Customer Reviews for

Eversea: a love story

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Eversea was very well written, the characters were believable, a

    Eversea was very well written, the characters were believable, and now I'm waiting to read more Jack and Keri Ann...soon, I hope!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I don't know where to start. First of all I hate that it's over

    I don't know where to start. First of all I hate that it's over - there has to be more please. I was so moved. I laughed - I cried and at the end was crushed. I absolutely loved loved this book. Thank you for sharing your wonderful talent with us. I would highly recommend this book to everyone....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    LOVE this book! I'm an avid reader and this is one of my favori

    LOVE this book! I'm an avid reader and this is one of my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Wonderful, wonderful book! I read this and right away had to ge

    Wonderful, wonderful book! I read this and right away had to get the sequel, Forever Jack. I read Forever Jack yesterday, and thank goodness it was a slow day at work! I couldn't stop reading! I love Jack, and well, Keri Ann needed a good shake a couple of times, but all in all, it's a great read and a very endearing couple. Can't wait for number 3!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Awesome

    Really enjoyed the story. Looking forward to tne next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Oh no you didn't!

    The cliffhanger had me REELING! LOVE THIS BOOK! Oh my word I love Jack! I need the next book ASAP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    A beautiful novel with beautiful characters. I echo the comment

    A beautiful novel with beautiful characters. I echo the comment that the characters were so believable.
    4 hours of reading and the book was done, I cannot wait for the second part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿If I'd known you were in my future, I would have chosen differe

    “If I'd known you were in my future, I would have chosen differently.” - Jack
    “If you had chosen differently, you would have never found me.” - Keri Ann

    How can you not love Jack and Keri Ann? I certainly couldn't resist them. This book absolutely sucked me in. To the point where it caused me physical pain to put it down to go to sleep. 

    This book had the perfect mix of romance, humor, angst and sexy time. I found Keri Ann and Jack to both be totally believable characters. The small-town setting was well-executed. Of course, it also had a virtually soul-crushing twist and a cliffhanger ending you've come to expect from most NA lit. To say I'm anticipating the sequel would be an understatement. But, until it's here, I'll continue to squee over this one. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Perfrct summer beach read!

    I couldn't put this book down until i finished it. Loved the characters and now I am pining away for the sequel! Hurry Natasha Boyd, I am totally hooked. I wish I could book my next vacation to Butlers Cove. I truly loved and enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    I feel like I can¿t even come up with the words for how much I l

    I feel like I can’t even come up with the words for how much I liked this book. I don’t even know what to say besides just read it. But since you probably want more I’ll see what I can do.

    I really liked Kari Ann as a heroine. She’s a virgin and self-conscious, but i get it for her. There were circumstances in her past, girl’s had a lot going on. She may be inexperienced, but I didn’t find Kari Ann to be weak or mousey. I found myself yelling at her a few times through my kindle, but not because of horrible actions or anything. She just cannot keep a secret to save her life. It was more of a yelling like you do at your tv when the heroine goes down to the basement in a horror movie. Kari Ann was an awesome heroine. She’s in love, but she never goes crazy. She’s able to appear cool and unaffected in front of Jack, but her inner dialog was hilarious. She might have been swooning over him, but damn if she was going to let him know that. I loved it.

    Jack quote the Princess Bride. That says it all right? I wasn’t sure if I would love Jack in the beginning or not and really I don’t even know why I loved him so much, except that I do. Jack is just so sweet and swoony. He does some stupid things and I wanted to be mad at him about them, but most of them were made before he met Kari Ann. I could even sympathize with him for the dumb things he does after meeting her, he was in a difficult position and did what he thought needed to be done.

    This story does have a very ‘real life’ fanfiction feel to it. Once you get into the story it will be pretty easy to figure out which real life celebs the story seems to be based on. Was it really based on that situation, I have no idea. I also have no problem if it was. I’ve read some bad fanfiction and I’ve read some great fanfiction, everyone gets their story ideas from somewhere. Plus Eversea was a great story so who cares.

    I had no idea I would love Eversea as much as I did. It was definitely a great surprise to find myself sucked into the story and the characters the way I was. While reading you just know Jack is going to break our hearts, it’s practically written on the wall, but I just didn’t care. There is a book two, Forever, Jack which is not a retelling but a continuation and completion of the story.

