Customer Reviews for

Evernight (Evernight Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 959 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(482)

4 Star

(296)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Cant wait for More!

I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not ...
I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not only a good surprise, but also a nice change-up on the usual.

I cant wait for the second..and was actually upset Id managed to like this book so much that I wanted to read more, and it ended up being a book where the series has just started! (Im very impatient about these things.HAH)

Overall..most definitely should read it..some of the Negative reviews(especially the one they actually user to compare negative and positive.) RIDICULOUS. Honestly, read the book for yourself and then decide, I would say, if the twist confuses you so much, then you obviously should be reading something on a different level.

posted by LaTuaCantante on March 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not so great...

This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely...
This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely changing the flow of plot, leaves readers questioning the rest of the book. This author established characters and made certain assumptions in her writing, leading the reader one way and then completely changed her focus and the background of the story. I would not recommend this book for anyone who likes coherent plot lines or realistic characters.

posted by 1219929 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so great...

    This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely changing the flow of plot, leaves readers questioning the rest of the book. This author established characters and made certain assumptions in her writing, leading the reader one way and then completely changed her focus and the background of the story. I would not recommend this book for anyone who likes coherent plot lines or realistic characters.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a disappointment.

    I'm sorry to say that I picked up this book because of of the cover. I mean, look at it. That's, by the far, one of the most prettiest covers I've ever seen. It looks like it would have some real emotional depth... Boy was I wrong.
    The characters were so cliched, it made me want to vomit. All the main character did was whine. It just felt like it was hastily written, like the author had a deadline in a week. And there were so many holes... God. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Books are supposed to help you with your intellect... Not make you stupider the more you read it. Gah. Don't waste your time! Seriously. It's just another badly written "forbidden love" twilight-copycat. The "twist" didn't make up for it, believe me.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    A sad mix of Twilight/Harry Potter?

    As a fan of fiction, I naturally chose to read this book; however, I was immediately disappointed. With a very predictable storyline and underdeveloped characters, it was hard to pick up after the first chapter. It reminded me of a Twilight and Harry Potter 'wannabe', however came nowhere close. It was a tortorous read, and I do not recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    Not The Best

    I started reading Evernight because it sounded really interesting. I was pretty intrigued by the first couple of chapters, but then the big mystery about who was the vampire was revealed in the middle of the book. Then it all sorta went downhill form there. I mean it wasn't bad, but definitely not worth the twenty dollars that I spent on it. I mean don't get me wrong the book was alright and I will read the sequel, but The House of Night series was better than this (and that's saying somehting). Well to sum this all up; I reccomend that you wait for the paperback edition for this book if my review did not dissuade you, so at least you will save a couple bucks.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Fun but not worth five stars

    This book was certainly intresting and thrilling but it easnt as good as i expected it to be.... i guess i had a highbexpectation..... i fellt that the book lacked informationand and the relationship between lucas and bianca was tooo fast that it was unrealistic.... well i guess this whole book is unrealistic lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Not my favorite book

    Probably won't read again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    did not live up to my expectations

    I was suppried It has so many great reviews. This book was plain boring. I was immeadtly sucked in by the first chapter and then it just kinda quit interesting me. In the begining she talkes about a dream she had the night before and then it never apperars in the story ever again. Even when something "interesting"
    happens I thought HUH, well then. and I started to just hate the main charcter (bianca) and her boyfriend (Lucas). I feel like the writer was just putting a buch of random ideas out there that had no relation whatsoever. There are so many better vampire books out there to read, If you want a forbidden romance the books under my suggestions are fairly good, though they dont all have forbidden romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3