BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Every Breath You Take: A True Story of Obsession, Revenge, and Murder

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Cop's Appreciation

Sheila Blackthorne Bellush knew two things for sure. She knew that her ex-husband would murder her and she understood that Ann Rule was someone who would honor her with the truth in her description of Sheila's life with Allen Blackthorne and her death at his hand. I hav...
Sheila Blackthorne Bellush knew two things for sure. She knew that her ex-husband would murder her and she understood that Ann Rule was someone who would honor her with the truth in her description of Sheila's life with Allen Blackthorne and her death at his hand. I have been in law enforcement for thirty years and have investigated many crimes related to domestic violence, including homicides and suicides. Ann Rule has maintained her standard for thorough research of her subjects and the investigation and prosecution of the criminal case. Ms. Rule understands the complexities of the behaviors and relationships in cases of domestic violence. She holds true to honesty in her description of Allen Blackthorne as a master manipulator who seeks to control Sheila for years after their divorce. Ms. Rule has provided us with a glimpse into the heart of evil when Allen realizes that he can no longer control Sheila. He is successful in taking from her the one thing she has always known he would--her life. Thanks to Ann Rule for holding fast to Sheila Bullush's request to tell her story.

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A very long book.

The story itself was very sad and tragic. This is the first book I read by Ann Rule. The book was at least 200 pages too long.. She was way too descriptive about everything and everyone. I lost interest in some parts of the book. I agonized over finishing the book bec...
The story itself was very sad and tragic. This is the first book I read by Ann Rule. The book was at least 200 pages too long.. She was way too descriptive about everything and everyone. I lost interest in some parts of the book. I agonized over finishing the book because I didnt see an end to it. Also, the picture she paints of the victim, makes her seem like a saint. And no one is a saint. So I thought she was a bit too generous in the description of the victim. I would only recommend the book if you have a lot of time on your hands. Otherwise, pass.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    A Cop's Appreciation

    Sheila Blackthorne Bellush knew two things for sure. She knew that her ex-husband would murder her and she understood that Ann Rule was someone who would honor her with the truth in her description of Sheila's life with Allen Blackthorne and her death at his hand. I have been in law enforcement for thirty years and have investigated many crimes related to domestic violence, including homicides and suicides. Ann Rule has maintained her standard for thorough research of her subjects and the investigation and prosecution of the criminal case. Ms. Rule understands the complexities of the behaviors and relationships in cases of domestic violence. She holds true to honesty in her description of Allen Blackthorne as a master manipulator who seeks to control Sheila for years after their divorce. Ms. Rule has provided us with a glimpse into the heart of evil when Allen realizes that he can no longer control Sheila. He is successful in taking from her the one thing she has always known he would--her life. Thanks to Ann Rule for holding fast to Sheila Bullush's request to tell her story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Too Close to Home

    I feel I was lead to read this book because of my impending divorce. My soon to be ex-husband's persona is much like that of Allen Blackthorne's. Reading this book has opened my eyes to a harsh reality that makes me cringe...

    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about true crime.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    A very long book.

    The story itself was very sad and tragic. This is the first book I read by Ann Rule. The book was at least 200 pages too long.. She was way too descriptive about everything and everyone. I lost interest in some parts of the book. I agonized over finishing the book because I didnt see an end to it. Also, the picture she paints of the victim, makes her seem like a saint. And no one is a saint. So I thought she was a bit too generous in the description of the victim. I would only recommend the book if you have a lot of time on your hands. Otherwise, pass.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Beyond Diabolical Describes Rule's Latest Villain

    I have read all of Ms.Rule's books and this is one of her very best! The shockingly evil nature of Allen Blackthorne, the ex husband of Sheila Bellush, is exposed and developed in captivating detail as he haunts, taunts and harasses his ex-wife relentlessly across a seven year period ,leading to the prophetic, tragic and violent ending of her young life..In the eeriest twist to this tale, Sheila had asked her sister to find Ann Rule to write her story, Sheila knowing full well that she could not escape the demon that Allen Blackthorne had become.This vision by Sheila of her eventual fate, makes this story that much more compelling..the superb forensic and detective work is spellbinding as a team of lawmen, including members of the legendary Texas Rangers, tightens the net around Allen Blackthorne to bring him to justice..The trial is a 'sweaty palms' read, as I found myself worrying that somehow Allen Blackthorne would connive and feint his way through the legal system like he did as a charlatan in every other facet of his bizarre life...The research done for this great book provides a rich fabric of detail which is gripping.. Every Breath You Take is another Rule gem that you simply can't put down..a great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Page Turner

