Customer Reviews for

Eventide

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Beautifully Crafted!

    This highly and uniqely descriptive work kept me reading from cover to cover. I haven't read this authors work in the past, though I will begin Plainsong next. The way the ending left on a positive note was pleasant though seemed to be a bit weak for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No resolution

    I kept waiting for a connection between the different plot lines and it never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Love this sequel to "Plainsong"

    The characters are so real and the story stays with you. There is something soulful and poetic in Mr. Haruf's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    If you read Plainsong, Read This. If not, Read Plainsong.

    Technically a sequel to Plainsong but with a very different feel. Where Plainsong was haunting and spare this one reads a bit more like a Richard Russo small town saga. Enjoyable enough but not magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Great Sequel

    Again, Haruf had me captured with his down to Earth and true to life writing. It seemed a little more complex than Plainsong, and it was definitely more heartbreaking (from what I can remember). I'm looking forward to reading his other books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Disappointing

    I loved Plainsong, but this sequel just did not capture me like the first did. Beautifully descriptive. There were several storylines, the main one being the McPheron brothers which was by far the best and most entertaining. The storyline of DJ and his grandfather was the weakest, had no point, and ended oddly. Hopefully there will be another story that will clarify for us. Haruf is one of my favorite authors but this story just did not match up to the others. I am not real fond of the way that it is written with the sentences and the dialogs all running together without quotation marks. Otherwise it was a beautifully written book about an area of the country and a profession I know all to well and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    If you loved Plainsong...

    If you loved Plainsong, you will love Eventide. I watched eagerly for Kent Haruf's next novel and am happy to report that Eventide did not disapoint. The story, set in small town America, is peopled by engaging, believable characters who try to conduct their lives with quiet dignity as best they are able. And some are more or less able than others. And sometimes, as in real life, fate steps in and dignity steps aside for mere humanity. The author cares about his characters and treats their foibles with compassion and dry humor. He knows his setting well and is able to take the reader to life in a small town set on the harsh, high plains of Eastern Colorado. The only concern I felt in reading this story is that the strong parallels to Plainsong raise the specter of the formulaic in Haruf's prose. Nonetheless, it is a good and satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Not an all time favorite

    Great prose. Easy read. Good story. Ending was a little weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    I loved this sequel to Plainsong

    I was surprised that Mr. Haruf chose the two elderly farmers to continue Plainsong, but as only he can, Haruf writes so down-to-earth and honest that this farm-life story held me to the very end. I love the dialogue and true-to-life manner in which he depicts his characters. It kept me bound to the very end. At first,I did think it ended a little abruptly, yet, upon reflection, he leaves it on a positive note from which it is not difficult to draw your own satisfactory conclusions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Amazing Read

    I absolutely loved this book. It was great to be able and go back to the small town that I cherished after reading Plainsong. Kent Haruf has outdone himself this time though. This is one of the best books that I have read in a really long time. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. It was a quick and very enjoyable read. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2