Customer Reviews for

Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

From Jon

This book is amazing!!! It literaly saved my life. Before I read this book I struggled with sexual purity. I did not know what God expected of me as a man. After reading this book I fully understood his plan. My mind and soul was sent in His direction and I am happier t...
This book is amazing!!! It literaly saved my life. Before I read this book I struggled with sexual purity. I did not know what God expected of me as a man. After reading this book I fully understood his plan. My mind and soul was sent in His direction and I am happier than I have ever been in my life. I know can be the man that God intends me to be. I would recommend all men to purchase this book and read it with the motivation to be loyal to yourself and to God.

posted by Jonny87 on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Way to explicit!!!

I have struggled in the area of my flesh and this book fueled that with the details it gave. If you are struggling with your thinking a lot then this book is not for you. I would highly recommend Joshua Harris's "Sex is Not the Problem (Lust Is)

You can help people w...
I have struggled in the area of my flesh and this book fueled that with the details it gave. If you are struggling with your thinking a lot then this book is not for you. I would highly recommend Joshua Harris's "Sex is Not the Problem (Lust Is)

You can help people without going into details. This book is like taking a person struggling with drinking right into a bar and describing the scene.

posted by Nag_Reader on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Required reading men & women

    This is not a book for the 'super spiritual' this is for the rest of us that must face the brutal facts of reality on a daily basis. I have yet to encounter any man who can not identify with something in this, it is truely Every Man's Battle and I would also encourage women to seek to gain a better understanding of what their men deal with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Helpful Insights for Every Man's Battle

    This was a book I have read before but one that I really wanted to review for several reasons. First, due to the over stimulation of sexuality in our culture there is nothing more prominent or accessible than sex. When we consider that of all those things a man may be driven by in his life, sex is right there on the top of the list. Secondly, as a pastor I am always looking for spiritual helps in my endeavors to biblically adjust the powerful, fleshly drive shafts of humanity. This book was refreshing in that these authors have a personal history with the sexual issues they write about (and that most men deal with), but even more so in that they found victory over these struggles. The approach is Bible based, so those wanting a more humanist or philosophical approach (non-religious) to "curbing" the sexual appetite will not find what they are looking for here. They present biblical examples of men who disciplined their eyes and hearts. They give insights step by step concerning the sexual based sins and often times these "little" insights find themselves as "crucial" insights to those sexual based sins that have been so hard to break. There is also a workbook section in the back that I found helpful as a great review and reminder of the steps needed to be taken in my own life to ensure a victory over the battle of sexual temptation. This would be a help for a group leader who would lead a study of this book. The only negative that I had toward the book was that I felt an over-emphasis of the individual in the battle over sexual temptations. Due to my theological position and understanding several statements made me a little uncomfortable especially in the chapters titled, 'Choosing True Manhood' and 'The Time to Decide'. I felt, was laid too heavily on the powerless individual to somehow show power from within his sin-struck heart in breaking what he could not otherwise break. On this I would just like to counter with Phil. 2:13, "For it is God who is working in you, enabling you both to will and to act for His good purpose" (HCSB). I think the authors should have rested on the biblical reality that by God's Spirit in you and the Power of the Word before you, that obedience to both will prove that the victory is waiting for you. This is not to say that they don't make the effort to say this, they do. I just felt that the man who is all bound up in sexual captivity is going to wonder in what way is he ever going to start this whole unraveling process. He's bound up tight in it. In spite of my little, quirky, theological ought against its tone, the book was a tremendous enlightenment and encouragement. The book measures 8 in. long X 5 3/8 in. wide X 5/8 in. thick. It has a very attractive paper cover. The pages are made of the "newspaper" gray stuff. The text type is very readable, while the text size was about size 8 or 9 in my estimation. I would definitely recommend and use this book in my counseling, and teaching. I would say that this is a must read for every Christian man. I was hindered in going into too much detail due to the graphic nature of the book, but if a Christian man would trust the judgment and insight of another Christian man, then I tell him get it and read it. Mothers, wives, girlfriends, this would be a great gift to your beloved man (men.if you're a mother).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time

    This is an excellent book to help us men know that we are not alone when it comes to our attraction to women. Sometimes we feel that the way we react/feel is all us. Well this book gives some real life insight into the reality that all men share similar feelings that we keep deep inside of us. This was a real awakening for me... and may be for you to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Want to know what my husband & son are up against!

    Hoping this is an inside peek into the male thought process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Every Man's Battle: Winning the war on sexual temptation one victory at a time

    Every Man's Battle by Stephen Arterburn and Fred Stoeker attacks the subject of pornography and adultery. Pornography is a subject that has moved in our society from shameful to acceptable is a great p. According to the authors, these sins have become a great problem in men's relationships with their spouse, family, and God. Arterburn and Stoeker believe that it is possible to turn men away from adulterous relationships as well as pornography. The authors even believe that men can achieve a sexual purity that involves no looking, lusting, or thinking sexually about other women besides one's own wife. The authors believe this is possible as they speak both with wisdom and personal experience. The book is full of examples and personal experiences of men struggling and overcoming sexual temptation.

    The book takes a long time drawing out the problem, (so long for the reader that it almost completely lost my attention) but the content in the heart of the book is useful for any and certainly as the title suggests, every man. With prayer, encouragement, and a few scriptural truths, Every Man's Battle lays the groundwork to equip men to become sexually pure. Along the way the reader is remind of the several other people from all walks of life had struggled with the problem of sexual sin to varying degrees. This book is certainly worth reading no matter where one stands in their relationships with women! Arterburn and Stoeker are absolutely prophetic when they express that no little amount of sexual impurity is innocent or acceptable, but man can and are expected to have pure eyes, a pure heart, and pure intentions.
    A free copy of this book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Sucks you in

    I really like how Stephen Arterburn and Fred Stoeker put this book together. It is true that it's designed to help men realize that we all deal with the temptation of sexual sin and help us work through that and bring it to sexual purity but the way they did it was brilliant.
    Throughout this book I heard the stories of many different men which made me feel comfortable because I am not the only one that deals with sexual temptation on a regular basis. With the help of this book and Christ, I am able to get passed these temptations very easily.
    Sexual temptation is something we do not to talk about in our society, but this book is much needed in our society. I liked how there is a workbook for each chapter and I used the workbook to dig deeper in what the authors called "a victory". After reading this book, I am thinking about using it to start a men's small group in our church. "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1