Customer Reviews for

Every You, Every Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but the avant-garde way of presenting the material is a bit trying at times

    Everyone knows everyone they are close to. But.even with the best of friends, no one can actually know ALL there is to know about someone else. And it comes as a huge surprise to Evan that his best friend, Ariel, was someone who had many sides to her that Evan didn't even know existed. Evan loved Ariel, in a way. They talked all the time, hung out with each other, shared their tortured lives, and seemed to be the only ones in the world who understood the other. Jack was Ariel's boyfriend. He was more of the handsome, jock type. Even though Evan likes Jack, he was always a bit surprised with the way his friend acted around him. What Evan never could seem to understand is that Ariel as his "friend" was far different than Ariel as "Jack's girlfriend." But he learned to accept that, seeing as that without Ariel, Evan had no idea what to do in life. When our story begins, Evan is mourning the 'loss' of his friend. She is gone now, and Evan is trying to find a way to recover, go on with his life, and get rid of the pure and utter guilt he has over his own participation in Ariel's disappearance. The odd thing, however, is that Evan has started to receive pictures; little white envelopes have shown up in locations that Evan visits, as well as his locker at school. These are pictures of Ariel, him, Jack, and locales where he and Ariel used to hang out. Evan begins to wonder if Ariel is somehow back; perhaps she is the one leaving the pictures for him to find in order to make his heart hurt even worse. Or maybe someone else is sending these cryptic messages to Evan to torment him - maybe they know of his 'actions' in Ariel's demise. The author brings the reader on a very in-depth journey. The book is written with pages that are crossed out, as well as pages with pictures and no words, and chapters that are broken out into alphabetical sections, allowing the reader to feel as if they are not only reading a novel - but they are also watching a court case unfold. Quill Says: Yes, the meaning of the book is clearly stated, but the avant-garde way of presenting the material is a bit trying at times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Amazing book

    I loved this book. It had me with endless quesions. They were answered lovely at the end. Its worth your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Maybe

    Should i get this???????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved how this novel connected pictures with the storyl

    I really loved how this novel connected pictures with the storyline, and if I read the acknowledgments correctly, Johnathan Farmer provided random photos and David Levithan wrote them into his story--neither of them knowing what exactly the other was doing. That's really neat, and the fact that it worked into a viable story just blows my mind! I wouldn't be able to write a story based on a photo and then keep it going through other random photos given to me, but that's why I'm not a talented author and Levithan is. The photos really worked out very well, and I'm glad that Farmer chose to stay in one genre because it added a little bit of spook factor as well.

    I liked that this novel was difficult to pin down--I didn't know who to trust, who was really crazy, and what happened to Ariel; if she's dead or in an insane asylum... it's not made clear for some time, though allusions are made. Though I never connected with the characters on a deep level, I was definitely entwined in their story and I really enjoyed it, until the revelation. For me, I just felt like the revelation of Ariel was forced; not possible, if you will. And I basically feel this way because I can't fathom how someone would be able to do what Ariel did, or how her boyfriend and best friend wouldn't have known... I'm being cryptic here because I don't want to give away the story, but overall, the execution and plotline was great until the very end. That's where it lost me. Do I recommend it? Yes I do—perhaps you’ll enjoy the ending more than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Emo, emo, emo. Full of young adult ¿emo-tism¿, if that¿s what th

    Emo, emo, emo. Full of young adult “emo-tism”, if that’s what they call it. I was disappointed because I liked David Levithan’s Everyday and this is just the total opposite for me. But I loved the photographs though. :D That’s what kept me interested. ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    hm.. well, it was okay, for me. It was confusing.......

    hm.. well, it was okay, for me. It was confusing.......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Wow

    Just wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I share the name of the girl who disappeared...

    And it's spelled the same way too. Is it good though? ~The Little Mermaid

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    So weird

    This book is ok. Interesting in the pictures and the thoughts that are scratched out, but there are so many words scratched out that it gets a little tiresome reading through lines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Creepy?

    Pleaz right bac. Thanks.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Never is a promise

    Every me, every you is a beautiful and haunting story of wondering if you made the right choice to help someone. David Levathian has written a book that even after the last page is read the story just stays with if you get chance please read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Pretty good.

    I found this book to be quite hard to put down. There were some slow parts, but for the most part, it was pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    So Good!

    I just bought this book today! and I am so excited to read it. I read a few pages in the store and could not wait to keep reading. David Levithan is amazing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Every You, Every Me

    I may be a tad bias since I am in love David Levithan but I think that this novel was great! I fell in love with the author when I first read Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist which he co-wrote with Rachel Cohn. Then I read another co-written book by David and John Green entitled Will Grayson, Will Grayson which was AMAZING to say the least. He is a brilliant writer and he made the characters in Every you, Every me very compelling. This was a different way of writing: David crossed out words and sentences, used very intriguing pictures by Jonathan Framer and still made me buzz to read on. You learn to love the main character Evan on his quest to figure out who is the mysteriously sending the photo's to Evan while you continue to grow more empathetic to Ariel, his best friend--- or so Evan thought. :) This is a novel about friendship, mystery, discovery, morals and the attempt of truly knowing every type of person in someone. All in all, I liked this book and I recommend you read it, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    *

    Really great book! Makes u never want to put the book down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1