Customer Reviews for

Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great guide to better relationships

    I was lucky to be able to get a copy of this book to read and review through the Tomas Nelson Book Sneeze program that allows me to get free copies of books to read and review.

    I love to read books, but there are many times when you read a book cover to cover and maybe pull an idea or two from it. Rare is it that every page contains an idea, quote, thought or practical application that you can take and apply to those around you.

    This book is like a mater's program on getting the most out of your life. It is not something that you can just zip through, but in order for this to be effective, you need to 'marinate' on the ideas that are jammed between the covers and start applying the ideas one at a time. There are many books about getting better about a specific area of your life, or moving up in your career, but I don't know if I have read a book like this that applied to virtually every part of my life.

    This book isn't just a 'How to' manual, it lays out practical concepts and then backs them up by examples and quotes from influential people. However, the most effective part however is they 'real life' stories and thoughts that are shared by common people like you and me that help make these concepts more real.

    I could attempt to list out all of the great concepts and talk about how much more effective you will be at your professional and personal relationships, how your outlook on these relationships will change and if you take these concepts to heart it will require a ton of work but your life will be better for it, but I won't do that. I will just say, you should get a copy and read it. And then start to apply some of these principles and watch things start to come together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Learning How to Connect

    Having taught elementary school for 30 years, I would have said that I know all about communicating with people. However, upon retiring I found myself interacting with adults. I had not really given much thought to connecting with people. I choose John Maxwell's, Everyone Communicates Few Connect a couple years ago, and found it to be an outstanding book on connecting with people. I read the book then got involved with some other projects. Since then I came back to the book and picked it back up again. I had underlined the things that stood out as I read the book. Now I have read it twice. Mr Maxwell quotes Dan, "People with charisma possess an outward focus instead of an inward one. They pay attention to other people, and they desire to add value to them." Whether you wish to learn to connect on a personal level or with larger audiences Mr. Maxwell has much to offer. Not only do you learn about connecting with others you will also learn about yourself. Thank you Mr. Maxwell for helping me to think through my connecting skills. And yes I do think this book has helped me add value to my life. Want to add value to your life, pick up a copy today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    not everyone communicates, not everyone connects

    I am a big fan of any John Maxwell book. I love his stories, his one liners, and I love he states thoughts easily so you can remember them. I will first start by talking about the negative in this book. I felt like it became a little redundant os some of his other books. He kind of went over similar things before but in a different way. Thats my only negative..

    Here are some of the positives. He constantly challenges and brings to life great questions. Am I a good communicator and if not, then why. We work in the ministry and we are constantly working with leaders and people; we are trying to inspire and this book helps develop a better avenue for that. I think that this world is often really bad at communicating and connecting. We need need to become better at it and this book helps to develop that.

    * Do you care for me?
    * Can you help me?
    * Can I trust you?
    * What do you dream about?
    * What do you sing about?
    * What do you cry about?

    Good communication is about being a good listener and we need to become better at that..Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Great

    Like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Comm-you-nication Connection!

    Well worth the read and your time. John C. Maxwell has given me tremendous insight into how great communicators connect with individuals, groups and audiences. I was glued from the opening passage. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Cultivating Attitude

    First off, I will say that you need to read this book with a grain of salt. Some of the specific examples and skills are hard to relate to, coming from a man who is a millionaire leadership expert. That being said, there are definitely some good anecdotes and some great examples of the principle of connecting.

    At the outset, Mr. Maxwell defines connecting as "the ability to identify with people and relate to them in a way that increases your influence with them" (3). He goes on to show how this can be relevant in sales, management, relationships, or even volunteering. He continues to develop this definition throughout the first section into an attitude that permeates your interactions with everyone, and is very others-focused.

    In the second section he goes on to describe how you can cultivate and grow in this skill by putting a couple of tools into practice. These include things like finding common ground and keeping it simple.

    I definitely enjoyed the book. It was rather refreshing to read a book that tried to cultivate an attitude rather than giving you a grocery list of things you must do to achieve success or be an effective leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maxwell has fun teaching people how to connect

    To learn how to connect well with others, imitate a connection superstar: leadership development expert John C. Maxwell. When he posted a preliminary version of this book on his blog, 100,000 people viewed it, and many offered comments on how to make it better. Maxwell has sold more than 18 million books and his company has taught leadership skills to more than five million people. He offers this book's simple principles and its very abundant quotations, anecdotes and stories to explain how to build relationships with other people in many settings. Without being preachy - though he is a preacher - he provides an intelligent, purposeful philosophy about connection. Maxwell's sensible counsel - focus on others, help them, smile - is not earth shattering, but no one could dispute its basic verity. If the book sometimes seems just to skip merrily from one great story to another, that's part of its charm - and it all adds up to advice that will improve your ability to link with other people. The trick is to put these examples into practice and Maxwell explains how to do that. getAbstract recommends his book to all those who want to improve their public speaking skills and interpersonal connections.

