BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Everbound (Everneath Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    What a crazy adventure....

    Oh. My. God. What a ending, I was really starting to fall for Cole but then BAM! I cant even. This series is so amazing and I have always been in love with Cole. I never really liked Jack, so the ending made me extremely happy but frustrated due to the fact Nik will probrably pick Jack now. Why cant she just love Cole and be the queen. I know that sounds horrible but I always love the bad guys ;) Now I cannot wait for the next book. Dear Nik, I hope by the end of everything, you chose Cole over Jack. Pretty please, cause Im dying here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The tone that I adored from the first book is back.  The opening

    The tone that I adored from the first book is back.  The opening line, which I loved, just sets the tone so well.




    “It is by going down into the abyss that we recover the treasures of life.  Where you stumble, there lies your treasure.” – Joseph Campbell




    Nikki is going on an adventure to get something back that she lost in the underworld called the Everneath.  It took me a minute to get reoriented in the world again, but I slipped back in easily after a few pages even without rereading the first book.  I positively flew through this book in one sitting.  The journey through the underworld and the task she wanted to complete felt impossible the whole time and kept me just glued to the pages.  The layers of the underworld that she travels through were different in a chilling and alien way.  This is one of those books where the foreshadowing was spot on.  I thought I was all smart and I knew everything that was going to happen.  Then the bombshell of an ending hits and I’m still in awe.  Brodi even put the clues in there of what was going to happen at the end and I missed them all.  It gives me chills just thinking about it.  I feel like she deserves a round of applause for that ending.




    Cole is a sexy, modern, teen version of Hades.  He’s likeable yet sneaky and dark and I can’t ever totally trust him. My only complaint about the whole book was a few things that were taken too literally.  The “kicking” element of the story was just a little to literal and weird for me.




    Overall, don’t miss this stunning retelling of Persephone and Hades.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow¿wow. It¿s hard for a second book in the series to top the fi

    Wow…wow. It’s hard for a second book in the series to top the first one but wow. I loved this one just as much as the first one maybe even more. Brodi Ashton did a fantastic job writing Everbound and as much as I want the third book desperately I can’t imagine having this series end. I hope there will be lots of Novellas. :o)
    We spend a large amount of time in the Everneath and I was fascinated by every second of it. There are so many different interesting layers to it and some definite twist and turns while we are down there. There were a couple of reveals that I was definitely surprised at, Brodi did a good job disguising them so that we couldn’t figure them out as easily.
    I feel like I shouldn’t be torn between the two boys, and that Jack should be the obvious choice but there is just something about Cole. Sometimes you think he is a jerk and sometimes you wonder if there is more to him. He really gets the opportunity to show a softer side in this book. Do we trust him though; this is Cole we are talking about. The guy that has no beating heart…..he just has this strange appeal to him. I still can’t figure out what actually goes on his head though, I still question his motives. I would like to believe that he does really care about Nikki but sometimes you wonder. He has a lot to gain if he wins her over. There is a particular line at the end of the book though that kind of leads you to believe one way or another.
    I love Jack in this book just as much as the first book. We once again experience the majority of their relationship through the memories that Nikki relives in her hope to keep him alive. It’s nice to see those cute tid bits and there is actually a lot more about their friendship before they even became a couple. I love the best friends blossoming into more love story.
    The thing I find interesting about the two boys is that they call Nikki by different names. Jack refers to her as Becks and Cole calls her Nik. I think it represents the difference of the relationship she has with them.
    Nikki was awesome in this book. I couldn’t find a single thing that annoyed me about her, as you can sometimes find with main protagonist. She is clever, head strong and very dedicated to her mission. Even when she just wants to curl up and disappear she finds a way to peel herself off the floor and keep moving. She is considerate of others but at the same time knows there are things she has to do for herself as well. I never thought to myself, I can’t believe you trusted that person because she was cautious and if she did trust someone it was because they gave her a good reason.
    Oh the ending, it makes me wonder how the heck they are going to get out of this one. I’m sure book three is going to be epic. I can’t wait. If you are looking for something more unique and are a fan of mythology these books are definitely for you. I’m not sure if I can sing the praises of this book well enough it was an easy add to my favorites list.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    In the first book, Everneath, we were focused on Jack and Nikki'

    In the first book, Everneath, we were focused on Jack and Nikki's relationship. Everbound centers around Cole and Nikki's rebuilding of a relationship. You start to empathize with Cole and see his "good nature" towards Nikki as they both risk everything to get Jack back. Personally, I've always been a fan for Cole but that's for you to decide.

    The character building is fabulous in this book: the author backtracks through snippets of memories of Jack and Nikki, while she and Cole learn to depend on each other. But what really sets the ball rolling is the ending. A huge twist puts Nikki back right where she started.

