Customer Reviews for

Ever After (Hollows Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Rachel Morgan, with no experience, has created a ley line. This

Rachel Morgan, with no experience, has created a ley line. This ley line was leaking ever after into the human world very slowly, but something has gone terribly wrong. The line created by Rachel is now sucking away the ever after. If it’s not stopped ever after will no...
Rachel Morgan, with no experience, has created a ley line. This ley line was leaking ever after into the human world very slowly, but something has gone terribly wrong. The line created by Rachel is now sucking away the ever after. If it’s not stopped ever after will no longer exist, demon kind will be destroyed and all magic in the human world will disappear forever. Since it is Rachel’s line, she is tasked with repairing the ley line. The demon kind has been convinced that killing Rachel might fix the line. The magic users of the world will kill her if she removes all magic from the world. Time is running out. With a baby gargoyle Bis (who is totally AWESOME) at her side, Rachel must discover what caused this new problem.

Ku’Sox, the strongest of all demons and soul sucker, has kidnapped Rachel’s goddaughter, Lucy, and Ceri. Trent Kalamack is beside himself, willing to sacrifice his life to save Ceri and his daughter. Knowing Rachel is his only hope, he leans on her help in this hopeless situation. But is there more to Ku’Sox’s plan than just kidnapping?

Oh. My. “Goddess”. I loved Ever After. I was sucked in from the first page and didn’t want to put it down when it ended...sitting there wishing there was more!! MORE! I want more. 

Rachel finds inner strength and grows so much more into the character you knew she could be. You get a deeper understanding into so many of the characters, it was absolutely brilliant writing on Kim Harrison’s part! 

The ending, what can I say but WOW! The entire book was a sensory overload, action, romance, love, friendship, revelations, and mystery...Ever Aftergives it all. 5 Stars and Favorite Read!

This ARC copy of Ever After was given to me by Edelweiss and Harper Voyager in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date January 22, 2013.

posted by Sailon on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

*spoiler*

Please!!!! Why do people have to give everything away when they review a book?! You RUIN the surprise for those of us who want to see if it is worth spending a fair amount of money on buying it. Can't you be a little more considerate? No need to tell us if someone dies...
Please!!!! Why do people have to give everything away when they review a book?! You RUIN the surprise for those of us who want to see if it is worth spending a fair amount of money on buying it. Can't you be a little more considerate? No need to tell us if someone dies, or is the bad guy,etc... We would rather find out what happens on our own.

posted by Hotmaja54 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rachel Morgan, with no experience, has created a ley line. This

    Rachel Morgan, with no experience, has created a ley line. This ley line was leaking ever after into the human world very slowly, but something has gone terribly wrong. The line created by Rachel is now sucking away the ever after. If it’s not stopped ever after will no longer exist, demon kind will be destroyed and all magic in the human world will disappear forever. Since it is Rachel’s line, she is tasked with repairing the ley line. The demon kind has been convinced that killing Rachel might fix the line. The magic users of the world will kill her if she removes all magic from the world. Time is running out. With a baby gargoyle Bis (who is totally AWESOME) at her side, Rachel must discover what caused this new problem.

    Ku’Sox, the strongest of all demons and soul sucker, has kidnapped Rachel’s goddaughter, Lucy, and Ceri. Trent Kalamack is beside himself, willing to sacrifice his life to save Ceri and his daughter. Knowing Rachel is his only hope, he leans on her help in this hopeless situation. But is there more to Ku’Sox’s plan than just kidnapping?

    Oh. My. “Goddess”. I loved Ever After. I was sucked in from the first page and didn’t want to put it down when it ended...sitting there wishing there was more!! MORE! I want more. 

    Rachel finds inner strength and grows so much more into the character you knew she could be. You get a deeper understanding into so many of the characters, it was absolutely brilliant writing on Kim Harrison’s part! 

    The ending, what can I say but WOW! The entire book was a sensory overload, action, romance, love, friendship, revelations, and mystery...Ever Aftergives it all. 5 Stars and Favorite Read!

    This ARC copy of Ever After was given to me by Edelweiss and Harper Voyager in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date January 22, 2013.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Mind Blowing! Excellent!! Will leave you begging for more!!!!

