BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Evermore (Immortals Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4778 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2395)

4 Star

(1224)

3 Star

(685)

2 Star

(243)

1 Star

(231)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

98 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Evermore

After the accident that left her orphaned, 16 year old Ever has not only survived this traumatic ordeal but can now see people's auras, hear people's thoughts and keeps getting visited by the ghost of her younger sister Riley. Ever can't stand herself anymore. She can't...
After the accident that left her orphaned, 16 year old Ever has not only survived this traumatic ordeal but can now see people's auras, hear people's thoughts and keeps getting visited by the ghost of her younger sister Riley. Ever can't stand herself anymore. She can't stand to be around people. She can't stand going anywhere without her hoodie, sunglasses, and ipod. She can't stand her life anymore and it's all because of the accident where she lost her whole family, the accident which was all her fault.
Now Ever has the strange psychic powers that allow her to see auras, read minds, and know people's life stories just by touching them. Most teens would love powers like that. Not Ever. Ever can't stand them and she only wants them to go away. And finally they do.
When Ever meets Damen he quiets everything around her. She can't see his aura, read his thoughts, or know his life story. She can finally be herself. Things seem to be great with Damen until he starts acting very weird and strange people start showing up and going missing.
Ever was a great character and so were her friends. Miles and Haven are hilarious. I think they really helped lighten the mood of the book when things started to get dark. It's always good to have some contrast in a book and I think they really provided it with a gay actor and a love starved goth chick. I also think that they were amazingly well-developed for background characters.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Evermore

Evermore was a book that i started reading and i couldn't put down. When I pick up a book that is like that i get involved in the story. I felt like I was right beside Ever and Damen. The love story that lasts forever. I really recommend this book to those who have neve...
Evermore was a book that i started reading and i couldn't put down. When I pick up a book that is like that i get involved in the story. I felt like I was right beside Ever and Damen. The love story that lasts forever. I really recommend this book to those who have never read this book.

posted by ReaderBright on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Again

    I began reading this book as a joke. My friend said it was bad, so I decided to read it to see what all the fuss was about. Something I will regret. The author tries to hard with "labels" and doesn't understand the difference between goth and vampire (watch South Park for God's sake).

    My first qualm with this book is the main character, Ever. She loses her entire family in a car crash, and from then on has awesome powers. Too many powers. She can see auras, spirits (which, I may add, she doesn't mention until chapter eight. Then, it's totally dropped. We have no elaboration on any of these spirits, and no further presentation of them), can see into the future, know what people are thinking, know the answers on a test, etc, etc. She subsequently uses these powers to stalk her boyfriend. Which was entirely insane and illegal. The only thing I liked about her was her short vodka stint, which was a very good plot device.

    Then there's Damen, stalkerish Edward boyfriend. However, I believe he's somewhat better than said vampire, for he doesn't emotionally abuse his girlfriend. Damen is immortal, and knows famous people from the past with no explanation. Just because you can live forever, doesn't mean you suddenly meet all these artists and authors. And just like Meyer did with Edward, Ever goes on and on about how beautiful Damen is. He was one very annoying character.

    Now I'll go to the overall writing. The author reuses so many words and phrases, it's like they're the only ones she knows. This story could have been better if it was not in first person, so the author wouldn't have to pretend to be a teenage girl. This book was just...annoying. There's no other way to describe this poorly written, paced, and plotted book. Never again will I doubt my friend who says a book is like a Twilight and Wicked Lovely crossover.

    34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Disappointed

    This book was not good at all. It seemed like an awful rendition of Twilight. Not only that, but the book did not flow well. It was not well written. I believe that the series and the story's concept had the potential to be great, but fell short. Very short. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    Boring

    I have to say this is the stupidest series I can admit to reading. The main character NEVER figures anything out on her own. She knows nothing about what is going on until the end of the books where the "Bad Guy" takes two pages explaining to her and us what the heck was going on the entire time. How stupid am I? I agree with other reviews in the fact that Ever's boyfriend (whom I cannot ever remember) has no character whatsoever. He has no likes or dislikes, nothing he is into, nothing he cares about and you never even understand why he is going to school in the first place. Apparently just because Ever is so fascinating. BORING.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Evermore

    The story wasn't bad, I have to admit. A lot like twilight, but different enough. The writing got on my nerves. It was supposed to be poetic, I guess, but there were run-ons where there shouldn't have been and some sentences were cut in half for no reason. Reading it kind of felt like taking a bath in dirty dishwater. However, it was appealing enough to make me want to read the next book. I suggest you read it and decide for yourself.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well,

    For the first few chapters this book was alright, and it seemed to be heading towards, what seemed to me, an intresting plot. But, as I continued on, I found the writing to be quite juvinile at times and lacking. Also, the resemblance to Twilight was extremely annoying, until the end when everything kind of just turned around and Evermore appeared to FINALLY get its OWN storyline.
    When ever something new happened I found it really hard to like and 'root for' the characters. And because I felt the book was poorly written in some parts, it made it really hard to see what was happening as REALISTIC. Like... How Ever SUDDENLY realized what she was feeling was LOVE?
    Thatttt could have been done so, so much better.

    A lot could have been done with this book, and even though over all I was still intrested in how things were going to turn out, I feel like it could have been SO MUCH BETTER.
    In the end, I'm glad I kept with the book and finished it becasue it did eventually get better.
    I'm now reading the 2nd, and it is a bit more believable, and still a better read.
    Although, you might find that they are both rather quick reads; everything happens very fast which also might be what adds to the 'unbelievable' facter of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh

    Honestly, I didn't really like it. It's a rather generic sort of book. I couldn't stand the main character. I mean, her parents had just passed, and I felt like there wasn't enough emotion shown in that. Not to mention she just RANDOMLY fell in love with Mister Hot. The whole "ohh, he makes me feel different from everyone else, he has this power over me" thing is getting pretty old. Especially when the characters don't even have enough time to get to KNOW EACHOTHER before making out and falling "madly in love". Please.

