Customer Reviews for

Every Which Way But Dead (Hollows Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(455)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 655 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Every Which Way But Dead

    Since reading the first of the Rachel Morgan series, I have grown to love getting the next in the chain. Every time I dive into the pages and submerge into the world that Kim Harrison so eloquently portrays, I feel a part of the story. Her extraordinary gift is making such fantasy feel whole, real and totally believable.
    This to me was the failing of others like buffy, which always felt unreal. Rachel is sassy, and knows what real life is, and to me they should put these into film ASAP!
    Book 3 Rachel starts to think she can start getting her life in order, but as always things never quite go to plan. Living with a family of Pixies, a living vampire and having your boyfriend as a familiar would suggest 'normality' is a dream that will never come true, but lets hope Rachel can do it.
    If you are looking to drop out of the hum-drum and into a complex and real fantasy world, with adult emotions shown with grit and feeling, these are the books for you, and book 3 is even better!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Page-Turner!

    Kim Harrison is definitely in my top 10 favorite authors, especially for the books she wrote as Dawn Cook. This novel was full of action, humor, and a whole bunch of sass! Just as good as the first two in the series, and bodes really well for future novels. Harrison really knows how to develop interesting characters! If you enjoy this author, you will also like the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs, "Grimspace" by Ann Aguirre, "Stray" by Rachel Vincent, and perhaps the Riley Jensen series by Keri Arthur.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EVRY WHICH WAY BUT DEAD...GREAT SERIES!

    Yeah, ok, so since reading the first of the Rachel Morgan series, I have grown to love getting the next in the chain. Every time I dive into the pages and submerge into the world that Kim Harrison so eloquently portrays, I feel a part of the story. Her extraordinary gift is making such fantasy feel whole, real and totally believable. <BR/>This to me was the failing of others like buffy, which always felt unreal. Rachel is sassy, and knows what real life is, and to me they should put these into film ASAP! <BR/>Book 3 Rachel starts to think she can start getting her life in order, but as always things never quite go to plan. Living with a family of Pixies, a living vampire and having your boyfriend as a familiar would suggest 'normality' is a dream that will never come true, but lets hope Rachel can do it. <BR/>If you are looking to drop out of the hum-drum and into a complex and real fantasy world, with adult emotions shown with grit and feeling, these are the books for you, and book 3 is even better! Very addicting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    An extremely entertaining read.

    I was absolutely delighted that I had the oppotunity to read this novel. This is the first book that I read out of the series not knowing that it, indeed, had other books before this and more to follow. One character in particular caught my attention immediately. Jenks!! Of course Kisten was enchanting but I dont believe the story would be what it was without Jenks. Its thrilling, dangerous, with a dash of humor to keep you captivated. If you have read the first three I would suggest you keep reading. If this is your first as it was mine then Id advise you to go back and read the first two first. And for those who have not read this enticing novel I recommend that you pacify your taste buds with this satisfying book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Absolutely amazing

    Sexy, exciting, and keeps you guessing. This whole series pulls at your imagination and brings alive The Hallows im addicted

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harrison keeps this series going strong.

    Each book lets you learn a little more about the characters and, believe me, there is still more to learn. And the reader meets new characters or has more revealed about someone you thought might be a side character but ends up being pulled into the mix. I think that's the strength of these books; you really WANT to know more about everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Ben

    I forgot which place to go to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hollows by Kim Harrison is definitely one of my favorite se

    The Hollows by Kim Harrison is definitely one of my favorite series of all time. Every Which Way But Dead is the third book in the series and is another example of the excellent writing of Kim Harrison. I think I'd enjoy reading her grocery list.

    Rachel is in trouble. She's wrestling the demon Al to keep her freedom; trying to find her way in her relationship with Ivy, her roommate; getting hot under the collar for Kistan, the vampire; and arguing with her partner, Jenks. So, yah, everything's normal.

    While the story is great, the genius as always in this series is the characters. Harrison writes characters that can pop off the page and go out to dinner with you. As long as it's not Piscary, the vampire kingpin.

    You can read this book without reading the first two in the series, but I think it would be more enjoyable to start with the first book, Dead Witch Walking and read them in order. This series is a must read for paranormal/supernatural vampire, pixy, werewolf fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Awesomeness!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    I have read all the Rachel Morgan books multiple times.

    I have read all the Rachel Morgan books multiple times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Kim harrison did it again

    In this third installment...glad nick is out of her life that wimp.....but will not get into details because people hate spoilers!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Amazing!

    This series is a must read! She has a way coming up with more amazing adventures that will keep you on the edge and wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    A fun romp through a magical world

    Kim Harrison and her itchy witch Rachel Morgan are awesome. They are not heavy reading like Voltaire or Kant. But, they are fun, energizing, well written, awesomely developed and just a good all around read. When you just have to have something fun to do this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love them!

    Live them keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    good book

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Excellent series!!  Love all the characters!!

    Excellent series!!  Love all the characters!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    super

    she keeps getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Fantastic writer

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    So Glad I found this series!!

    I don't know what I would do if I didn't find this series. I read all the Stephanie Plum books, I am working my way through the Anita Blake series (at break neck speeds, I might add). I was starting to worry that I would not find another, oh so great, "page turner" in time. I will admit, the begining of the first book I found a little too full of information, but now I cannot get enough. I buy a couple of books every payday to ensure i don't run out between payday's. Just AWESOME! I so cannot wait to read more. I gotta have more, oohhh, twinges of my old adictive personality returning. I better be careful.... awe what am I talking about....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Every Wich eay but Dead is Amazing

    This story is like so awesome already and I love her books I alrady have read her first two plus 'Dead Witches Tell No Tales' I have a goal to read all of he Rachel Morgan based books even if it kills me this book is really good I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves fantasy and action based slightly on he real world
    YOUR FAITHFUL REVIEWER,
    The Girl Maruader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 655 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33