Customer Reviews for

Ever

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

Olus, the young god of the wind, prefers to live with humans rather than his divine companions, all of whom are hundreds of years older than he is. In his travels he can't help noticing and falling in love with the beautiful and talented Kezi. At first he forces himself...
Olus, the young god of the wind, prefers to live with humans rather than his divine companions, all of whom are hundreds of years older than he is. In his travels he can't help noticing and falling in love with the beautiful and talented Kezi. At first he forces himself to be content merely watching, but then Kezi's father makes a deadly oath, and Kezi has only a month left to live. Unwilling to let her die, Olus reveals himself and offers Kezi a chance at life.

But before Olus and Kezi can defy fate and make a new life for her, they must survive the most frightening tests of their lives -- alone. Can they prove themselves worthy in the gods' eyes, and their own?

EVER is a touching novel about the power of love in overcoming fear, and the many different types of faith. The myth-like story takes place in a unique setting, more like India than the traditional medieval backdrop of most fantasies, and which makes for a fascinating world to explore. Olus and Kezi make for sympathetic narrators, passionate but wiser than their years would suggest.

Readers may wish that their adventures lasted longer. What adventure there is will have them turning the pages, eager to find out whether Kezi will survive, and what she may have to give up in the process. An excellent novel for older children and teens, especially those interested in other cultures and questions of faith.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and Beautiful: Ever is a Fairytale

I was not expecting much from Ever when I started reading because I hadn't heard any praise for it. However, I found the story enjoyable and very entertaining to read. Though it is fun, it did not evoke any deep thinking on my part. I would not have liked the story s...
I was not expecting much from Ever when I started reading because I hadn't heard any praise for it. However, I found the story enjoyable and very entertaining to read. Though it is fun, it did not evoke any deep thinking on my part. I would not have liked the story so much except for Olus is a great character. He's funny and strange and interesting. Unfortunately, I can not say the same for Kezi, the other main character.

Levine is a good writer. Everything flows well and she has some wonderful ideas that went into Ever, however, I thought it was a little dry. It reads like a folk-tale, myth, or fairytale: the characters don't feel complete and some of the things that happen are never explained. I think if you pick up this book and expect to read it like a fairytale, you can enjoy it a lot! If bizarre, twisted, and irritating oath-taking parents bother you, you probably won't like Ever. Although I did not think the overall writing was rich, there was one particularly well-written scene where Olus undertakes a trial to become a Champion. The ideas and details were fascinating. However, like in a fairytale, you know that the characters are going to succeed, and their ¿tests¿ did not strike me as particularly hard. Though I was a little concerned for them before the end, I did not really expect anything to go wrong.

Another reason this reads like a fairytale is that it has the ¿beautiful and beautiful¿ typical fairytale romance. A boy and girl see each other, speak briefly, and find they are desperately in love with each other based merely on attraction. This is especially disappointing after reading Ella Enchanted, which has a realistic and convincing romance. Ever's romance is, quite honestly, empty.

The content of the book is mostly clean, if you're not offended by a father willing to sacrifice his daughter because of his religion . . . The only part that made me uncomfortable was when Olus and his friend Kudiya pee in the grass together (they're eleven when they do it). That was gross, but I guess that's little boys for you.

If you enjoy Ever, you may like Lloyd Alexander's books, especially the Iron Ring which is written in a similar mythological style in an Indian-like culture.

posted by BeksBooks on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful and Beautiful: Ever is a Fairytale