    I highly, HIGHLY recommend this book. It's a perfect balance of love, tension, suspense and trust.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Team Cole, but I'll read it either way

    Wow... Just wow... First of all I'm 100% team Cole

    It's been a long time since I've been this completely engrossed in a book. We're talking, reading at red lights in my car good.

    This book (and the first one) are SO out of my normal range of genres but boy am I glad I didn't let that stop me from reading. Everything about this book is amazing. The story, the characters, the IMAGINATION.

    Brodi Ashton is a wonderful author and I am crossing my fingers for a movie deal on this book. Although the movie would of never live up to the greatness of the book, I'd still be interested in watching it play out.

    I'll continue fan girl-ing over this book until the series is complete... And then I won't know what to do with myself. Oh the joys of reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Speechless...

    Wow. This book blew me away! Let me just say that I am totally for Cole. Always have been always will. I'm just really hoping Nikki comes to her senses and decides to be with him. I mean, so what he "tricked" her. He did it because he loves her! I cannot WAIT for the next book to see where this story goes. Hopefully it won't be the last one. I also really liked how descriptive the author is when talking about the Everneath. I wish they spent more time down there rather than on the Surface. This series is easily one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everbound picks up shortly after the end of Everneath. Since Jac

    Everbound picks up shortly after the end of Everneath. Since Jack sacrificed himself to the Everneath, allowing Nikki to stay on Earth, Nikki has vowed to get him back. Nikki knows the only one who can help her is Cole — the guy responsible of all of this happening in the first place. There’s no way Nikki can survive the Everneath without the help of an underling. If she expects to get Jack back, she’s going to need Cole’s help, but even then, the Underworld may prove too dangerous.

    As far as Nikki is concerned, we see a much stronger and much more determined girl. Jack is everything to her and she’ll do whatever it takes to get him back. While she doesn’t always make the best decisions, her intent is clear.

    The story flows well, and even though it bounces between the Underworld and the mortal world, I felt that Ms. Ashton handled the transitions smoothly. The pace was a bit clunky in spots, but for the most part, this book has a lot more action and character development than the first.

    Fans of Everneath will love Everbound. While there is a bit of a love triangle involved, it doesn’t feel typical. It’s obvious who Nikki wants to be with, so most of the angst is coming from Cole which is a nice change of pace. While I’ve grown weary of new takes on mythology, Ms. Ashton has made the Persephone myth her own and added a new layer to the story which I find fascinating. I didn’t love, but did like the first book and I liked this one even more. There’s a lot more action and forward movement and the ending is definitely a kick in the head.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Truly Amazing!

    The book was incredible, from beginning to end I was on a roller coaster ride and did not want to get off.
    The author keeps you guessing through the entire book, who it is that Nikki can trust.
    Whatever you do don't cheat and skip to the end. It is worth the time to read!
    Thank you Ms. Ashton for entertaining this middle aged young adult. I can't wait for the finale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC! I really enjoyed reading

    Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC!

    I really enjoyed reading the first book, Everneath and because of the cliffhanger ending, I’ve been itching to get my hands on book 2. Everneath ended with Jack going to the tunnels in place of Nik (that scene even made me cry! And I barely do that when I read), and now the story continues in Everbound where Nik is desperately finding a way to save Jack. It all seemed far-fetched for her, but not until she found Cole again (who by the way has disappeared after the incident). He is the only person who can help her lead her way to Jack, but can she still trust him after everything he’s done?


    I really enjoyed reading Everbound. It has all the elements that I’m looking for in a good book. The romance, suspense, mystery, writing style, the plot, and the flow of the story are all great. As I read this, it felt like I was Nik herself and I was the one who’s experiencing all the hardships and heartbreaks she’s feeling. Nik is a very admirable heroine. She is willing to sacrifice everything just for the person she loves.And I definitely won’t forget Cole. OH COLE! I’m team Jack during Everneath, but now, I’m having second thoughts. We get to have a healthy dose of Cole in this book and I got to know him more, especially with his feelings for Nik. He’s actually a really nice and cool guy. But when I reached the last chapter, my feelings towards Cole just confused me. You sly little devil. I won’t be divulging more about what happened, but Cole, I still love you. :D

    Everbound mostly contain flashbacks and memories of Nik and Jack and you get to know how their relationship grew. It was really sweet and I can definitely say that this is what true love is all about. Lots of secrets were also revealed that actually surprised me. They weren’t predictable so I didn’t see that coming.