    I have read this entire series over and over..Pale Demon was and is my favorite but "ever after" is a close second. The creativity and imagination that Kim Harrison has to create these characters and worlds is mind blowing!! I get lost in this world every time I pick up a book in this series. I just hate waiting a whole year to get the next book. I always want more!! I've read hundreds of books and series. I'm a reading addict. Kim Harrisons Hollows series is by far my favorite!! Buy this book and every book in the Hollow series I promise you wont be disappointed!! Start from book 1 "Dead Witch Walking" if this is your first time reading from this series! You wont want to miss anything along the way!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    I love this series!  This series is still fresh and so very exci

    I love this series!  This series is still fresh and so very exciting!!!  I love love love the character development in this installment.  
    ( ALOT happened in this book!  And that is putting it mildly.)  
    The adventure and  suspense is truly thrilling...honestly better than EVER!!!!
     I thought the ending of 10 was great...but the ending of this one was WOW...just WOW.
     I literally squealed with delight when I finished it and I haven't done that in a long time.  It definitely set the stage for 12 and now
    12 can't come soon enough.  Kim Harrison is simply a very gifted storyteller!  

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    It was a great book! I definitely had a hard time putting this book down when I had to go to work or sleep.
    I got the feeling that Kim Harrison is closing off loose ends in the series, and it definitely stinks to understand that the series will be coming to an end. I enjoyed the action and romance throughout the book, it was a great read.
    I kept trying to read so fast to see what happened, and I now want to read it again right away, that's a rare thing for me!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Finally?

    Great book. However i hated the ending. Why you ask....because it ended! All i have to say is Trent Trent Trent. Can not wait for the next installment.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    WOW!!!!!

    I am in LOVE with this series. It is one of a few series that I count down the days for a new release. This book was soooo good. I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning to finish this installment. I suffered through the following workday sleep deprived and it was worth it. So many things transpired in this book (some good, some sad and some very unexpected). The writing is brilliant. I enjoyed the interactions between Trent and Rachel. I think I fell a little more in love with Trenton. As always, Al and Jenks cracked me up. This book evoked a lot of different emotions from me. I cant wait to visit the Hallows again. HEY KIM, IS THE NEXT BOOK OUT YET????? WRITE FAST!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Another great book in the series!  I hate having to wait another

    Another great book in the series!  I hate having to wait another year for the next one to come out!  I was disappointed that they killed of a couple of characters, one of which is a favorite and we didn't even get to see it.  The ending certainly left you wanting more and salivating for the next book to come out.  This year will not go fast enough!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    I have no words to describe the brilliance that is Kim Harrison. I have loved this series since the very beginning. I never though Harrison could top Pale Demon, which was beyond brilliant. I'm happy to announce that I was so very wrong. Ever After is beyond amazing. Saying I LOVED it does not even begin to describe how I feel about this book. I have two words...MY PRECIOUS!

    Ever After takes place a couple of months after A Perfect Blood. Rachel's ley line had been slowly leaking energy from the ever-after. Something has gone terribly wrong. The ley line is now leaking massive amounts of energy and the ever-after is shrinking at an alarming rate. Rachel has only a few days to fix the ley line or the demons are going to kill her.

    Cute Socks, *smiles* I mean Ku'Sox is back with a vengeance. He's the reason why Rachel's ley line is leaking so badly. Ku'Sox is also working with crape for brains, also known as Nick, stealing Rosewood babies. As if things could not get any worse, Ku'Sox has also kidnapped Ceri and Lucy. Saving the world is once again on Rachel's shoulders. And the only chance for her to defeat Ku'Sox is for Rachel and Trent to trust each other like they never have before.

    Ever After is definitely as Al, Rachel and Trent story. Ivy is out of town for most of the book. Jenks does not have the means to fight Ku'sox. Bis has a surprisingly important role to play. And I do not know if I'll ever get over what happened between Rachel and Quen.

    Rachel has grown so much as a character. I think that's the reason why Rachel, Jenks and Ivy are drifting apart. The distance between them is not huge, but it's noticeable especially compared to the earlier novels. Rachel's no longer rushing into situations haphazardly, which is why Jenks no longer has to be a constant companion. Rachel and Ivy are no longer completely dependent upon each other, allowing for healthier relationships between themselves and with other people.

    I did have three tiny problems with this book. Well, not exactly problems more like personal quirks. They are inconsequential compared to the book as a whole, but they annoyed me enough that I thought I would mention them.

    1. That evil wench Ellasbeth is back. A prospect that I am less than thrilled with. Trent deserves so much better....like Rachel. *wink* I'm just saying that's who I want Rachel to have her happily ever after with.

    2. The blue butterflies are back and I still have no idea what they mean. I love Al, the thought of him and blue butterflies is intriguing. *sigh* I do not know why it bugs me so much. I hope it's mentioned somewhere in the last two books.

