Customer Reviews for

Every Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great read!!!

I can only give this book four stars because I wanted more. A fast read but brought some new ideas and questions about life and our necessity to judge others. I loved this book and hope to see more about the character, A. The power 'he' held but decided to follow a more...
I can only give this book four stars because I wanted more. A fast read but brought some new ideas and questions about life and our necessity to judge others. I loved this book and hope to see more about the character, A. The power 'he' held but decided to follow a more compassionate path made me love 'her' more.

posted by 8060884 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Its a FLOP

The characters seemed to crash into love without any development. I thought the writing was very choppy and too quickly paced. I guve it two stars because it was original, id never read a book a person who doesnt have their own body.
I also shouldve paid attention to th...
The characters seemed to crash into love without any development. I thought the writing was very choppy and too quickly paced. I guve it two stars because it was original, id never read a book a person who doesnt have their own body.
I also shouldve paid attention to the characters ages before purchasing this book.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this read. Any book that can tie the reader and the protagonist emotionally is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Interesting story.....

    I bought this book because after reading the synopsis, I couldn't remember ever reading anything like it. The story is compelling, and the character A 's pov is very original. Overall, a wonderful story...only wish it was longer....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I read 262 of the 322 pages of this book in one day. I couldn't

    I read 262 of the 322 pages of this book in one day. I couldn't stop because like our lives, the story is always rolling forward. Whether we, or A, likes it or not. With all of the bodies A possesses, it's easy to find one that you relate to, and gives what you feel or what you've thought some solid word and phrase. The ending leaves you breathless and furious for more but you totally understand why it ended this way. Just as A intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Such a great read!

    This book grabbed me from the first page and it never stopped entertaining and moving me. This will be one of my favorite reads. Treat yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough about this book! A is a

    Absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough about this book! A is a sixteen-year-old boy who wakes up in the body of a different person every day. He sometimes wonders what it would be like to have a tomorrow in his life, what the anticipation would mean if he knew something could (and would) happen the next day in the life of the person he is today. But he knows that is not to be. The book begins with A being Justin, a boy who doesn't seem to care that much about his girlfriend, Rhiannon. The thing is, A falls for the girl. Will his feelings be there the next day, when A is someone else? Will he ever see her again, and if he does, what will be Rhiannon's reaction? David Levithan has once again shown us to be the powerful storyteller he is. Oh, my friends, you must read this book! Thanks to Random House for the review copy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    "Every day I am someone else. I am myself--I know I am myse

    "Every day I am someone else. I am myself--I know I am myself--but I am also someone else.

    It has always been like this."

    Every morning, A wakes up in a different person's body. The person's memories are still there, but so is A. Every day it could be anyone. There is never any warning.

    A has no family, no attachments. No religion, no traditions. Genderless, raceless, it is a very insightful life. But it is also very lonely. The only way A has found to survive is to stay on the periphery: Never get attached. Never stand out. Never interfere.

    Until A wakes up in Justin's body and meets his girlfriend, Rhiannon. Previously the ultimate interloper, A finally finds someone worth staying for; someone to know. As A struggles to connect with Rhiannon from different bodies and distances, they will both learn that love can come in many different forms in Every Day (2012) by David Levithan.

    As an editor and veteran novelist, Levithan is no stranger to writing compelling stories. Every Day lives up to the hype and praise it has been receiving. Levithan's writing is strong and often quite beautiful in this story of love and isolation.

    The initial premise is, understandably, difficult to accept. If you can get past that and willingly suspend your disbelief to go along with the story, you'll probably be able to deal with the other problems in the book. (If you can't, well, fantasies aren't for everyone.)

    Every Day starts strong, diving right into A's world and all of its inherent problems. Things get complicated both for A and the reader when Rhiannon enters the story and A falls in love with her based on seemingly nothing but first sight.

    Aside from feeling unconvincing in its speed and quick development, this love story came off very much as a plot device. In order for there to be a story connecting what would otherwise be day-long vignettes, A needs a reason to want to stay in one life. A needs a thread running through all of those different bodies. That thread becomes Rhiannon. But it could just as easily have become any number of other characters or things--making for a love story on shaky ground from the beginning.

    Throughout Every Day, Levithan is at pains to use A to highlight the diversity of our world and the different and varied lives teenagers inhabit each day. Through A, Levithan points out that gender, religion and many other identifiers are little more than arbitrary social constructs. While this is absolutely true, and generally well-handled throughout the book, it also started turning up in places where it did nothing to move the plot forward instead just reminding readers that diversity is real and valuable. (Again, true and well-handled, but not key to a gripping read in and of itself.)

    Similarly, the sheer scope of A's world and the book's premise often worked against Every Day. A inhabits many diverse characters throughout the story. But even while marveling at the myriad lives, it's easy for Every Day to feel very normative. The people A inhabits who are religious go to church. There are no synagogues or mosques here. There were no obviously unattractive bodies. While an injured person features, there was no one with a physical disability.