    Ms. Ashton did a great job on this one, from the characters, down to the writing and plot of the story. And again with that cliffhanger ending! Why oh why does it have to end like that?? Now I’ll have to patiently wait (for quite a while) for the third book! But I guess I have no choice but to wait patiently, don’t I? *sighs*

    So if you haven't read Everneath yet, READ IT NOW! And see what happens in EVERBOUND.

    I give this book 4.5 Everliving Whales

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

      I wanted to read this one because I enjoyed the romance with N

      I wanted to read this one because I enjoyed the romance with Nikki and Jack in the first as well as the premise and nothing like the second books, lol. 
        This one actually managed to keep going from the last and although I felt a couple of sections were a little repetitive, it kept a good pace and my attention. The roles are reversed because of Jack's sacrifice at the end of the last book and knowing the truth about where he is, Nikki searches high and low for a solution to get to the Everneath and rescue him. This isn't as easy as it may sound, and to me still kinda impossible, but she is so dedicated to trying, and just receives dead ends and bad news at every turn. 
        But I really admired her dedication and loyalty. I can totally feel her guilt and grief over what Jack did for her, and given how things played out, and it was her that should be there, it doesn't really get any easier for her. 
        This was a pretty action packed book, as Nikki tries to find Jack along with some unexpected helpers. She has to face the shades as well as some of her own fears and insecurities because there are lots of things in the everneath that feed on emotions and that will give you a skewed view of things. 
        The ending was wild and I have some suspicions about the changes in one of the characters and was completely taken aback by the actions of another character and if you look back over the story you see how far back the deception went and I was just beginning to gain some more respect. 
        I can't wait for time to read the conclusion and I am thankful it is already released. 




    Bottom Line: Good second book that kept my attention. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    Everbound was amazing! I found certain elements were much better

    Everbound was amazing! I found certain elements were much better than in the first novel. Unfortunately, there are still a few things about the story that bugged me; even little details like the whole being literally ‘kicked out’ of the Everneath thing – I mean, really? I found that ridiculous.

    Now, the mixing of Greek and Egyptian mythologies was done a little better in Everbound than in Everneath. I appreciate that actual myths were used to explain elements of the Everneath rather than completely twisting them to fit the story. Yet, I still didn’t like it. I wasn’t impressed with the Everneath world itself. I guess because I was expecting something a little more like Dante’s Inferno, a world with layers, reaching deep into the core of the Earth. I’ll admit, the maze concept interesting, though, and the challenges were definitely enticing and thrilling. They were what kept me glued to the edge of my seat.

    Of course, it was the characters that were really the heart of the story. Jack, Nikki, Cole… They were impressive! Well, Nikki and Cole were. Jack, who I loved in the first novel, wasn’t really a part of Everbound except for being featured in several memories, some of which actually seemed redundant. I think some of them might have even been a few flashbacks from Everneath. They seemed familiar.

    I was definitely more impressed with Nikki in this novel. I could relate to her more, understand her motives. I just couldn’t understand some of her actions, like the scene at the Lake of Blood and Guilt. She left me stunned when she dived in, asking the question, “Why?” “Why would she just jump in?” I didn’t get a clear picture what was happening or even what her inner thoughts were telling her.

    As for Mr. Hot Totty Cole – I was so totally team Jack at the end of Everneath until Cole stole my heart in Everbound. I mean seriously stole my heart! I fell so hard for the bad boy in this novel, despite everything he put Nikki through. Most of the time, I was sitting on the fence, unsure who to root for. I still love Jack, but Cole completely took my breath away.

    Word of caution, however… careful who you give your heart to. There is a wicked twist to this novel, and I can tell you, its heart wrenching! I can’t wait to see what happens in the third novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great read

    Can not wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Wow.

    So throughout thenfirst book, I was totally in love with this new telling of an old myth. But this sequel was awesome! It starts out a little slow, but when it gets going...it is a ride. If you love Cole, there are a lot of moment between him and Nik, as with Nik and Jack. The ending was perfect, even adding to the myth of persephone, twist included. This book is stunning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Wow

    I started this series here. This book. I loved it. I went back to my library and borrowed the other three on e-book. BEST CHOICE I EVER MADE. I love mytholoy, and this series portrays myths in a romancy twist I never thought possble in a mythogicaal story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    TO whom may concern: here my rate and review.

    To whom may concern:here my rate and review i liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Truely breathtaking romance ever.

    I was hooked when I read these. I am can't wait for the next one to kick off the last ending. Truly can't get enough of this mythocal romanve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Best book

    A breath taking story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Wow

    Ever yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am hooked on this book series and I am holding my breath for t

    I am hooked on this book series and I am holding my breath for the next book! Please tell me when it is coming...the ending is amazing and leaves you more then just wanting more !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3