Customer Reviews for

Every Soul A Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I read this book for a school book project. Honestly, I didn't think I would enjoy it. As I found out - again - never judge a book by it's cover! The details create a totally new atmosphere. One thing about this book really caught my interest... The chapters are arrange...
I read this book for a school book project. Honestly, I didn't think I would enjoy it. As I found out - again - never judge a book by it's cover! The details create a totally new atmosphere. One thing about this book really caught my interest... The chapters are arranged by characters' point of view. For example, there are three chapter 1's. Alley 1, Bree 1 and Jack 1. Wendy Mass introduced a new style of writing to me. I loved the formatting of this book and I ABSOLUTELY loved the storyline. Once you get into the plot and get to know the characters, you find yourself wondering, how much can change? - even in the blink of an eye.

posted by Book-addict-808 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BleehAlo'zReview ;D

Wendy Mass,Every Soul a Star, has interesting,unique characters, an enchanting plot,and heartwarming Themes which make it a great book for teen readers. Its a Beautiful clear summer night at Moonshadow Campground.People form all over the Country come here to catch a Gli...
Wendy Mass,Every Soul a Star, has interesting,unique characters, an enchanting plot,and heartwarming Themes which make it a great book for teen readers. Its a Beautiful clear summer night at Moonshadow Campground.People form all over the Country come here to catch a Glimpse of the total eclipse of the Sun at this same time 3 Very different characters meet and what happens next is Life Changing. Every Soul a Star has 3 Typical types of teens, which would lead us to Ally the plain and simple type,Bree Shes more of a Girly Girl and Ms Popularity in school, and then theirs the shy,lonely type which is Jack.Both Bree and Ally are not really looking forward to whats gonna happen on their trip to Camp Moonshadow, unlike jack ecstatic to see whats in store since his usual summers are always spent in summer school,and bored at home. This Story has so Much events leading up to a great lesson that both ally and Bree learned which can be related to the quote "Don't judge a book by its Cover" Since they think that all of a sudden this trip is Going to ruin everything which at the end it ends up being something they are never to forget. As for jack he goes threw a great experience and finds himself making lots of new friends and not being as isolated as before.

posted by 2953360 on February 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book for EVERYONE

    This is the best book that i've read in a long time. It made me smile & makes for an easy read. The perfect book for someone who doesnt read all that often - OR someone who reads a lot. I found this book surprisingly deep & was actually sad when i finished the book. I just didnt want it to end. I could really relate to the characters too.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    R u confused

    I bet if u have read 11 b-days then u really liked it and r back for more this is the book u want trust me for anyone 9+ u will love it or even if u have not read 11 b-day u shold still read this book read it READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really good story

    The Book was actually better than I expected it to be. This book was just different than all the other books I read. I enjoyed it very much, and its worth reading. Without doubt I would recommend this book to a friend. The story is very good at explaining that you should not hate something before you even experience it. I think if I recommend this book to my friends thy would also recommend it to their friends.
    I have also heard about the other books by Wendy Mass and they all seem very interesting. I have read the reviews for 11 Birthdays and I really want to read it. Its really cool that the character's birthday keeps repeating and, I am really interested in knowing how she stops it from repeating. I haven't looked into any other books by Wendy Mass but I will be sure to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Sorry

    Didn't mean to post below anyway the two things are what age is it for and is there any romance?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Highly recommended to everyone!!!!

