BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Evening Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Evening Star¿s is a unique book. It made me sad that Averil and

Evening Star’s is a unique book. It made me sad that Averil and Nina had such a hard time communicating throughout the book, even though it all works out in the end. I thank God my own mother is not flakey and irresponsible like Bonnie. The whole book made me think ...
Evening Star’s is a unique book. It made me sad that Averil and Nina had such a hard time communicating throughout the book, even though it all works out in the end. I thank God my own mother is not flakey and irresponsible like Bonnie. The whole book made me think a lot about the dynamics of my own family and makes me appreciate them all the more. So, a very good read, and I enjoyed the characters because they were so different.

posted by ColeteR on February 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I loved the book, something a little different than the normal S

I loved the book, something a little different than the normal Susan Mallory book!

posted by 9702236 on March 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Susan Mallery has another winner on her hands with the release o

    Susan Mallery has another winner on her hands with the release of Evening Stars. This is the third book in the Blackberry Island series and it's just as wonderful as Barefoot Season (book 1) and Three Sisters (book 2). You don't have to have read the first two books to follow the story line in Evening Stars, but I would suggest you read all three -- they are just that good. The characters are compelling as are their stories. I was hooked from the first chapter and didn't want to put it down until I got to the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    As always, Susan Mallery's books grab me at the start and I cann

    As always, Susan Mallery's books grab me at the start and I cannot put them down. I instantly fell for the characters and their strengths as well as their struggles. Love the Blackberry Island series and cannot wait for another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    5.0 out of 5 stars Not expected but very thought provoking, Mar

    5.0 out of 5 stars Not expected but very thought provoking, March 13, 2014
    By
    m. e. berg - See all my reviews

    This review is from: Evening Stars (Blackberry Island) (Paperback)
    When I started reading Evening Star, I expected another book focused on residents of a small town. Instead, I found a focus on yet another dysfunction family. The more I read, the more involved I became in the interactions between the 2 sisters and their mother. This was the fourth book I read about how affected we remain in adulthood by our childhood family dynamics. That must be the latest publisher preferences, but this's is the strongest and most touching book of the list.

    This is the story of two sisters, the older of which took over caring for her sister and maintaining her home and mother. Why, because their mother didn't want have to grow up and take responsibility for herself or her children. She wants to be a perpetual Peter Pan but that means her daughter has had to be the adult since she was a child. Now both daughters need to figure out how to grow up and get past their history.

    This has become one of my favorite Susan Mallery's novels. It touches something deep inside me and, despite my age, leaves me wondering how to get past my expectations of myself and who I am, just as Susan's characters have done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    This was a great book. Took me back to a place I love and introd

    This was a great book. Took me back to a place I love and introduced me to characters like me, sometimes fumbling along, sometimes getting it right. I recommend to anyone looking for a good book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I absolutely loved this books. Susan has a way of writing that

    I absolutely loved this books. Susan has a way of writing that when you finish a book, you start think of your own life and how you can make it better. If you don't learn something about your self from this book then you need to read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This series is so heartwarming that it puts me in a great mood w

    This series is so heartwarming that it puts me in a great mood when I read it. The stories are so much more than just romance, and while this book had more romance than the previous with two love interests, it really focuses on family dynamics and inner growth.




    With a flighty mother and a spoiled little sister, Nina has grown up with too much responsibility and as such, put her own dreams aside to concentrate on taking care of everyone else. When things happen and she has a chance to look at her life, she isn’t really happy with it, but is scared to make changes.




    Chronicling Nina’s journey to discover her inner strength, and her true dreams, this is a beautiful story. The characters are deep and complex, and very realistic. Nina’s inner doubts and worries were very familiar feeling, and I was genuinely happy any time she had something happen to make her smile.




    There was a playfulness in this story that was lacking in the previous books, with two love interests, especially the younger Kyle who idolized Nina when he was a kid and she was his babysitter. It was amusing to watch their interactions.




    Overall, this was a great addition to the series. The stories are so human and endearing. I love travelling around Blackberry Island with the characters. There is a predictable HEA feeling to it, but the journey there is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Taylor

    Is sitting in on the bed

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    highly recommend

    love all susan mallery books - have never had a bad one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Small town romance with spice!

    5 Stars!
    Contemporary Romance
    Release date: February 25, 2014

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery returns to Blackberry Island with the poignant tale of two sisters on the verge of claiming their dreams.

    Small-town nurse Nina Wentworth has made a career out of being a caretaker. More "Mom" than their mother ever was, she sacrificed medical school—and her first love—so her sister could break free. Which is why she isn't exactly thrilled to see Averil back on Blackberry Island, especially when Nina's life has suddenly become…complicated.