    Although I watched this story on 48 Hours, the book is more detailed and gives a lot more information. Ann Rule is an excellent writer and very detailed in her books. If you love true crime, you will definately enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ann Rule's e-books

    I'm hoping someone can answer my question. Does Ms. Rule's e-books contain the pictures like her paperbacks do. You see for me, having pics of the victims & detectives allows me to be more "vested" in the story. It truly helps me to get to see what she may be discussing within the book.
    I LOVE Ms. Rule's books, but for me, having the pictures elevates them to real "true crime" novels, instead of just stories, and since I have a limited amount of credit, I would like to know, so that if the e-books do not have the pics, I will purchase a paperback book and save my credit for other books.
    Thanking you in advance for any help you can give. :) M

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    never judge a book by its cover

    Looking at the cover i would of never picked it up off the shelf. That book was one of the best most realist books i have ever read in my whole entire life. I read it in two days. It was sad but worth reading. I am definatley gonna start reading more nonfiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    One of the Greatest Ann Rule Books Ever!!!!!

    Ann Rule is the best true crime author ever! I couldn't put this book down. I think that this poor lady had a horrible husband and I am happy she got away, the only sad thing is I feel for her newest husband and all of her children. And I am very relieved that that sick man got caught and it would be a bad , bad thing if he was still free in this world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    I love all of Ann Rule's books. I used to work as a secretary at the city police department so I love true crime. Allen Blackthorn is a scary man. Reading about him made me realize I know someone like him and after reading this book, I have cut all ties. Doesn't matter who he hurts as long as he gets what he wants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    A Sad Story and a Hard to Believe Bunch of Characters

    Everything in this story is hard to believe. Yet it is unfortunately a true story. Puzzling though. How could these one-time killers/plotters, four of them, managed to matter of factly conspire to kill that poor woman. How could the affable Joey Del Toro become a murderer? This book is overfilled with details but lacks specifics when describing the characters. They are all filled with contradictions. For example Sheila's new husband appears to be a child beater and a caring father at the same time. The good parts of the books are the tracing of the killer and the trial. The rest is a bit too long and too detailed. What is absolutelay useless are the one page life story of the detectives assigned to the case. Who cares about their reason for joining the force, etc.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Not one of Ms. Rules better books

    I don't like to not finish a book but with this one I could not continue to its end. I gave up on page 150 of this 500 page book and the last 20 of those I skimmed hoping to find more interesting writing. This book doesn't even seem like it was written by Ann Rule because the writing is amateurish and doesn't flow. The descriptions of Allen and his extreme behaviors were stunted and shallow. She breezed over his psychopathic behaviors without telling the reader much about him or the acts. The stories of the abuse suffered by Sheila at his hands isn't told any better either. By the 150th page I think I knew more about almost anything and anybody else other than Allen and Sheila and their relationship. The long history of family going back generations didn't add anything worthwhile and should have been left out.

    Sheila and her family have my deepest sympathy. It is a tragic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Ms Rules better books...

    One of Ms Rules better books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Another very interesting tale from Ann Rule. However she spends too much time with the historical aspects describing the parents and grandparents, etc. of both the victim and the murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    If you love ann rule, you will absolutely love this book

    Excellant crime book. Ann Rule is at her best. Characters come alive. Could not put it down. Miust read if you are iinto true crime stories .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great

    Another well written book by Ann Rule.. i could not put book down til finished.. this book really got to me, the way Shelia was treated n murdered.. i felt all emotions. All involved on what was done to Shelia got what they deserved, i feel punishment could have n wished it was worse especially for the ex-husband .. my heart goes to the children.. Bn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best of her books yet

    I recommend this book to everyone. Gives me goose bumps every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Flare

    Freedom chasers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Starr

    She picked up the kit and carried her to result two

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Silver

    She nodded and asked,"You warm enough?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    It's a slow read

    The book is taking me a while to get through. It goes into to much of the history of the characters. I skipped pages that I didn't feel was necessary in the book. I'm sure it will get better towards the end, if I ever get there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8