Customer Reviews for

Evening

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    Evening

    About 15 pages into this book, I wasn't sure I was going to finish it. Not because it wasn't intriguing, just because I wasn't sure I was mentally capable. The book has an actual rhythm to it which takes some getting used to but once you do, its well worth the effort. <BR/><BR/>We all have moments in our lives that have shaped which paths we take and ultimately change our destinies. This book explores this in a beautiful and touching way. As an old woman bedridden and dying, Ann Lord examines her life as she slips in and out of mental clarity. The 'what if' as it pertains to a single weekend in Ann's life leads the reader through decades of pain, love, shame, and ultimately happiness. <BR/><BR/>Overall I found this book to be a good read and one I enjoyed much more after I was finished and able to reflect on its impact on my own life. This is definitely a book that demands your attention and a little work but I found it extremely rewarding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Outstanding! I couldn't put it down.

    This book was incredible...it has been a long time since I have read a book from cover to cover without putting it down! A deeply touching story about reflecting on one's life and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Ending was a complete let down

    The beginning and middle of this novel was great but the ending was a complete let down. It seemed like the author ran out of steam and just wrote a quick, disappointing ending. The movie was just as bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Definitely Disappointing

    I thought it was going to be a good book since it won New York Times book of the year and a motion picture was made based on the book. Too many characters, made it too confusing. It was also depressing. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Evening should be put to rest

    I did not care for this book for a couple of reasons. The stream of consciousness style of some of the passages was so annoying and lacking in depth that I simply skimmed them. The main story of the weekend that changed the main character's life was told in a very fine fashion, but those passages didn't make up for the overall choppiness and confusion that left the reader going 'huh?' I understand that the writer wanted the reader to be as confused as the dying cancer patient would be on her death bed, and while the intent is fine the delivery makes the book stylistically unpalatable. The portions of the book about the patient's present day family are irritating and left me wondering why they even bothered to show up at her deathbed. Overall, a dissapointment after all of the hype. I would not read this author again if a new book includes the stream of consciousness technique that here flopped so badly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down and I sobbed at the end of it. It touched something deep in me and brought up a lot of my own memories. I completely understood this heroine and I thought the mystery of love was really well conveyed in a beautiful but not overly sentimental way. I think if you have loved, lost and then had to go on this book will be more poignant for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    I wasted several hours of my life on this book.....

    This story could have been told in a few pages. Unfortunately, the story was stretched out and told in three different ways, it seems. First, the main plot or focus of the book, the weekend Ann meets and spends a mere three days with Harris. Second, the constant flashbacks to her inadequate life after said weekend. Third, the weird, morphine-induced delusions of a dying Ann. The worst parts were the page-long, run-on sentences without punctuation. Add to that her thoughts or memories interjected in to the middle of sentences, e.g. 'So much of life was bracing oneself MAKE IT GO AWAY she was not as she once was I CAN'T BEGIN TO EXPLAIN the old way was not working...' The only good thing I found about this book was that, mercifully, it was a short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    very disappointing

    This book was very disappointing. A 'love' based on one weekend fling isn't love. It's scratching an itch. This could have been so much better. Also, the author's style of writing was entirely too kitschy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Introspective

    I liked this book. I thought it was a little depressing - I guess the take home message is that one never really is happy with how one ends up?? I'm not sure. It was definitely a good read, though, and made me think. I think it's a good beach/vacation read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    I Liked It, But

    It's been done before. Take 'The Jilting of Granny Wetherall,' add some Woolf, some Mansfield and some closely-replicated Joyce. I read it straight through, though. Engaging, but predictable. Enough already with the dedication. . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A SINGULAR STORY OF LOVE AND LOSS