    Nina unexpectedly finds herself juggling two men—her high school sweetheart and a younger maverick pilot who also wants to claim her heart. But as fun as all this romance is, Nina has real life to deal with. Averil doesn't seem to want the great guy she's married to, and doesn't seem to be making headway writing her first book; their mom is living life just as recklessly as she always has; and Nina's starting to realize that the control she once had is slipping out of her fingers. Her hopes of getting off the island seem to be stretching further away…until her mother makes a discovery that could change everything forever.

    But before Nina and Averil can reach for the stars, they have to decide what they want. Will Averil stay? Will Nina leave? And what about the men who claim to love them? Does love heal, or will finding their happy ending mean giving up all they've ever wanted?

    MY REVIEW:

    I haven’t read Susan Mallery before, and I’m ashamed to say that—and now, smacking myself—because this was an extremely cute read. I loved the feel Ms. Mallery set up in this small town, the chemistry she created, and the laugh out loud moments throughout.

    You’ve got Nina who has had to step in ever since she was a teen to play “mom,” not only to her own mother, but also to her younger sister. Fast forward a few years and suddenly things are falling into place and troubles are falling left and right. She tries to keep control of it all, yet finds herself in the mist of attention from two very hot men who want her, and won’t stop at anything to get her.

    The path she takes is visible as the reader goes through the book. It all pieces together very nicely and the chemistry is off the charts. The secondary love story running at the same time was also a nice touch, and goes to prove that just because two people get married, doesn’t mean that they have to stop working for their happy ever after.

    If you want a romance with a small town feel, that still leaves you needing a cold shower, and laughing so much your eyes water, get this today. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Loved the final intallment of Blackberry Island series, although

    Loved the final intallment of Blackberry Island series, although sad to see it end. Nina has been the responsible older sister to Averil since their father left the family and her mother has not ever grown up. She gave up on her dream to become a doctor with her high school sweetheart Dylan who did persue medical school. Nina is a nurse in a pediatric practice on the Island.
    Alone and tired of the pressure put on her by her Mom for cleaning up her messes and taking care of the antiques store her Mom owns, Nina has started to do a lot of thinking on where her life should be. She embarks in a sexy affair with a younger "kid" she knew from high school who shows up out of nowhere and sweeps her off her feet. Then one rainy night when her car dies in the middle of a rain storm, as she is walking a car pulls up and offers a ride - Dylan has returned to town to take over his father's practice.
    There are many twists and turns, funny scenes where you will laugh and amazing transformations that some of the characters go through. Another great book from Susan Mallery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I first got hooked on Susan Mallery after reading her Fool's Gol

    I first got hooked on Susan Mallery after reading her Fool's Gold Series. This is the first book I have read in the Blackberry Island series and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    The family dynamics were not what I expected but it was wonderfu

    The family dynamics were not what I expected but it was wonderful to watch the family come to terms with the long-term impact of how they related to each other.  Nina's relationships were interesting but I was happy for her to end up with the person she did at the end.  I also liked how the two daughters found their way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Definitely Recommend I love how Susan keeps you engrossed in th

    Definitely Recommend

    I love how Susan keeps you engrossed in the story and turning pages. You can envision yourself as the character and an image pops up,
    then, as you read on, images keep flowing and it is like you are in the story but you're watching it as a movie.   -Chelsea Hudgens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I loved this book! I loved how Mallery brings out the dynamics i

    I loved this book! I loved how Mallery brings out the dynamics in friendships between women. I loved the whole trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Susan Mallery never disappoints-another GREAT book! I love that

    Susan Mallery never disappoints-another GREAT book! I love that Nina is a strong independent woman who still finds the time to be such a great help to all the people around her! I could not put this book down! I love when you start reading a good book and you forget about the time. Definitely worth your time to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I loved the book. Susan Mallery does a great job with women's f

    I loved the book. Susan Mallery does a great job with women's fiction. I couldn't put it down. I like to read about dysfunctional families working out their problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    This is one of Susan Mallery's best books. I really enjoyed the

    This is one of Susan Mallery's best books. I really enjoyed the story line and dynamics between the two sisters and their mother is very unique. Barely a dull moment could be found in this great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I love the way Susan Mallery writes. You instantly fall into th

    I love the way Susan Mallery writes. You instantly fall into the book as if you were there. She makes Blackberry Island so real I would love to visit! Fantastic read would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    I enjoy reading about the relationships on Blackberry Island. Th

    I enjoy reading about the relationships on Blackberry Island. The idea that you can come from a dysfunctional family and still conquer all your "family" problems and find your happy ending is a wonderful story. Susan Mallery hits all your emotional buttons in this Book: anger at the thoughtless mother, sadness for the strained relationship between Nina and Averil, and happiness that there is a happy ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    AWSOME ,,6.0 out of 5.0 loved loved it ,I related to it ,not one

    AWSOME ,,6.0 out of 5.0 loved loved it ,I related to it ,not one to give away the story line ,but I'm sure you'll fall in love with this book as much as I did it's a must read enjoy 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10