Customer Reviews for

Event (Event Group Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this book. It was the fourth in the series that I read, but the first in the series to be written. You don't have to read the books in order, but there are threads that run from book to book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers. It's fun.

posted by anonLJ on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fair story

I'm always looking for a great series to fill the gaps between releases by Vince Flynn and now another favorite - Patrick Lee. Lee does the sci-fi/national secrets much better, and maybe that's why I was hoping for more from the Event Series. I've only gotten through th...
I'm always looking for a great series to fill the gaps between releases by Vince Flynn and now another favorite - Patrick Lee. Lee does the sci-fi/national secrets much better, and maybe that's why I was hoping for more from the Event Series. I've only gotten through the first one so maybe the next one will get a bit better. A lot of filler in what is really just a simple story, but good for a rainy weekend.

posted by LeeR on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    "Event"ful and full of action!

    This was a great read! Using an old conspericy theory this book brings it into the present. I was intregued by the whole idea! I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. A real page turner! I must confess, I read the ending about half way through the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    The First in a Series of Excellent & Entertaining Reads

    David Goldman's Event Group series of novels hold the reader's attention with page-turning action and adventure. I have enjoyed each and every book in the series and look forward to his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is truely a great book! The plot is gripping snd moves at a good speed. I am enjoying all of it and an excited that there are already more in the series that i am absolutely going to buy.

    The only downside are all the typos!!!! Good grief read the final printing before offering it to the public. This really makes the editor look stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Yipee, for the event

    Very exciting . One of those books you cant put down. I had to stay up late to finish. The story line was plausible, and now i want a followup story, to discover if the creatures are really dead and if the eggs taken by the bad guy hatched, etc. Really good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Action, action, and more action

    In July 1947, seventy-six miles northwest of Roswell, New Mexico, a truck convoy delivers special cargo to a remote safe place in Nevada. Men in Black take charge of the operation killing the military and scientists at the scene with the simple rationale that ¿controlled violence¿ is needed to counter the enemy. No evidence is left behind as even the blood washes away amidst the cooperating desert sand and everything else is carted away. However this is the second phase of what has become known as the Roswell Incident. --- In the present in the cradle of the Roswell Incident, another apparent crash occurs, but this time two beings survive unlike the five decade old earlier incident. One is a tiny intelligent alien wanting to keep mankind safe from the other, a killing machine beast whose function is to eradicate mankind. While the Men in Black want to annihilate the helpful alien and control the savage to use as a weapon of mass destruction, the top secret federal government Event Group led by Major Jack Collins tries to stop the rampaging beast. These two agencies with differing views of America and the world will battle one another as much as they skirmish with the extraterrestrials. --- Action, action, and more action are what the exhilarating EVENT is all about as readers will need seatbelts with this faster than light thriller. The story line combines several well used premises like the good and bad aliens with secret government agencies to spin a fun conspiracy tale. Though the cast is never fully developed, readers will not care as the MIB vs. the Event superheavyweight contender battle to see who will take on the champion from outer space. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    A good read.

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Recommended!

    I enjoyed the book very much, however, the violence and gore were a bit overdone. Could have achieved the same results with so much of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    captivating story

    This was a good book, and I enjoyed reading it. The plot kept me interested, and I always wanted to keep reading to the next chapter to find out what happens. Whan more can you ask for in a story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I like this book very much!

    I like this book very much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2