    Read more about this book in the online summary:
    https://www.getabstract.com/summary/13033/everyone-communicates-few-connect.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book for Anyone to Read!

    The most effective managers and employers know how to communicate and connect well with their employees. I've learned this through my experiences communicating with others as well as my experiences with managers who do not do this very well. This is a book that can benefit anyone from a manager, to a pastor, even husbands and wives trying to learn how to communicate and connect effectively. Maxwell lays out keys to connecting. He talks about what connectors do and then highlights how we can do this effectively. He then summarizes by discussing how we can connect with individuals, groups, and in public speaking using the key we had just learned in that chapter. This was an engaging book that gave many tips on how to connect with others and use it to benefit yourself and others. I enjoyed how Maxwell included quotes about connecting within each chapter. The stories of people who embody each of these characteristics helped to show how effective they can be. John C. Maxwell is a great writer and I would love to see him speak as well if I ever get a chance. This book is very straight forward and full of a lot of insight. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    People Skills With Purpose

    I was rather skeptical when I picked this up because I have read numerous pieces by John Maxwell and have been bored by his dry writing style and the stiff formula he uses for every single book he writes. Needless to say I wasn't expecting very much from this read, but was then pleasantly surprised by what I found.
    The first thing that grabbed my attention was how he went about writing the book. Maxwell would write a chapter, post it on his blog, have people comment on it, and then edit the chapter according to what they said. He even added some of their stories and included their pictures as part of the design on the cover of the book. Now that is cool!
    As to the content of the book, I was also pleased. There are many books out there telling you how to make friends or have decent social skills, but Maxwell took it to a new level by giving you a bigger vision for those people skills: influence.
    At the end of each chapter there was an application section divided into three parts: One on one, Group, and Audience. I loved this breakdown because it made the principles he taught applicable to any situation that you might be found in.
    Now as I said, John Maxwell is a dry writer and this book was no exception. But as I read along and felt my attention drifting he would use a story as an example and pull me back in, even making me laugh out loud at times!
    If you want to learn how to work better with people or even become better at public speaking, this book will be of great use to you because in it you will discover the keys to connecting with people that you will use every day for the rest of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone Communicates Few Connect

    John C. Maxwell's latest offering - 'Everyone Communicates Few Connect'- What the Most Effective People Do Differently, is not just another leadership guide, it is more of a handbook for leaders. Of course the term 'leaders' is metaphoric as anyone in their day to day lives will benefit fro the principles in this book. What sets it apart in the first place is the hands on approach that the author suggests in winning over audiences. Now-a-days with the presence of numerous modes and channels of communication, John C. Maxwell through his book - 'Everyone Communicates Few Connect' elucidates some simple principles of getting our words across and making them count.

    I found the book very boldly presented and the design on the cover is very attractive. The print quality, font used and the design and layout of the pages build up for an excellent reading experience. It has been presented in a very reader friendly format with specially highlighted boxes to draw attention to important parts of the page. The narrative skills of Dr. Maxwell are by and large exhibited throughout this treatise and Yes! As far as I am concerned his methods are a success because I am listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    GREAT FROM BEGINNING TO END

    This book peaks your interest from the dust jacket and inside cover with the many, many pictures of people, which turn out to be subjects of John's research, all the way through the end of the book.

    John offers valuable insights to becoming better communicators as well as better listeners. No matter who you are and who your audience is, you can communicate with them. It takes practice...it will not happen overnight, but you can acquire the skills necessary to reach your family as well as those in business or friends or church or even a stranger on the street. This communication will improve relationships vastly and your life will become more successful and enjoyable.

    The book is easy to read; the principles for communication are given and clearly stated. You can't help but learn from a renown leadership expert like John Maxwell. Just take the time to read the book.

