Customer Reviews for

Every Other Day

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very Addictive! A must read.

Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers. I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite? Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond? Seriously! Love it! It's interesting to see how these character's develop and ...
Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers. I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite? Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond? Seriously! Love it! It's interesting to see how these character's develop and interact with each other. To see how their relationships with each other unfold.
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this book. There is action right from the very first chapter. Throughout the novel, we see the main character, Kali D'Angelo battle many supernatural creatures. Jennifer Lynn Barnes' descriptions of each battle are vivid and action packed, with a different twist throughout the book, and secrets to be revealed, the readers will be left guessing until the very end. And so
much excitement, it will make your head spin! Plus add in the effect of a countdown timer, and you can literally feel your heart pounding.
There was one point in the story where I was reading all nice and quiet,and then all of sudden "BAM!" something major is revealed, and I literallywhispered (pretty loudly I might add) "WHAT???!?!!" You'll have to read it to know what I'm talking about, but when you get to that part, you are totally going to say "what??!?!?" too!
There were a lot of humorous lines and scenes throughout the book, which I felt made the characters feel more real. Although Kali is seen as a tough, no holds barred, show no fear, come and get me type of girl, Barnes portrays another side of her that will catch readers off guard and love the character even more. You can't help but feel sad for Kali, seeing her struggle with trying to get her father to notice her, her desire to live a normal life but having to accept who she really is, or what she really is.
My favorite part in the book is how the author builds up to Kali's change. Barnes carries it out making the reader hang on to her every word. She makes you feel how Kali is feeling, hear what she hear, experience the changes going on throughout her body. And the hunting scenes.. Wow! Everything is described in amazing detail. Her clever one liners were classic. There were times where I felt like I was literally inside Kali's head as she plans her next
attack, like how she is going to survive a horde of zombies (zoink!)
And then there is the mysterious Zev. Yes, I have a crush on him. I couldn't help it. I won't
give away the secret why, but all I have to say is *sigh*. There are points throughout the beginning of the book where Zev is downright creepy, but I loved it! (yes, yes...weird) For example, the scene in the care with Eddie! (gasped and sighed at the same time! - read it, you'll see why) But once you get past the creepiness, Zev is so sweet. And the way Barnes allows the reader very brief glimpses through Zev's eyes was eerily addicting. It was just enough of a tease to keep the reader's attention. And the secret about Zev! (Yowzah!) I gasped out loud. For real! The story just got a whole lot more intriguing for me at that point.
This book made me laugh out loud at times, and it made me teary eyed at certain parts. The only negative I have about the book is that the word "preternatural" was used way too much throughout the book. I recommend this book to anyone who loves supernatural stories.
Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Vampire Academy, Strange Angels, or enjoys heroines that kick butt, will love this book.
I am hoping that there will be a follow up bo

posted by chapterxchapter on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too many inconsistencies

Different kind of book to read. The slaying of Preternatural creatures done by the main character, Kali, reminded me somewhat of Supernatural (the WB series about two brothers who slay supernatural creatures.) The book has plenty of gory, violent scenes while Kali is...
Different kind of book to read. The slaying of Preternatural creatures done by the main character, Kali, reminded me somewhat of Supernatural (the WB series about two brothers who slay supernatural creatures.) The book has plenty of gory, violent scenes while Kali is hunting and fighting the hellhounds that have been put on the endangered list. She hunts all sorts of preternatural creatures but the focus seems to be on the hellhounds.
The hellhounds, dragons, griffins and other creatures are accepted as everyday, not quite so normal, creatures in Kali's world. Strangely enough, psychic abilities, as exhibited by Kali's friend Skylar are scoffed at and dismissed.

Many inconsistencies in this book. First of all, Chimera (the big bad conglomerate creating more creatures) want Kali as a specimen to study but they don't think twice about attempting to kill her and dump her body. Secondly, Kali spends a lot of time explaining to us that she cannot be killed or feel pain while she is in her 'superhuman' mode however, she is fighting a basilisk (snake) and has to be careful not to look into it's eyes as they are fatal to her. Fatal, meaning it can kill her. hmmm Also, on the pain front, at one point in the book she is faced with a manticore. It's screaming voice causes excruciating pain and makes her ears bleed..

OK, enough about that. I really liked her buddies. Bethany and Sklyar. These two stole the show. Their constant arguing and bickering was fun to read. There is also a somewhat warped romance for Kali, his name is Zev and he's, well...I'll let you just read the book and figure out what he is for yourself.

I look forward the the next book. The cliffhanger at the end was almost surely left to provide an opening for book two.

posted by avalonpriestess on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1