BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Every Breath You Take

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

WHY ONLY 1 BOOK FOR MY NOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT TO READ ALL ON THE NOOK!!!!!

I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOOOOOOOO MUCH BUT NOW I'M VERY UPSET WHY BECAUSE I WANTED TO READ ANOTHER BOOK BY MS MCNAUGHT & THEY ARE NOT AVAILABLE TO DOWN LOAD ON MY NOOK (VERY UPSET OVER THIS). PLEASE NEED ALL YOUR BOOKS FOR MY NOOK PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

fine mainstream fiction

Self-made millionaire Mitchell Wyatt assumed he was an orphan but is actually a member of the prominent Wyatt family, who looked upon his birth as an embarrassment. When his brother William learned about Mitchell, he engineered a meeting with his sibling. Mitchell qui...
Self-made millionaire Mitchell Wyatt assumed he was an orphan but is actually a member of the prominent Wyatt family, who looked upon his birth as an embarrassment. When his brother William learned about Mitchell, he engineered a meeting with his sibling. Mitchell quickly cares for his brother, his sister-in-law and his nephew Billy. When William disappears, Mitchell comforts his sister-in-law and Billy not realizing the Cook County Attorney General believes he killed William and probably his father too. --- Kate Donovan is on the Caribbean Island of Anguillia waiting for her boyfriend of four years to join her, but meets Mitchell they share a passionate interlude and Kate breaks it off with Evan when he arrives, but finds Mitchell returned to Chicago to answer questions about the murder of his brother. Kate thinks he deserted her and Evan tells her he used her to get revenge on his father who played a role in sending him away when he was an infant. She believes Evan and after a brief bitter exchange at a social gala Kate and Mitchell don¿t see each other for three years until another crime brings them together. --- Fans of Danielle Steele will appreciate the mainstream fiction EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE. The story line is loaded with suspense as the audience anticipates Mitchell¿s arrest and subsequently what he will do. The relationship between Kate and him feels more obligatory of the sub-genre than a genuine meeting of the hearts. Still reader will enjoy the tense tale pondering how it will end. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine mainstream fiction

    Self-made millionaire Mitchell Wyatt assumed he was an orphan but is actually a member of the prominent Wyatt family, who looked upon his birth as an embarrassment. When his brother William learned about Mitchell, he engineered a meeting with his sibling. Mitchell quickly cares for his brother, his sister-in-law and his nephew Billy. When William disappears, Mitchell comforts his sister-in-law and Billy not realizing the Cook County Attorney General believes he killed William and probably his father too. --- Kate Donovan is on the Caribbean Island of Anguillia waiting for her boyfriend of four years to join her, but meets Mitchell they share a passionate interlude and Kate breaks it off with Evan when he arrives, but finds Mitchell returned to Chicago to answer questions about the murder of his brother. Kate thinks he deserted her and Evan tells her he used her to get revenge on his father who played a role in sending him away when he was an infant. She believes Evan and after a brief bitter exchange at a social gala Kate and Mitchell don¿t see each other for three years until another crime brings them together. --- Fans of Danielle Steele will appreciate the mainstream fiction EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE. The story line is loaded with suspense as the audience anticipates Mitchell¿s arrest and subsequently what he will do. The relationship between Kate and him feels more obligatory of the sub-genre than a genuine meeting of the hearts. Still reader will enjoy the tense tale pondering how it will end. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Could have been better

    Judith McNaught has a wonderful ability to bring the reader into and commune with her characters. EBUT is excellent that way and rivets the reader for the first half of the novel with the love story unfolding between her characters. Unfortunately, the ending is rushed and forced. Judith McNaught's recent books, for this reader, have been hit or miss. Someone to watch over me had better plot development. Night whispers didn't have enough character development. I was disappointed when I finished the book, even though i genuinely enjoyed reading her characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Quick read

    Please Make more of Judith Mcnaught books available.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book read it - just don't invest in it

    I read this book quite a while ago and enjoyed it immensely. However, this time - not so much. It was really slow. The romance was sweet but again I was three quarters of the way through the book before I was interested enough to stop putting it down and walking away. I actually chose socializing at soccer instead of burring myself in my book. I'm not saying it's a bad book - it's got a great plot (sometimes it seems like a lot of different stories smooshed together), the character development is the best (well, for Kate, her boyfriend, and Mitchell you know all about them how they think and why), the scenes are terrific (you really feel as if you're actually there).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Great.... then falls flat

