Customer Reviews for

Every Other Day

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Addictive! A must read.

Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers. I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite? Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond? Seriously! Love it! It's interesting to see how these character's develop and ...
Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers. I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite? Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond? Seriously! Love it! It's interesting to see how these character's develop and interact with each other. To see how their relationships with each other unfold.
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this book. There is action right from the very first chapter. Throughout the novel, we see the main character, Kali D'Angelo battle many supernatural creatures. Jennifer Lynn Barnes' descriptions of each battle are vivid and action packed, with a different twist throughout the book, and secrets to be revealed, the readers will be left guessing until the very end. And so
much excitement, it will make your head spin! Plus add in the effect of a countdown timer, and you can literally feel your heart pounding.
There was one point in the story where I was reading all nice and quiet,and then all of sudden "BAM!" something major is revealed, and I literallywhispered (pretty loudly I might add) "WHAT???!?!!" You'll have to read it to know what I'm talking about, but when you get to that part, you are totally going to say "what??!?!?" too!
There were a lot of humorous lines and scenes throughout the book, which I felt made the characters feel more real. Although Kali is seen as a tough, no holds barred, show no fear, come and get me type of girl, Barnes portrays another side of her that will catch readers off guard and love the character even more. You can't help but feel sad for Kali, seeing her struggle with trying to get her father to notice her, her desire to live a normal life but having to accept who she really is, or what she really is.
My favorite part in the book is how the author builds up to Kali's change. Barnes carries it out making the reader hang on to her every word. She makes you feel how Kali is feeling, hear what she hear, experience the changes going on throughout her body. And the hunting scenes.. Wow! Everything is described in amazing detail. Her clever one liners were classic. There were times where I felt like I was literally inside Kali's head as she plans her next
attack, like how she is going to survive a horde of zombies (zoink!)
And then there is the mysterious Zev. Yes, I have a crush on him. I couldn't help it. I won't
give away the secret why, but all I have to say is *sigh*. There are points throughout the beginning of the book where Zev is downright creepy, but I loved it! (yes, yes...weird) For example, the scene in the care with Eddie! (gasped and sighed at the same time! - read it, you'll see why) But once you get past the creepiness, Zev is so sweet. And the way Barnes allows the reader very brief glimpses through Zev's eyes was eerily addicting. It was just enough of a tease to keep the reader's attention. And the secret about Zev! (Yowzah!) I gasped out loud. For real! The story just got a whole lot more intriguing for me at that point.
This book made me laugh out loud at times, and it made me teary eyed at certain parts. The only negative I have about the book is that the word "preternatural" was used way too much throughout the book. I recommend this book to anyone who loves supernatural stories.
Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Vampire Academy, Strange Angels, or enjoys heroines that kick butt, will love this book.
I am hoping that there will be a follow up bo

posted by chapterxchapter on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too many inconsistencies

Different kind of book to read. The slaying of Preternatural creatures done by the main character, Kali, reminded me somewhat of Supernatural (the WB series about two brothers who slay supernatural creatures.) The book has plenty of gory, violent scenes while Kali is...
Different kind of book to read. The slaying of Preternatural creatures done by the main character, Kali, reminded me somewhat of Supernatural (the WB series about two brothers who slay supernatural creatures.) The book has plenty of gory, violent scenes while Kali is hunting and fighting the hellhounds that have been put on the endangered list. She hunts all sorts of preternatural creatures but the focus seems to be on the hellhounds.
The hellhounds, dragons, griffins and other creatures are accepted as everyday, not quite so normal, creatures in Kali's world. Strangely enough, psychic abilities, as exhibited by Kali's friend Skylar are scoffed at and dismissed.

Many inconsistencies in this book. First of all, Chimera (the big bad conglomerate creating more creatures) want Kali as a specimen to study but they don't think twice about attempting to kill her and dump her body. Secondly, Kali spends a lot of time explaining to us that she cannot be killed or feel pain while she is in her 'superhuman' mode however, she is fighting a basilisk (snake) and has to be careful not to look into it's eyes as they are fatal to her. Fatal, meaning it can kill her. hmmm Also, on the pain front, at one point in the book she is faced with a manticore. It's screaming voice causes excruciating pain and makes her ears bleed..

OK, enough about that. I really liked her buddies. Bethany and Sklyar. These two stole the show. Their constant arguing and bickering was fun to read. There is also a somewhat warped romance for Kali, his name is Zev and he's, well...I'll let you just read the book and figure out what he is for yourself.