    Depression, addiction, suicide, and unhealthy relationships are all mentioned. But bullying never is. Abusive parents never are.

    Finally, and more annoyingly, while A necessarily has no gender, race, etc. A is apparently thin. Because when A is in an overweight teen, things really go over the top. Aside from being incredibly one-dimensional as A talks about the sheer effort needed to do little things when weighing so much, this depiction made no sense given A's context. Why, in this incredibly forward-thinking book, is weight so shocking and upsetting when gender/race/religion/social status are not? Why is this supposedly open-minded character so upset to be heavy? Why, in a book where looks are supposed to be secondary to personality, does overweight equate with being unattractive?

    The story ends optimistically enough to make any romantic swoon and almost makes up for the earlier issues with the plot and characterization. Every Day really is easy to enjoy with Levithan's effortless writing and the fascinating windows into so many different lives and worlds. The impact of A's condition and the resulting connections and eventual aloofness are achingly poignant. Unfortunately, because Levithan does so many things well in Every Day, it is also very easy to see where the novel ultimately falls short.

    Possible Pairings: Take Me There by Susane Colasanti, What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen, Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman, Slide by Jill Hathaway, Team Human by Sarah Rees Brennan and Justine Larbalestier, Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    I first read this book in 2013 as a 14 year old. I was encaptiva

    I first read this book in 2013 as a 14 year old. I was encaptivated by how ingenious the idea was, perhaps mostly because I was having struggles as an LGBT teenager, David Levithan puts love into words  I could never begin to think of. This book is fantastic, and leaves a lot to the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    The book pulls on your heart strings and feeds the mind a whole

    The book pulls on your heart strings and feeds the mind a whole new perspective of hard love, and finding yourself. This was such a good book, and I cannot wait for another one to come out!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    This book is absolutely amazing!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    See full review @ The Indigo Quill . blogspot . com I had seen

    See full review @ The Indigo Quill . blogspot . com

    I had seen this book on the end caps at Barnes & Noble all year long. The premise sounded highly intriguing: undefined wandering soul travels from body to body every single day and never repeats the same person twice. One day, they awake in some dude's body and fall obsessively in love with his girlfriend, and thus, the plot thickens.

    The wandering soul calls themselves A, and the girl's name is Rhiannon. The fascinating part about this whole thing is that A has no consistency. A is not defined by their gender, hair, eyes, height, or anything else. A can't even have a cell phone number because there's no way for them to keep track of it. The only way to reach Rhiannon is email.

    Until this point, A just went through motions trying to give their host another normal day so it wouldn't be suspected that they had basically been "possessed" for 24 hours. However, once Rhiannon enters the picture, things change, and A is no longer satisfied with the inconsistency.

    Aside from the fact that it's really hard not to use pronouns while talking about this book, it was incredibly interesting to step outside of societal roles and experience the world from the point of view of someone who was first of all, gender neutral, but also had to live a life with no true stability. It raises a lot of interesting questions, such as: What makes a person? Is it the way they look, the family they are raised in, the kind of trouble the stay in or out of? Is it their addictions, depression, lack of self control? And what is love? Can you truly love a person if their image changes every day? Is physical attraction and familiarity as important to loving someone as we think it is, or is it actually a supernatural occurrence between two souls? This book really makes you think.

    I liked how Levithan chose to put the reader into the minds and bodies of different types of people. He communicated the thoughts and feelings of people who struggle with drugs, suicidal thoughts, obesity, and even those who live sheltered lives. In my opinion, it was a great opportunity to cover such subjects and lifestyles. And it's entirely realistic that A would wake up dealing with people who were experiencing these things. It added to the story so we weren't just reading about his obsession with Rhiannon the whole time.

    It seems a handful of people were completely disgusted with this book and felt like A violated other people's lives (and this is kind of a spoiler, so beware). Honestly, when I saw the reviews I thought A went "too far" with Rhiannon or something, but they didn't. If you think about it, what would you do in that situation? 16 years of never having your own life. Of never being surrounded by people who love and know you. You are always a stranger, and you are always different. Every single day for 16 years, you're alive, but it's like you're a ghost because no one knows that you exist. What would you do?? I'm surprised they made it 16 years! You have to have some inhumane amount of maturity and self-control to continue living like you were never even born, especially when love is mixed in the picture. I probably would've liked this book less if A was given the supernatural ability to just "respect" their owners. That would have made a really boring book, too.