    3. Where the hell is Wayde?

    My favorite part of Ever After was the last chapter. I promise it will make more sense after you read the book. I'm not going into detail, I would never ruin it for you. I will tell you this; it made me happy, sad, and I am keeping my fingers crossed for the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I loved this book as with all of The Hollows books.  It is my ve

    I loved this book as with all of The Hollows books.  It is my very favorite series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Keeps getting better

    Recently I've been revisiting some long running series and been dissapointed that the plots and writing have grown stale. Or even worse, that the authors are just phoning it in, or have lot what the series originally was ( a prime example being the Anita Blake series.) This series on the other hand just keeps gettng better. The charcters have grown and changed, but in believable, appreciable ways. The plots are growing and entertwining with old plots. They arent disjointed or recycled. The writing is still clear, well worded, and clever. Kim Harrison has my deep admiration and respect for her continued commitment to and love for her characters and the world they live in, especially now, over a decade after Rachel Morgan scraped through her first independent case by the skin of her teeth. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Ever After by Kim Harrison The Hollows Series is easily

    Review: Ever After by Kim Harrison

    The Hollows Series is easily one of my top ten favorites. The characters are compelling, the writing is truly excellent, the action is heart-stopping and the romance is just guh. Gorgeous and swoon worthy, giving you all the feels that good romances should give you. But my absolute favorite part about this series is that although classified as a paranormal romance, unlike most others of its genre, the romance doesn't dominate the books. You're not reading page after page of graphic sex scenes with a splash of plot thrown in. Rather, The Hollows series gives you all the action and character development you could hope for, with just enough romance thrown in to make you fangirl ever time Trent Kalamack shows up. And to be honest, one kiss between Trent and Rachel is hotter than many of the sex scenes I've read in other books. Ever After, the 11th installment of the series, is the best yet.




    Of course my favorite part of the book is all of the Trent and Rachel awkwardness and flirtation. I've been a Trent/Rachel shipper since book one, despite the fact that he's sometimes also Rachel's biggest nemesis. This book was filled with the great romantic tension, and of course denial, that has come to define their interactions in the last few books.




    This installment was also filled with some serious action and heavy-duty development of not just the characters, but the demon's world in the ever after. This book gave some great insight into how the demon's interact with each other, as well as their past and Rachel's slow acceptance of her place among them. The book was filled with Al and Newt scenes, which brought their own special brand of hilarity. They might be the best characters in the series. I loved seeing just how far all the characters have evolved from the first book, whether it was Trent and Rachel working together, rather than against, or Rachel and Quen's almost familial interactions with each other, not to mention Jenks living with a fairy. It's fun seeing all these characters who have worked against each other for so long becoming family to each other, even if they don't realize it themselves. I also enjoyed the lack of Ivy in this book. An unpopular opinion, I know, but she's always been my least favorite character and her absence did not bother me one little bit.




    Things I didn't like about the book: The return of Ellasbeth. Mostly because I know Trent is going to choose his duty to his people and marry her rather than choosing his own happiness and being with Rachel. Even outside of that Ellasbeth is just a really bad person. Also was not amused by two characters coming to their demise off-scene. I felt the readers definitely deserved better than that after growing attached to these characters over multiple books. Also, I really don't understand why Nick isn't dead yet? HOW DOES HE KEEP SURVIVING? It is a mystery, but hopefully he'll die before the end of the series. I can't believe there is only two books left.




    Overall it was just a really fun, roller-coaster ride and I can't wait till next year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Another solid entry in the series. Finished reading this way to

    Another solid entry in the series. Finished reading this way too soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    ?

    OMG

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    double expresso, no foam, with a shot of raspberry with cinnamon

    I could not put this book down. Best of the Hollows I have to say. I love Hallows seris but compared to the others this one is for sure double expresso, no foam, with a shot of raspberry with the cinnamon(with skim milk) and the other were my must need morning coffee. I can not wait for the next book to come out.

    P.S I am running to starbucks now...ENJOY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I loved this book. Kim is amazing once again!. I love this serie

    I loved this book. Kim is amazing once again!. I love this series and this book had a ton of both Trent and Al.. My two favorite characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved it!

    Wow! Did not dissapoint at all! It's all coming to a great conclusion to the series even though i wish she just kept going! Loved the end, cannot wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Another AMAZING book!

    Another AMAZING book in this AMAZING series! I do not want it to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Kim Harrison does not disappoint with book #11 in the Rachel Mor

    Kim Harrison does not disappoint with book #11 in the Rachel Morgan series. I found this book just as entertaining as its predecessors. This is NOT a filler book to get you to book #12. It is full of substance; laughs, love and loss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Great book

    Fun book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great chapter in Rachel's life

    I really have enjoyed all of these books. They always leave me wanting to know more. The more I see of these characters the more I want to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15