I look forward the the next book. The cliffhanger at the end was almost surely left to provide an opening for book two.

posted by avalonpriestess on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Addictive! A must read.

    Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers. I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite? Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond? Seriously! Love it! It's interesting to see how these character's develop and interact with each other. To see how their relationships with each other unfold.
    I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this book. There is action right from the very first chapter. Throughout the novel, we see the main character, Kali D'Angelo battle many supernatural creatures. Jennifer Lynn Barnes' descriptions of each battle are vivid and action packed, with a different twist throughout the book, and secrets to be revealed, the readers will be left guessing until the very end. And so
    much excitement, it will make your head spin! Plus add in the effect of a countdown timer, and you can literally feel your heart pounding.
    There was one point in the story where I was reading all nice and quiet,and then all of sudden "BAM!" something major is revealed, and I literallywhispered (pretty loudly I might add) "WHAT???!?!!" You'll have to read it to know what I'm talking about, but when you get to that part, you are totally going to say "what??!?!?" too!
    There were a lot of humorous lines and scenes throughout the book, which I felt made the characters feel more real. Although Kali is seen as a tough, no holds barred, show no fear, come and get me type of girl, Barnes portrays another side of her that will catch readers off guard and love the character even more. You can't help but feel sad for Kali, seeing her struggle with trying to get her father to notice her, her desire to live a normal life but having to accept who she really is, or what she really is.
    My favorite part in the book is how the author builds up to Kali's change. Barnes carries it out making the reader hang on to her every word. She makes you feel how Kali is feeling, hear what she hear, experience the changes going on throughout her body. And the hunting scenes.. Wow! Everything is described in amazing detail. Her clever one liners were classic. There were times where I felt like I was literally inside Kali's head as she plans her next
    attack, like how she is going to survive a horde of zombies (zoink!)
    And then there is the mysterious Zev. Yes, I have a crush on him. I couldn't help it. I won't
    give away the secret why, but all I have to say is *sigh*. There are points throughout the beginning of the book where Zev is downright creepy, but I loved it! (yes, yes...weird) For example, the scene in the care with Eddie! (gasped and sighed at the same time! - read it, you'll see why) But once you get past the creepiness, Zev is so sweet. And the way Barnes allows the reader very brief glimpses through Zev's eyes was eerily addicting. It was just enough of a tease to keep the reader's attention. And the secret about Zev! (Yowzah!) I gasped out loud. For real! The story just got a whole lot more intriguing for me at that point.
    This book made me laugh out loud at times, and it made me teary eyed at certain parts. The only negative I have about the book is that the word "preternatural" was used way too much throughout the book. I recommend this book to anyone who loves supernatural stories.
    Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Vampire Academy, Strange Angels, or enjoys heroines that kick butt, will love this book.
    I am hoping that there will be a follow up bo

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Paranormal Twist

    This book wasn't quite what I expected--but in a good way. I thought from the blurb and the other reviews that it would be a bit more Buffy-esque than it was, and really didn't expect the conspiracy drama that it turned out to be. So--maybe Buffy meets the teen version of X-Files? I read it quickly--partly because my NetGalley copy was due to expire soon, but mostly because I just didn't want to put it down. Barnes quickly draws readers into the world she created for this one; you almost believe that Darwin really did make crucial discoveries about preternaturals out there on the HMS Beagle. It's a real girl-power book that does a nice job of blending fantasy and science fiction into one readable package. It's a book about friends, family, and sacrifice in a world where the supernatural is a part of daily life and hellhounds (so wrong!) are a protected species...or at least they are for a while. Barnes definitely left room for a sequel, but the ending isn't screaming for one, which was a nice change. It was especially amusing that in this world, werewolves aren't even believed to exist; but then, neither are vampires or psychics, two entities which may or may not factor into the plot of this novel. ;-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Fans of Barnes’s other series, Raised By Wolves, will enjo

    Fans of Barnes’s other series, Raised By Wolves, will enjoy this novel. Strong female characters and a fast paced plot make this book difficult to put down. Kali is human, sort of. Every other day Kali becomes a hunter. She kills paranormal creatures and is almost invincible. Trying to fly under the radar is a necessity because of who, or what, she is. This changes one day when she see a death sign on Bethany, the most popular girl at her high school. Saving the girl will mean Kali will have to risk her life on a day when she is not invincible. Kali must fight to sunrise as a human.
    Part of the reason I love this book so much is because of Kali. She is all business and determined. Kali questions her humanity and purpose in the world, giving her an appeal and drive. Supporting characters Skylar and Bethany have their own characteristics that make them memorable and engaging. Skylar, a pixie like psychic, guides Kali and Bethany, is tough and loyal. Both girls join Kali on her adventure in this novel. Every Other Day seems perfect for teen readers who enjoy excitement and the paranormal. I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There's A New Slayer in Town

