Customer Reviews for

Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great guide to better relationships

    I was lucky to be able to get a copy of this book to read and review through the Tomas Nelson Book Sneeze program that allows me to get free copies of books to read and review.

    I love to read books, but there are many times when you read a book cover to cover and maybe pull an idea or two from it. Rare is it that every page contains an idea, quote, thought or practical application that you can take and apply to those around you.

    This book is like a mater's program on getting the most out of your life. It is not something that you can just zip through, but in order for this to be effective, you need to 'marinate' on the ideas that are jammed between the covers and start applying the ideas one at a time. There are many books about getting better about a specific area of your life, or moving up in your career, but I don't know if I have read a book like this that applied to virtually every part of my life.

    This book isn't just a 'How to' manual, it lays out practical concepts and then backs them up by examples and quotes from influential people. However, the most effective part however is they 'real life' stories and thoughts that are shared by common people like you and me that help make these concepts more real.

    I could attempt to list out all of the great concepts and talk about how much more effective you will be at your professional and personal relationships, how your outlook on these relationships will change and if you take these concepts to heart it will require a ton of work but your life will be better for it, but I won't do that. I will just say, you should get a copy and read it. And then start to apply some of these principles and watch things start to come together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Learning How to Connect

    Having taught elementary school for 30 years, I would have said that I know all about communicating with people. However, upon retiring I found myself interacting with adults. I had not really given much thought to connecting with people. I choose John Maxwell's, Everyone Communicates Few Connect a couple years ago, and found it to be an outstanding book on connecting with people. I read the book then got involved with some other projects. Since then I came back to the book and picked it back up again. I had underlined the things that stood out as I read the book. Now I have read it twice. Mr Maxwell quotes Dan, "People with charisma possess an outward focus instead of an inward one. They pay attention to other people, and they desire to add value to them." Whether you wish to learn to connect on a personal level or with larger audiences Mr. Maxwell has much to offer. Not only do you learn about connecting with others you will also learn about yourself. Thank you Mr. Maxwell for helping me to think through my connecting skills. And yes I do think this book has helped me add value to my life. Want to add value to your life, pick up a copy today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Comm-you-nication Connection!

    Well worth the read and your time. John C. Maxwell has given me tremendous insight into how great communicators connect with individuals, groups and audiences. I was glued from the opening passage. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell is an excellent resource for those attempting to improve their "connection" skills. Using his extensive research on successful communicators, John Maxwell examines what makes them able to connect with audiences, small groups, or individuals.

    This book was fascinating! Although everyone may communicate as the title says, few people communicate effectively, and even fewer people connect with those to whom they are speaking. This book addresses these issues in an easy-to-read format. From the importance to connecting to a type sketch of connectors, the topics contained in this book held my interest. Whether he is a prominent public speaker or merely an individual attempting to reconnect with his spouse, no doubt everyone could benefit from this book. Pick it up and see if there is an area in your life in which your "connection" skills could be improved. You will be happy that you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, by John Maxwell

    In Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, John Maxwell offers practical advice on how to communicate effectively. He makes it clear that the point of communicating is not simply to disseminate information but to have a positive influence on others. He presents five principles and five practices and offers specific advice on how to apply them one-on-one, with a group, and with an audience. This is a book that you will want to refer to again and again.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone Communicates Few Connect

    "Hello, my name is Mike and I like John Maxwell."

    And Maxwell's newest book, Everyone Communicates Few Connect, is sure to please even the most casual of John Maxwell readers. As with most of Maxwell's material, this is not rocket science. However, what it lacks in groundbreaking invention it makes up for in easy to understand and apply principles and practices to help anyone become a more effective communicator.

    The book is divided into two sections, Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices, and contains five of each.

    The five Connecting Principles include: connecting increases your influence in every situation, connecting is all about others, connecting goes beyond words, connecting always requires energy, and connecting is more skill than natural talent.

    The five Connecting Practices include: connectors connect on common ground, connectors do the difficult work of keeping it simple, connectors create an experience everyone enjoys, connectors inspire people, connectors live what they communicate.

