BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easliy Readable, Pratical, Helpful, and Rooted in Scripture and Love.

I found this book to encompass every aspect that I wrote above. I would recommend it to anyone, but espically GUYS who struggle with temptation and those who have fallen into it so many times. This book is open and clear on guilt associated with masturbation, pornograph...
I found this book to encompass every aspect that I wrote above. I would recommend it to anyone, but espically GUYS who struggle with temptation and those who have fallen into it so many times. This book is open and clear on guilt associated with masturbation, pornography, premarital sex, 'messing around'... everything. Again, a must read. It has helped me greatly wiht my personal struggle and my relationship with Christ.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book is NOT for "every" young man

This book is awesome for those young men who have compulsive or addictive personality disorders. It is not written, as the title suggests, for every young healthy man. Sexuality is a difficult topic to address in one small book, but someone really needs to write a Chr...
This book is awesome for those young men who have compulsive or addictive personality disorders. It is not written, as the title suggests, for every young healthy man. Sexuality is a difficult topic to address in one small book, but someone really needs to write a Christian book on sexuality for young men that is not bent as this book is toward assuming that its readers are actually addicted to sexual things.

posted by Rob_MFC_Christian on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Easliy Readable, Pratical, Helpful, and Rooted in Scripture and Love.

    I found this book to encompass every aspect that I wrote above. I would recommend it to anyone, but espically GUYS who struggle with temptation and those who have fallen into it so many times. This book is open and clear on guilt associated with masturbation, pornography, premarital sex, 'messing around'... everything. Again, a must read. It has helped me greatly wiht my personal struggle and my relationship with Christ.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    One of the five most honest and practical books I've read

    This is an incredible book. I am a 24 year old Youth Pastor who has been married for a little over two years. This book is great for all guys married and unmarried, Christian and non Christian alike. It is a very honest, biblically based book on how men living in today's world can overcome the sexual temptation that is ever before our eyes, lurking in our minds and one click away on the TV remote. It is a great book that is relevant for everyone from the person who frequents strip clubs to the shopper in the mall that steals a glimpse of the Victoria's Secret store front.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I have never read a book about christian character or integrity that got to the heart of the matter quite so clearly as this. There is NO theological fluff in this book. Everything is pertinent and tangible. It is not only a reliable biblical view but it is also realistic, practical, and sensible. Any man that reads this will feel both encouraged and convicted. This book should be circulated in every Christian circle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    This book is NOT for "every" young man

    This book is awesome for those young men who have compulsive or addictive personality disorders. It is not written, as the title suggests, for every young healthy man. Sexuality is a difficult topic to address in one small book, but someone really needs to write a Christian book on sexuality for young men that is not bent as this book is toward assuming that its readers are actually addicted to sexual things.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lingering Looks

    The right "protection" in the world of sex is presented inside these covers. In this book the reader receives useful tips to assist the teen & young adult to stay & walk worthy before God. This book encourages the reader to avoid succumbing to the pressures of the "world" (their peers) to conform to morals/standards/values that he/she does not believe in. A great book for youth groups to deal with youth/young adult situations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    It brought light to my eyes!

    Ok. First of all i must start out by saying that i in fact used to be enchanted by sex. Since ive been with my new girlfriend ive been in a battle to fight temptations. If you are looking to fight the burning temptations that you have within yourself you need this book. I strongly recomend it to everyone

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    Truly a MUST read for a Younger Audience...

    This is an excellent book for both young men and women. For guys- it truly helps you realize how God veiws all sexual activity. For girls- This books helps you to realize how much young men struggle with todays sexual society. It will truly get you 'into a guys mind'. I truly suggest to all peoples, young or old, sexually active or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    This book changed my marriage

    My husband read this book with his D-group(discipship group) to prepare for their purity ceremony. This book opened his eyes to things he had been struggling with for years and he learned how to channel his sexual energies into our marriage and out of this world.Although, I would suggest Every Man's Battle for every male over the age of 18. This is a book for all young males.When my boys are older they will for sure be getting a copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Women need to read this!

    I bought this book for my boyfriend because I thought it would be good for him. I did not really know what it was about, but I liked the title. Girls, this book was an eye-opener! I had heard that guys struggle with sex, but I never really understood until I read this book. Any other information I had read was too general to really get into a guy's head. Girlfriends and moms need to read this so they can help the boys in their lives deal with temptation. Read this, and you will never again leave one of your fashion magazines or Victoria's Secrets catalogues where your brother or boyfriend can get ahold of it! Don't live in the dark! Buy this book and share it with your friends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    GREAT!

