Customer Reviews for

Every Breath You Take

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

WHY ONLY 1 BOOK FOR MY NOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT TO READ ALL ON THE NOOK!!!!!

I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOOOOOOOO MUCH BUT NOW I'M VERY UPSET WHY BECAUSE I WANTED TO READ ANOTHER BOOK BY MS MCNAUGHT & THEY ARE NOT AVAILABLE TO DOWN LOAD ON MY NOOK (VERY UPSET OVER THIS). PLEASE NEED ALL YOUR BOOKS FOR MY NOOK PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

fine mainstream fiction

Self-made millionaire Mitchell Wyatt assumed he was an orphan but is actually a member of the prominent Wyatt family, who looked upon his birth as an embarrassment. When his brother William learned about Mitchell, he engineered a meeting with his sibling. Mitchell qui...
Self-made millionaire Mitchell Wyatt assumed he was an orphan but is actually a member of the prominent Wyatt family, who looked upon his birth as an embarrassment. When his brother William learned about Mitchell, he engineered a meeting with his sibling. Mitchell quickly cares for his brother, his sister-in-law and his nephew Billy. When William disappears, Mitchell comforts his sister-in-law and Billy not realizing the Cook County Attorney General believes he killed William and probably his father too. --- Kate Donovan is on the Caribbean Island of Anguillia waiting for her boyfriend of four years to join her, but meets Mitchell they share a passionate interlude and Kate breaks it off with Evan when he arrives, but finds Mitchell returned to Chicago to answer questions about the murder of his brother. Kate thinks he deserted her and Evan tells her he used her to get revenge on his father who played a role in sending him away when he was an infant. She believes Evan and after a brief bitter exchange at a social gala Kate and Mitchell don¿t see each other for three years until another crime brings them together. --- Fans of Danielle Steele will appreciate the mainstream fiction EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE. The story line is loaded with suspense as the audience anticipates Mitchell¿s arrest and subsequently what he will do. The relationship between Kate and him feels more obligatory of the sub-genre than a genuine meeting of the hearts. Still reader will enjoy the tense tale pondering how it will end. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Judith Mcnaught fan is disappointed....

    I have been a huge Judith McNaught fan for several years, but I am extremely disappointed with her latest attempt at romantic suspense. Usually her stories have a wonderful balance of background/character development and what I call the 'current day plot', or majority story plot. This one lacked character development, the current day plot was mainly the two romantic interests meeting and falling in love over a weekend but took up about 3/4 of the story, and then the wrap up was about 3 years later and seemed entirely too rushed. The suspense was weak, and the side characters, which are usually equally as wonderful as the hero and heroine, were sadly lacking in their own development. I felt the story was choppy. This story was more reminiscent of the choppiness and shortness of Remember When and Night Whispers, which were both disappointments to me as well. Someone to Watch Over Me was a great deal better than all three of the other novels put together, but was still not as good as some of her earlier contemporary works, such as Perfect or Paradise. Every Breath You Take was rushed and probably needed another 6 months to a year of writing before being published. Judith, please make your own deadlines, and don't feel pressured to put out a novel if it is lacking in what your fans love. We would prefer you spend your time writing an even better story than working with your publisher to get something out by their deadlines. -Huge McNaught Fan

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Big Disappointment

    As a Judith McNaught fan, this book is not comparable to her earlier releases. It almost reads as if someone was trying to copy her style and did a very bad job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Disappointing

    For a McNaught novel, this book was not what I had hoped it would be. The story line was all over the place, rough, inconsistent, and the characters were not fleshed out so the reader is left with many questions and too few answers. It supposedly had a suspense-mystery story going on but it was totally unbelievable and, in my opinion, just didn't make sense. It did more harm to the story than helped. I have heard that because of feedback the author is rewriting or expanding the paperback version to, hopefully, fill in some of the huge gaps in the story. That is all well and good, but leaves one to wonder why it wasn't done BEFORE the book went to print the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Also disappointed...

    I've been reading JMcN since the 80's, and, like many of the more established authors in this genre (Devereux, Coulter), she seems to be getting lazier and gimmicky in her writing style. Like the previous poster, I was disappointed in the rushed timeline & lack of character development in this story. Both main characters were characters I'd like to see more of, and there were some nice secondary characters that were completely dropped between the first and second half of the story. Go back and reread her earlier historics (Almost Heaven, Something Wonderful) or early contemporaries (Paradise) & you can see why she has been a popular author in the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    I was very disappointed...

