BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Everyday Italian: 125 Simple and Delicious Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Simple and Delicious!

This cookbook has become a go-to staple in my busy household. We have tried about 75% of the recipes Giada presents and have found them all to be absolutely fantastic! The ingredients are simple and mostly fresh herbs and vegetables which really bring an amazing exper...
This cookbook has become a go-to staple in my busy household. We have tried about 75% of the recipes Giada presents and have found them all to be absolutely fantastic! The ingredients are simple and mostly fresh herbs and vegetables which really bring an amazing experience to our table. In addition the recipes are simple, no painstaking steps that intimidate novice cooks. My husband, who's not a big cook, can even follow the recipes with success! It makes him feel great and also takes the pressure off of me to always be the one to cook. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who's looking for a fresh new way to make some classic Italian fare.

posted by Koobla on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

ADD YOUR OWN

I LOVE THE WAY SHE PREPARES MEALS HOWEVER SOMETIME U HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE SEASONING I GUESS EBCAUSE WE ALL HAVE DIFFERENT TASTE PALLETS HOWEVER ALL THE MEALS COME OUT WONDERFUL YUO JUST HAVE TO SEASON TO YOUR TASTE

posted by cabassa on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Loved it!!

    I love, love, love this book!! Giada rocks!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    More food photos and better readability would help

    I bought the cookbook for myself after seeing Giada on tv. After looking at it and browsing the recipes I told my son and daughter-in-law I would send the book to them because the recipes are hard to read. Many are printed in color on color backgrounds. Then I tried one recipe and will now buy a second copy for myself. For the next printing they should make the recipes more readable: dark print on white paper please and more photos of the actual foods and a few less of Giada. She's beautiful but enough is enough. All in all it is a great cookbook and I'll have to put up with the difficult type in order to enjoy the food.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    It all works!

    My husband and I frequently cook out of this cookbook as we learned that everything tastes great. Most recipes are simple to prepare and use the same ingredients so it is easy to keep my kitchen stocked with things we'll most likely use 'shallots, garlic, canned tomatoes, etc.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Easy & Tasty Marinara

    I enjoy Giada's show and was relieved to find that her marinara sauce recipe was included in the book. I'm a beginner in the kitchen, but the first time I tried this particular recipe, everyone who tasted it said it was the best they'd ever had....Thank you, Giada! Also--I agree with the other readers who wish that more food photos were included--I find it helpful to see what the recipe should look like at the end--plus nice photographs of food enhance any cookbook collection. I may be a beginner as a cook, but I'm an experienced baker--she has wonderful dessert recipes on her show, but few were included in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Everything Italian.

    I don't know a lot about cooking and even less about Italian cooking and found this book a joy. Based on the Food Network's show by the same name, this cook book is a veritable cornucopia of Italian recipes that you can cook in an instant for just about anybody from the kids to your friends. Why buy this book? Who doesn't have a favorite Italian dish and by the time you try some of these recipes, you'll probably have some more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    FAST, EASY AND SIMPLE - NOT TO MENTION GREAT TASTING

    Before this cookbook came out I had printed out most of Giada's recipes from food network. So I was really excited when this cookbook came out and she doesn't disappoint you. I love this cookbook! The recipe titles might scare you, but they really are easy and simple to make and they all taste great! Sorry Emeril, Giada's my favorite now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Thanks, Giada!

    I will be forever grateful to Giada for inspiring my husband to cook. After seeing her on the Today show, we picked up Everyday Italian. He has made several recipes and all have been great. Our favorite by far is Giada's marinara. Excellent! And, by the way, he happens to like the pictures (I wonder why...). If they get him to open the book, that's fine with me : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Great Cook Book as expected

    She never lets me down. Even new cooks can make many of her dishes - my daugther cooks the dishes from the book also. Can't wait for the new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    What a Joy

    I really enjoyed this cookbook because not only were the recipes easy to understand and great tasting, but I also had most of the ingredients in my pantry. WONDERFUL for new cooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    On of my favorites

    This cookbook has to be one of my favorites that I have bought so far. The recipes are truly simple, and I like the fact that there is a little of her personality on each page. Most recipes I have made from this book are excellent! I recommend this book to those interested in italian cuisine but are afraid of the work and knowledge that goes into making it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Full-proof recipes

    Before I got this cookbook, I was already a loyal Giada fan because of her TV show. Any recipe that I have tried from this cookbook has been delicious. As long as you follow her instructions, you cannot mess any of these recipes up. They are very clear and concise. The ingredients are fresh and creative and the flavors unique....basically so much more than your traditional italian cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Mystical Places and Marvelous Meals: A Travel Cookbook's co-author recommends Everyday Italian

    Giada de Laurentiis writes a tasty collection of recipes featuring one of the best cuisines in the world. It's a must for Italian food lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Overrated

    Too much veal and pork ingredients. Also this book is extremely superficial, tons of color photos and photo spreads. It could cost a lot less if they didn't spend so much time taking pictures of the author and sprinkling them throughout the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Easy and Delicious!

    Just like her show, Giada's cookbook is simple and easy. The recipes turn out like they appear on TV and I can smell and taste them in my own home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Poor, Poor, Poor - Not a Keeper

    One of the worst cook books I have ever read. There are very few illustrations of the food. Every other page is a picture of Giada in a tight sweater. I'm not looking for a Victoria Secret catalog...I'm more interested in the food and recipes. This book is not easy to follow and without pictures you have no idea what you are cooking. Save your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    MMM.....good!

    I bought this book for a friend and ended up keeping it for myself! The recipes are straight-forward and simple and made with everyday ingredients anyone can find in their local grocery store. I highly recommend for a beginner cook who enjoys Italian food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    The title says it all!

    I made her recipe for Balsalmic Roasted Chicken, and I added cippolini onions to it as well it was OUTSTANDING!! I also tried the fish in foil, it was simple, and hardly any clean up. I LOVE this book, the recipes are easy to follow. I can't wait until her next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Love Giada!

    As a huge fan of the show, I had to get this cookbook. I don't know how she does it, but Giada is able to create recipes that are so easy to follw yet taste like they took a lot of time and expertise to prepare. If you love Italian food, you'll love this book. PS-the chocolate tiramisu is to die for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Fabulous Recipe

    Today I tried the roasted asparagus wrapped with prosciuotto. It was absoulutely fantastic. It smelled great roasting and even tasted great. I never tried prosciuotto before and like Giada says, it melts in your mouth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    No room for disappointment

    I watch her show religiously and have made recipes from both her show and book. I have never been disappointed. Everything she cooks is easy and delicious. Everytime I make a dish of hers, I get endless compliments. This is definitely a book you want on your shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6