    Introduction
    Every Soul a Star is about two girls and a boy tell, their journey of how they all met. It had its happy and funny moments; there was not one part of this book that never has one sad moment. The authors purpose was to show once you get to know someone then, if you guys could turn out to be really good friends. This book is good for middle school girls because, it talks about how Ali and Bree like these two boys who are on the campground. It really expresses the emotions of the two girls and a boy named Jack who hits it off with Ali because they have a lot in common. Bree is starting to like this boy who grew up with Ali and they only got to see each other during the summer, and he was starting to like Bree too.
    Description and summary of main points
    Every Soul a Star is about three teenagers meet at a campground owned by Ali¿s parents and Bree¿s parents are going to take over while Ali and her family left for the city. Jack was failing science and, he got a call from his former teacher and if he went with him to the campground he wouldn¿t have to go to summer school. Everyone was going to the campground because, there was a big eclipse coming. Jack got to the campground and met Ali¿s friends that she grew up with, so Jake and he started hanging out. After Jake met Ali he knew he liked her because, they were all into the same things! Bree and Ali¿s friend was starting to like each other because; they were both popular and beautiful so they had something¿s in common.
    Evaluation
    I would have changed only a few things about the book. ¿I am not plain, or average- God forbid- Vanilla. I am peanut butter rocky road with multicolored sprinkles, hot fudge and a cherry top.¿-Wendy Mass This means that Ali is not like everyone and she has different personality¿s than everyone else. She doesn¿t like to be all dressed up of where make-up. She always hated when Bree tried to make her wear make-up and brush her hair but, she never did anything and just ignored her. This is one of the best books I have read in a while. It was one of those books you never wanted to put down. If you are looking for funny and a happy book this is the book you should read. Some moments should not have been in the book because It had to many details at certain parts.

    Conclusion
    In the end it was a wonderful book! II am so going to recommend this book to others such as friends and family. If you are looking for a book to have fun reading that has funny moments this is the book for you! Some of my favorite moments was when Ali and Bree were making a lists for the parents of while Ali should stay and Bree should go back home. During this whole process of trying to get their parents connived they started to become friends. Jack was going to look for a old lady he met on the bus to the campground and they were at a hotel before heading to the campground. Jack went looking for the women and found her in the garden doing yoga! It was the funniest moment! Some parts of the book were tricky and complicated to understand.
    Your final review

    My final review of this book is that it was amazing! It had so many interesting moments because; they all became friends in the end! I give the book 4 out of 5 because, there were some complicated and tricky moments that you could not understand. I t taught people that once you meet someone for the first time that you can hit it off with them and become friends. It taught me that always be dedicated to helping someone

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    A very cute book

    I thought that this book was entertaining , yet educational. It gave a small glimpse of astronomy that made me want to do more research ,while the characters kept pulling me into the story. i thought the characters were relatable and sweet. I would definately recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    This was an awesome book!

    I loved reading from three points of view! For the most part, very entertaining, and exciting! A must read by Wendy Mass!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    I rember reading this

    Good bk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Wow!

    I think that this book is great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Shoot for the Stars

    Hiya guys I recommened this books to people that i guess you could say LIKES stars. Yes i have read this book for a while and I do love it. Escpecially how she is descriptive. I love the caracters in the stoy even though some can be boring. I really like Allie and how Jack dreams about saving his girl. I have stopped reading this book but its because i guess u could say it got a little boring towards the middle. Also because of many spelling errors. I am going to pick this bok up again and try to finish it his time. I have read a book that is GREAT! Dispite the negitive comments. The book is called The Juliet Club. I think people tgat love romance or not should check it out! I LOVE this book SO CHECK IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thx :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    TAP HERE

    A great book!!!
    Cant wait 2 read again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great

    This book was good. Im not in to astronamy that much, but it is still great! Over all, awesome! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Cool

    This book was sooo good...!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Did anyone else notice?

    I have not read this book but I do not think I will, considering that the overview looked as if it were writen by a child... First, it should be "where" not "were." Second, the name Jack should have been capitalized. I do believe there was other misspelled words too. Thank you if you noticed. You are smart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great

    I am reading this book for a competetion. And it is has been keeping on th edge of my chair. Just Awesome.
    Have Fun :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    O.M.G

    I love..Love. LOVE, Wendy Mass! I loved all her books- but this one. Only read 10 percent, but I have to read it now. o.e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    By anonymous

    Very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A great read!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great book but it took me 4 months to read cuz im a really slow reader!!

    So ya....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Loved it

    This book was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3