    Disclosure statement: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John C. Maxwell

    This book, while full of useful advice, does not read like your typical self-help, business literature. John Maxwell has proved again why he is such a well respected and world-renown leadership expert. He writes in such a manner that you cannot help but learn from his teachings. His methods are not in your face but rather subtly absorbed. The book is full of one-person anecdotes that many of his readers can relate to. His suggestions, while not specific, open your mind to possibilities in communication and encourage you to explore your connections with people. I really enjoyed reading the book. With communication and information overload in today's society, his anecdotes are relevant for business or casual relationships, face-to-face, internet, telephone or written contacts. I found it a refreshing change from many of the business and communication books I have read in the past. It is an easy read and a book I will turn to again from time to time. Recommended for those who like reflect and then improve their relationships - business and personal - but are not looking for a step-by-step how-to manual. A good choice for book clubs with an emphasis on business.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell is an excellent resource for those attempting to improve their "connection" skills. Using his extensive research on successful communicators, John Maxwell examines what makes them able to connect with audiences, small groups, or individuals.

    This book was fascinating! Although everyone may communicate as the title says, few people communicate effectively, and even fewer people connect with those to whom they are speaking. This book addresses these issues in an easy-to-read format. From the importance to connecting to a type sketch of connectors, the topics contained in this book held my interest. Whether he is a prominent public speaker or merely an individual attempting to reconnect with his spouse, no doubt everyone could benefit from this book. Pick it up and see if there is an area in your life in which your "connection" skills could be improved. You will be happy that you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, by John Maxwell

    In Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, John Maxwell offers practical advice on how to communicate effectively. He makes it clear that the point of communicating is not simply to disseminate information but to have a positive influence on others. He presents five principles and five practices and offers specific advice on how to apply them one-on-one, with a group, and with an audience. This is a book that you will want to refer to again and again.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Would have been better as a blog series.

    In Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, John Maxwell introduces the reader to five principles and five practices of connecting as we communicate. He links the ability to create change in an organization to the ability to the application of these principles and practices. I have to admit I am late to the Maxwell train. I am familiar with some of his work, but have never been particular drawn to anything in his seemingly endless catalog of books. That being said, as a pastor I often serve in a role of "communicator", so I jumped on the opportunity to read and review this book when it became available through www.booksneeze.com. The strength of the book is that Maxwell's thesis is clear form the very beginning... illustrated simply in the title. The frustration I had with the book, however, was that it read almost like a PowerPoint presentation. It was basically 10 bullet points with a stories and examples (sometimes too many... we get the point John!) to fill in the gaps. If I'm being honest, I think just about anyone could get the point of the book (and even learn to apply the practices and principles) by simply reading the chapter summaries. This book would have (IMHO) been a better as a 10-part blog series.

    The principles and practices in Everyone Communicates are sound and if applied would be helpful in strengthening the communication/connection of anyone who leads. It just felt like Maxwell did not need an entire book to make his points.

    *note: I received a review copy of this book for free from www.booksneeze.com. If you have a blog, you can get free books to review too!
    Posted via email from Pastor Brian Spahr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    Review of "Everyone Communicates, Few Connect" by John Maxwell

    I love a good read! My family has learned over the years that once mom starts a good book, like it or not, you're basically on your own until she reads the very last word. The world could fall apart around me while I'm in the middle of said book and I probably wouldn't even notice. I read most books in one sitting . I can't just help it.

    I consider myself a fan of John Maxwell. He is one of those people you just LOVE to sit and listen to. So, when I saw his newest book, "Everyone Communicates, Few Connect", I jumped at the chance to get an advance copy. I was excited at the opportunity to find out how it is that this fabulous speaker manages to connect so successfully with his audiences. Unfortunately, my excitement ended shortly after opening the book. I didn't "connect" with this book at all. In fact, I actually struggled to get through it.

    It's not that it isn't full of good solid information. In the book's 250 pages, Maxwell presents five Connecting Principles and five Connecting Practices. The five Connecting Principles are: connecting increases your influence in every situation, connecting is all about others, connecting goes beyond words, connecting always requires energy, and connecting is more skill than natural talent. The five Connecting Practices are: connectors connect on common ground, connectors do the difficult work of keeping it simple, connectors create an experience everyone enjoys, connectors inspire people, connectors live what they communicate.

    The problem wasn't lack of good content; the principles and practices that Maxwell outlines are really good stuff. And, I wholeheartedly agree with his main point that the purpose of communicating is to add value to the listener. It just wasn't enough content. I quickly got bored with all the repetition and found myself either putting the book down (which is not like me at all) or skimming ahead to find the next point. Although I might still recommend "Everyone Communicates, Few Connect" to someone who is actively looking to improve their communication skills, I think Maxwell could have easily written a much shorter book and still gotten his message across.

    FYI: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone Communicates Few Connect

    "Hello, my name is Mike and I like John Maxwell."

