Customer Reviews for

Everybody's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 383 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Journey to forgiveness

Michael Stewart, a single father, does his best in providing a life for his teenage daughter, Elizabeth. Desperate to make sure a previous love of his life is safe from a brutal oppressor, Michael seeks a way back to first-century Jerusalem.
Shortly after Michael finds...
Michael Stewart, a single father, does his best in providing a life for his teenage daughter, Elizabeth. Desperate to make sure a previous love of his life is safe from a brutal oppressor, Michael seeks a way back to first-century Jerusalem.
Shortly after Michael finds a way back, his daughter follows.
The author takes us back and forth between their situations.
I won't give away the entire plot but Sullivan moves me back and forth with my emotions -- meeting Jesus at the Sermon on the Mount, having a chance to chance a tragic circumstance, desperate to find his daughter, and another meeting with Jesus.
The ending was stunning, too.
It's a book any age can read too. I was emotionally drained at the end of the story. Well done.

posted by AuthorMichaelJSullivan on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written

Grammatically awkward and awkward dialogue - I didn't even get past the first chapter. IMHO, needs substantially more editing.

posted by CharH on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Nice book, but..

    This was an ok book, but at times it seemed to have been written by a 6th grade student.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Disappointed in this book

    I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed in this book...the writing style is very juvenile and the characters are not "believable". References to certain parts of era are out of place as well and there is just too much dialogue to even find the storyline. This is a second in a trilogy and perhaps the first one was better, but I'm afraid this one leaves me not wanting to find out!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Terrible grammar, in my opinion.

    Terrible grammar, in my opinion.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Disappointed

    Great premise but juvenile writing. Dialogue and setting was not historically convincing. Jesus was incredibly annoying and creepy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Dull and boring

    I loved the storyline and was excited to read it. Unfortunately the author wrote a story that was dull and the characters were boring. Glad I got this book on free Friday.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Difficult

    I found this book very hard to follow or to really get into. I can not recommend this book very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Strange

    The concept of this book is great but the writing was awkward and jumpy. None of the storylines are well developed. Didn't realize it was a series until I read the author bio at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Boring

    Everybody's Daughter is not nearly as good as the first book, Necessary Heartbreak. I'm forcing myself to finish it. The beginning of the novel kept my attention, but the long middle is dragging me down, and I find myself skimming and skipping pages. It's frustrating. I'm glad it was a free friday book, so I didn't spend money on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Interesting subject matter but developed too slowly.

    I was attracted to the book because of the subject matter. However, after reading more than a third of the book (over 100 pages), I just gave up. I felt like the author was just "stretching" the story. I just lost interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Slow moving and the characters are not sympathetic.

    I'm still slogging through because I always try to finish a book when I start it, but the main character is quite unlikable, there are all kinds of obviously missing pieces of information (I really hope they get filled in later) that make the story hard to follow. I use it to put me to sleep every night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Hard to follow

    It was as if the story had no real beginning. This had interesting possibilities but falls short

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Disappointing

    Very disjointed and confusing at times. The story dragged on in places and the characters were not very well developed. I finished it only to see how it ended and it was disappointing as well. Will NOT waste my time on this author again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Just ok

    I had trouble getting into this book. Some scenes were moving but overall it did not really grab me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Just ok

    The book pulls you in but it turned into a disappointment. The story was just a big run around for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Not very interesting

    The writing was fairly good. The story / plot was weak. Not much happened; the reasons why characters did things was weak or lacking.
    This book is an OK read, I kept turning pages to get to the good part, but I got to "The End" first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Glad it was Free

    I am an avid reader and this book had a great subject matter. It kept me interested, but unfortunately, it was as if the writer just ran out of what to write and ended the book. It didn't even end with the reader having an insightful conclusion on their own. It just didn't make sense. I gave it 2 stars because It started off great, but the ending was lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Two stars

    Easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Interesting Premise--Spiritual Tone

    This is the first of a trilogy. If you like stories where the characters time travel, and are quite devout, this is probably for you. In the first sentence in Chapter One, the author writes, "Jingling the silver coins between his fingers that he had retrieved so many centuries ago..." makes it sound as though he retrieved his fingers! There was another instance where he had "beared" instead of "bared." Picky, picky, but these glaring errors jump out at and English major. I was almost to the end when I realized that the occupation of Michael Stewart is never mentioned. His daughter is 15 so he is probably too young to be retired, and yet he has all kinds of time to travel from the church basement to Jerusalem at the time of Jesus. Michael is a hard person with whom to deal--prickly and antagonistic. The author's name is Michael, too. Probably a more religious person than I would like this better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Cant wait

    Omg cang wait to start the book it will be great!!!!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2