BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Every Second Counts

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Good read.

    Good for anyone in the cycling or cancer world. Or for a good inspirtation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Fabulous Sports Memoir

    How would you like it if you went into a doctors office for a routine check-up and you were told that not only you had cancer but that your chances of living and defeating cancer were less than 20%? Lance Armstrong did not crumble or fall apart upon hearing this news instead he said to his wife ¿we hit hard ships in our life but it¿s the good ones tha¬t count¿. This memoir describes how he lives his every day after being told the defecating news. Every Second Counts is a very moving and inspirational book. For Lance ¿cancer¿ was a cure to life. For him when he got out of the hospital he truly lived like ¿every second counts¿ That¿s is what this fantastic inspirational sports memoir is about. In the memoir Lance also details the hard times a person in the public eye has to go through. Like scandals, Lies, and rumors. For example, Lance had rumors of him doping. Only because he was winning!!! This book describes how he fought through lies and personal problems. Another example absolutely no one ever thought he could win the tour after beating cancer. To him the only way of beating the battle of cancer was to win the tour and prove cancer was not going to beat him. Every race he did not race to beat a person or a team he raced to beat and prove to everyone he did and always will have beaten cancer. In this wonderfully written book lance describes how he became a true inspiration for all cancer patience and there families. He also talks about each tour victorie. After you read this book you will be uplifted and very thrilled that you read this masterly crafted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    This is a great book that everyone would love.

    Some one call 911 ¿we have a male about 35 looks like he had a crash on a bike¿! That was only one of my many accidents, but the time I was most worried was when I was diagnosed with cancer. This memoir was about lance Armstrong about how he had cancer and than was able to win seven tour de France. He also had children after his cancer. He was the first person ever to win seven Tour De France right after overcoming cancer. It said in the book that now people look up to him because he was able to do that. His kids names were Luke and his twins that are coming Lance never says their names in the book. Also in this book he was a father to his children not just a rolemodle. His son Luke looked up to him. He wore a helmet to the store when him and Lance went out. When Lance was little he was the only kid that he new that was interested in bikes and racing. I think that you should read this book Every Second Counts by Lance Armstrong and Sally Jenkins because it is very interesting. It makes you want to read it all the time the when I was reading it I could not stop. I completed the book all in one day. The reason that I wanted to read it was because I new that lance is a great person and that he was able to defeat his cancer that was spreading all through his body and the doctors said that he was surely to die. I also want to read his other book it is called Gone With The Bike. It is a very good book for teens, also it is enjoyable for adults too. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Mentor from Texas

    Armstrong, a native of Texas, was reared in Plano and owns a home in Austin, and says he is a regular guy and he may well be, but his passion for action in the fast lane has been lifelong. His friends tried to get him to slow down especially after his three children were born, for if no other reason to be around to see them grow up. He said, ¿I love the tumult of my large family, and I¿ve even been accused of fostering a certain amount of commotion, because I have no tolerance for peace and quiet. I¿m congenitally unable to sit still I crave action, and if I can¿t find any, I invent it.¿ He was ecstatic at winning the 1999 tour de France, but when he realized that some people regarded the win as a fluke and accused him of not training enough and he heard the rumors that the reason he had won was because two notable champions were absent from the field, it gave him a new motive. That, alone, made him want to win another one. He had beat the odds of cancer by his undaunted nature and he would work to win the same way. He states that a near death experience had made him even more intrepid. ¿I began looking for reasons to be aggravated on the bike ¿ he said. ¿I catalogued each expression of skepticism, every disbelieving remark or expression of uncertainty by an opponent, and used them to challenge myself. I kept a list. It was an old competitive habit that went back to my childhood in Plano, when I¿d never had as much money as the other kids, or played the right sport. (They didn¿t force you to play football in Texas, but they sure wanted you to.) I didn¿t have the right conventional parents, either. I¿d always been underestimated, and I knew how to put it to good use. I thrived on long odds.¿ The 2000 race was the 87th annual edition and would cover 2,274 miles and 23 days, counterclockwise around France. Armstrong says it is actually a high-speed chess match on bikes. Reconnoitering the route was important so various members of his team, the U.S. Postal, had different roles in helping him map out the terrain. He practiced the race, climbing every mountain, some of them twice. He won the tour but lost the gold in 2000 Olympic games. He experienced great disappointment. In November of 2000, French authorities announced that Armstrong was under investigation for doping. He was the second American to win since the beginning of the races in 1903. He had won two consecutive tours while native Frenchmen had done poorly. It was a long-drawn out battle with the French courts. During this time, Armstrong moved his family to Spain. Armstrong believes in restraint on the subject of religion. ¿I think too many people look to religion as an excuse, or a crutch, or a bailout,¿ he says. ¿I think that what you¿ve got is what you¿ve got, here and now. Even when I was looking straight at death, I never thought there was something on the other end.¿ He says J. Craig Ventner articulated it like this: ¿It¿s unequivocally clear that life begins at birth and ends at death, and if most people on this planet understood that, they would lead their lives very differently. We find religious or mysterious forces to fill in for our inadequacies, but heaven and hell are both here on earth every day, and we make our lives around them.¿ Armstrong shows a very pensive side as he describes the friendships he made with other people trying to beat cancer and those who didn¿t. Armstrong describes being a mentor to younger riders and the issues of being a professional rider and the toll it takes on family. His perception of teamwork is quintessential. He says this: ¿It takes eight fellow U.S. Postal Service riders to get me to the finish line in one piece, let alone in first place. Cycling is far more of a team sport than spectators realize, and it¿s an embarrassment worth cringing over that I¿ve stood on the podium of the Tour de France alone, as if I got there by myself. I don¿t just show up there after almost three thousand miles, and say, ¿Look what I did.¿ When

