Customer Reviews for

The Everafter

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OMG SO GOOOD!!

Wow I honestly didn't expect to like this one much. But it was really really good. Maddy's quest to make peace with her life after death makes an intresting plot as she revisits moments from the past; from time she was a baby till the final moments before she died. Onl...
Wow I honestly didn't expect to like this one much. But it was really really good. Maddy's quest to make peace with her life after death makes an intresting plot as she revisits moments from the past; from time she was a baby till the final moments before she died. Only to discover the shocking truth and a loved one that died with her. The book really keeps you guessing on how she died and the truth will shock you. So many lines from this book I fell in love with that really give you a new perspective on life. I recommend to anyone! MUST READ!!! <3

posted by Edyaline on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I've been dreading writing this review because I really did no



I've been dreading writing this review because I really did not like this story at all. I'm not sure if reading Before I Fall ruined this one for me, but the way this story played out was definitely a factor. Let me start out by telling you why I didn't like it.

I ...


I've been dreading writing this review because I really did not like this story at all. I'm not sure if reading Before I Fall ruined this one for me, but the way this story played out was definitely a factor. Let me start out by telling you why I didn't like it.

I couldn't get a read on Maddy. I couldn't like her or not like her. Like her character stuck in IS, I felt like I was stuck too. The whole psychobabble bullcrap about Heaven and Hell and Purgatory dragged this story down. The idea that certain objects that she lost in her lifetime could bring her back to that period in time just didn't jive with me. This could've been a great story, but the time spent in limbo just made me more frustrated.

Gabriel. He was the amazingly beautiful boyfriend. Maddy questioned and still questioned why he was with her. This plot point in books is getting old. Really old. I'm going to call this the Bella-technique. Maddy was annoying in her jealousy of Gabriel's ex-girlfriend. Who is not so nice. Okay.

The set up of the story seemed mashed together. And the final revelation? I was more like who cares.

Please realize this is my opinion and I know others that have absolutely LOVED this story. Obviously this one wasn't my cup of tea.

posted by Laurab68 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I've been dreading writing this review because I really did no



    I've been dreading writing this review because I really did not like this story at all. I'm not sure if reading Before I Fall ruined this one for me, but the way this story played out was definitely a factor. Let me start out by telling you why I didn't like it.

    I couldn't get a read on Maddy. I couldn't like her or not like her. Like her character stuck in IS, I felt like I was stuck too. The whole psychobabble bullcrap about Heaven and Hell and Purgatory dragged this story down. The idea that certain objects that she lost in her lifetime could bring her back to that period in time just didn't jive with me. This could've been a great story, but the time spent in limbo just made me more frustrated.

    Gabriel. He was the amazingly beautiful boyfriend. Maddy questioned and still questioned why he was with her. This plot point in books is getting old. Really old. I'm going to call this the Bella-technique. Maddy was annoying in her jealousy of Gabriel's ex-girlfriend. Who is not so nice. Okay.

    The set up of the story seemed mashed together. And the final revelation? I was more like who cares.

    Please realize this is my opinion and I know others that have absolutely LOVED this story. Obviously this one wasn't my cup of tea.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG SO GOOOD!!

    Wow I honestly didn't expect to like this one much. But it was really really good. Maddy's quest to make peace with her life after death makes an intresting plot as she revisits moments from the past; from time she was a baby till the final moments before she died. Only to discover the shocking truth and a loved one that died with her. The book really keeps you guessing on how she died and the truth will shock you. So many lines from this book I fell in love with that really give you a new perspective on life. I recommend to anyone! MUST READ!!! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't think of good enough words to discribe!

    I was kind of skeptical about reading this book when I read the discription and then just decided that I was going to read it. I was pretty muched hooked after reading the first page. I wanted to know how the story would play out with Madison being dead. This book made me think so much about the afterlife that I lost sleep because I couldn't stop thinking, what if this really does happen? What if all the objects you loose in your life come back and that's how you see your life again? I'm like Madison and am totally connected to objects, whenever I loose something I get really upset. Dosn't always matter what it is, either. And I seem to loose things all the time, too. I can't seem to keep anything from being lost at some point.
    The characters were really easy to relate with. I kept imagining myself in Madison's position and realizing that the way she handled some things is the same way I would.
    Books don't always get me really emotional, or I try to hide my emotion, but this book had me crying immensely for the last 30 pages at least. Just the way everything happens at the end was just heartbreaking. Although, I was crying tears of sadness and happiness, it was just the way she died was horrible.
    I recommend this book to everyone! It really makes you appriciate the things you have in life and really makes you think about life after death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!

    I read this book over three and a half years ago and i can still remember most of the details in this book to this day and its still amazing. I picked this book up back then just for a quick read for my seventh grade SSR and now as a sophmore in high school im still glad that was the book i picked up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Highly reccomemd!!!!

    A surprising intriging story that will pull you in and make you think deeper. I loved it. Good for ages 13+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Dont Know

    Should I get this book or not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    The Everafter

    This was an amazing book. I loved it so much, I couldn't put it down! I had to read it non-stop; I stayed up for about 2-3 days straight! I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    I was amazed.