    Kali is a grounded, female character that has resigned to her uncommon life and the inevitable isolation that comes with it. Despite her predatory skills and strength, she is vulnerable, which softens her character, making her incredibly likable. She can kick-butt, but experiences all the same teen-angst insecurities that 'normal' kids go through. This characterization detail keeps her planted in the here and now even when the supernatural threatens to take this science-fiction, paranormal mystery to strange, unimaginable places. Every Other Day is a great example of how to cement the abstract into reality making it credible. Joss Whedon did this with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and I see similarities or possible influences in this particular story. Buffy fans will enjoy Jennifer Lynn Barnes characters and style. I know I did! I have no idea of any of the conceptual ideas are scientifically viable, but due to the writing delivery, it certainly was believable. I could give over to the story and sink into the world of Kali and her friends. The ending leaves the reader wanting more and I'm looking forward to the sequel. This is a great young adult book that puts an inspiring tweak on some overdone paranormal concepts and creatures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Different and compelling

    This book was a great read. I couldnt put it down. I love that its different from all of the usual vampire/werewolf kind of books out today. It was heartwarming and funny then edgy and wild then heartwrenching and sad. I would definitely recomend it to any YA reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Gr. 6-8 Every Other Day is an action-packed fantasy novel that k

    Gr. 6-8
    Every Other Day is an action-packed fantasy novel that keeps you on the edge of your seat for the entire book. Every page leaves you wanting more, and Jane Lynn Barnes has you asking yourself what will happen next. Barnes’s writing style is fluent and filled with humor, and her language is advanced.

    I suggest this book for readers in their preteen or teenage years, because the book has some moderate violence yet it is not too graphic. Every Other Day is more suited for female readers, because the cover is decorated in roses, the main character is female, and the author is female. Although the plot is action-packed, I do not think that male readers would particularly enjoy this book.

    The major characters are well built, although I think that the Barnes stayed on certain character traits for too long, because Kali is always fighting for the spot as the leader, and Zev is a bit emotionless and you never really get to know him. The minor characters don’t seem very well built, as Bethany is always acting like a snob, Skylar is always happy and cheerful and Elliot doesn’t seem have a personality.

    When reading Every Other Day you don’t see any exact theme or meaning, but at the end of the book, the theme became clear for me. Throughout the book, Kali is constantly searching for her meaning, her self. In the end, she finally knows who she is, and accepts who she is. The book is wrapped around finding who you are.

    Although the plot takes a while to build up, and at first you may want to put the book down and find another, I promise you if you just keep pushing on, you will find yourself caught in Kali’s strange and confusing world. The end is a tad bit confusing, but it leaves you expecting a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    refreshing idea--being fully human one day and then paranormal the next!

    This is my first book by Jennifer Barnes, and I was really drawn in by her writing style. This is a refreshing idea--being fully human one day and then paranormal the next! She executed this idea very well, and I also liked that in an parallel universe where paranormal creatures were discovered by Darwin, it is even more strange to not know what exactly she is.
    The main character is strong, and selfless, so much its admiral and painful all at the same time. She'd distanced herself from people for so long, but when she tries to save a classmate and gets stuck along the ride with her, along with letting in a social pariah of the school, she realizes just how much she can lose. I enjoyed watching these relationships develop, and I think I was in almost as much pain as Kali at an unfortunate turn that broke my heart.
    Skylar is a great secondary character and she made me think of Luna in the Harry Potter series. This innocence and wisdom you can't help but love. And oh her brothers, lol. They appear from everywhere and it was fun how they advanced the plot.
    I was very suprised about some of the plot twists, including Zev, Kali's mother, and the story behind her father. The writing is suspenseful and I loved where the story took me.
    The ending tied up things pretty well, but I'd still love to read a sequel and find out more about what happens to Kali.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Review by Khal

    From MLPF Blog: I liked it. Its a different paranormal YA read with an interesting twist on vampires. When I first came across the meaning of " every other day " I was like: " shes human every other day? Thats stupid " but then, I realized that being human every other day has its advantages even if it is QUITE convenient for her to be on a human day every time they test her for abnormalities in DNA. I had one major problem with this book, why was that person exterminated so early in the series? I mean, come on! Their character was so promising. And why was their expression blissful when they died? Their life could not have been that bad. Oh well. Ill give this novel 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Hooked by the first line

