Customer Reviews for

Everybody's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 391 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Journey to forgiveness

Michael Stewart, a single father, does his best in providing a life for his teenage daughter, Elizabeth. Desperate to make sure a previous love of his life is safe from a brutal oppressor, Michael seeks a way back to first-century Jerusalem.
Shortly after Michael finds...
Michael Stewart, a single father, does his best in providing a life for his teenage daughter, Elizabeth. Desperate to make sure a previous love of his life is safe from a brutal oppressor, Michael seeks a way back to first-century Jerusalem.
Shortly after Michael finds a way back, his daughter follows.
The author takes us back and forth between their situations.
I won't give away the entire plot but Sullivan moves me back and forth with my emotions -- meeting Jesus at the Sermon on the Mount, having a chance to chance a tragic circumstance, desperate to find his daughter, and another meeting with Jesus.
The ending was stunning, too.
It's a book any age can read too. I was emotionally drained at the end of the story. Well done.

posted by AuthorMichaelJSullivan on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written

Grammatically awkward and awkward dialogue - I didn't even get past the first chapter. IMHO, needs substantially more editing.

posted by CharH on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Journey to forgiveness

    Michael Stewart, a single father, does his best in providing a life for his teenage daughter, Elizabeth. Desperate to make sure a previous love of his life is safe from a brutal oppressor, Michael seeks a way back to first-century Jerusalem.
    Shortly after Michael finds a way back, his daughter follows.
    The author takes us back and forth between their situations.
    I won't give away the entire plot but Sullivan moves me back and forth with my emotions -- meeting Jesus at the Sermon on the Mount, having a chance to chance a tragic circumstance, desperate to find his daughter, and another meeting with Jesus.
    The ending was stunning, too.
    It's a book any age can read too. I was emotionally drained at the end of the story. Well done.

    43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Excellent

    Never read a book like this one. Kept me wanting to actually be there with the characters. Very good reading.

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Everbody's Daughter

    I was hooked by the third page, it was a really excellent read!! I loved how Micheal John Sullivan, weaves the characters togethet. It was so good, and at times it was a page turner, and I loved how he brought our Lord and Saviour into the story If I see anymore of his books, I will definately get them!!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Wow! This is a book that is truly unique and heartwarming. I was

    Wow! This is a book that is truly unique and heartwarming. I was particularly intrigued by the way the author cleverly wove together the various time frames yet maintained the "person" in each, ultimately bringing them together. A second aspect I really liked was the "real" aspect of the characters - not perfect people (and in fact with obvious hangups), but people who could be used by God.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I thought this was a great read. Definitely more action-packed t

    I thought this was a great read. Definitely more action-packed than the first book in the series. The plot is really intriguing and the characters are well developed.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Poorly written

    Grammatically awkward and awkward dialogue - I didn't even get past the first chapter. IMHO, needs substantially more editing.

    15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Everybody's Daughter is an incredible story of a father timetrav

    Everybody's Daughter is an incredible story of a father timetraveling to find his daughter in the 1st century. Surrounded by dangerous characters seemingly friendly,  Michael Stewart must navigate a treacherous path to safe his daughter and himself. The ending  is stunning and I'm hoping the third book is published soon. 

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Compelling story that leaves you thinking. Looking forward to the third in the series, after I read the first book.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Everybody’s Daughter by Michael John Sullivan is a stand-a

    Everybody’s Daughter by Michael John Sullivan is a stand-alone Christian novel that allows you to meet the characters from his first novel Necessary Heartbreak. A father’s daughter disappears and suspense mounts when her blood his found in his car. He allows himself to hope she’s disappeared in his world where the police can help. It isn’t long before he realizes there is no help for him in this world, and Elizabeth, his daughter, won’t be found in it.

    Sullivan has written another Christian novel to rock your world. Though it is a stand-alone, I highly recommend buying both. I bought, read, and reviewed both and loved them. Sullivan’s vivid description takes you back to first-century Jerusalem with the characters. Michael, Elizabeth’s father discovers the tunnel in a church open and is tempted to return to Jerusalem to look for a woman he fell in love with, Leah. He returns to his world only to discover his daughter is missing. The ending will surprise you. The plot has a twist you don’t expect. This author writes like he’s really been to Jerusalem. If you’re looking for a great Christian novel, don’t miss either of his. He’ll take you on an adventurous journey full of love, hope, and faith. I love the way the author captures today’s youth on the page. Sullivan does an excellent job of contrasting first-century Jerusalem with today's world. You’re in for forty-three chapters of suspense and adventure.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    This exciting time travel story grabbed me from the opening chap

    This exciting time travel story grabbed me from the opening chapter. It's a quick read and it will seem even quicker because the story is not only exciting but intriguing. I can't wait to read Everybody's Daughter the sequel now. 

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Not ready for publication!

    Interesting premise, but horrific writing. This author needs to either work with another writer who knows what he/she is doiing, or spend a great deal more time than was obviously originally spent with a discerning editor and a thick blue pencil! I find it hard to believe that a major publishing house like Simon and Schuster let this book out to the public in its raw condition. Again, interesting ideas for the plot, but the writing needs a major overhaul.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Not for me

    Not for me. This was a very strange book. I was raised very religious and while I read almost everything, this book seems sacreligious. I felt very uncomfortable reading it. I skipped over a lot of pages. There is violence, rape, assult and murder, time travel to bibical times and conversations with Jesus and involvment in miracles. I do not recommend this book.

    AD

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Nice book, but..

    This was an ok book, but at times it seemed to have been written by a 6th grade student.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Wow good read

    I must say this is an exciting story and its nice to have a free read that nones complaining about couse i get tired of hearing people whine about free friday books beong about romance what drivel its free n theres lots of good free books out there

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Disappointed in this book

    I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed in this book...the writing style is very juvenile and the characters are not "believable". References to certain parts of era are out of place as well and there is just too much dialogue to even find the storyline. This is a second in a trilogy and perhaps the first one was better, but I'm afraid this one leaves me not wanting to find out!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This was a unique story in which there was no preaching. I loved

    This was a unique story in which there was no preaching. I loved it because the characters were much like me, messed up but worthy of God's love. There's no judging  and the story flows. You can't help but root for these characters to make it back home.  I felt like I was with them on the trip to Jerusalem. The ending brought tears to my eyes. I didn't realize there was a prequel, An Angel Comes Home. I'll read that and read this again. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    it is a very excellent book that you will love to read!! :)

    it is a very excellent book that you will love to read!! :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Read this in one sitting. Couldn't put it down. Fast paced and g

    Read this in one sitting. Couldn't put it down. Fast paced and got into the Connie character. Redemption and forgiveness are the themes of this time travel mystery. Wonder when the last book will be published.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Everybody's Daughter

    It would be beneficial, to include nice, if the Overview would contain the age reading group + genre that books are geared for. Too many times I have read young readers questions if the book is appropiate for them to read. I would like to have that advantage also for my grandsons :-)
    Looking forward to reading this book because of the wonderful reviews. I have just purchased the prequel, An Angel Came (Comes?) Home for .99 cents to read prior to this book. It gives the background of Farmer's character for this book so one can understand his short lived intro. Thanks to all for the great reviews, I'm sure this will be a great read.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Very poorly written. Weak character development. As another rev

    Very poorly written. Weak character development. As another reviewer said, it is grammatically awkward. I found myself rereading entire sequences of dialog because it did not make sense. There were also sections where I felt I must have missed a page because the text did not flow well or a character was doing something and the reader has no idea how or why he/she got there. I'm sorry I wasted 2 days trying to read this book. :(

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20