BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The EveryGirl's Guide to Life

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

This is quite a large book and I wasn't prepared for all the information in it. Maria tells the reader how to do many things, even focusing on your home and how to make do and save money. I really appreciated her candor and honesty--she does tell it like it is! The best...
This is quite a large book and I wasn't prepared for all the information in it. Maria tells the reader how to do many things, even focusing on your home and how to make do and save money. I really appreciated her candor and honesty--she does tell it like it is! The best part was how to transform your closet by using prefab units. Loved the ideas and the breeezy writing style, too.

posted by lnkc31 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing and not for every girl!

I thought the book sounded interesting and considered buying it for young women in the family who are in their early 20s and just starting out on their own. I decided to read the book first to see if the information would be useful; it wasn’t. The author is clearly sel...
I thought the book sounded interesting and considered buying it for young women in the family who are in their early 20s and just starting out on their own. I decided to read the book first to see if the information would be useful; it wasn’t. The author is clearly self absorbed and has lost sight of what “every girl” can do or afford. There are some young women who can’t afford a nice luxury car, regular manis and pedis, a gym membership, etc. especially in an economic climate where college students are more likely to be unemployed or underemployed. Needless to say, I did not gift this book. Her other advice is nothing special or new, just how Maria Menounos lives her life, showing off her friends, her closet full of shoes, and her OCD about organization; a lot of the authors opinion and information about her life. Pretty boring book and not timely with her advice and the current economic state.

posted by CoffeeGrl on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    This is quite a large book and I wasn't prepared for all the information in it. Maria tells the reader how to do many things, even focusing on your home and how to make do and save money. I really appreciated her candor and honesty--she does tell it like it is! The best part was how to transform your closet by using prefab units. Loved the ideas and the breeezy writing style, too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Very disappointing and not for every girl!

    I thought the book sounded interesting and considered buying it for young women in the family who are in their early 20s and just starting out on their own. I decided to read the book first to see if the information would be useful; it wasn’t. The author is clearly self absorbed and has lost sight of what “every girl” can do or afford. There are some young women who can’t afford a nice luxury car, regular manis and pedis, a gym membership, etc. especially in an economic climate where college students are more likely to be unemployed or underemployed. Needless to say, I did not gift this book. Her other advice is nothing special or new, just how Maria Menounos lives her life, showing off her friends, her closet full of shoes, and her OCD about organization; a lot of the authors opinion and information about her life. Pretty boring book and not timely with her advice and the current economic state.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    very helpful & enjoyable,

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. All the "extra-credit tips/tricks" especially re manicures/pedicures, hair, where to cut costs and organizing! Recipes are yummy and tips at the supermarket most helpful. Impressed with cover photography that was done by friends not a professional.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    She is not on this planet. She mentions how she supports her fam

    She is not on this planet. She mentions how she supports her family about 50 times and mentions the fact that her dad has diabetes 100 times.  The first few times its cool, and respectable but by the end I just didn't care anymore. Both of my parents have had cancer, several times. Life happens, no one needs to write a book and act like this one bad thing in their life is such a huge deal. So what she used to be poor? She is obviously pretty and leveraged this. She wasn't too poor to get a college education. This is not that much of a rags to riches story nor is she really anyone who has overcome that much. I realize it is a guide to everyday living but she talks so much about herself and her "struggles' its hard to take seriously. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I loved this book. I usually can't stand celebrity advice or lif

    I loved this book. I usually can't stand celebrity advice or lifestyle books because they are often out of touch with the middle class and assume you have tons of extra money to shop and live like they do. But this book is so on point. I've used many of these tips and tricks and love the conversational tone. I've recommended it to all my girlfriends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read

    Great tips and advice on how to better organize your home, work, closet,diet,and everything else. From makeup tips to healthy food she has everything covered.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Good Tips

    It had terrific tips on how to save money and get yourself organized as well as good places to shop. The pics were nice too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Perfect summary on how to live a healthy and happy life

    I would highly recommend this book for any woman trying to figure out how to be more productive and fit everything they want to do in a 24 hour day. I know I'm always wishing I had more time and this book gives some good tips and perspective on how to get it all together and life a happy life. Everything from organizing your closest to running errands in a more productive way is in this book. It really touches on every aspect of life you can imagine. I enjoyed the sections on travel tips and how to take better care of your body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book

    I really liked tge practical advice and tips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I honestly loved this book! Maria gives great tips on how to or

    I honestly loved this book! Maria gives great tips on how to organize your life in order to live a better quality life. She covers everything & is so upbeat/positive. I will recommend this book to all of the women in my life. I only wish someone had given it to me in my 20s. I think it would make a great gift to a young woman just starting out in life (high school or college graduate).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Kitkat101

    Is it appropriate for 11 year olds

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Regret Buying

    Although I love Maria, this book was a total disappointment. The book was very unorganized and had no real structure. It was very difficult to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    8th clue

    So close!!! On a dress tag, it said, "not till the fat lady sings." First results. If there is not, just go to "mimi" first results.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Guide!!!

    So glad I saw this book and picked it up today!!! I normally read on my Nook but this is the kind of thing you need the real thing for. Just by flipping through it I know that it will have some things I never thought of doing or pulling together. So far I like the idea of the "little black book"...Cant wait to find more little tricks. Have my highlighter and tabs all ready!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    This book has changed my life. Organization has always been a problem for me.She show you how to practical and on a budget. I recomend mothers to buy this gor their daughter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    It's a very helpful book. Take a look.

    I bought it for my daughter. She enjoys reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    There is some practical advice that is worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Very+enjoyable

    This+book+presents+a+positve+and+contagious+outlook+on+life+with+a+variety+of+possible+solutions+for+most+situations+encountered+in+attempting+to+create+a+successfully+happy+life.%0A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    love it!!!!!

    this is just a really good book for everyone to read! has no age limits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    loved it!

    I have so many bookmarks in this book - I've lost count! Inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5