Customer Reviews for

Everybody Loves a Happy Ending

Average Rating 5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    McCartneyesque, yet Not Vintage

    I'd say the current CD is actually not vintage TFF, simply because the sonic experience is a total departure from earlier efforts. Certain tracks sound so Abbey Road-Admiral Halsey that you'd think Smith and Orzabal were coproducers of McCartney's "Band on the Run." Not a single track reminds me of "Mad World" or "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" or "Goodbye Song." But the album is extraordinarily listenable, with every tune being maddeningly catchy and with occasionally remarkable verbal imagery. ("Stuck inside a wheel inside a wheel / Wondering every day is it all for real.") Lurking in the background, the single link to early TFF: an almost obsessive attention to psychodynamics and the dangers of the human condition. (Note that the word "who" appears in two song titles, as does killing.) Yet now TFF's search for answers is swathed in pure pop pleasure. This seems like a very different sound for TFF, but it's so successful that I'll still be listening to their next attempt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wow! fantastic!! the boys are back!

    LOUIS LONEN HEADQUARTERS... I grew up in the 80's, the cowboy years. they were great then, they are great now. 20th century masters and beyond! the new album is sensational.It has'nt left my car cd player! everybody loves a happy ending is the perfect title. every body can relate. new and old! gotta go! I'll be back to review the tracks individually. all of them are great!!! Buy It, I highly recommend it!!!!! Lonen out--------

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vintage Tears for Fears

    Listening to this for the first time was like being wrapped in a warm blanket. This is the TFF we loved and missed. Every track is welcoming and memorable. I cant get it out of my head, and I don't want to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SUPER CD!

    LOTS OF GREAT TEARS FOR FEARS HERE!!! SAW THEM LIVE IN AC A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO ! GREAT SHOW!! "Killing with Kindness" a personal favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No wonder: They got it!

    Simply one of the best comebacks in recent years. Beatlesque, smooth, clever, nice and easy, with the hooks in their right place. With closed eyes: This is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Reunion Worth Its Wait (Weight?)

    Everybody Loves a Happy Ending is an album that was worth the wait. Though separately, Roland and Curt are musically supreme, the sound of the boys together – again - is incomparable. Each song, from beginning to end, flows into the next in near-seamless transition. Of all the songs on the album “The Devil” is my least favorite with it’s sober funeralesque sound. “Who Killed Tangerine” is a captivating song, but could be improved sans the twisted soap-opera-ish piano intro. The music box sounds of “Last Days on Earth” give the album the fairy tale sensation, validating the perfect choice of the title. Many of the tracks, such as “Killing with Kindness” and “Ladybird” surround the album in an aura of realism that lies beneath the fairy tale “ending,” opposing the high spirited impression of the title track, “Closest Thing to Heaven,” and “Call Me Mellow.” But any long-time fan of Tears For Fears should know to expect the bittersweet from this long-awaited reunion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't you just love a happy ending? Well, so do I!

    Quite brilliant is my first impression! Ambitious, yes. Pretentious, maybe (but, then again, what's wrong with pretention). Their best effort since The Hurting, absolutely! Melodical, playful, complex and full of small hints of the sixties (The Beatles, Crosby, Still & Nash etc). Well produced without the clinical sound of Raoul and The Kings of Spain. I love it and so will you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everybody Loves a Happy Ending

    ELAHE is a great album with 12 great songs, all of them have the perfect sound of TFF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    It was absolutely awsome to hear the new Tears for Fears album, it was refreshing and it's got a great sound, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They're Back and Better Than Ever

    This was a much anticipated album after their breakup and definitely worth the wait! While their musical styles have both developed and matured over the years, Roland and Curt both bring their artistic talents to this album to provide an eclectic collection of music with resounding TFF qualities. Old TFF fans and new ones alike will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everybody Loves a Happy Ending

    ELAHE marks the return of Curt and Roland,which is the first time they have recorded together since 1989´s Seeds of Love. TFF HAVE A GREAT ALBUM!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Matured ...

    The 80's are dead ... long live the 80's! ELAHE isn't, for me, stereotypical Tears for Fears; it doesn't have thrashing tunes, just mellow, mature tunes with depth and feeling. I'm so thrilled Roland and Curt sorted out their differences to bring us this wonderful album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yes Everybody Loves a Happy Ending

    I really enjoyed this album I have it in my car CD player and in my CD player in the house. Love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best album I've ever heard!!

    I love the new TFF album. It's the best album I've heard in a very long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM HAPPY AGAIN!

    After a long time of waiting Tears For Fears please us with another excellent album. I am a fan of the beginning (1983) and I am very happy about this new one! Just go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply, very good!

    All these 15 years were unable to lost the Tears For Fears's musical quality. They're sensitive yet to make incredible songs. Congratulations, guys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    **{THE END!?}**

    This album is so great that I have recruited my husband as a TFF fan. This album is top notch, it has been in my CD player since September 14th. By far the sweetest thing I've heard in almost 15 years. --- listen to "Last Days on Earth" you will fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So happy that TFF is back together again

    I am a huge fan of TFF and own every one of their albums. They sound better than ever, it was worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great comeback album

    After a much anticipated reunion, the band does not disappoint. The album should easily appeal to diehard TFF fans from the 80's and 90's, as it reflects song and lyric characteristics from their previous albums, as well as a noticable influence from the Beatles. Yet, with a willingness to try new things and provide a variety of songs, you can tell the band has matured and is poised for a new generation of fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An excellent album

    This entire album is excellent, a very well crafted effort from Tears for Fears, wonderful songwriting, great melodies. My favorite ones are: "Everybody Loves a Happy Ending," "Call Me Mellow," "Size of Sorrow," "Who Killed Tangerine," "The Devil," "Killing With Kindness," etc. Well I find it hard just to choose my favorite one because all the songs are great, each is very unique evoking different feelings. You may want to keep this gem spinning on your cd player for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2