    This is a wonderful book, it really hit home with me, and a lot of the other young men in my youth group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Very well written - Every guy should read it

    The book addresses everything guys go through when it comes to a desire for sex. The authors don't hold back like you might expect, they're straight at you. The discussion ranges from lust to premarital sex and everything in between. If you feel like you're a slave to your desires then you'll find this book to be an encouragement with useful tactics for living pure. The authors wrote this book based on experience having gone through what most guys deal with (and worse). It is a must read for young men struggling to stay pure (which is ALL of us).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    BEWARE!!Not everything it's says is entirely true...

    There are some parts of this book I agree wholeheartedly with (like the pornoghraphy issue and training the eyes), however if the Author's of this book had done their research and contacted an Intertility Specialist prior to publishing this book, they would have discovered that when a man does not masturbate long term, it can cause him to be infertile. How do I know? Because I have lived the devasting consequences of that through my own marriage. Dear friends, how can his infertility possibly 'be fruitful and multiply' if he's refrained from orgasm for many years? I think a better alternative to address would be how to be orgasmic and have pure thoughts at the same time. It takes time to learn from the fallen behaviors we lived in, but it can be accomplished. It is my belief that if one cannot learn pure thoughts through practice, how can one possibly have pure thoughts while he's having sex with his wife? I would like to see this Author address this issue in another book. Maybe he could title it 'Every Couple's Battle.' -and if he doesn't, I may just be the next one to write it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Every Man¿s Battle, while preaching freedom from ¿the slavery of

    Every Man’s Battle, while preaching freedom from “the slavery of sexual sin” actually enslaves men to traditions and teachings of men. It treats “maleness” as the enemy and tries to make a false contrast between “maleness” and “true manhood”. The authors of this of this book, rather than calling men to war against their sin nature, calls them to war against the male nature that God designed them with.

    With their "bounce of eyes" methodology men are taught that it is a sin to enjoy the sight of a beautifully formed woman. They draw no distinction between what Lust actually is, and the normal pleasure men receive from seeing a woman's form. It is absolutely Biblically and biologically absurd to teach men that if they receive mental sexual pleasure from the mere site of any woman other than one they are married to that they are sinning.

    When Jesus taught about lusting after a woman, it was not some new commandment. He was referencing back to the 10th commandment that said a man should not covet his neighbor's wife. Lust is covetousness, no more, no less. So if you enjoy a woman's beauty without it leading to thoughts about how you can take possession of her, or thoughts of how to get her to sleep with you outside of marriage then it is NOT lust.

    Another major problem with this book is its attack on masturbation. The authors say that nocturnal emissions are God's natural way of relieving a man's natural sperm buildup.
    But what they cover up is the fact that if you do have a nocturnal emission, it is because you had a sexual dream, you just can't remember it so somehow that makes it OK.

    Young man I invite you to critically think about this. If your mind can put together a sexual dream and cause a release for you than why is it wrong for you to do this while you are awake? They have no answer for this. It is NOT lust to masturbate to the image of a beautiful woman.

    Lust is when you start having thoughts about how you can take sexual possession of a woman without first being married to her, to think of luring a woman into sex without marriage is the heart of Biblical lust.

    I invite the reader to check out the Facebook group Every man's battle is wrong for more detailed Biblical critical view of this book.

    Please don't be trapped by the false teachings of this book, or other well meaning Christian teachers.

    I am a Bible believing Christian and I can tell you from the Bible these men may be sincere, but they are sincerely wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    IF YOU NEED ADVICE OR HELP

    If you need advice or help we're the people to see.We can give you advice on Boyfriends/Girlfriends,Fasion,School,and so much more.So if you need advice look up'help advice'it can be any of the results because we have an entire network of people how will give you advice.See ya there. ^.^

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    The only reason to read this book is because it is amazing to ma

    The only reason to read this book is because it is amazing to make fun of with your friends. It's advice is laughable for any boy actually trying to defeat sexual urges. It pretty much gives the advice of 'just stop it' and does more shaming than helping. It also gives very contradictory advice to that provided in the "Every Young Woman's Battle" book. Not helpful at all but very hilarious at times. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2