    I have been a big fan of JM for years now. My first romance novel was Once and Always, since then I've read all of her books. I was really disappointed in this one. Mitchell and Kate are sweet characters but the storyline just seemed all rushed. I didn't get that heart felt feeling like I did with the her other books. I was really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    expected more

    I've read most or JM book's and i really expected this book to be better. There wasn't much suspence to it. Most of the book was about the hero and heroine's vacation on the island and how they met and got involved. Even as a romance novel it was poor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    I hate to say this, but....

    I am a HUGE Judith McNaught fan, ever since I read Until You several years ago, up until STWOM. Loved them all, until this book. I am really sad to write this, but it dissapointed me due to the lack of depth and warmth Judith's characters usually have. It was a good enough read from the library, I guess, but I won't be adding it to my personal Judith McNaught collection.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    I'VE BEEN MISLED

    I had expected this book to be a murder mystery. Instead, the author takes up the first 185 pages (!) to describe the first 'meet cute' of the two main characters (Kate and Mitchell) and their subsequent mating. Okay, okay, already I get it -- he's handsome and she's beautiful and they fall in love. But 180 pages? The rest of the book is a quick tie-up-all-the-loose-ends, only marginally involving the death of the Mitchell's brother. And, oh yes, Kate becomes pregnant by Mitchell and raises the boy without his help (until he is 2). If you like this genre, then by all means go for it. But the synopsis was very, very misleading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Not up to Judith McNaught quality

    I have been a fan of Judith McNaught for many years. However, I won't be keeping this and I wish I had not spent the money. It was a shallow story and more fitting of a hastily written paperback romance. Even the reference to some of her previous characters was not helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Could Have Been Better

    I have read most of McNaught's books and have enjoyed them. I was very disappointed with this book - it was clearly rushed and not well thought out. About 2/3 of the book is spent on a couple days on vacation so the two main characters can fall in love. Then the last 1/3 is a rushed conflict and resolution. The 'conflict' that drives the characters apart is ludicrous and feels very contrived. When the characters are reunited, the whole past is fixed in a matter of moments. Just so unbelievable and unconvincing. It was still an easy, fast read but if you have high expectations of McNaught's books, you will be disappointed. Do not spend the money on the hardback version - wait for the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    A sad disappointment

    I have been a Judith McNaught fan for over ten years I have read and reread all of her books. I have been waiting for this one to come out for a really long time, and am extremely disappointed. What I loved about Judith's work was that you got to know her characters, she could make you laugh and cry and this work was nowhere near the caliber of her previous works. Starting with Remember When and on, her books seem to be focused on a plot, a mystery and she spends very little time developing her characters. This book was extremely choppy, entirely predictable, with a protagonists that you just do not connect with. Borrow this book from the library if you wish to read it, spend your money on something more worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Another disappointed reader

    Like the previous two reviewers I am a long time fan of Judith McNaught but have been disappointed by her past couple of books. I felt the story was disjointed and the ending way too rushed. What happened to the emotional investment you want to feel from a good book? If you have read 'Whitney, My Love' you know what I am talking about. The ending was so rushed I could not quite believe I had finished the book. I even reread the ending a couple of times to be sure I hadn't missed something. If a couple is seperated for three years I'm betting they have a lot to talk about but these two didn't and suddenly they are getting married? I also felt that Mitchell beating someone up wearing rubber gloves and from the back(the accuser never saw his attacker) was creepy and made the hero a felon. McNaught should have not worried about the press deadline - the book was set for November release and ended up being available after Christmas anyways - and spent more time giving readers what they expect from a writer of her experience - a great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Very disappointing!

    A very disappointing read having waiting so long for a new Judith McNaught romance. The characters from 'Paradise' were just placed in like cameos and as a tease for fans. This book was more like a draft for 'Paradise.' Not much depth in the characters though there is still that great romantic twist at the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    DISAPPOINTING!!!

    I have read all of JM's novels, starting with Paradise which I loved! Her last 2 books have been very disappointing. I was so looking forward to this book, after such a long wait. I do love the characters, even though they are typical. Mitchell is very good looking and successful, usually a black sheep. Kate is beautiful and a little naive. There was very little suspense in this book and the ending was contrived. I kept waiting for there to a tie-in with Kate's father's murder. I would wait for this come out in paperback or borrow it from a friend or the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1