Customer Reviews for

Event (Event Group Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Science Fiction meets Adventure

The "Event" is in full tradition of Clive Cussler, mixing historical fact with fiction. This Author has take several themes from others and set the stage for his characters to give a twist to what people who enjoy: Indiana Jones, Captain Nemo, Area 51, Eureka, Dirk Pit,...
The "Event" is in full tradition of Clive Cussler, mixing historical fact with fiction. This Author has take several themes from others and set the stage for his characters to give a twist to what people who enjoy: Indiana Jones, Captain Nemo, Area 51, Eureka, Dirk Pit, Warehouse 13, and a whole host of other characters.

Golemon, has taken the Myths, Stories, Fiction, and has weaved a tale which could almost believe able and extremely entertaining.

You have a clandestine government agency which can call upon other agencies, yet, not be held accountable to congress, except to the President. It is located at an airbase in Nevada, (could it be area 51?) You have a series of vaults which house artifacts, consisting of myths,and stories.(Ark of The Covent,Indiana Jones, or Warehouse 13, or even area 51) either way, you can identify with some story, movie, or reality which has come public knowledge. Then Finally you have the scientist who are the brightest, some of which are military, (a stretch here, but, possible) who build, research, create, who are actually overall think tank, protecting the United States, and World from any history altering EVENT.

This series of books, represent a hours upon hours of entertainment, escapism, in the finest tradition of science fiction, and adventure.

I do caution the reader, set aside enough time, because once you start to read you just may lose track of time, and end up with your Event. occurring.

posted by Art45 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great story good read

I approached this book with a fair bit of skepticism since I knew it was another story based upon the Roswell incident. I was pleasantly surprised. I found the story very well thought out and the plot moved along. The plotting was definitely the strongest element of ...
I approached this book with a fair bit of skepticism since I knew it was another story based upon the Roswell incident. I was pleasantly surprised. I found the story very well thought out and the plot moved along. The plotting was definitely the strongest element of the book and I enjoyed the nature of the monster/alien. Very clever. Even the initial stages when the book was focused on laying the framework for a "series" of follow-on novels was entertaining. I was less impressed with the actual writing style - it seemed sporadic, at times being very expressive and interesting, but at other times seeming to reiterate what was said before without a great deal of effort seemingly expended in finding a different way to say it. Still it was a great story and a good read. And the highest praise is that I do plan on checking out the next Event Group novel.

posted by 5047427 on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Enjoyed this book. It was the fourth in the series that I read, but the first in the series to be written. You don't have to read the books in order, but there are threads that run from book to book.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers. It's fun.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Science Fiction meets Adventure

    The "Event" is in full tradition of Clive Cussler, mixing historical fact with fiction. This Author has take several themes from others and set the stage for his characters to give a twist to what people who enjoy: Indiana Jones, Captain Nemo, Area 51, Eureka, Dirk Pit, Warehouse 13, and a whole host of other characters.

    Golemon, has taken the Myths, Stories, Fiction, and has weaved a tale which could almost believe able and extremely entertaining.

    You have a clandestine government agency which can call upon other agencies, yet, not be held accountable to congress, except to the President. It is located at an airbase in Nevada, (could it be area 51?) You have a series of vaults which house artifacts, consisting of myths,and stories.(Ark of The Covent,Indiana Jones, or Warehouse 13, or even area 51) either way, you can identify with some story, movie, or reality which has come public knowledge. Then Finally you have the scientist who are the brightest, some of which are military, (a stretch here, but, possible) who build, research, create, who are actually overall think tank, protecting the United States, and World from any history altering EVENT.

    This series of books, represent a hours upon hours of entertainment, escapism, in the finest tradition of science fiction, and adventure.

    I do caution the reader, set aside enough time, because once you start to read you just may lose track of time, and end up with your Event. occurring.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Event was a great lead in to the rest in the series

    I read Legend first - not knowing it was a series. I waited till I got Event before reading others. It was a very good intro to the people in the future books. Insight as to why they are there. It was intriguing as everyone wonders about the "stories" we hear like Roswell, Atlantis, aetc. Just another perspective and a really fun read. Am looking forward to Leviathian having read Event, Legend and Ancients. If you like a fast paced sci fi mystery This is it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    "Event" is an interesting enough book that is a very q

    "Event" is an interesting enough book that is a very quick read. As others have mentioned, however, the book does seem to have been poorly edited. It may only be the case for the Nook version, but in the first 50 pages I lost count of the number of typos and grammatical errors that I was finding. The writing style is also very simple at times, reminding me more of a half-hearted high school English assignment rather than a novel by a would-be professional author. Overall, though, I did enjoy the story and I hope that Golemon can use this book as a learning experience to improve on his future works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Fair story

