Customer Reviews for

Every Second Counts

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Good read.

    Good for anyone in the cycling or cancer world. Or for a good inspirtation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Fabulous Sports Memoir

    How would you like it if you went into a doctors office for a routine check-up and you were told that not only you had cancer but that your chances of living and defeating cancer were less than 20%? Lance Armstrong did not crumble or fall apart upon hearing this news instead he said to his wife ¿we hit hard ships in our life but it¿s the good ones tha¬t count¿. This memoir describes how he lives his every day after being told the defecating news. Every Second Counts is a very moving and inspirational book. For Lance ¿cancer¿ was a cure to life. For him when he got out of the hospital he truly lived like ¿every second counts¿ That¿s is what this fantastic inspirational sports memoir is about. In the memoir Lance also details the hard times a person in the public eye has to go through. Like scandals, Lies, and rumors. For example, Lance had rumors of him doping. Only because he was winning!!! This book describes how he fought through lies and personal problems. Another example absolutely no one ever thought he could win the tour after beating cancer. To him the only way of beating the battle of cancer was to win the tour and prove cancer was not going to beat him. Every race he did not race to beat a person or a team he raced to beat and prove to everyone he did and always will have beaten cancer. In this wonderfully written book lance describes how he became a true inspiration for all cancer patience and there families. He also talks about each tour victorie. After you read this book you will be uplifted and very thrilled that you read this masterly crafted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Inspirational

    I really think that this book is great! Maybe at first it may seem dull. I mean come on, who reads about cycling? This book can change your whole view of the cycling world. It's truthful and very understandable. It's great for young readers like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    This Book Can Climb Any Mountain!

    Beautiful and well written book. A book for the ages, and gives a perspective on life's troubling times. This book taught me what hard work could bring. Thanks Lance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Never Say Die, Never Give Up

    This book is a book that should be read by everyone. Reading about how Lance Armstring can battle cancer, go through chemo, and turn around and show the world that he is still here, is amazing. He breaks down every step he had to take, every session, every appointment, every opponent, every injury, and put it together and made an incredible biography out of it. I believe that he is an incredible role model, for he says that he feels better by helping out children with cancer, or anyone with the disease. He also shows everyone that faith is stone. If you just believe it, will all work out. I liked how he reacted to all of his tests, and when we had been accused so many times by the French. He just continued his life, cycling and not worry about it. Lance, you are incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Profound Must Read for Everyone!

    It was an honor to read this book. At times funny, at times charming, at times deeply moving, at times thrilling... and most of all, at all times like being with and learning from perhaps one of the most impressive human beings of our time. To say this is a MUST READ is an understatement of grand proportions! Deeply inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Best Sports Book out...fun to read.

    Lance almost bears all in his stories about winning the last two TOUR de France races. Having watched the last TOUR and now having read Lance's book I appreciate more the torture of the TOUR...it must be an incredible thrill to win this unique event. To Lance, good luck make it SIX, and I pray you and Kik get back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Wonderful!!

    This book is truly my favorite. A very moving book.Parts of the book had me crying. I wish more people would read this book because they don't know what they're missing. I just hope Lance keeps writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    A great read!

    It's hard to think of it this way, but this book was a more enjoyable read than 'It's Not About The Bike'. Hard to think of it that way, as we are speaking about a person's life experiences, but it was 'entertaining' to hear about what jumps through his mind at different points in his ride through life. If you have ever watched Lance ride a bicycle, you have probably put yourself in his shoes at least for a second, and wondered what it would be like. This book helps answer some of that for you. The writing style is captivating, and down-to-earth. It's good to hear he sits back and has a beer (and listens to Marley!). Makes it all seem that much more amazing. A regular guy goes all out and achieves his goals. So.. sit back, relax and hitch onto Lance's wheel as you follow him along through a crazy stretch of road. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Another Yellow Jersey, Another Great Book...

    Lance's straight forward, tell it like it is style is evident again. He is a master at making his life and experience relevant to all. He inspires on the bike and in print. He truly is 'driven by what's inside...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Family, Teammates and Cancer Survivors mean more than wins!

    Lance fans and even those who nothing about him will love this book, I finished it in two evenings. His amazing comeback from cancer gave him an insight into how to live his life better and Every Second Counts proves it. Lance is very honest about himself, he doesn't claim to be perfect and knows he didn't get where he is by himself. His humility and acknowledgement of the importance of his teammates, family and friends is refereshing to see in this day of athletes who think they did it all alone. The sections dealing with his work with cancer patients and survivors let you see Lance as a deeply caring man who is dedicated to helping defeat the disease and help others survive as he has. For those of us who are Tour de France and cycling fans, the inside information on what goes on in the peloton and this years exciting race are fabulous. The book is remarkably candid, Lance is in a class by himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Ride with me

    Mr. Armstrong's decision to share his journey is touching and therapeutic to me. I consider myself a private person and ask myself if I had the same experience could I share so much of me. He turned himself inside out(pretty much like I would a pair of socks). He reminded me its O.K to be human, to feel pain, hopelessnes, despair and even anger. But He did not stop there. He acknowledged these feelings/emotions and used them to transform and rejuvinate rather than debilitate. Sharing all the details was a welcomed and gentle invitation to journey with him and I am so glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    'Anticipating' Lance rules...

    It's not about the bike, has bin a great insperation to me. Lance has shown that if you cant play wiht the big boy's,Dont play at all!!TRU champ, and my hero.I sugest to all school teacher's to incurage your student's to read both book's.Inspire them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    As thrilling as a ride on the Madone.

    An excellent read, with a different perspective than Lance's first book. I immensely enjoyed the extra chapter on this year's Tour de France and especially Luz Arden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Your last book helped me, Lance

    I'm looking forward to reading more about Lance's amazing life. Can't wait for 'Every Second Counts.' Ride on, Lance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    inspiring!

    I can not wait for the release. The preview was great. As a soon to be father I like to hear about how he handle's all of the other aspects of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1