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Inspiring

    When he was 25, Armstrong was diagnosed with cancer. It had already spread to his abdomen, lungs, and brain. It might have been terminal, but two surgeries and four courses of chemotherapy later, he was well again. Well enough to compete in the Tour de France bicycle race that he won in 1999. And four times since then. Although the book is not all about the Tour Lance also goes off into side stories about his family, friends, training, and cancer. One of my favorite side stories is when he and one of his good friends collage go for a bike ride, and Lance scares collage because he is flying down the hill and is going to fast. In this book lance says ¿The fact is that I wouldn¿t have won even a single Tour de France without the lesson of illness. What it teaches is this: pain is temporary. Quitting lasts forever.¿ This book is so inspirational, it teaches you to never give up, and to always try your hardest. Reading this book makes you feel like you could do anything if Lance can do it why cant I. One of my major likes is how in depth the book goes about his stories about the tour. Lance talks about his breathing techniques, what he is thinking at the time, and the constant burning in his legs. What I did not like about the book was how lance didn¿t give himself enough credit. I mean he won the tour five times, he defeated cancer. He needs to talk about his victory more in the book. I think people should read this book for one reason it is a good inspirational book that you will not walk away from saying that was a waste of my time. It will have you looking at life in a whole new way you¿ll never take for granted your heath again. You will walk away from this book feeling good about yourself and inspired. Lance won the tour de France five times defeated cancer and succeeded in his dreams, why cant you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Inspirational

    I really think that this book is great! Maybe at first it may seem dull. I mean come on, who reads about cycling? This book can change your whole view of the cycling world. It's truthful and very understandable. It's great for young readers like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    the real Lance Armsrtong

    This book takes you along on Lance¿s journey. From cancer to winning The Tour De France, I felt like I was right there with him the whole time. The book made his training sound glorious. While I was reading all I wanted to do after I finished was to go out and ride my bike. It inspired me to train, not as much as Lance does of course but train none the less. Another positive to the focus on how much Lance¿s trains is that it shows that he really has to work at what he does. It shows his determination to the sport and to his team. Not only did reading about how much he trains make me want to get on the bike, it inspired me to try harder in all things I do. The book did a really good job of showing how much Lance has to defend his honor. The book goes into great detail about all the drug tests he must take just to prove he is clean. He tells how annoyed he is with the whole thing and you can tell that it upsets him a little bit. When he writes about it, it makes you feel compassionate for him. I think I may hove gotten just as annoyed by the 5:00 in the morning surprise drugs tests as he did. This book is told from the inside of cycling. You learn about things the average spectator of cycling would not know. I also really liked how Lance gives credit to everyone around him. He gives credit to everyone on his team for helping him and he knows that he could not win the tour without them. He spends a lot of time giving credit to everyone around him. I like that because not everyone can win, and it makes the people who help out the winner feel really good about it. Another thing I really liked about the book was how intimate Lance got. He talks about his family problems. He goes into great detail about how hard it is to be away from his family and what it was doing to his marriage. He gets very intimate when he talks about cancer. He does not hold back when he talks about how hard it was for him. He is not afraid to give the details that no one wants to hear. It makes you feel like you are there with him, and makes you relate to the situation. This book can touch anybody¿s life. Anyone would enjoy reading it. It¿s very inspirational and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Not as good as 'It's Not About the Bike'...was good

    I read Lance's first book twice becuase I loved it so much. It was very inspiring. So then I decided to read this one, and it was good. I enjoyed how he kept his story going, but I still like his first better. I saw sad to read about Kik. I wanted them to stay together. I felt bad for her. She was alone a lot of the time when Lance was training. I hope he wins his 6th in a couple of weeks. Best of luck for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    This Book Can Climb Any Mountain!