    Towards the end of the story I started to get nervous because I thought the ending would be brutal with a huge cliffy. Thankfully, the author takes the plot a bit further in the future which helped me sleep peacefully. That’s actually a lie. As soon as I finished Eversea I started book two, there was no sleeping in-between. But those few hours when I had to actually do things, like you know, parent were much calmer for me than they would have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    MY THOUGHTS About the story.... Keri Ann is 22 years old. She

    MY THOUGHTS

    About the story....

    Keri Ann is 22 years old. She lives in the small South Carolina town Butler Cove Island. All alone in her big family house, after her brother went off to med school. Their parents died when she was just a teenager and a few years later her grandma passed away too. Now she's all alone, working her ass off at the diner and trying to save the crumbling Butler family mansion.

    Then Jack rides into town on his motorcycle.

    But he's kind of undercover. Because he's not just a hot guy - he's THE hottest guy on the planet. Hollywood superstar Jack Eversea. And Keri Ann is the only one who knows he's in town.

    After he met her in the Diner, he asks her to not let anyone know that he's in town.
    He's trying to hide away for a while. His girlfriend cheated on him and he just couldn't stand to be in LA any longer. That's how he ends up living in a friends house at the beach.

    Keri Ann agrees to keep his secret and soon the two of them spend a lot of time together. She buys groceries for him, he helps renovating her house.......

    Keri Ann was never a typical teenager, she never dated, never went out much with friends.
    That's why she's not sure what to think about her growing feelings for Jack. Is she falling for the hot superstar, or for the the hero of her favorite book series (Jack plays him in the movie!) or is she getting to know the real Jack?

    Then there's Jack - could this girl be the first person ever who wants to get to know the real him. Everybody always wants something from him, nobody ever wanted HIM, only whatever it was he could give them.

    Things between Jack and his 'Ex' Audrey are not exactly as they seem.... it's all very complicated....

    Could there be a future for Keri Ann & Jack?
    Will they get their HEA?
    Or will everybody die at the end? ¿¿¿
    Will there be a Cliffhanger? ¿¿¿

    I'm not telling you of course ¿¿¿

    Ok - I might tell you that, since there will be a second book, there will be much more to tell ¿
    can't wait to get started with book #2
    _______________________________

    I REALLY ENJOYED READING THE BOOK!!!

    I didn't know what to expect at all when I started to read. And that's really the best thing that can happen...you can't be disappointed when you don't have any expectations ¿

    But I wasn's disappointed at all!!!
    I loved it.
    I was right there in Butler Cove with Keri Ann from the very first moment.
    I could picture it all in my mind. The heat, the mosquitoes, the reeaaaalllly hot Hollywood Superstar ¿

    And the story? It was the perfect New Adult Cinderella Romance ¿

    Poor small-town girl - who doesn't know how beautiful she really is - meets this gorgeous Hollywood Superstar.
    This book couldn't have done anything wrong for me after I knew what it was about.
    I just love those kind of stories.
    Give me a Rockstar - Hollywoodstar - Navy SEAL ¿ and I'm happy.
    And I was really happy with this book!!!

    Keri Ann is such a wonderul girl. Staying in this little town to work, so that she can slowly repair the family home and that her brother can go off to become a doctor.
    She's working so hard to please everyone - her brother - the town - that she forgets about herself. She wanted to go to art school and create beautiful things.
    But she's stuck in this unexciting life until Jack comes riding into town.

    He changes everything for her.
    And she does the same to him.

    He didn't have a very nice childhood, but he never really talked to anybody about all that. Keri Ann is the first person who really wants to listen to him. She wants to get to know the real him.

    Those two are sooo adorably cute.
    It's really funny and sexy and sweet how they are together!

    Not everything is all hearts and flowers of course ¿ Jack's Ex might show up and cause trouble.

    Maybe it was just too good to be true for both Jack & Keri Ann.

    But - we'll find out all about how their story will end in book #2 FOREVER, JACK

    I really loved EVERSEA!!!

    It was perfect from the first to the last line ¿

    Oh - and btw - the last lines / pages are from Jack's POV - so we get to know him a little better! I really loved that!

    The tiny little thing that bothered me about the book - and it's only this one little thing - there wasn't enough sexiness in it for me. Yes, I know - it's called A LOVE STORY - not an erotic Romance - but still - I wished Natasha wouldn't have been that shy with the sexy scenes. There isn't anything sexy until the middle of the book and then it's not all that much. I like a bit more SEX in my books - BUT for most readers it will be just perfect!!!

