Customer Reviews for

Every Dead Thing (Charlie Parker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling, full of suspense and fully satisfying!

It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened t...
It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened to catch my eye. It sounded interesting. Then, based on a comparison to Thomas Harris (another of my favorite authors) by (I believe) Stephen King, I bought Every Dead Thing. I was not disapppointed! I immediately bought the other books of Mr. Connolly's with the Charlie Parker character. Charlie reminds me of the Lucas Davenport character in another author's books and although they are alike in some instances, they are totally different in others. I loved Every Dead Thing and wanted to rush to the end of the book to see what was going to happen, but there was too much good stuff going on before getting there. I could not believe the end!! It was a blast!! Mr. Connolly, I'm a fan!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Graphic disappointment

I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit...
I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit detail in describing child killings. Definitely not for me. I wouldn't recommend it.

posted by julferts on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Thrilling, full of suspense and fully satisfying!

    It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me smile, shake my head at the end, and go hmm hmm hmm! Every Dead Thing made me do just that. This was the first book I'd read by Mr. Connolly. I picked the book up because of the title which just happened to catch my eye. It sounded interesting. Then, based on a comparison to Thomas Harris (another of my favorite authors) by (I believe) Stephen King, I bought Every Dead Thing. I was not disapppointed! I immediately bought the other books of Mr. Connolly's with the Charlie Parker character. Charlie reminds me of the Lucas Davenport character in another author's books and although they are alike in some instances, they are totally different in others. I loved Every Dead Thing and wanted to rush to the end of the book to see what was going to happen, but there was too much good stuff going on before getting there. I could not believe the end!! It was a blast!! Mr. Connolly, I'm a fan!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Graphic disappointment

    I was very disappointed with this book. I, too, found it difficult to read. It's as if the author had ADD. At times his prose is excellent, but he goes off on too many tangents that aren't related to the plot. The story itself is very gruesome and goes into explicit detail in describing child killings. Definitely not for me. I wouldn't recommend it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Simply great!

    A jackhammer death trip. Way out and wacky.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Rare, Gifted Writer

    What a pleasure to discover the Charlie Parker series. Mr. Connolly's writing comes from a depth of soul and insight that I have rarely found. These books stay with the reader due to the multi layers in the stories. Among the best of the genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    An Awesome Book

    This book is truly awesome. The characters are believable and stick with you long after you finish the book. Give yourself plenty of time to read once you pick it up (you will not put it down), and do not read it right before you want to go to bed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Really good read!

    I enjoyed the book which actually had two stories in one. You're pulled in trying to figure out who killed his family, then suddenly there is another mystery to solve. This book wason the 2.99 and under list and it was well worth the money! I will continue to read the Charlie Parker series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Worth Reading!

    This is a well written mystery by one of the big names in the genre. John uses graphic description, great characters, and an engaging writing style to keep you turning the pages. Recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Excellent writing

    Good story and characters. World class prose

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Oh my goodness was this a good book. Your adrenaline starts surg

    Oh my goodness was this a good book. Your adrenaline starts surging from chapter one and doesn't stop until the very last page of this book
    You will never guess who the killer is. Connolly has a great way of twisting and turning plots. He is a master at
    Writing about evil people and the gruesome crimes they committ. I read two of his books in four days because I was 
    So pulled into the stories. Starting number three tonight! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Too graphic

    Enough dead boies for ten novels

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    PASS

    Sorry it just didn't do a thing for me & I LOVE a good mystery

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    Not impressed...

    Maybe I'm a tough critic but I found the writing to be dark and difficult to follow. I realize that the subject is not a light one but the entire story seemed disjointed and nightmarish. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2015

    Good story but difficult to read.

    I found there were details in the book that were unnecessary making the plot drag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    First Novel That's Well Worth Your Time

    Although this is far from a perfectly written book, it is worth reading to understand Charlie Parker who has been the featured detective in John Connolly's popular series for more than a decade. I found it uneven and sometimes confusing, but I also thought much of the book was very well written and it held my interest to the end. I would recommend this book, and I expect to read others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Not who I thought it was . . .

    I had a senior moment when I ordered this book. I thought it was a new thread for Michael Connelly instead. I read it through and it held my attention, but don't think I need to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    445 pages

    This book is a great length. It is long enough to get to know the characters, but not so long as to become boring or aggravating. I liked the details, although at times they were a little gruesome. The plot had a great concept, although, I wonder why all investigators, no matter if police, detectives, PIs, from which branch of service or private, must have a tragedy or three in their lives, going around with them as obvious and heavy as a pocketfull of change. This book has some pretty adult topics and should not be read by anyone younger than 17. I think John Connelly has a split personality or several and they all wrote different parts of this book. Sometimes the wording was absolute perfection, bringing the reader into the book as if they were one of the characters. Sometimes the writing was so poorly done, it was if a tween working on an ad for something they know nothing about and did not care to research had taken a turn. At times the writing seemed almost feminine as well. Odd. I would give this author try, as this is his first book, even if it is just to see what the writing us like.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Didnt

    Why? Need one ask?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    At last the true stiry book was written by a commirree

    Or a really splintered psycho

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not for the faint of heart.....

    Sometimes the detail is almost a bit too explicit. This is a book that required some perserverence for me to finish. Lurid details of ugly murders at times are almost overpowering. Author John Connelly appears to have done a great amount of research in preparing to write this frightening tale.

    J M Lydon





    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7