Customer Reviews for

Everyday, Average Jones (Tall, Dark and Dangerous Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Just Okay

    The book was okay, but it wasn't one of her best. Jones, of course, was great, but Melody was irritating. I mean, really! Here is a man who can protect her in any given situation, and who wants to be a part of her life, and this is a problem for her? She keeps lamenting the fact that his job is dangerous. So what? So is driving on the freeway. Get over it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Skip

    ## I enjoyed the first part of the book and cowboys character. Thats why i gave it two stars. After that, the book turned frustrating. The Melody character was awful. About 100 pages in the middle were rediculous. I just wanted to clobber her

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Everyday, average my eye!

    Harlan "Cowboy" Jones was on the SEAL team assigned to rescue three embassy workers from a country taken over by terrorists. Melody Evans was one of the three and from the moment Cowboy showed up, she had absolute trust that he would save her life. Following the rescue, they were inseparable for days until it was time for her to return to her life in Appleton, Massachusetts and she ended it, knowing what they had wouldn't last.

    Seven months later, Cowboy shows up in Appleton, not having been able to forget Melody. To his surprise, he discovers she's pregnant with his child and committed to raising this child alone. He begins his mission to prove that they need to marry for the sake of this child.

    There are two stories here, the first and last halves of the book. The first was fantastic, with an exciting operation surrounding the rescue of Melody and her co-workers. It's always great to see the SEAL teams in action. The chemistry between Melody and Cowboy was powerful and the pages sizzled with that connection. However, I don't understand why Brockmann omitted Cowboy and Melody's post rescue interlude, granted it was revisited in some detail. The second half was laborious as we waited for Melody to meet Cowboy at least halfway. He made extreme sacrifices and she made him prove himself over and over again. On one hand, I understood Melody's reluctance to succumb to Cowboy since they really hadn't had an opportunity to "know" each other. On the other hand, you reach a point where you commit to try if you say you want the best for your child. Her stubbornness was maddening, to the extent where I almost wanted him to walk away.

    Bottom line, though, I enjoyed the book even if the second half made it weaker. Cowboy is so appealing and sexy and handsome and.well I digress. I liked Melody but she drove me nuts. Maybe it was the hormones. My rating is based on the strength of the first half.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Okay, but not great.

    I liked the story. It was predictable of course. I liked the energy in the beginning of the book, the excitement, and fast pace. The middle of the story slowed down more and some of the things the main character, Melody, did irrated me. I kept thinking, why is she letting the father of her child sleep in a tent outside her home, during the fall season in the northeast, for more than a couple of days? Doesn't she have a consience? She let him stay out there for weeks, while the poor guy kept trying to please her. This part was a little unbelievable. The end was positive and heart warming, but you feel sorry for the guy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was such a disappointment.  It started out great and e

    This book was such a disappointment.  It started out great and exciting.  The hero is a Navy SEAL.  The heroine seemed smart and strong, up to the task of being equal partners with a Navy Seal built like a Greek god.    That's how it started...




    It deteriorated to not only a secret baby plot, but also a paranormal book apparently as Melody (the heroine) was apparently able to read the heroes thoughts, feelings, and true motivations, no matter what he said (yeah, major eye roll).  I didn't mind the secret baby plot device so much, as I've seen it done well in other books before.  However in this book it grew to hair pulling out, banging your head against the wall, throwing the book across the room proportions.    So let's hash it out....




    So Melody is pregnant with Cowboy's baby after he recuses her from the Middle East.  Melody goes to the local gossip meal meeting and announces it to them, but doesn't even bother to give the father a heads up?  Really??  She had built it up in her mind that he wouldn't want the baby.  Wouldn't want her (even though he wanted to have a relationship with her and she broke it off). She had it built up in her mind that he only wanted to do the right thing by her out of some unmentioned code, and not out of a desire to get to know their child and be in that child's life.   No matter what HE said, she was sure she knew his mind better than him. I cannot tell you how aggravating that merry-go-round of illogic became.  I honestly didn't mind so much that she didn't want to marry him the minute he showed up.  I would have been annoyed if she had caved so easily, but for her NOT to be willing to come up with some kind of compromise with him really was just selfish (and illegal, father's have parental rights too!) 




    Really the last straw for me was during a life or death situation mid-way through the book, during which Cowboy ordered Melody to safety, twice!!! While she just stood there.  Now, ok, I will make room for the possibility that she was frozen by fear although that is not what we saw of her when they were in the Middle East.  So afterwards he yells at her for not doing what she was told, and rightly so, clearly he was afraid for her.  She instead has the nerve to lash out at him for ordering her around! Really??  He told her to go to safety but he's the bad guy?!  And HE apologizes!!  ugh!!   After that point in the book, I flipped quickly through the rest of the book just to get to see how things would end with Andy (the kid in the book).  




    I have to say this one wasn't worth the read.  Cowboy was practically a dream come true.  Melody was a complete nightmare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome

    Great story! A real must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Omg amazing

    This book was great. I love cowbog hes such a gentleman and he sooo loves melody. But my favorite character is the kid that brings them closer together...andy... he gets into fights but finally finds a great home with those who love him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    This is an unusual story yes, but unlike the negative feedback left for the story. I loved the connection with Melody and Cowboy. Were there times you wanted to say give it up already, yes but the other storylines surrounding the main story kept you intrigued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    A definite winner!!!!!

    W O W!!!! If I could meet someone like Cowboy Jones then I wouldnt mind being held hostage by terroists....Melody is extremely lucky this book has humor and love and all I can say is I will read it atleat 5 more times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3