Customer Reviews for

Evernight (Evernight Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 959 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(482)

4 Star

(296)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Cant wait for More!

I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not ...
I loved this book..first off..I think the writing was much better than some of the others out there, and most definitely more interesting.

Second..the twist was definitely unexpected and again..LOVED IT! generally..things are the other way around, and so it was not only a good surprise, but also a nice change-up on the usual.

I cant wait for the second..and was actually upset Id managed to like this book so much that I wanted to read more, and it ended up being a book where the series has just started! (Im very impatient about these things.HAH)

Overall..most definitely should read it..some of the Negative reviews(especially the one they actually user to compare negative and positive.) RIDICULOUS. Honestly, read the book for yourself and then decide, I would say, if the twist confuses you so much, then you obviously should be reading something on a different level.

posted by LaTuaCantante on March 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not so great...

This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely...
This book, while having a subject that is incredibly popular right now (vampires and forbidden love) does not live up to it's other members in this genre. This book seems like it is hastily written, involving a plot twist halfway through the book that, instead of nicely changing the flow of plot, leaves readers questioning the rest of the book. This author established characters and made certain assumptions in her writing, leading the reader one way and then completely changed her focus and the background of the story. I would not recommend this book for anyone who likes coherent plot lines or realistic characters.

posted by 1219929 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK Read

    I read this book to pass time. It was pretty good. It keeps you wanting to see what happens next which is what counts. It did make me want to read the second one however, for me, it was one of those put on the shelf and read when I have time books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but...

    I liked this book although it seemed like it skipped vital information then tried to fill it in as the story went along. It starts out as the typical girl meets strange boy at stranger boarding school. Then we find out that one of them is a vampire and it seemed to me like the writer didn't know what direction she was going with the book so she just wrote a story. Then she decided where she wanted it to go and didn't go back and properly fill in the details. It was kind of like someone saying to you "oh by the way did I tell you I'm a freak? and I've known it all my life" after telling you that they didn't understand why strange things were happening to them. But after it all gets explained the story kind of ends sweetly with you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Twitst to Vampires and Vampire Hunters

    An interesting read - basically another teen story. I really liked the part of the Hunters, brings some action to the book. Of course with the whole born vampire and hunter love story also makes this plot a little more complex for better reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow and boring...

    Okay I'd just like to say this book was interesting, but it was really slow and boring in parts. I thought the plot was good at first then they did the whole big twist in the middle of the book which leaves you thinking 'huh' and having no idea what is going on... I was expecting this book to be really good, from what I read from the back, but it left me rather confused and really irritated when it ended... I'm not telling you not to give it a try, you should because you just might end up liking it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It has potential!

    It was hard for me to get started on the book-honestly. I was almost half way through it when it started to get moving for me. I did like the book after that point. I thught the characters we wll written. Believe it or not I really liked Balthazar (he was a very caring boy). Once the story was going, it had a couple of twists. One of the twists I was kind of expecting; the other one definately threw me for a double check. As I was reading the last half of the book, I could not put it down. When the book ended, I wanted it to continue, but it just ended. I am going to read the next book in the Evernight Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good...

    The over all story was simple and easy to follow. It was slow moving in the begining but picked up the pace half way through. Sadly, I read a review which spoiled it for me by giving an important detail away even before I read the book. So what was meant to be a surprise, wasn't. Had it not been for that, I think I would have enjoyed the book a lot more than what I did. I realize there is a sequel... and when I get a chance I'll read it, but nor am I running to the book store to go get it. I hope that whenever I read Stargazer--Evernight's sequel--that book with have more depth and detail to make up for what the 1st book didn't. My only negative about Evernight is that the whole **** thing seems like an afterthought taking second place to the relationship the MC has with her love interest. It seems like the author, wrote a love story and then to give it a little more umph, put **** in it. Anyway... My advice is, be careful with the reviews that you read, if not, some could ruin the experience that is Evernight. BTW, the **** are so I wouldn't spoil it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    An Easy Read

    While I found this book enjoyable it was not anything special for me. It was an easy read that definitely had potential but fell short. I would still recommend it for a light easy read if the vampire romance genre interests you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    It's okay

    The first few chapers was really, really boring. It was about Bianca complaining about how she doesn't want to go to Evernight, her "nightmares" of a dying flower, how she's an outcast, and her relatoinship with Lucas. But it gets better and better throughout the book. Kind of. It gets a little confusing in the middle of the story, where the book opens to a world of vampires and how Bianca knew it exsist, even though in the beginning it seems like she didn't. But besides that, it is an okay book. . .if you minus the corny thoughts of Lucas and how it sometimes give you thoughts of Harry Potter (because of the whole boarding school full of vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    A bit disappointing.