    Broadway and television actress, Emmy Award winner for her performance in the PBS series The Adams Chronicles, Kathryn Walker has a varied and busy career. Born in Philadelphia she made her debut in an off Broadway production in 1971. It didn't take long for her to reach Broadway in such stellar offerings as 'Private Lives' and 'Wild Honey.' Her film roles are many, and she has often appeared on daytime television. This is an actress perfectly suited to give voice to Minot's superb story of love and loss. In the summer of 1954 Ann Grant traveled from New York City to coastal Maine to be a bridesmaid in a good friend's wedding. She was 25, and it was there that she met Harris Arden. She had heard his name mentioned, but she had expected someone older. He was young, handsome, and they fell in love, almost immediately, fully, and passionately. That was a weekend she would always remember because Harris was engaged to a girl in Chicago, and he would marry her. Ann, too, would marry, several times. In the present narrative it is years later, we hear: 'In her sixty-five years Ann Lord had kept herself busy and was not particularly reflective but now forced to lie here day after day she found herself visited by certain reflections. Life would not hold any more surprises for her, she thought, all that was left was for her to get through this last thing.' Ann is dying, at times lucid, at other times seemingly lost in delirium where she relives that weekend of long ago. An incredible writer, Susan Minot has fashioned a singular story of love and loss, life and death. To hear this author's exquisite prose is a rare treat, to hear it read by Kathryn Walker enriches the experience. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Cliché, cliché, cliché , and downright pathetic

    At the end of her life, Ann Lord thinks back on how her life might have been different if she had spent it with her 'true love.' Right. A 'true love' with whom she spent moments in one whirlwind weekend, and with whom the extent of their relationship was based solely on physical attraction and on nothing approaching substance. The characters are generally not developed enough, with the exception of Ann Lord, who is intended to be this sweet heroine who has had a lifelong run of bad luck and bad choices, but who is really nothing more than a selfish and shallow child. Further crippling the hope of enjoying this novel, is the author's lack of punctuation. There are some passages where this works to convey the experience of a dying woman, and the way that the mind spins into so many different directions. But overall, it is distracting, and leads to having to reread parts of the book in order to figure out who is talking and what they are talking about. The one redeeming quality of Evening is Minot's use of descriptive language. She does manage to create some truly beautiful settings that keep this book from being a complete waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Beautiful story, lyrical prose

    Ms. Minot does an outstanding job of telling the story of a dying woman's last days and her memories of the events in which she met her true love so many years ago. You don't have to be a fan of love stories to enjoy this novel, I'm certainly not. But, Ms. Minot tells the story in such a way, that you can't help but become transfixed with the star-crossed lovers. Well worth reading, for the breathtaking prose alone. Well done, Ms. Minot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    I loved this book!

    Beautifully written and heartbreaking- this book is great. Once I started, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Even better the second time...

    Minot's style of writing parallels the mind's often swirling indifference to thinking rationally when the emotional heart is involved. I find it hard to put this book down once I start reading it - swept up in the timeless romance, goosebumps and tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    I loved this book!

    This was a very touching book and I loved reading it. It especially had meaning to me because of the death of my grandmother this past year. One can only imagine the thoughts that cross one's mind when death is near. A great read & highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    Left happy, but waiting

    Well written and a basically enjoyable plot line, QUICK READ, but please explain more!I loved Minot's style and felt that she conveyed the conflict between conscious/subconscious or mind/heart very well. I grew attached to each of her characters but was left waiting for more closure by the end of the book. Minot did not clarify the answers to the questions she asked at the opening: Do moments last forever? Does the love matter? It did not seem that the author meant to leave problems unresolved, but simply lost the energy to finish what she started. The issues of the sisters and brother, with their mother, each other, and their own personal lives, had no conclusion. I was left wondering if Minot wanted to reader to believe that endless cycles exist in human nature, and this was reflected in Ann's problems continued on with her children. What was the connection between Ann and Constance? Why did Maria write Ann? Again, Well written and a basically enjoyable plot line, but please explain more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    Haunting

    I found that once I started, I could not put this book down. The story of Ann's life and the one weekend that did so much to shape it was simply irresistable. Minot manages to tell this story in such a haunting way that I felt almost as if I was floating through the story with the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2