    ¿¿¿¿½*

    Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

    Chalk another one up on the list of Books that Hooked Me by the First Page. Actually, this one hooked me by the first line. Let me show you why:

    "The decision to make hellhounds an endangered species was beyond asinine . . . "

    I'll stop there for a moment. (Don't worry, you'll get more in a minute.) In those few words, I knew this book was going to be awesome. A world just like ours, but where all of the creatures from your nightmares are real. Then humans, being the odd creatures we are, decided that every species should be preserved—including those that will rip you to shreds and munch on your spleen while you try to "protect" it. Case in point:

    (still within the first paragraph) "[These were the same people] that thought you could train a horde of zombies just as easily as Pavlov's dogs.
    "'When I ring the bell, you will cease tearing the flesh from my bones.'
    "Yeah, right."

    So whose fault is it that humankind are the supposed protectors but really just prey to the paranormal world? Darwin. Yup, that Darwin. Charles and his Beagle stumbled upon not only evolution, but paranormal life as well. The implications of a world like this, where a single moment altered history to the point where the modern era is almost the same, yet completely different, is fascinating. Even more so when the author does a good job of fleshing out the world and the compounding impacts such a change would have upon it, which Barnes does fairly well.

    I won't tell you about the plot (which you can find by reading the flap copy) or the creatures (which would get a bit spoilery) that, by itself, isn't what drew me in. Really, it was the way in which Barnes takes traditional notions of werewolves and zombies and vampires (yes, even sparklepires), et al., and twists them in such a way that their paranormal existence kinda makes sense, especially within the variables of this alternate world. Maybe that's why I enjoyed Every Other Day so much: the mythos is almost logical, which is rare for paranormal stories.

    Even more important, she takes that one tiny little moment in history and explores the resonance over time and how people and governments change and cope with this new world.

    This probably seems like a rather odd review to not even mention the plot or characters, but honestly, you'll find that in just about every other review. Instead, I've discussed the parts of this book that made me read it so quickly, and also want to dive immediately into the next book.


    *A note on the rating: While I loved the world-building, some parts of the story fell a little flat for me. So though I really enjoyed the book overall, it didn't quite feel like a 5-star. Here's to hoping that improves in the next book of the series.

    **Also, a note on the cover: Gorgeous doesn't do it justice. While the main image might not give a clue as to what the story's about, who cares? It's pretty to stare at.

    If you like that cover, take a peek at The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison, another title from the same publisher (Egmont). Wouldn't they look so pretty sitting together on a shelf?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different & Exciting

    Wow! This was really different! I wasn't too sure about how the every-other-day thing would play out, but it was actually very interesting how she was forced to slip from one life to the other on such a regular basis. There is never a dull moment for someone who spends one day as a puny human and the next as a supernatural hunter. I was surprised by some of the loyal friends she makes along the way and even a possible love interest from a place I never would've imagined! There are several twists to keep you on your toes & plenty of action on every page! I will be looking forward to more of this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fell a bit flat

    I was really looking forward to this book, after devouring the author's Raised by Wolves duo. The premise of preternatural beings made me realize I hadn't read any other teen books with those type of characters. But this book just didn't hit me the way I'd expected.

    Kali is a human one day, a hunter of hellhounds and other beasts the next. She has kept her change secret from everyone but that changes when she sees a girl at school who is marked for death. A mean cheerleader and the school outcast are drawn into Kali’s world. The snarkiness of the cheerleader was spot-on; the outcast’s offer of friendship made think about all those teens just aching to belong, for someone to reach out a hand. And there is a boy who Kali just can’t figure out (and neither could I).

    The language used when describing the physical change Kali goes through made me shiver as if I were watching it happen. One bit of the storyline which didn’t ring true was the fact that in the beginning, Kali was being hunted and then left for dead, but we later learn that the laboratory company who is trying to genetically modify people and preternatural beings wants her alive for research. So why did it want to kill her earlier? I also felt the writing went a bit flat toward the end, leaving me not caring what happened to any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Read This One! Great Paranormal...

    Well, really, do you think that Summary tells it all? Of course not. First of all, Kali isn't what she seems, even to herself. And, secondly neither are any of her friends or would-be friends...or her family...or theirs, for that matter. This is a book that calls for investigation, at the very least!