    I was not expecting much from Ever when I started reading because I hadn't heard any praise for it. However, I found the story enjoyable and very entertaining to read. Though it is fun, it did not evoke any deep thinking on my part. I would not have liked the story so much except for Olus is a great character. He's funny and strange and interesting. Unfortunately, I can not say the same for Kezi, the other main character. <BR/> <BR/>Levine is a good writer. Everything flows well and she has some wonderful ideas that went into Ever, however, I thought it was a little dry. It reads like a folk-tale, myth, or fairytale: the characters don't feel complete and some of the things that happen are never explained. I think if you pick up this book and expect to read it like a fairytale, you can enjoy it a lot! If bizarre, twisted, and irritating oath-taking parents bother you, you probably won't like Ever. Although I did not think the overall writing was rich, there was one particularly well-written scene where Olus undertakes a trial to become a Champion. The ideas and details were fascinating. However, like in a fairytale, you know that the characters are going to succeed, and their ¿tests¿ did not strike me as particularly hard. Though I was a little concerned for them before the end, I did not really expect anything to go wrong.<BR/> <BR/>Another reason this reads like a fairytale is that it has the ¿beautiful and beautiful¿ typical fairytale romance. A boy and girl see each other, speak briefly, and find they are desperately in love with each other based merely on attraction. This is especially disappointing after reading Ella Enchanted, which has a realistic and convincing romance. Ever's romance is, quite honestly, empty.<BR/> <BR/>The content of the book is mostly clean, if you're not offended by a father willing to sacrifice his daughter because of his religion . . . The only part that made me uncomfortable was when Olus and his friend Kudiya pee in the grass together (they're eleven when they do it). That was gross, but I guess that's little boys for you.<BR/><BR/>If you enjoy Ever, you may like Lloyd Alexander's books, especially the Iron Ring which is written in a similar mythological style in an Indian-like culture.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not My Favorite

    Generally, I really enjoy Gail Carson Levine's books. Ella Enchanted was very good and I also enjoyed Fairest and the Two Princesses of Bamarre and her short stories in The Fairy's Return and Other Princess Tales was so fun. This one just fell short... the story was not as good as the previous books. It seemed like the romance was rushed and the characters weren't as developed as the other books. That said my daughter and I did enjoy parts of the story - it was just not our favorite.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute, but not Levine's best

    Ever is a fantasy/historical fiction book for young adults about a mortal girl who falls in love with the god of the wind. Together, the two must become heroes in order to save her from an untimely death. This is a cute book, but it does not have the magic of some of Levine's other books. Furthermore, its theme may make many religious parents a little wary. Ever asks questions about God's existence and His ability to communicate with His people. These questions remain unanswered at the end of the story. Although I do not find the theme offensive (everyone has a right to express doubts), I think it may not be appropriate for younger, more impressionable readers (unless their parents encourage open thinking about religion; in which case it's a perfect discussion book).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was just ok

    This book was OK, it just wasn't exciting enough for my taste. I felt it could have been so much better than it was. I say if you're bored and have nothing else to read than go for it. I didn't hate it either, I just probably won't be reading it again. Olus is the Akkan god of the winds and is restless. He wants so bad to live in the world of the mortals that he moves far from his home and pretends to be a goat herder in a city named Hyte. There he watches the family that owns that land he rents for goat herding, especially Kezi their daughter. Kezi loves to dance and weave rugs and her family and her are devout worshipers of the god Admat. When Kezi's Mati(word for mother) gets sick her Pado(word for father) makes and unbreakable oath to Admat that he will sacrafice the first person who congradulates him on his wifes good health if he makes her better, soon Kezi's mother is better. To save her Aunt Fedo though who was away when the oath was made and didn't know about it, she congradualtes her father before her aunt can, therefore bearing the responsibilty of becoming the scacrafice to Admat. Olus soon meets Kezi and soon afterwards they fall in love. Then Olus and Kezi embark on the joureny to save Kezi's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    To clue # 2

    The two princesses of baltamare

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good,but kinda disappointing...

    The first time I tried reading it I wasn't interested. My mom got it for me for Christmas. I read it about 3 months ago.
    A great fairytale, with romance. But it was kinda disappointing. I expected it to be more like Ella Enchanted or Fairest, I loved those SOO much!! But, not every book an author writes is always amazing.
    Olus was my favorite character. I didn't really care for Kezi. The plot was ok but Fairest was amazing!!
    All in all, it was a quick story that was pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Could've been more interesting.

    I was expecting a lot more out of this book. It was a fast and easy read and the love between Olus and Kezi seems sincere. But I thought the storyline could have been more planned out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1