    I was amazed at Maddy's eagerness to find out how she died. I can admit, that yeah, i am attached to some things. I really didnt expect her to die that way. I couldnt imagine being killed that way. To me, my favorite part was when Maddy and Gabe admit that they still love each other in 'is'. Overall, this book was amazing. Its an easy read. I read it in 3 hours. So basiclly this book covers Maddy and her life. Well, not really her life, but her life as a kid, and before she died, and her life in between. And in 'is' she can go back to her life through the objects that she lost in her life. And she can go into her body in that period of time, and change it so it has a different outcome. Or, she can stay outside of her body as a spirit, and watch what happens as it unfolds. It has some confusing parts when she's 4 and then goes to age 17 without warning. Like i said, this book is an easy read. Read the other reviews, read the book for yourself, then write a review! Hope you enjoy(ed) the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Everyone needs to read this.

    One word. AMAZING. Thats all I need to say. Not sure? Get this book for yourself and I guarentee you will not put this book down until you finish and will want to read more afterwards. I'm not lying. Read the other reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Such a great book!

    This book always kept me interested. It seemed so realistic, like it could happen to anyone. This book will send chills down your spine and keep you wanting more and more. Definetely one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I love this book!

    This was a realy good book that i realy enjoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Okay

    I think its all right the last thrity pages were definetly greaaat! Howecver i get bored sometimes trough out the book . But over all it was very interesting and enjoy able

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    coolest book ever

    My friend read the book and let me read some of it and oh my gosh its good!!! My friend's and my favorite part was when sherevisited her first kiss andhen she was in the girls bathroom with Tammy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Overall fantastic

    I love this book! It was amazing from beginning to end! I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Awesome

    Its so amazing! Kept me interested. Its a good lobe story as well ad mystery! The end reveals how Maddy died. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    great

    great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Against the Norm and Great

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** I am actually really impressed that this book doesn't follow the norm for YA books - that being faerie tales, love triangles, or gossipy stories. This debut novel is astonishingly refreshing and has such a lovely writing style.

    From the very first line, "I'm dead.", I was completely stuck on this book. I could not put it down. I am a sucker for beautiful covers and interesting titles, so those are the first reasons I was drawn to the book. Then the idea of being dead and not knowing how you died, nor who you really were, intrigued me.

    Maddison, our 17 year old narrator, cannot understand how she died, let alone who she really was when she was alive. As she stumbles upon items she lost during her life, she realizes that each one will bring her back to the moment she lost them, where she can observe or change what happens. I found myself wanting to yell at Maddy as she tries to change things. I understood she wanted things to be different than they were, but I worried she would change the future too much and lose who she already was. This is such a great feeling when you are that compelled to want to interact with the character and give them advice.

    I absolutely loved the idea that lost items are there in the afterlife for us to find and re-experience different parts of our lives and see them from an outsiders point of view. I believe that while Maddy entered into scenes from her life, she actually learned more about who she was, what her family and friends really meant to her and that sometimes it's the small things in life that we take for granted.

    Each interaction that Maddy has with someone from her life and afterlife lead to her finding an understanding of life and death. Eventually we will all die, it's just a matter of when and how. So once you are gone, would you really want to change it all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BOOK

    I loved reading this book. It has an original plot and it was just unique to me. It made me think of my existence, and life and death. It's not your average ghost story by any means. Seventeen year old Madison is dead and in a place where there is nothing but the things she lost in life. Everytime she goes to an item it takes her back to a time in her life she lost that object. She has the choice to either enter her body and change her past by finding the object or standing outside her body and watching things fold out. It's very suprising how she died and never once did I guess that's how she died. That's also another thing I love about this book, it's anything but predictable,it's also a very fast read(took less than a day). I say if you're looking for a different, good type of book then this is one you should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    If you like angst, this the book for you. The plot was interesting and kind of weird, but I ended up liking it. Parts of the books were confusing, but I liked the writing and the message of the book. The book is most definitely about the main character finding herself, but she is finding herself a little too late. Basically she is dead the entire book and she goes back to memories where she lost something. I found the theme of the novel very mind boggling. I think it was a novel that showed what thinking outside the box really is!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Everafter Review

    I thought this book was just okay. The middle was very hard to get through and it seemed to drag on and on, but I was a little more satisfied by the end. First off, the writing was very immature. It felt like the writing was my own as a third grader. The story was too much of internal dialogue and not enough plot. I think that was the main problem with this book. There was absolutely no plot and it was too confusing to be able to build one. It was very confusing because the events were both happening in the story's present time and also in the past of Maddy's memories. On top of this, I thought the book was boring because the entire story is Maddy reliving her previous memories on how she lots these random insignificant objects. I understand the author was trying to deliver the story is a subconscious way, but I still feel that only a little of Maddy's life was given to me. It goes from Maddy trying to rediscover these objects thinking she must find them to pass on, but then she just stops trying to find the objects and just lives through the memories. So that was confusing... and got old. As for the characters, I didn't like Gabe at first. He seemed like the guy that was either going to be a quick relationship with Maddy and it was going to end soon, or he was going to be a soft marshmallow, which is even worse. But by the end of the book, he did grow on me and I was surprised with the ending. I didn't mind the main character Maddy, but I never was able to connect with her. Also, the author's perceptions on ages are a bit messed up. She has at one age, 11 for example, she is doing these very mature things and then the next chapter at the same age, she'll be extremely immature. So that was an error on her part. As for the positive, the ending of the book was a huge surprise. I never guessed that was how Maddy was going to die. So that was good. But overall, I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4