Customer Reviews for

Evernight (Evernight Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 959 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(482)

4 Star

(296)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Cant wait for More!

I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not ...
I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not only a good surprise, but also a nice change-up on the usual.

I cant wait for the second..and was actually upset Id managed to like this book so much that I wanted to read more, and it ended up being a book where the series has just started! (Im very impatient about these things.HAH)

Overall..most definitely should read it..some of the Negative reviews(especially the one they actually user to compare negative and positive.) RIDICULOUS. Honestly, read the book for yourself and then decide, I would say, if the twist confuses you so much, then you obviously should be reading something on a different level.

posted by LaTuaCantante on March 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not so great...

This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely...
This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely changing the flow of plot, leaves readers questioning the rest of the book. This author established characters and made certain assumptions in her writing, leading the reader one way and then completely changed her focus and the background of the story. I would not recommend this book for anyone who likes coherent plot lines or realistic characters.

posted by 1219929 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cant wait for More!

    I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

    Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not only a good surprise, but also a nice change-up on the usual.

    I cant wait for the second..and was actually upset Id managed to like this book so much that I wanted to read more, and it ended up being a book where the series has just started! (Im very impatient about these things.HAH)

    Overall..most definitely should read it..some of the Negative reviews(especially the one they actually user to compare negative and positive.) RIDICULOUS. Honestly, read the book for yourself and then decide, I would say, if the twist confuses you so much, then you obviously should be reading something on a different level.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so great...

    This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely changing the flow of plot, leaves readers questioning the rest of the book. This author established characters and made certain assumptions in her writing, leading the reader one way and then completely changed her focus and the background of the story. I would not recommend this book for anyone who likes coherent plot lines or realistic characters.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read

    I'm a 32 year old woman who loves young adult books. I'm not ashamed! :) I love Twilight and have been trying to find a book that holds my interest the way it did when I fisrt read it. I found it right here with Evernight. The author of this book really knows how to connect you to her characters. You find yourself caring about what happens to them and rooting for your favorites ones. It's a really fast read with a couple of unexpected twists throughout that make your jaw drop. All in all a great book!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Decent Read

    Unlike some reviews... I actually find this book to be entertaining. It is a good first book done by a very green author Claudia Gray. <BR/>If you enjoy vampire books and want a relativly easy read this is the book for you.<BR/>True it may be confusing at times but everything falls together in the end. Like I said the author is new, but she has some real potentail. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EVERNIGHT

    EVERNIGHT is the story of Bianca Olivier who's a spunky teenage girl forced to move out of her hometown to attend the private school her parent's teach at, Evernight Academy. When we first meet up with Bianca, she's attempting to make a break for her old home. She makes it to forest before she is tackled--literally--by the handsome, mysterious Lucas... and her destiny. Is Evernight really just a normal school? Or is there something more to it? Is there something more to Bianca? <BR/>The moment I picked up EVERNIGHT, I just could not put it down. It had me completely absorbed from page one, all the way to the final sentence. Claudia Grey creates a fun new world while still retaining a good grip on reality. Plus, Grey gave us a new and exciting spin on vampires. Each and every one of the characters was realistic and I could clearly picture them in my mind's eye. <BR/>All in all, EVERNIGHT was a wonderfully written Gothic novel and I will patiently be awaiting the Sequel, STARGAZER.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a disappointment.

    I'm sorry to say that I picked up this book because of of the cover. I mean, look at it. That's, by the far, one of the most prettiest covers I've ever seen. It looks like it would have some real emotional depth... Boy was I wrong.
    The characters were so cliched, it made me want to vomit. All the main character did was whine. It just felt like it was hastily written, like the author had a deadline in a week. And there were so many holes... God. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Books are supposed to help you with your intellect... Not make you stupider the more you read it. Gah. Don't waste your time! Seriously. It's just another badly written "forbidden love" twilight-copycat. The "twist" didn't make up for it, believe me.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of my favorites!!!

    The librarians suggested this book to me, because i was bored after reading Breaking Dawn and Brisingr and waiting for Revelations and Shadow Kiss. After reading EverNight, I suggested it to all my vampire-romance friends and even tried to get my english teacher to read it. Claudia Gray has a has a realistic style of writing, conjures up unforgettable characters, and keeps readers hooked on with action in every chapter. I cannot wait for StarGaver, the sequel coming out in March 2009!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book!!!! A Must Read!!!!

    I bought this book after Breaking Dawn came out to have something to take my mind off the Twilight series ending. Now, I like this book about as much as I do the Twilight Saga. The main character Bianca is very well developed and her love interest Lucas was great too. Also, the book has a completely unexpected twist to it that leaves the reader on the edge of his or her seat. I could not put this book down once I started it. It was just that awesome. The entire book is very well written. I cannot wait for the sequel Stargazer to come out in March 2009. Fans on vampire stories, suspense, and romance must read this terrific novel.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    TERRIBLE

    this is the worst vampire book iv ever read, not to mention the worst book iv ever layed eyes on. the plot was random and made no sense, the main character was corny, barely meeting the guy and immediately falling in love with him. i wouldnt have even given it half a star but one was the smallest allowed. i couldnt read it, it was so magnificently boring, i literally had to push myself to finish it and the only reason so is cuz i had to write a review on it for the publishers. poorly written and not very thought out

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    A sad mix of Twilight/Harry Potter?

    As a fan of fiction, I naturally chose to read this book; however, I was immediately disappointed. With a very predictable storyline and underdeveloped characters, it was hard to pick up after the first chapter. It reminded me of a Twilight and Harry Potter 'wannabe', however came nowhere close. It was a tortorous read, and I do not recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read!