    "Every Other Day" is a completely delicious book filled with surprises and intriguing people catching even a jaded, constant-reader like me happily off guard! I was spun around with the fast-moving details and the excitement of Kali's hourly traipses between the darkness and light. She was incognito during the day at school, or trying to be...and then the vibrant, bigger-than-life huntress of preternatural monsters during the night. So woman warrior, yet, so vulnerable to the ordinary social traps of the American high school.

    Within the very entertaining plot of "Every Other Day" is Ms Barnes's helpful advice and gentle message to YAs. Through her beautifully drawn characters: Syklar (the little psychic ringleader); Bethany (the not so special after all, glamorous cheerleader); Elliot (the hunky, confused big brother & boyfriend); and Kali (the oddly luminous protagonist and narrator of the story), Ms Barnes is able to cull together the moral of her story. That moral seems to be that "sometimes the decisions you have to make aren't always easy or even 'right,' they just have to be made for the greater good." And, she tells us that life isn't easy, and when we get knocked down we can either choose to be down or choose to get up and fight. It's our choice.

    Ms Barnes poses the theme of the difficulty in navigating inner (often parental) voices and personal choices young adults have to make as they come into adulthood. Growing in teen years and beyond, there is the struggle for autonomy, while at the same time, there is also the pull to remain in the safety of childhood "protectors" and parents, even if those parents prove to be at a loss and failing, themselves. When recognition of the parent as human and "broken" by life in their own ways happens, young adults are left to examine themselves as individuals, and to "choose to get up" and go on with their own lives...to choose to accept and love their parents, or not.

    While "Every Other Day" is a book about the joy-ride and the fright-nights of high school...it is also about discovery...self-discovery, discovering the world around us, discovering the people we thought we knew and could trust, and trusting the people we thought we couldn't count on. It's a beautifully written book by an author who writes with spot-on clarity and character-building.

    Great paranormal book, great read for the YA crowd; and, perfect for parents who wonder "what's up?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Is Kali the new Buffy?

    This was a fun read by a talented author! Kali knows that she isn't normal, but doesn't know much more than that. Living with her father, she does her best to stay under the radar and remain invisible, as she's learned that this is the safest course. Despite her best efforts though, she makes a friend at her new high school. One thing leads to another and soon she has her own version of a Scooby Gang! And yes, that's a deliberate Buffy reference, as Kali reminded me a little of my favorite Slayer. What exactly is Kali? Is she even human? And why did her mother leave when Kali was so young? This story leads us down roads I didn't really expect, but they are awesome roads! There's a bit of conspiracy and a hint of evil scientists, as well as supernatural forces you may or may not be familiar with. All in all, a very exciting read! Loved Kali's friend Skylar, and even liked Skylar's obnoxious brother! All of Kali's new friends were interesting, and think they make a great new gang for her! Looking forward to reading more about them all and learning about Kali's abilities, so I really, really hope that this will be a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    A Very Exciting Read!

    On every other day, Kali D¿Angelo can pass for a normal teenage girl. Sure Kali¿s mother took off when she was only three and she doesn¿t have the most stellar relationship with her father, but she¿s still more or less human. At least that¿s what she wants everyone to believe. Because every other day at dawn, Kali turns into a super-fast, decidedly non-human hunter of preternatural beings that may or may not be listed on the endangered species list.

    Kali¿s status as a social unknown takes a drastic turn toward the spotlight when she is befriended by Skylar Hayden. Skylar is eternally optimistic, even when she finds herself in the crosshairs of the school¿s cheerleading team. Kali¿s plans to keep the normal and and not so normal parts of her life separate are shot to bits when she notices an <i>ouroboros</i> symbol on the small of Bethany Davis¿ back. The same Bethany Davis who is the daughter of her father¿s colleague, dating Skylar¿s brother, and one of the school¿s resident mean girls.

    What I like most about Kali is her flaws. Her grades aren¿t the best, she almost doesn¿t know what to do with people who actually want to be her friend, and she has a frustrating habit of rushing into dangerous situations. The action doesn¿t lag for too long because Kali herself rarely ever slows down, especially when she¿s in hunting mode. When slower parts of the book do come along, we get a better change to get to know some of the amazing characters Kali interacts with.