    And Maxwell's newest book, Everyone Communicates Few Connect, is sure to please even the most casual of John Maxwell readers. As with most of Maxwell's material, this is not rocket science. However, what it lacks in groundbreaking invention it makes up for in easy to understand and apply principles and practices to help anyone become a more effective communicator.

    The book is divided into two sections, Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices, and contains five of each.

    The five Connecting Principles include: connecting increases your influence in every situation, connecting is all about others, connecting goes beyond words, connecting always requires energy, and connecting is more skill than natural talent.

    The five Connecting Practices include: connectors connect on common ground, connectors do the difficult work of keeping it simple, connectors create an experience everyone enjoys, connectors inspire people, connectors live what they communicate.

    Filled with Maxwell's wealth of axioms, lists, proverbs, illustrations, quotes, acrostics, and questions, Everyone Communicates Few Connect contains a wealth of sound bite information. It is at once practical, encouraging, and authoritative.

    Having been a professional communicator for 25 years, I found Maxwell's newest offering a very valuable reminder of the importance of connecting with those to whom I communicate rather than merely dispensing information, inspirational or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect

    I have heard John Maxwell speak live before, and he is truly one of the greatest speakers I've ever heard. So I was expecting a lot from this book, especially since it was on communication. The book is divided into two parts: Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices. So you get the general thought processes behind effectively connecting with people, and then some practical ways that you can implement the principles. At the end of each chapter, Maxwell also provides you with applications for the chapter in three different settings: one-on-one, in a group, and with an audience.
    The content of the book was very good. Maxwell puts into words the communication principles that deep down, we probably all know. We just don't consciously acknowledge how important the principles are, or if we do, we don't know how to make them work for us. One of my favorite points he makes is in the last chapter, "Connectors Live What They Communicate." He tells of a speech he gave about the importance of leaders making themselves vulnerable and admitting their weaknesses to the people they are leading. One CEO came up to him afterwards and politely disagreed with him. This gentleman said that he believed that a leader should never appear weak. Maxwell answered: "You think your people don't already know your weaknesses. They do. By admitting them, you're letting them know that you know them."
    I think the main reason I didn't get as involved with this book is because of the format. For one, the chapters are all a bit long, and the subject of each chapter is broad. By the time you get to the end of the chapter, you've chased after so many tangents that you've forgotten the main idea of the chapter. Not that these tangents aren't relevant, it's just that there are so many. Another thing I did not like about the format is Maxwell's excessive use of the first person. I realize that he is a great communicator. And that if I want a communication role model, he's one of the best. But throughout the whole book it was "This is how I do things.." "When I am speaking to a crowd." "My common practices are." "Here is what people say about me." I know it was not his intent, but it came across to me as arrogance. He could have put in all of the same information without saying that it was the exact way that he lives his life.
    Overall, it was a great book if you are looking for ways to really connect with the people around you. Maxwell is one of the best, so there isn't anyone better to learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell

    John Maxwell says," When you connect with others; you position yourself to make the most of your skills and talents". This quote is from his newest book Everyone Communicates, Few Connect. I believe that if you know your passions and are able to connect with others you will reach your potential. John Maxwell helps readers to become better communicators. Connecting with people is about thinking of others, requires more than words, finding common ground, keeping it simple, and requires energy. These are just a few of the things he discusses.
    At the end of each chapter he gives "Connecting Principles" and "Key Concepts". One of the connecting principles is: "Connecting increases your influence in every situation". This is a great reminder to leaders and everyone who communicates to others.
    Each chapter concludes with points on the topic that apply to communicating one-on-one, in a group, and with an audience. This section is a powerful tool to apply what you have just read about. So if you want to become a better connector and grow in influence and reach your potential. You should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for anyone looking to connect with others

    In this book, John C. Maxwell focuses on the importance of connecting with others & how to connect with others. Everyday we communicate, even when we aren't doing anything at all. This book gives numerous connection tools that are easy to use in everyday life as well as in groups or to an audience. Its's not hard stuff either, it's simple,very intentional things that make a connection and lets others know they are important to you. Every chapter had me thinking of how I could apply what I was reading to my everyday life. Whether they are family, friends, coworkers, or volunteers I want to connect with them because they are important to me. Before reading this book, I was unsure how to how bridge the gap between talking to people and connecting with them. It seemed as if almost every page had so much great & practical information that I kept thinking I needed to mark the page I was on so that I could refer back to it. Connection is not difficult, it takes energy and has to be intentional.

    I recommend this book to everyone. Yep, everyone. I think everyone cann take something great away from this book and use it all different types of relationships both new and old.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5