    I read this book just the other day by my friends request and was blown away! This book is amazing and I would recommend it to everyone! This series is probably one of the best I have read, and I couldn't put this book down!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    Evernight was good. It was a little poorly written i wasn't a big big fan won't read the second book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CLAUDIA GRAY IS A GENIUS

    The Evernight Novel is a must-have for all those seeking mystery, love, and a little fang fantasy! The story consists of a girl named Bianca newly transferred to The Evernight Academy where she meets Lucas, a young boy with good intentions but a taste for danger. Little does Lucas know, he's not the only one with a taste for something. Evernight Academy is an ancient dwelling for vampires and this year they've let humans enter the flood gates. The temptations between human and vampire prove irresistible resulting in many different outcomes. Love. Hate. And even jealousy. Find out what happens by purchasing and reading this novel. You're sure to love it. I know I did...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vampires safe haven.

    Evernight didn't really interest me when my friend gave me the book, but I sat down and read it anyway. After the first few pages it pulls you in slowly. The book ended up being a page turner for me, somewhat like the Twilight Saga. This story throws a twist at you that was lying right in front of yours eyes, the clues there but not explicit. Then the story goes completely left field into something that was unexpected, not away from the story but not what you would expect with the way the story was going. The romance in this heavier then the average teen fiction, but completely realistic to the feelings of teens in love. The writing language is like that of any teenager and the style easy to read and follow. The author does not jump around or stray from the story line, but stays true and keeps the reader entertained. Just when you think your not getting anymore the author makes you think again. Claudia Gray's, Evernight is a good vampire favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK!

    When the book starts Bianca and her family have just moved out of a small town and are now going to attend Evernight (her as a student and her parents as teachers). Bianca is shy and is toltally against the idea of moving to a creepy new school and trying to make new friends. She even tries to run away (not permanently, just to make a statement). But then she meets Lucas........

    Evernight was an amazing book. When i first picked it up and read the description, i thought "oh. its just another Twilight wannabe". but its not. Claudia Gray is a great author who makes you feel as if you are apart of the story. this book is Definitely worth your time. i cant wait to read the next book!!!
    ********************************************************************************************************************************************
    ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
    SPOILER ALERT!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!
    ********************************************************************************************************************************************
    ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************The one thing that i didn't like about this book was that halfway through the book you find out that Bianca is a vampire (well, almost vampire....) and evernight is a school for Vampires!!!!!!! all of a sudden she bites someone and the book talks about vampires as if it had been talking about vampires the entire time! i felt as if the book i was reading was missing a page where it said "oh, by the way, im a vampire, my parents are both vampires and i go to a school for vampires, i drink blood at dinner and the reason there are small dead animals all over campus is because the students here think they are a delicious midnight snack...". The book would've been better if bianca hadn't realized she was a vampire until she bit someone, or if the fact that she was a vampire was explained at the beginning of the book.
    But overall it was a great book and i loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Twilight, I'm sorry it's true

    This is a must read book. The relationship between Lucas and Bianca is real to a point while most people with intense imaginations will be wishing that he was a real guy.I'm so excited about the next two books in the series Hourglass and Afterlife.This is better than Twilight for my own personal reasons, but I am still a true fan of that book as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My new ALLTIME favorite!

    I cannot explain the magnificense of this book. Yes, it 'is' better than Twilight! The characters are amazingly woven, laced with real positives and negatives. The romance is completely beautiful, and the twist at the end blew my mind away. You see, I love to read. And i had another series i was going to read after Evernight, but I couldn't. I had to sit and think about the wonders of that book for almost a whole day after I had finished. I CAN NOT WAIT for Stargazer and the two books that follow! I am not even kidding with you, if you want a mindblowing love story, entertwined with danger and lies and secrets, this is perfect! I adore this book!!!!!!!! My ABSOLUTE favorite! GREAT JOB, Claudia Gray!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Fun read

    I did enjoy this book. It was a page turner for me. The author added some of new ideas about vampires and their history to make them unique. Though I feel that there was a few parts where I was very confused because the story switched around, but other than that I would recommend this as an esay read to enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Evernight

    This book was amazing. I didnt even expect that i would like it that much. The writing was amazing and well thought out.

    The twist were even better. I didnt expect any of them and it made the book even more exciting. I never wanted to put the book down and ive only read the first book.

    The characters were awesome. Biance and lucas hacve many secrets that will be said though out the book. I cant say much without giving anything away. Lets just say the author was very creative and a guenis.

    The setting is at the evernight acadamy. The school holds many secrets itself. The school seems a little creepy.

    Biance and Lucus has alot of romance between them but there is some difficulty to the relariomship. I find the book to be romantic and even a little sad. A couple of times i almsot cried.

    This book is amazing and i think the autor is a guenis. Seriously you should read this book. Its full of excitment, adventure, romance, and heart brake

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A delightful read!

    While the "Vampire Academy" plot line isn't unusual right now, I enjoyed the original twists and turns this author took with her characters. Bianca’s parents want what they think is best for her, but Evernight Academy is the last place she wants to be, until she begins to realize that she fits in better than she wants to. Bianca is charming and na&#239;ve about her heritage, because you can never fully understand something until you experience it. I think the author captures that lesson well and throws the reader a good twist, with Bianca’s past. The relationship Bianca has with Lucas is charming and sweet, until it takes a surprising, but not completely unexpected, turn and Lucas’s past threatens to rip the young lovers apart. The story is compelling with great, well thought out surprises. I really enjoyed this book and the characters; I can’t wait to read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49