    I am a big Judith McNaught fan, but this book seemed sub-par at times. As much as I loved the romance aspect, I disliked the 'mystery' part as much. The love story on the islands is fantastic, but upon return to the Chicago, the story falls apart. It was almost like reading parts of 3 different stories and having them all thrown together. If I would have reveiwed the book at the half way point, I would have had it in my top 10 of all times, however, I cannot review it up there upon completion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    McNaught disappoints

    I have been a McNaught fan for years. I don't even read romance generally, but McNaught's amazing characterization, fast-paced plots, and great dialogue captivated me. I was extremely excited when I heard about her new novel, but was disappointed when it came out. Like others have said, the ending seemed rushed, the side characters were non-existent. McNaught didn't seem to know what to focus on and she had all these different story lines that went no where. Furthermore, I couldn't like the book because I felt no sympathy for Kate. She betrays her boyfriend of four years. So what if she 'fell in love' with Mitchell. She could have waited and gone about the whole thing more maturely. Especially, considering the fact that Evan Bartlett was a decent guy. Just because business got in the way of their weekend does not excuse her behavior. McNaught's attempt to villainize Bartlett at the end of the novel was lame. The only thing he ever did was support Kate, take her to a tropical paradise, let her cry on his shoulder after she betrayed him, and still slide a ring on her finger when she had been willing to throw away their relationship. He never did anything intentionally and my exasperation over his treatment overshadowed any feelings I might have started to develop for Mitchell or Kate. McNaught needs to go back to her hits: Paradise, Perfect, Whitney, My Love, Kingdom of Dreams and find the magic. Read it if you want. You'll catch glimpses of the writer you fell in love with, but be prepared to be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    Not her usual

    I've read most of JM's books and this one, I have to say is not my favorite. The comment made before is correct - we don't know how old Kate is. Also, I'd love to know how she supports herself and so confidently as well. She had enough of a living to quit her job as a social worker? Did she have a trust fund we didn't know about? Nevertheless, Kate and Mitchell make wonderful characters but the main suspense plot was a mess. William has disappeared. Mitchell is the prime suspect and then, after questioning Mitchell, the State's Attorney and police suddenly have a miraculous revelation about the identity of the true killer. Based on what? How did we get from Point A to Point B? We didn't and that was the problem. Furthermore, the relationship between Kate and Mitchell took 3/4 of the book to cultivate. Sometimes I wanted to yell, 'Just do it already!' Despite the problems with this book, I choose to give it three stars because the characters were great. I adored Mitchell and Kate, despite not being his 'social equal,' she was definiately his emotional equal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Good but lacking

    The main characters are all good but the ending was quiet lacking because I think it needs more emphasis on the what happened on the characters after their major conflict. For all I know, I was surprised at the ending because this is the first time Judith McNaught used this scenario. And from the beginning up to the end I dont know how old Kate is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Somewhat of a let down

    After reading many Judith McNaught novels, I must say that this one has been somewhat disappointing. Unlike some of her other books, I felt that this one lacked feeling. I can't wait for her next novel though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Could have been so much better

    The first half of the book was too slow then somewhere in the middle it really picked up. The ending was so short and abrupt that it felt like JM was rushed to get this book out for publishing. After the first few chapters, the book should have continued right to the middle, cutting out long, descriptive, unnecessary scenes. Until the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    KC a romance lover

    Judith McNaught is one of the reasons that I started reading romance again. Her book Paradise is my favorite contemporary romance. This one, while it was enjoyable, was definitly lacking in the details that her books usually have. I liked the main characters but there relationship and the inevitable conflict just weren't developed enough. Everything was too quick!! I would say to read it if you like romance novels but if you are looking for a suspense novel you may want to pick another. I did enjoy this one more than her last book Someone To Watch Over Me. I really hope that JM has not reach the end of her creative career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    A reviewer, M.E.T.