    I can't say that I hated this book, because it was okay, but it wasn't my favorite by any means. The characters are good, but the chapters drag a little bit, and it gets boring at times. The plot is kind of all over the place, and it doesn't really stay together well. There are also a lot of spelling mistakes, which are annoying, and sometimes there are words that shouldn't be there. Not a bad series, but you could find better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    yay

    The book was really good, but also slightly confusing. I loved the relationship between the main charactor and the boy. (not saying much, don't want to ruin it for anyone.) I loved it, and am eagerly searching my local stores for the sequal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been better

    This book was interesting.. it was a little confusing in the middle with all the characters and some of the issues in the plot did not really make any sense. I would read the second one only to see what happend to Lucas :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What could have been a plot twist turned into an illegal u-turn

    I really wanted to like this book but halfway through there is a major "plot twist" that throws the whole things off. what could have been an interesting story turned into to a confusing mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wishy washy

    I ended up liking this book okay.
    I just didn't like how in the beginning it felt like Bianca lies to you not saying what she really is.
    It makes you distrust the Protagonist and that isn't good as the story goes on.
    Other than that i liked it. But that issue was a big thing for me that almost ruined the whole story line
    hope i like stargazer better=)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Its different!!>

    i wouldn't say that this book is fantastic 'coz its not...but it has momnets..and very different from the other vampire book that i read!!
    it just that i wish it have been more entertaining...but its not a bad book its has very original storyline...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    http://kindredthought.blogspot.com

    This was a good YA vampire read - it was creepy without being too corny, and I genuinely wondered what was going on... who were the vampires? I also loved Bianca's "voice" right away. Basically, I was hooked from the beginning, and there was a plot twist in the middle of the book that totally surprised me. Let me just say that I do like being surprised when it comes to plots (predictable plots bore me usually), but something about this I didn't like one bit - mostly because suddenly I realized that I didn't know one of the main characters as well as I thought I did. It wasn't that I was disappointed by the twist, but rather I had to readjust, like I had just picked up a different book altogether. So that threw me off somewhat.<BR/><BR/>And then I found myself comparing it to Twilight, which isn't fair, I know. It's a completely different story line, don't worry. ;-) Besides that and the plot twist, there were some little nitpicky things that bothered me (meaning they probably shouldn't have), but the main reason I wouldn't read this book again is because there were some crude references to sex and although Bianca and Lucas are supposedly in love, I never felt it. It seems like all they wanted to do was go find a dark corner and make out... not a lot of substance to the relationship. I don't know if it was just me or what, but at the seemingly romantic parts of the book (Lucas wants to be Bianca's protector, and Bianca says she doesn't need protecting, she just needs HIM) I wanted to laugh at what was being said because of the way it was said and the timing. And the depth (or lack thereof) of the relationship.<BR/><BR/>All in all, this was a nice diversion and a fun read. Those who love Twilight and other vampire young adult novels will probably enjoy this. :-)<BR/><BR/>Disclaimer: I'm not a teen anymore, I'm 25 years OLD. I'm also a Christian and so I write from my Christian point-of-view. What I do or don't like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight meets Hogwarts

    So, the story of Evernight is told through the POV of Bianca. She finds herself in Evernight Academy, much to her demise and she desires nothing more than to escape the creepy setting... until she meets Lucas(cliched, I know). He's nothing like the rich, snobby "Evernight type" who rampages the school. She engages in conversation with him and eventually starts to like him...<BR/><BR/>Usually, a little crush is fine by me but Bianca is just about borderline obsessed with Lucas, not unlike Bella and her obsession with Edward Cullen(Twilight reference). It amazes me how teenage girls actually look up to such pathetic, male-obsessed heroines. Bianca's crush on Lucas was nearly enough to turn me off from the book but I read it as part of a deal so I kept reading on.<BR/><BR/>Thank god that halfway through there's a very interesting twist that turns the story completely around. Without giving too much away, it was just a very interesting twist that changed my entire insight on the Evernight universe around and particular changed my views on Bianca(and somewhat on Lucas). <BR/><BR/>And, to take part in the infamous Evernight vs. Twilight battle, I'm going to take a vote and I vote for Evernight. Unlike Twlight, things actually happen in Evernight and there's twists and character development. At least, for Bianca and Lucas. I still hate they there's an unhealthy obsession from the female's POV(and the fangirls apparently love the obsession). I also wish that the protagonist realized there's more to life than boys. This story follows the same track in neglecting friends for boyfriends. I don't think that's sending a good message to the poor, impressionable young girls who idolizes these characters.<BR/><BR/>Overall, I like the series because of the PLOT(which took too long to get interesting but once it got there it was really good) and absolutely not because of the weak characters and even weaker, stalker-esque relationship.<BR/><BR/>I'm anticipating Stargazer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Evernight

    Whoever said that Evernight was better than Twilight was seriously disturbed. I found this book to be interesting and okay but I'd never compare it to Twilight. Evernight was good, don't get me wrong. It was just...I don't know. It seemed to me that Bianca over thought entirely way too much. When she had a conversation with Lucas for the first time, she like flipped out. And she kept thinking "all mine, all mine." The twist was...AWESOME, yeah. The book was good, and I look forward to the next. But it doesn't match up to Twilight. It's an easy read, and you should read it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not that good

    I didn't really like this book. it didn't say anything about vampires until the middle when she bites her boyfriend and then poof, she says all this stuff she hasn't mentioned before, like drinking a cup of blood a day when she was little or something like that. i wouldn't read this again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Good, but...

    Quite a few conversations in the beginning are very unrealistic and cheesy, especially between Lucas and Bianca. Also when we find out Bianca's secret, it felt anti-climatic, rushes, and unexplained. It's a good light read, but the author needs more work and can't compare to others such as Meyer and Westerfield.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book kept me interested, and the twist threw me for a loop that I was not expecting. I did not feel a strong connection to the characters. Though I will definitley read the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6