    At the beginning of this book it is clear that Kali is a loner and prefers it that way. By the end, her life has changed for the better because of the friendships and connections she¿s made. I quickly devoured this book and was sad to see it end. From everything I¿ve read, this book is only meant to be a standalone, but the potential for so much more is here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good YA that covers all different creatures, not just vampires

    In just two weeks, the second book in Barnes¿ extremely interesting and fun YA series that began with Raised By Wolves will hit the market. This is a series that concentrates on a world where hellhounds are actually normal and people are striving to get them placed on the endangered species list. Creatures such as zombies, vamps, and everything you thought was mythological, are actually quite real and live side-by-side with the humans. Kali D¿Angelo is one of those supposedly normal humans - except for every other day. You see, every twenty-four hours Kali goes from a bored sixteen-year-old junior in high school to a true Buffy-¿esque¿ heroine who can never be harmed, can not be killed, runs like the wind, and basically spends her time getting rid of the monsters and creepy things that are in her town. Her blood is toxic. Therefore, if any hellhound or dangerous creature bites her, they simply die. She has learned to like it when she¿s invincible and can¿t really stand it when she has to play the normal teenager role. Her mother is gone and her father is so into his scientific research that he barely even speaks to her anymore. One day, she¿s sitting up in the stands at some school event bored out of her mind and scared to death that she will fail her finals because she was up all night facing demons and didn¿t have any time to study. Along comes a girl by the name of Skylar Hayden (the school¿s ¿fallen woman¿ who never actually slept with anyone) and sits down beside her. You see, Skylar is adorable and funny and has the power of being a little bit psychic, so she knows that she and Kali were destined to form a relationship. What Kali doesn¿t expect is to see the ¿mark¿ of a chupacabra on one of the girls at school. Her name is Bethany Davis and her father works with Kali¿s at Chimera Biomedical - a company that seems to be doing all types of experiments that the town is unaware of. Even though Kali doesn¿t much like Bethany, she does not want the girl to be eaten from the inside out by this terrible creature, so she actually coaxes the being out and into her own skin where it immediately begins to harm her. But all Kali has to do is survive a few more hours before she turns back into the ¿being¿ she is and her blood becomes toxic once again, killing the chupacabra inside of her. Readers will have a ball as they realize why this idea may, or may not work out. On top of that, they get to meet up with ice dragons, demons, and uncover secrets about the supposed psychic, as well as the family that surrounds the girl that Kali has supposedly saved. On top of all that, Kali must avoid the people who are ¿after¿ her who look very much like the FBI in their shades. This author has done a truly fantastic sequel (which is really difficult to do) and made sure that her fans will follow her through the entire series as they watch Kali figure out who and what she actually is. Quill Says: A good YA that covers all different creatures and doesn¿t just rely on the ¿fanged ones¿ to have a good time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An original and fast-paced adventure

    This book was great! It is full of twists and turns and surprises that keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat. I was never quite sure what was going to happen next and the plethora of new magical creatures was wonderful. I don't think I have ever read a novel with chupacabras before.

    Kali is a fascinating heroine. The title, Every Other Day, refers to her strange transformation from human to hunter of supernatural creatures. One day she is human, but the next she is not. She doesn't know what she is or how she came to be that way, but in her efforts to protect a girl she doesn't even like she may find answers about herself.

    There is a little bit of romance in this book, but it is peculiar to say the least. Zev, the love interest, is just a voice in her head for most of the novel I can't wait to see how their relationship develops in book 2, and there has to be a book 2.

    My favorite character of the story was Skylar. She is unfailingly cheerful and a bit odd, with an endless supply of brothers with useful life skills. (A lawyer who can steal cars, an FBI agent, a veterinarian, etc.) Her little sister's survival guide made me smile, especially when applied to zombies.

    This book was fast-paced and interesting with a bittersweet ending that left me begging for more. I would recommend this book to lovers of strange creatures and wild fights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great premise - fast pace!

    At first I was a little unsure about this premise (Every other day she's normal? What? Why?), but then I could see the distinct advantages of it in terms of the pacing. Throughout Every Other Day (due to Kali's sunrise switcharoo), we are aware of every minute sliding through the hourglass. Much like an episode of 24, the clock is ticking and there's no time to lose. With time hanging over Kali's head, the pace of the story had to stay frenzied which lent to the ease of reading and general excitement level for me. There wasn't much time for her to lay in a field of wildflowers and muse over a boy. Don't go into Every Other Day expecting your typical love-triangle-angst-filled-love-to-hate-you saga. There might be more of that to come in subsequent sequels (a few candidates were introduced in this novel), but for now, it's mostly Kali and her secret plus her interesting, ragtag group of newly acquired friends. Every Other Day was an excellent beginning to what is sure to be a great series. (Maybe that's when the love-triangle will come in, you know it's obligatory...) Steph

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2