    Please go and buy the book - you won't regret it - you will fall in love with Keri Ann, Jack & all the others (Jazz, Joey etc.) just like I did!

    I'm really excited to read what will happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Vshhwsjbdvd

    Fu<_>ck ya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jack Eversea is going on the book boyfriend list, immediately! F

    Jack Eversea is going on the book boyfriend list, immediately! From the moment he shows up in South Carolina and meets Keri Ann through the very end, I was IN LOVE! In love with the flow of the story, with the dialogue, with the character development, with the evocative descriptions, and with the breath-hitching intensity that sparks between Jack and Keri Ann.

    This was exactly the book I needed when I needed to completely escape. I found myself reading for almost 5 hours straight reading it from start to finish! For a debut novel, Natasha Boyd delivered a lovely, solid story about a high profile movie star and a local low-country girl who meet and fall in love.

    But not all is easy, as Jack has his troubles following him and Keri Ann hasn't learned how to allow people to get close to her after experiencing a huge amount of loss early in life. Life in the bubble may seem easy but life seems to find ways to intrude and my heart ached for all that happens.

    Overall, a beautifully written story with many delicious moments between Jack and Keri Ann, sprinkled with a cast of secondary characters that hit just the right amount of involvement. I loved this story and as a fair warning, it is a bit of a cliffhanger so be sure to grab book 2 - you'll want to keep going the moment the first one ends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book!!  Highly recommend it.... I'm in l

    I absolutely loved this book!!  Highly recommend it.... I'm in love with the story, the characters, everything! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whew! Good enough to read again!

    I'm usually not too impressed with contemporary romances. Eversea is perfectly executed escapism. I love me some Jack Eversea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    I loved this book!

    I cant even put into words how much i loved this book!!!! My only disappointment is that there will be a second book. I cant wait to find out what will happen next. This is a great read and is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Wow...there was so much attention drawn to this book I had to re

    Wow...there was so much attention drawn to this book I had to read it ..and so very glad I did!!!




    The characters Jack and Kerri-Ann was just so touching, just two people falling in love.  It wasn't cheesy, just funny, sensuous love. 
    Kerri-Ann coming from dispair of her families losses, Jack was there to see her courage and independence that he fell for.  I felt like there was going to be more.. so I'm hoping there's an extension to this book.. if so I CANT WAIT!!  I need to know how it all goes.  




    Jazz and Joey cracked me up and I could see something more coming from each of them.. the characters everything just fit so well!!  A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    This was a phenomenally thrilling story. You got the rush of a w

    This was a phenomenally thrilling story. You got the rush of a whirlwind romance combined with a healthy dose of reality that draw you in and keep you guessing and hoping right to the very end. You won’t be able to put this one down. 




    Boyd has the ability to trigger emotions in her readers. This novel made me feel an entire spectrum of emotions. I went through the same whirlwind that the characters did. It was a novelty. The author didn’t simply tell me or show me what was going on, she pulled me in and allowed me to participate, to live vicariously through her characters and their stories. 




    Not only does Boyd evoke some very intense emotions in her readers, but she also illustrates all of the scenery and action perfectly. Everything is presented in such vivid clarity that Boyd leaves very little to the imagination with this novel. That said, the intensity and realism that she provides is part of what makes this story so intensely enjoyable. 




    The characters that Boyd creates for this novel are so real that they set the bar for romance characters. I love how real they are. This comes right down to their relationship with one another. Although one is famous and one is a small town girl their interactions don’t change who they are. I also absolutely love how the main character compares her love life to the romance novels that she reads. It’s something that most of us can relate to. The supporting cast is also quite well developed, although it is done in such a manner that they don’t overpower the main characters.




    This was a phenomenal escape from reality with the main character living the life that we all dream of when reading a romance. I definitely can’t wait to read the sequel to this. I can’t wait to find out what happens next. How will it all end?




    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Cliffhanger! I loved this book and def was expecting a HEA. The

    Cliffhanger! I loved this book and def was expecting a HEA. The story was wonderfully written and I especially like that we got to see into Jacks head for the last chapter. Hope we don't have to wait too long for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Cannot wait for #2

    Cannot wait for book #2.... loved the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2