    Beautiful and well written book. A book for the ages, and gives a perspective on life's troubling times. This book taught me what hard work could bring. Thanks Lance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Never Say Die, Never Give Up

    This book is a book that should be read by everyone. Reading about how Lance Armstring can battle cancer, go through chemo, and turn around and show the world that he is still here, is amazing. He breaks down every step he had to take, every session, every appointment, every opponent, every injury, and put it together and made an incredible biography out of it. I believe that he is an incredible role model, for he says that he feels better by helping out children with cancer, or anyone with the disease. He also shows everyone that faith is stone. If you just believe it, will all work out. I liked how he reacted to all of his tests, and when we had been accused so many times by the French. He just continued his life, cycling and not worry about it. Lance, you are incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Profound Must Read for Everyone!

    It was an honor to read this book. At times funny, at times charming, at times deeply moving, at times thrilling... and most of all, at all times like being with and learning from perhaps one of the most impressive human beings of our time. To say this is a MUST READ is an understatement of grand proportions! Deeply inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Best Sports Book out...fun to read.

    Lance almost bears all in his stories about winning the last two TOUR de France races. Having watched the last TOUR and now having read Lance's book I appreciate more the torture of the TOUR...it must be an incredible thrill to win this unique event. To Lance, good luck make it SIX, and I pray you and Kik get back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Wonderful!!

    This book is truly my favorite. A very moving book.Parts of the book had me crying. I wish more people would read this book because they don't know what they're missing. I just hope Lance keeps writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    A great read!

    It's hard to think of it this way, but this book was a more enjoyable read than 'It's Not About The Bike'. Hard to think of it that way, as we are speaking about a person's life experiences, but it was 'entertaining' to hear about what jumps through his mind at different points in his ride through life. If you have ever watched Lance ride a bicycle, you have probably put yourself in his shoes at least for a second, and wondered what it would be like. This book helps answer some of that for you. The writing style is captivating, and down-to-earth. It's good to hear he sits back and has a beer (and listens to Marley!). Makes it all seem that much more amazing. A regular guy goes all out and achieves his goals. So.. sit back, relax and hitch onto Lance's wheel as you follow him along through a crazy stretch of road. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Another Yellow Jersey, Another Great Book...

    Lance's straight forward, tell it like it is style is evident again. He is a master at making his life and experience relevant to all. He inspires on the bike and in print. He truly is 'driven by what's inside...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Family, Teammates and Cancer Survivors mean more than wins!

    Lance fans and even those who nothing about him will love this book, I finished it in two evenings. His amazing comeback from cancer gave him an insight into how to live his life better and Every Second Counts proves it. Lance is very honest about himself, he doesn't claim to be perfect and knows he didn't get where he is by himself. His humility and acknowledgement of the importance of his teammates, family and friends is refereshing to see in this day of athletes who think they did it all alone. The sections dealing with his work with cancer patients and survivors let you see Lance as a deeply caring man who is dedicated to helping defeat the disease and help others survive as he has. For those of us who are Tour de France and cycling fans, the inside information on what goes on in the peloton and this years exciting race are fabulous. The book is remarkably candid, Lance is in a class by himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Ride with me

    Mr. Armstrong's decision to share his journey is touching and therapeutic to me. I consider myself a private person and ask myself if I had the same experience could I share so much of me. He turned himself inside out(pretty much like I would a pair of socks). He reminded me its O.K to be human, to feel pain, hopelessnes, despair and even anger. But He did not stop there. He acknowledged these feelings/emotions and used them to transform and rejuvinate rather than debilitate. Sharing all the details was a welcomed and gentle invitation to journey with him and I am so glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    'Anticipating' Lance rules...

    It's not about the bike, has bin a great insperation to me. Lance has shown that if you cant play wiht the big boy's,Dont play at all!!TRU champ, and my hero.I sugest to all school teacher's to incurage your student's to read both book's.Inspire them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    As thrilling as a ride on the Madone.

    An excellent read, with a different perspective than Lance's first book. I immensely enjoyed the extra chapter on this year's Tour de France and especially Luz Arden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Your last book helped me, Lance

    I'm looking forward to reading more about Lance's amazing life. Can't wait for 'Every Second Counts.' Ride on, Lance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2