    The only major thing that I did not like about this book, was that although it had a lot of interesting things to say about gender-neutrality, there were moments I felt like the author was trying to force their opinion at the reader by A forcing their way of thinking toward Rhiannon. When Rhiannon was having trouble accepting that A was neither male nor female, A would think things like "so we need to fix her way of thinking." It's one thing to want her to accept gender neutrality, but it's another to basically say something is wrong for a straight person to be straight and want to continue being straight. That's that same as all the controversy of trying to force homosexuals to be straight, so I feel like Levithan missed the mark here. And it wasn't done very well, either...because I felt like I wasn't reading the story at that point. It just felt like the author's opinion.

    So altogether, I thought this book was absolutely amazing. It's definitely a fresh premise that offers a lot of deep thinking and perspective. It's also a very easy and fast read.

    I was doing a little research and it looks like Levithan might be releasing a second book from Rhiannon's perspective. There's a lot of controversy as to whether this is a good thing or not, but I guess we'll see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Hard to put down

    This book was very good. Read it in two days. Original idea for a story. Thoughtful. Last chapter was hard to accept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    When first encountering this book, I was intrigued by the idea o

    When first encountering this book, I was intrigued by the idea of A’s life, jumping from body to body regardless of gender, race, culture, etc., and it was this original and creative idea that led me to actually buy the book. I am so glad that I did, because I was not disappointed. Every entry/chapter records a day in A’s life, and so as A experiences life from so many different perspectives, so do we. To me, Levithan handled this brilliantly, and this book is definitely an amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2014

    This was the best book I have ever had the chance to read. It wa

    This was the best book I have ever had the chance to read. It was just so beautifully written and the story was so unique. I just couldn't put it down. I love also how it shows you to not take anything for granted. This book took you on a wonderful journey full of love and adventure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Good, but not great

    I enjoyed this book, but it wasn't great. It was told from the prespective of a different person each chapter and this was a little confusing. The main character was supposed to be a genderless neutral character but i felt like he was obviously more masculine. Al

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Mind-boggling

    I could not put this book down once I had started it. Truly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    This was hard for me to finish.

    This was hard for me to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    &hearts Quotes &hearts

    "Because you're beautiful. I enjoy looking at beautiful people, and I decided a while ago not to deny myself the simpler pleasures of existence."<br><_><br>
    That's the thing about pain. It demands to be felt.<br> <_><br>
    "Okay," I said. "Okay," he said. I giggled and said "Okay." And then the line was quiet but not dead. I almost felt like he was there in my room with me, but in a way it was better, like I was not in my room and he was not in his, but instead we were together in some invisible and tenuous third space that could only be visited on the phone. "Okay," he said after forever. "Maybe 'okay' will be our 'always'". "Okay," I said. It was Augustus who finally hung up. <br><_><br>
    "I am. I'm in love with you, and I'm not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I'm in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we're all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we'll ever have, and I am in love with you." <br><_><br>
    "Oh, I wouldn't mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you." <br><_><br>
    "Some infinities are bigger than other infinities." <br><_><br>
    "I'm on a roller coaster that only goes up." <br><_><br>
    "That's what I believe. I believe the universe wants to be noticed. I think the universe is improbably biased toward conciousness, that it rewards intelligence in part because the universe enjoys its elegance being observed. And who am I, living in the middle or history, to tell the univers that it-or my observation of it-is temporary?" <br><_><br>
    "You say you're not special because the world doesn't know about you, but that's an insult to me. I know about you." <br><_><br>
    "What else? She is so beautiful. You don't get tired of looking at her. You never worry if she is smarter than her: You know she is. She is funny without ever being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her. You don't get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Awesome

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    I chose this book searching for something adventurous and differ

    I chose this book searching for something adventurous and different. I thought since the main character changed bodies every day, he would gain a bigger perspective on the meaning of life and love. The book definantly fulfilled many of my expectations. Not only did David Levithan manage to create a sense of wonder and curiosity, he also incorporated many universal themes. The main character, A, does not have a secure life, family, or set of friends. His loneliness shows us not to take those things for granted. As much as he wants to share everlasting memories with the people around him, he can’t become too attached because he may never see them again. This novel is definantly a more introspective type of read. It challenges your thoughts about love, sacrifice, and future. Because the main character was so lost in his strange way of life, he had many self- conflicts about who he is and who he wants to be. It’s difficult to find yourself in normal circumstances, but when you have to live as someone new everyday it can prove to be extremely challenging. This notion breaks all concepts of who we are, and who we are expected to be. It spreads awareness about looking past the physical characteristics that build a person, and focusing on what’s underneath. The ending of this book, however, left me unsatisfied. Levithan ends the novel in a cliffhanger, and writes no sequel. A has sacrificed his love so that Rhiannon can have a better, clear future as he begins his journey to find others like him. In a way this leaves room for imagination to create what happens next, but it also makes the book seem unfinished. Overall, this book was an easy read, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an inspiring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Must read!

    A beautiful story of love and its many forms. Sometimes you read a book and then forget about it. Not this one. Unique story. Great storytelling from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8