Customer Reviews for

Every Demon Has His Day

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Witty read.

    Cara Lockwood does a great job painting a picture of her characters. I love the snarky attitudes, which I do in most books I read. However, it did get a little too much, even for me.

    I love the idea of the story, unlikely hero.romance.paranormal happenings.dead people.great stuff.

    My fav.

    Several times Cara Lockwood's witty writing had me laughing out loud. It had me flipping from page to page rather quickly as well. Some scenes were a little too corny, but I read right through them and was rewarded with a great ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Combining elements from urban fantasy, religion, and chick lit elements, Cara Lockwood creates an amusing lighthearted romp

    Constance Plyd has been waiting for months to get her husband to sign the divorce papers; she believes this is the day she has prayed for. However, before that can happen, she finds Jimmy¿s dead body with a screwdriver protruding from his back. At the scene is the Pride demon Yeman who killed him. He gives her his card as he and Shadow the Gluton demon know she is the Chosen One as the prophet with visions that indicate who Lucifer is to have sex with in order to begat the Antichrist.<BR/><BR/>Sheriff Nathan Garret, who years ago had sex with Constance one day and left her the next, questions her. He finds her story unbelievable, which she can understand as so does Constance. In a vision she sees a small dog wearing a pink sweater who will help her. The canine Frank turns out to be an apprentice angel who belongs to movie star Dante London. The star is coming to town to film a movie. She is the vassal chosen to carry the Antichrist, but Frank and Constance wait for more of her visions to determine when and where the seduction will tale place so they can stop Lucifer from carrying out his plan.<BR/><BR/>Combining elements from urban fantasy, religion, and chick lit elements, Cara Lockwood creates an amusing lighthearted romp starring a non-believer who has visionary powers due to her matriarchal DNA. Constance always thought her mom Abigail was a fruitcake until she began to see the truth. It takes her a while to accept her skill, but once she does even Lucifer believes she is a force to be reckoned with. Readers will enjoy this off-beat humorous yet action-packed thriller as the strong cast knows that EVERY DEMON HAS HIS DAY even if it takes eternity for it to occur.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Wacky But Fun

    Maybe I just have a wacky sense of humor, but I really enjoyed this. Yes, it gets goofy at times. It's vaguely reminiscent of the movie 'End of Days,' but without that Republican who never bothers to learn English well. It's also a little bit like 'Men in Black,' what with the talking lapdog and all. If you like Sookie Stackhouse, you're likely to enjoy Constance Plyd, visionary minor prophet. The good-versus-evil dramedy overwhelms the romance, and the sex is "off-camera," so this doesn't quite count as a paranormal romance. Still, it's entertaining. Once I got to the last 100 pages or so, I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fun

    definetely a fun read. kept me entertained and made me want more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Lockwood is my favorite

    I've always loved Lockwood's corky humor and fun easy reads. This is another good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    fun read

    this book was a fun read. i look forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny, easy read

    I picked this up on a whim, mostly because I thought the cover was interesting. I'm glad I did! The story was interesting and funny. Maybe I'm a little twisted, but I thought the demons were the most likable characters in the book! The use of the teeny-bopper was hilarious to me, and had me mentally calculating which celebs this could easily happen to. It was a fun book, easy to read, and had a good flow. At times, it reminded me a bit of the movie Dogma, but that's not a bad thing. This will be going into my permanent poolside collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Love This Book!

    You can't help but love the characters' quick wit and humor. This book has everything . . .romance, demons, and dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    What More Could You Ask For?

    Constance Plyd who sees dead people, add her ex-dead-husband Jimmy and her first lover, Nathan who's the sheriff, toss with demons, the Anti-Christ, the Chosen, and a talking dog, serve in a Texas rural setting, and you have a thoroughly entertaining and hilarious book. Looking forward eagerly to the next installation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Fun story

    This was a fun story with demons, angels, talking dogs, ghosts and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Every Demon Has His Day by Cara Lockwood

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release April 2009<BR/><BR/>Chicklit meets paranormal romance equals ¿Every Demon Has His Day¿. Cara Lockwood¿s hilarious story of a small town, soon-to-be ex-wife turned `minor prophet¿ left me grinning. This is IN NO WAY a serious or heavy read. Nope, this is light-hearted, funny, and almost a spoof of the darker, paranormal books on every shelf of your bookstore¿s romance section.<BR/><BR/>Constance really isn¿t having a good day. First her soon-to-be-ex tried to `help¿ again which means he put laundry soap in the dishwasher! Now her floor is covered with suds. Next, she hears a noise in the garage and finds her husband on the floor, obviously dead, with a screwdriver in his back and a weird dude in black standing over him. Then, the weird dude gives her a business card that dissolves into ash after she reads it and he disappears¿leaving her with a dead husband and a story absolutely nobody in their right mind will believe. To top off her day, the new Sheriff (who just happens to be the old flame who took her virginity, never called back, and moved away) shows up and, of course, can¿t believe a word she says. Is that a bad day, or what?<BR/><BR/>Now she has to deal with: a talking dog who¿s an angel-in-training, the hunky sheriff, visions she can¿t control, sex with said hunky sheriff, two demons dogging her every step, getting arrested after sex with said hunky sheriff, a movie star who sold their soul to the devil (just one?), more sex with said hunky sheriff, and a ditzy teenage movie star she must prevent from giving birth to the Antichrist¿oh, and more sex with the sheriff and a Ramboesque Catholic priest.<BR/><BR/>If all that sounds funny, that¿s because it is. Whether or not Lockwood intended her book to be satiric, that¿s how I read it and it still makes me grin when I think about it. There were a couple of places where I though the author went over to line to silliness, but there weren¿t enough of those to keep me from enjoying the read. The sexy sheriff¿was sexy, and had thankfully grown up a bit. But seeing him receiving the `karmic return¿ from just about every woman in town because of his teenage actions was in some way cathartic ¿, and simply, evilly enjoyable.<BR/><BR/>Cara Lockwood has plans to release another book with at least some of the same characters. I¿ll likely buy that one just to see if it¿s as amusing for me as ¿Every Demon Has His Day¿ was. So for anyone looking for a break from the plethora of emotional, dark paranormal romances out there today¿I think you could do much worse than picking up a copy of Lockwood¿s book¿and laughing your way through it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Only ok

    The idea for the story , awesome! The writing style not so awesome. I felt like i had to wade through a LOT of useless info to get to the point. It was like the story was written by someone in middle school. I forced myself to finish it and it did get better but if i could trade to get my time back i would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I wish she'd left the demons out. . .

    "Every Demon has his Day," is an odd title for a book where no demon actually ends up having a good day. Actually, I think this book would have benefited if the author had tried to find a way to leave the demons out completely. The demons were kitschy and distracting to the storyline. Considering all of the serious issues between the heroine and her love interest, the idle demon banter interposed between serious chapters seemed to detract from the book.

    Although I love pop culture references in my sci-fi, this one went a little overboard. I don't think anybody, IRL actually thinks that much about name brands (even demons), and I wish the author hadn't put that much thought into it either.

    The solution to the Libby Bell murder, which was predictable, seemed to go by the wayside for something that was so important to a major character. I think this storyline could have been developed more.

    All in all, I finished the book, but I won't be reading another one. There's much better stuff out there begging my attention.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2