Customer Reviews for

Everyday Zen: Love and Work

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Flameclaw

    Later tonight.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Hunting patrol signups

    Put your location and name and you may go. Remember to bring it to the freshkill pile at result 5. Thanks!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Not a Buddhist? Me either!

    I have been interested in philosophy since early high school. Being a typical American, I've been told a lot of stuff about Buddhism which now I find, are totaly misleading. You really can be of any religion and still practice Buddhism. What this book did for me was change my way of looking at life. You may not be into meditation, as this is something I've yet to try. But the author does give some great insight on how to look at our lives. I was already transforming before I even got through half the book. A lot of things discussed were ideas I had already found out on my own. In a sense, I found this to be comparable to the scene in the Matrix. Neo had a choice, to learn the truth, or to believe that he was living in the truth. And in a way, this book can be that little pill, if you are willing to be open minded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    An angry man no more

    Reading this book has caused changes in me. I learned what it means to live in the moment. I learned how my expectations were making it impossible for me to live at peace with myself and others. The I now has an observer thanks to the instructions in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Best Zen Book for Beginners

    This book is probably the most approachable, understandable, and realistic guide to integrating Zen into everyday life ever written. Zen is often a very esoteric, lofty, unfathomable subject full of nuance and almost mystical qualities. This can make Zen seem detached from the real world, and turns some people away. Charlotte Joko Beck has written a manual for living life as a human being. Her writing is very practical and in a style that we practical Americans will appreciate and benefit from. If everyone in the U.S. would read this book, there would be MUCH less road rage, broken families, violence and hatred. We'd all get a lot more out of our lives, drink less, fear death less, and appreciate each other and our own lives just as they are. This little book changed my life. Thank you Charlotte Joko Beck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2001

    Simple truths

    The message of this book is a simple one: That life, just as it is at any moment, is all that it can be and therefore perfect. Highlighting the troubles we cause ourselves by living life not in the moment, but out of a confused fog of fantasies and 'what ifs,' the author challenges us to detach ourselves from our mental defense mechanisms and dare to be content with life as it is. Perhaps the main shortcoming of this book is that it is much more detailed about the 'deconstructive' aspects of Zen than exploring enlightenment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1