    I really recommend Vampire Academy, though. THERE'S a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    Plagarism

    It would have been a good book if not for the fact that it was just shy of almost word for word of Twilight...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No.

    This writing is amature at best. I was dissapointed with the way this book confused me. Could've been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    No offense to the author,but this book was not the best. I didn'

    No offense to the author,but this book was not the best. I didn't like Ever's drinking problem and how she handled being away from Damen. I also didn't like how Damen treated Ever in the end. This book was not bad but totally not the best!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't able to put it down. The plot line was entrancing - we


    I wasn't able to put it down. The plot line was entrancing - well, the love one was predictable, but the sub plots were entertaining - Damen was interesting, and I was always wondering how everything tied in. The concept was lovely as well - it's not often you read about immortals, and certainly not ones that use science to make things appear. Like elephants. (You'll understand.)

    Of course, for the first 160 pages, I was pretty sure Ever was a character too stupid to live.

    I mean, she's noticing all the things that Damen doesn't do quite right, noticing that there's something wrong. She has ALL THE CLUES. And she never things to ask him, never things to question his behavior, never follows through with her thoughts. I mean, /really/ now!?

    But, besides that, it was quite a good book, and I'm looking forward to finally reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Could've been better

    Not the best book I've ever read. The book feels so long, I don't even want to read it anymore. The 'love at first sight' plot with a gorgeous guy and geeky girl screams Twilight. Even the mind reading is just like Edward. I believe this author might be good, but I am very dissapointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    this book sounds exactly like the vampire diaries. Damen gorgeou

    this book sounds exactly like the vampire diaries. Damen gorgeous, exotic, wealthy and holds too many secrets? DAMON from the vampire diaries is almost exactly those same things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For some reason, I jumped into this book thinking I was going to

    For some reason, I jumped into this book thinking I was going to
    discover something fresh and unique -- a treasured treat amongst all the
    clichèd material I just couldn't seem to escape from lately. Sadly
    enough, that wasn't the case when it came to reading this book..Don't
    get me wrong, it wasnt like it the worst book I've ever read but it
    surely wasn't the best either. I guess I can only hold myself
    responsible for setting myself for disappointment when I set such a high
    pedestal for something based primarily on it's appearance. (Gosh, just
    look at the cover..so. pretty.) Quite frankly, I've had enough with the
    passed on essence of the female protagonist who: a)Experiences some
    kind of family-related change given its a new addition to the family or
    the lost of a beloved one, who then.. b)Suffers from (in my opinion)
    some mild, over-dramatized case of depression which is added to their
    already all to familar case of low-self esteem (despite the fact, given
    its friends or family, is made a known fact that the main character is
    out of their mind with their obvious attractiveness...) c)Moves away
    whilst leaving behind a life of sheer perfection in the dust. d)Pans out
    life as the absolute worst since they can't seem to blend in with their
    surroundings, or is still dealing from the sudden change in their life.
    e)Still manage a closeted group of friends at school. f)Suddenly sees
    the mysterious, other-worldly gorgeous, suave suitor arrive with the
    whole look-but-don't-touch attitude. g)SWEARS there could never be any
    kind mutual communication between them due to how 'weird', 'messed up',
    'freakish' or the low-life peon they've made themselves out to be when
    compared to the seemingly godly figure. And the list goes on. I'm not
    exaggerating when I say that I've bared witness to the same song and
    dance 3 times before through previous books that in addition to this
    one, continue to collect dust under my bed..-.-' No offense, but I'll
    never understand how people can stand wallowing in the same bath water
    with some seemingly new outtake on how awesome it was when coming out
    with the same results. Please, Im begging you, find something new to
    broaden your horzions where the plot, characters, conflict and
    resolution spark a new, unique flow of ideas and wonder without sharing
    a grey petri dish of every possible speck of copy-cat material to pry from...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Bored

    I felt this way when I tried to read Twilight I quit in the middle of it.It is fairly boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Eh, just ok.

    Was i the only one confused by the main characters relationship here? I was a little bored and a little underwhelmed. If you read the fallen series this is very similar. I was left wanting... and not for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    It's very different, get the sample first

    This story was alright. it took a while for it to get rolling and I felt that it could have been presented better. But nonetheless, it was an alright book. The plot was interesting and very dynamic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    So I have a bit mixed feelings toward the book. The book was a b

    So I have a bit mixed feelings toward the book. The book was a bit like Twilight, with the amazing, gorgeous guy every girl likes somehow falls for the girl no one likes, and he is apart of the supernaural world and he's just so gorgeous and nice and nice and gorgeous and blah, blah, blah.
    There were some diffrences though, which was nice, but the author wasn't very orginal. I bought this book looking for something new, sadly I never found that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Ok

    I think these books are for older girls, because they are a little inapropriot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Wow

    I like this book and then as i got to the next book it got stupid. So i stopped and im happy about it she is like on here 4th or 5th book of writing it just feeels like she just writing to get paid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Mediocre, much?

    Its hard to find new and original storylines in the teen genre these days, and that is exactly what this book failed to produce. It started off a lot like Twilight, mysterious boy comes to town and pays attention to the weird girl, and then tried to play it off a lot like the Fallen storyline, of them being eternal starcrossed lovers. If you like Twilight, you'll like this book. But if you like to read, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13