden with details about horse betting that do not advance the story. Also, even though Dick Francis novels are centered around horse tracks in Britain, there is much more vernacular in this book than any of the other books. So I am very disappointed; I miss the Dick Francis style that I have come to love.

posted by Vbaugh on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Dick Francis I know and Love

    I have read every Dick Francis novel and even preordered Even Money because I was so excited to see that a new book was being released. However, within the first few pages I could tell that Dick Francis probably did not contribute much to this book. One of the great aspects of a Dick Francis novel is that you get to know and care about the main character very quickly (for example Sid Halley). The stories were always exciting and pulled you in. When Silks was released I was excited to see that Felix Francis was writing with his father. I thought that the Francis style would continue on. But that does not seem to be the case. Even Money seems to drag along at a very slow pace and is laden with details about horse betting that do not advance the story. Also, even though Dick Francis novels are centered around horse tracks in Britain, there is much more vernacular in this book than any of the other books. So I am very disappointed; I miss the Dick Francis style that I have come to love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dick and Felix Francis once again affirm that a father-son writing team can provide quality mysteries

    The first day of the Royal Ascot horse races gala was like any other opening at the prestigious event and Ted Talbot, his co-worker Luca, and their assistant Betsy are taking book from the punters. Out of the crowd comes an elderly man demanding to speak with Ted. He insists that he is Peter James Talbot, Ted's father. This is a shocker as Ted was raised by his paternal grandparents who claimed his parents died in a car crash.

    Peter informs his still stunned son that he has two half-sisters living in Australia, but before they can get into a car, two thugs demand the older Talbot hand over the money. During the subsequent brawl, James is injured and rushed to the hospital where he dies. Ted goes to his dad's hotel room and finds proof that his father was involved in an illegal activity. The thugs still demand their loot and the code used on chips that are imprinted and then inserted into the horses. Ted's life is in jeopardy but he also wants justice for his father and the insurance these punks will not go after him or his loved ones in the future. He ignores the cops because the lead police officer investigating his father's death assumes he is guilty of something.

    Dick and Felix Francis once again affirm that a father-son writing team can provide quality mysteries. Readers are caught up in British horse racing (a trademark of father) and the shenanigans that occur away from the track including some instigated by Ted. Still he receives plenty of empathy as criminals are coming after him as the likely recipient of his father's legacy, he has a mentally ill wife institutionalized, and a co-worker wanting to be his partner in the family business. With plenty of thrills, chills, and spills EVEN MONEY is a sure bet.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Interesting point of view

    I was surprised by some of the negative reviews. I actually really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. The handling of mental illness was done well and the characters were likeable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Another winner from Dick Francis

    Ned Talbot runs his grandfather's bookmaking (as in gambling) business with a young computer expert named Luca. Life is going by day after day until a stranger introduces himself to Ned at the Ascot races. From there, Ned discovers far more than he ever planned and uncovers secrets from both the present and the distant past.

    This mystery is more like three mysteries in one, all with Ned as the critical component. Ned is such an interesting character and has a lot of depth. He deals with real issues concerning his family, his past, and his business. And it all comes together at the end in a complex ending that will have you turning the last 70 pages and not putting it down.

    I admit that I'm a huge fan of Dick Francis, and if you like his books you'll find another winner here. I was not disappointed with this one, and read it straight through. A thoroughly enjoyable mystery/thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Another winner!

    I am so glad Mr. Francis is back to writing. You can tell his son is assisting with the writing; it's not quite the same but it is VERY close to the original Dick Francis style. What I think is different, and not quite as good, is the depth of the plot. But it is a great mystery, thrilling and minus the stupid blood/gore of some mysteries. I look forward to more from the Francis's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Even Money

    Worst book Dick Frances has ever written, if he actually wrote this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    What are the odds?

    Once again Dick Francis takes us behind the scenes and shows us the world of the bookmakers plying their trade at the race track. How the odds are set and then reset based upon the amount of bets placed before each race. The gamemanship between the on tract bookies and the large off track betting houses to assure that they always end up after each race paying out less then they take in. To complicate our bookmaker's life, he is confronte by his father who was supposedly been long dead, only to have him murdered a few hours later. Now our bookie must find his father's killer while he keeps hie eye on the odds. Great relaxing read for a day at the beach or curled up in fromt of a fire on a cold night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great Book!!!!!

    As usual Dick & Felix Francis have teamed up for a great book. It is exciting and you like the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes a great murder mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I have read every Dick Francis book

    but this one falls a bit short. Too much slogging through the technicalities of what a bookmaker's life is like to get to the plot and the mystery. I was disappointed because I just wanted to have a good read that took me away like the Dick Francis of old but this was more of a how to be a bookmaker mixed in with a plot that could have been expanded and thus more interesting to the reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Excellent.

    I have read just about all of Dick Francis' books. This was vintage Francis. There is always some connection to horses, and he always takes pains to educate the reader so the reader will understand the various problems the characters are going through. The characters are likable, believable, and the reader is always left wanting more. I would geartily reccommend this book to anyone, especially fans of Dick and Felix Francis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, not the best

    Read above.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good book

    This was a good book. I would recommend it to others and will read/listen to books by the Francis' again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Not the best Dick Francis entry.

    Really not a very intersting book. There are lots better Dick Francis books than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Even Money

    This is a good book! However, as with all of Dick Francis' books, it is hard to get into. Once you get into it, it takes off and has a life of it's own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3