BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    very cute!

    cute and charming story about a girl who wants a horse for her birthday and gets something else instead! Makes a great gift too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Every Cowgirl Needs A Horse

    This is a clever, delightful story! My granddaughters have picked it every night since I gave it to them for me or their parents to read to them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse

    The colorful cover on "Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse" piqued my interest since I had my own horse when I was young. What an imagination Nellie Sue has in her detailed planning to accomodate her coveted horse. I loved the crossed out misspelled words which indicated her excitement and anticipation. In Nellie Sue's imagination, she took on the character of a real cowgirl. Her every thought was "Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse."

    The colorful illustrations are captivating, making the story come alive; making the characters real. Nellie Sue's desire to share her birthday horse with friends indicates her joy in sharing with others. This delightful book is not only fun reading but it has lessons that the young readers can absorb. Nellie Sue was diligent in her planning for her horse. She was perserving in that she followed her dream. She applied herself to her work. Nellie Sue was not inclusive in her friendship but shared with all her friends. Nellie Sue was able to deal with situations and dream on.

    Great Book! Nellie Sue will be remembered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SO Cute and VERY Clever

    This is one of the best children's books I've ever seen. First and foremost, the illustrations are beautiful! The colors are lovely and the images are soft and wonderful to look at but yet pleasantly detailed. It was the illustrations that drew me to the book on the shelf and I've always felt that they are such an important part of a good children's book. They also really help to tell the story in a way not found in most children's books. But the story is equally genius! : ) The main character, Nellie Sue, is a Cowgirl "through and through." In fact, the only thing she is missing is a horse - so she asks for one for her birthday. Well, she doesn't get a horse, she gets a bike, but the way it is handled is so sweet and clever! I thought it was great that the author chose to go that route because it's much more realistic - how many little girls are really going to get a horse? This makes the story so much more relatable. It's just a warm and funny read from beginning to end. This is a great book for girls who aren't into the "girlie" stuff like princesses and ballerinas, or any little girl (or boy) who loves horses. This is also good for adult collectors. My sister was a horse lover when we were little and I got this book for her as a fun, nostalgic Christmas gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    So cute!

    My daughter LOVES this book! Really cute story and cleverly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Cute book

    The author came to my daughter's school so we purchased the book so she could sign it. My daughter loved the book and played cowgirl after reading it. It is a cute book filled with imagination. We will be getting more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Squirrel

    It is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1