    I was totally taken in at the beginning of the story. Happy to be reacquainted with old characters such as Zach and Julie, and of course, Matt Farrell and Meredith. However, Judith lost me with the last few chapters of the book. Everything seemed rushed and so predictable. It was as if the author was in a hurry to just wrap it up. I am disappointed because while the storyline was okay, I will not be adding this to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Lacking her usual touch

    THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW! READ THE BOOK BEFORE THIS REVIEW UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE SPOILED! This book disappointed me. I am a big fan of Judith McNaught's but this book wasn't up to her standards. It's really lacking that special touch that made her other books so special. Let me explain. It began well enough. I enjoyed reading about Olivia Herbert, Mitchell's great-aunt. She seemed like such a kind person and I thought she truly wanted Mitchell to be a part of her family. I was hoping for a few more scenes with her in them so she and Mitchell could start developing a bond. Instead, she's in approximately three scenes and we never get a chance to see her and her nephew develop a relationship. I started to care about her and then suddenly she's gone from the story as though she doesn't matter. Kate and Mitchell's relationship was well-written. They really seemed like two people falling in love. You could really see the two of them start to care about one another. However, I think too much of the book was devoted to their romance. This book is supposed to be romantic suspense! But the suspense was non-existent. It was more of an afterthought than anything else. If she's going to include a villian or two in the story, I want to hear about how the police broke in and arrested them. What's the point of having villians if they're going to be so poorly developed? If Kate's son is going to to kidnapped, the reader should at least get a glimpse of what that was like for the kid. I know he was kidnapped for less than a day but that's not the point. I was hoping to get to listen to a ransom demand. Or maybe hear the kidnappers conspiring with each other and arguing over who gets a larger share of the ransom money. All the things that usually when there's a kidnapping. One last thing, this must have been the easiestly solved kidnapping in all of history. This couple see Danny's picture on the news and their daughter happens to be babysitting a kid for a friend. And the biggest coincidence of all, this kid happens to be Kate and Mitchell's son! Give me a break. This story definitely lacked excitement. Also, Mitchell seemed to disappear from the story for a while. The focus was all on Kate. And that's unfair. This is, after all, a love story and that means equal amounts of time should be spent on both main characters. I want to know where Michael's been and what he's done for the past three years. And also, why did they wait so long to get together? They both thought they had been betrayed and were angry, I get that. But usually someone else steps in to take a hand and try to get them to resolve their issues with each other. I was looking forward to some of Judith McNaught's old magic in the scene where they confront each other. Instead, they say what happened, apologize to each other and then everything's fine again. Plus, readers were cheated out of seeing Mitchell and Danny develop a relationship. We get one scene where we see the two of them start to bond. My last complaint is this book needed an epilogue. Everything ended so abruptly. They get married and that's the end. Did everyone forget that the police wanted to bring Mitchell in for questioning? What happened with that? How involved was Evan in the kidnapping of Kate's son? Was he going to be ccharged with anything? What was Billy Wyatt's sentence going to be? Speaking of Billy, he's obviously handsome, charming, intelligent and cunning enough to get away with murder. The police were looking hard at Mitchell and he would have gotten away with everything. Instead, his mother convinces him to turn himself in. If that was the best solution for the problem, I would have at least liked to hear the conversation where she convinced him. But we get nothing. This book had all the elements of a romance novel and almost none of the elements of a suspense novel. Everything was resolved much too easily. Having said all that, I will add that this book is pretty romantic. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    3.5 stars

    Mitchell Wyatt never knew who his parents were until late in his life. He grew up in various boarding schools. He used the education and his (somehow) high social connections to become a self-made millionaire. So when William Wyatt showed up, announced that they were half-brothers, and told Mitchell WHY he'd grown up alone, Mitchell was not impressed. ........................... Mitchell is now in his mid-thirties. The only family members he cares for is William and William's wife and son. Mitchell wants nothing to do with the rest. The only reason he came around recently is because William has disappeared. Not wanting to stick around Chicago, Mitchell goes to Anguilla. .......................... Kate Donovan is a former social worker. Her father recently died in what is thought to be a random dive-by shooting. Kate has decided to take over the family restaurant. She is vacationing in Anguilla, a tropical island paradise. Her long time boyfriend, Evan Bartlett, was supposed to be with her. However, Evan is a Chicago lawyer who handles the rich and famous. So Kate has spent almost the entire time alone. .......................... Still grieving for her father, abandoned by Evan who puts work first, it is no wonder that smooth and handsome Mitchell turns her head. The problem is that after a lifetime of being fed lies, Mitchell cannot open himself up to Kate as he should. And lies by omission DO count in the ways of the heart. .............................. *** The synopsis on the book cover makes Kate's involvement seem much darker and dangerous. I found it to be very misleading. It describes Mitchell's role well though. Kate is lied to by just about everyone, either by words, deeds, or omission. But don't let any of that stop you from buying the book. This romantic tale clearly shows why the author, Judith McNaught, is a New York Times Bestseller. ***

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2