    I'm always looking for a great series to fill the gaps between releases by Vince Flynn and now another favorite - Patrick Lee. Lee does the sci-fi/national secrets much better, and maybe that's why I was hoping for more from the Event Series. I've only gotten through the first one so maybe the next one will get a bit better. A lot of filler in what is really just a simple story, but good for a rainy weekend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great story good read

    I approached this book with a fair bit of skepticism since I knew it was another story based upon the Roswell incident. I was pleasantly surprised. I found the story very well thought out and the plot moved along. The plotting was definitely the strongest element of the book and I enjoyed the nature of the monster/alien. Very clever. Even the initial stages when the book was focused on laying the framework for a "series" of follow-on novels was entertaining. I was less impressed with the actual writing style - it seemed sporadic, at times being very expressive and interesting, but at other times seeming to reiterate what was said before without a great deal of effort seemingly expended in finding a different way to say it. Still it was a great story and a good read. And the highest praise is that I do plan on checking out the next Event Group novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    GREAT

    This is just great reading. Nothing more to say!!!! He ranks among the really good suspense writers. Read the whole series. They just get better and better with each book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    "Event"ful and full of action!

    This was a great read! Using an old conspericy theory this book brings it into the present. I was intregued by the whole idea! I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. A real page turner! I must confess, I read the ending about half way through the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    The First in a Series of Excellent & Entertaining Reads

    David Goldman's Event Group series of novels hold the reader's attention with page-turning action and adventure. I have enjoyed each and every book in the series and look forward to his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Fantastic!

    So pleased with this book and the series. You won't regret trying them out. The books sucked me in until I read them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is truely a great book! The plot is gripping snd moves at a good speed. I am enjoying all of it and an excited that there are already more in the series that i am absolutely going to buy.

    The only downside are all the typos!!!! Good grief read the final printing before offering it to the public. This really makes the editor look stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Compelling story line but....

    While the story line was compelling and interesting, the book suffers from inexcusable mistakes in grammatical structure. Numerous run-on sentences, frequent repetition of words and phrases, and poor use of adjectives distract from what otherwise would be a plausible explanation for one of the most exciting events of the 20th Century. Perhaps the author should have reviewed his Junior High School English classes before attempting to publish a novel such as this one. Thumbs down on this one, strictly because of the lack of proper technique.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Lisa

    Great adventure story. Fast paced. Very good book. It was hard to put down. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Yipee, for the event

    Very exciting . One of those books you cant put down. I had to stay up late to finish. The story line was plausible, and now i want a followup story, to discover if the creatures are really dead and if the eggs taken by the bad guy hatched, etc. Really good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    ONE OF THE BEST SERIES EVER!!!

    I might just be 14, but this book is deffinetly one of my favorites. It kept me wanting to read this book and it gave me tons of thrills and action. Event also had romance in it, but just the right amount. It didn't get all swallowed up into it. Even at points made me cry so hard. You just feel like you know the characters and what's going on in their heads right now. David Lynn Golemon is a seriously talented writter and I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in SciFi or action novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I wanted to like it...

    The cover and subject matter interested me enough to buy the book, but in this case, the adage to not judge a book by it's cover holds true. I wanted to like the book, and I did enjoy the concept, but the amateurish writing style, and lack of character strength was just too distracting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    An absolute delight.

    I could not put this book down. It was an exciting idea and the action started from the beginning and last till the very end. I loved the detail put into the book, it helped make the story very realistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Can Pass This Book By

    This book takes way too long setting up the story then actually telling one. Grammar is confusing and the techno-babel which is attempting to be Clancy-esk is just plain bad. The premise of the 'Event Group' is just too far fetched to be believable, the characters are stereotypical and one dimensional. The whole Rosewell thing has been done much, much better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Fan of Rosewell, New Meixco! This is a must read!

    Rosewell, New Mexico, here we come. This is a must read for all of us who feel that something really did happen in Roswell that fateful day. The imagination here runs wild but it is a good story and told well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    great story, can't wait for the next book by this author, want to sit on edge of seat again.

    This book certainly has given information on more than one event and keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more. It's clear there are more stories coming and this reader is anxious for the release. Your imagination truely soares due to the author's vivid detail and knowledge of the history behind the events discussed in this story and the research done by him is evident. I feel you will truely enjoy this book. Good job Mr. Golemon, please keep up the exlent work, it seems you have a great future in the book world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6