Customer Reviews for

Even Vampires Get the Blues (Dark Ones Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

wild zany private investigative romantic fantasy

Moravian Dark One Paen Scott seems doomed as he is the only one of his brothers born without a soul. His only chance is to find his beloved who can bring his soul to him. However Paen has no hope in ever obtaining his soul as he does not believe in love so makes no ef...
Moravian Dark One Paen Scott seems doomed as he is the only one of his brothers born without a soul. His only chance is to find his beloved who can bring his soul to him. However Paen has no hope in ever obtaining his soul as he does not believe in love so makes no efforts to try to find his soul mate instead he spends his time translating ancient manuscripts. --- An Alastor, Casper Green shows poof to Paen that his father, away in South America, owes the Oriens a statue of the Jiln God and they have sent him to collect. Failure to pay will cost his mother her soul. Paen hires her half-breed human elf Samantha Cosse and her cousin purebred fairy Clare, who just opened up a private investigative firm as the former is excellent at locating lost items, to locate the missing artifact. Attracted to one another, she takes on another case to find her beloved┬┐s missing soul. --- EVEN VAMPIRES GET THE BLUES is a wild zany private investigative romantic fantasy in which the three elements blend smoothly together leading to readers having e a great time perusing this book. The story line is part humor yet builds suspense as fans ponder if Sam can save her soul mate, who refuses to recognize who she is, and his mother. As with SEX, LIES, AND VAMPIRES and SEX AND THE SINGLE VAMPIRE, Katie MacAlister provides a frenzied fun frolic. ---Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not her best 'Supernatural'

I have read the first three of this 'Vampire Series', and this one is just not as good as any of the others for me. The plot seemed very ADD for me. It really seems that Katie was trying a little too hard to make the supernatural elements too original or was trying to s...
I have read the first three of this 'Vampire Series', and this one is just not as good as any of the others for me. The plot seemed very ADD for me. It really seems that Katie was trying a little too hard to make the supernatural elements too original or was trying to stuff too much supernatural elements into the story line. Or maybe it was the lack of chemistry I felt between the main characters. I still think her 'Sex and the Single Vampire' is the best in this series. Maybe she is concentrating a little too hard on her Aisling Grey series, either way, it was a dissappointing read for someone who was counting down the days until this release.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wild zany private investigative romantic fantasy

    Moravian Dark One Paen Scott seems doomed as he is the only one of his brothers born without a soul. His only chance is to find his beloved who can bring his soul to him. However Paen has no hope in ever obtaining his soul as he does not believe in love so makes no efforts to try to find his soul mate instead he spends his time translating ancient manuscripts. --- An Alastor, Casper Green shows poof to Paen that his father, away in South America, owes the Oriens a statue of the Jiln God and they have sent him to collect. Failure to pay will cost his mother her soul. Paen hires her half-breed human elf Samantha Cosse and her cousin purebred fairy Clare, who just opened up a private investigative firm as the former is excellent at locating lost items, to locate the missing artifact. Attracted to one another, she takes on another case to find her beloved¿s missing soul. --- EVEN VAMPIRES GET THE BLUES is a wild zany private investigative romantic fantasy in which the three elements blend smoothly together leading to readers having e a great time perusing this book. The story line is part humor yet builds suspense as fans ponder if Sam can save her soul mate, who refuses to recognize who she is, and his mother. As with SEX, LIES, AND VAMPIRES and SEX AND THE SINGLE VAMPIRE, Katie MacAlister provides a frenzied fun frolic. ---Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Even Vampires Get The Blues

    I just love this dark ones series it is great. I read this book in a day. I just can't wait for more books from this author she is a great writer with a sense of humor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tongue in cheek vampire series

    I've read all of Ms. MacAlister's books and this series is right up there with all of them. She has a writing style that has a touch of tongue in cheek humor. Her vampires are strong characters with honor and much humor for me. I recommend the entire series. You'll enjoy and want to read more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice light vamp reading.

    this is a good book for a change from the harsher fly by the seat of your pants vampire series. (Such as the Anita Blake or Rachael Morgan ones)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Great first book

    This is the first book i have read from Katie MacAlister and it makes me want to read all of them... I felt as though the characters were my oldest friends and did not want to put it down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Amazing and full of red hot passion.

    This book was the first novel that made it hard to put down. It left me wanting more and left me with questions. Questions like: ' Do Paen and Sam get married?' Well my friend read it five times because she liked it so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    awsome

    It has the action, love and comedy with a sassy character what else could you want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    hot and heavy

    l bought this book just because and when i read it i couldn't put it down.i definitly recommend this in fact i lent it to a friend already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    I loved reading this book, I did not get it because of any reason just bought it because needed something to do when riding long distances in a car, but I loved this book, because of it I went out and bought other Katie MacAlister books, now I don't have to worry about picking up a bad read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Sexy and Sassy!

    Another great book in the Dark One Series for Katie! I might even go so far as to say this was my favorite one yet. Sam was definitely my favorite heroine of all the books. It's fun, sexy and a good read for the beach, bath or couch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    loved it

    I do like how Katie MacAlister blends the Otherworld with ours and I like how her characters can stand on their own while also being a tongue in cheek tribute to Christine Feehan's Carpathians. I must admit I was expecting to see Aisling Grey here, as we are teased into knowing that we will be dealing with a Guardian. That is what this author's does best tease us, makes us laugh and have a thoroughly good time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    She does it again!!!!!

    Once again a witty romantic read. I could not put it down.Her characters are always funny and lovable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3