Customer Reviews for

Every Dead Thing (Charlie Parker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling, full of suspense and fully satisfying!

It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened t...
It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened to catch my eye. It sounded interesting. Then, based on a comparison to Thomas Harris (another of my favorite authors) by (I believe) Stephen King, I bought Every Dead Thing. I was not disapppointed! I immediately bought the other books of Mr. Connolly's with the Charlie Parker character. Charlie reminds me of the Lucas Davenport character in another author's books and although they are alike in some instances, they are totally different in others. I loved Every Dead Thing and wanted to rush to the end of the book to see what was going to happen, but there was too much good stuff going on before getting there. I could not believe the end!! It was a blast!! Mr. Connolly, I'm a fan!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Graphic disappointment

I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit...
I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit detail in describing child killings. Definitely not for me. I wouldn't recommend it.

posted by julferts on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Thrilling, full of suspense and fully satisfying!

    It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened to catch my eye. It sounded interesting. Then, based on a comparison to Thomas Harris (another of my favorite authors) by (I believe) Stephen King, I bought Every Dead Thing. I was not disapppointed! I immediately bought the other books of Mr. Connolly's with the Charlie Parker character. Charlie reminds me of the Lucas Davenport character in another author's books and although they are alike in some instances, they are totally different in others. I loved Every Dead Thing and wanted to rush to the end of the book to see what was going to happen, but there was too much good stuff going on before getting there. I could not believe the end!! It was a blast!! Mr. Connolly, I'm a fan!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Rare, Gifted Writer

    What a pleasure to discover the Charlie Parker series. Mr. Connolly's writing comes from a depth of soul and insight that I have rarely found. These books stay with the reader due to the multi layers in the stories. Among the best of the genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Graphic disappointment

    I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit detail in describing child killings. Definitely not for me. I wouldn't recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    An Awesome Book

    This book is truly awesome. The characters are believable and stick with you long after you finish the book. Give yourself plenty of time to read once you pick it up (you will not put it down), and do not read it right before you want to go to bed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Simply great!

    A jackhammer death trip. Way out and wacky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Oh my goodness was this a good book. Your adrenaline starts surg

    Oh my goodness was this a good book. Your adrenaline starts surging from chapter one and doesn't stop until the very last page of this book
    You will never guess who the killer is. Connolly has a great way of twisting and turning plots. He is a master at
    Writing about evil people and the gruesome crimes they committ. I read two of his books in four days because I was 
    So pulled into the stories. Starting number three tonight! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Too graphic

    Enough dead boies for ten novels

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    PASS

    Sorry it just didn't do a thing for me & I LOVE a good mystery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    Not impressed...

    Maybe I'm a tough critic but I found the writing to be dark and difficult to follow. I realize that the subject is not a light one but the entire story seemed disjointed and nightmarish. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not for the faint of heart.....

    Sometimes the detail is almost a bit too explicit. This is a book that required some perserverence for me to finish. Lurid details of ugly murders at times are almost overpowering. Author John Connelly appears to have done a great amount of research in preparing to write this frightening tale.

    J M Lydon





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Worth Reading!

    This is a well written mystery by one of the big names in the genre. John uses graphic description, great characters, and an engaging writing style to keep you turning the pages. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Excellent writing

    Good story and characters. World class prose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    It was disappointing , I lost interest from the begining 

    It was disappointing , I lost interest from the begining 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Really good read!

    I enjoyed the book which actually had two stories in one. You're pulled in trying to figure out who killed his family, then suddenly there is another mystery to solve. This book wason the 2.99 and under list and it was well worth the money! I will continue to read the Charlie Parker series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Great

    Excellent, tightly plotted thriller, with resolutions to two major crimes in the course of the book. It has become so rare for books in a series to tie up all the loose ends in a single book, that I found myself marvelling at it like it was an entirely new thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Dawne

    I've been reading this book for about 2 weeks (12 days more than it usually takes me to read a 450 page book) and I'm only on page 240. I just can't grab the story. He just keeps floating around from here to there to everywhere. At some points I had no clue what he was talking about. There had to be 30 to 50 different things going on about totally different things. Never got enough of the original thoughts to comprehend the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved it - like two novels in one

    This book was a great read. A heck of a combination of murder mystery, detective story, and supernatural thriller. Plus, the story lines were so jam packed that I honeslty felt like I got a second story because one mystery clears up and then there si still another to solve. The characters are likeable, the scenery of the big city and the big easy were like additional characters.
    A great summer read - not for feint at heart nor for young readers due to gore and scare level, but I completley enjoyed it and look forward to readin another Charlie Parker story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I was hooked excellent writing!!

    I was hooked excellent writing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Really?

    Just cannot get through this book-- just too much--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Long

    If I would write a review as detailed as each scene in the book, it would be 500 pages. Little over done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6