    Filled with Maxwell's wealth of axioms, lists, proverbs, illustrations, quotes, acrostics, and questions, Everyone Communicates Few Connect contains a wealth of sound bite information. It is at once practical, encouraging, and authoritative.

    Having been a professional communicator for 25 years, I found Maxwell's newest offering a very valuable reminder of the importance of connecting with those to whom I communicate rather than merely dispensing information, inspirational or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell

    John Maxwell says," When you connect with others; you position yourself to make the most of your skills and talents". This quote is from his newest book Everyone Communicates, Few Connect. I believe that if you know your passions and are able to connect with others you will reach your potential. John Maxwell helps readers to become better communicators. Connecting with people is about thinking of others, requires more than words, finding common ground, keeping it simple, and requires energy. These are just a few of the things he discusses.
    At the end of each chapter he gives "Connecting Principles" and "Key Concepts". One of the connecting principles is: "Connecting increases your influence in every situation". This is a great reminder to leaders and everyone who communicates to others.
    Each chapter concludes with points on the topic that apply to communicating one-on-one, in a group, and with an audience. This section is a powerful tool to apply what you have just read about. So if you want to become a better connector and grow in influence and reach your potential. You should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for anyone looking to connect with others

    In this book, John C. Maxwell focuses on the importance of connecting with others & how to connect with others. Everyday we communicate, even when we aren't doing anything at all. This book gives numerous connection tools that are easy to use in everyday life as well as in groups or to an audience. Its's not hard stuff either, it's simple,very intentional things that make a connection and lets others know they are important to you. Every chapter had me thinking of how I could apply what I was reading to my everyday life. Whether they are family, friends, coworkers, or volunteers I want to connect with them because they are important to me. Before reading this book, I was unsure how to how bridge the gap between talking to people and connecting with them. It seemed as if almost every page had so much great & practical information that I kept thinking I needed to mark the page I was on so that I could refer back to it. Connection is not difficult, it takes energy and has to be intentional.

    I recommend this book to everyone. Yep, everyone. I think everyone cann take something great away from this book and use it all different types of relationships both new and old.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John C. Maxwell

    In his latest book, Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, John C. Maxwell has once again hit a home run! This book is for everyone. Whether you are a stay-at-home mom, an entrepreneur or a student, you spend a lot of time communicating. This book explains very simple ways to ensure that you not only communicate more effectively, but that you connect as well.

    In his usual style, this book is filled with stories, quotes and easy-to-remember points that make it really easy to apply the principles right away. At the end of every chapter, John provides tips on how to connect one-on-one, in small groups and in front of large crowds.

    John put this book out on his blog before he published it. As a result, there are a lot of great tips from people who are communicating daily, this adds a lot of value to the book.

    Over all, I give this book 5 out of 5.

    I am a member of Book Sneeze and I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for a review of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone Communicates. Few Connect

    For weeks I have been waiting for this book, not just because one of my comments in John's blog is featured in this book (page 35, Chapter 2), not just because my name is listed in the list of people who have read through the pre-printing manuscript in the blog, but because this book is loaded with so much wisdom, practical tips, quotes, etc that have to do with more than just the topic of connecting with others. I would say, this book is another indispensable book from John. Typical of John's style, he has packed in so much goodies in it that one can go back to the book, re-read it again and again, and yet there are still things one can learn from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    If You Want to Truly Reach People Connecting Is the Way

    There is no mistaking that if you want to connect and/or have had problems connecting while communicating this book will cure that problem. Even though the author is an "internationally-respected leadership expert, speaker, and author", he conveys his message in a humble manner. John C. Maxwell effortlessly explains how to effectively communicate. I was able to clearly decipher which areas I could improve to continue being a good communicator. There are plenty of times I've walked away from a situation or conversation feeling as though my point was not relayed in full; after reading and applying this book where necessary, I was able to acknowledge where my communication was more about myself and failed to be about who I was speaking with. I've always said that I hate when people talk at me versus to me and this book made it clear to identify why that is so. I would recommend this book to anyone who is striving to do better in their business and personal relationships. It will allow you to communicate on levels that you felt were impossible before. After reading this, no one has an excuse for not communicating to the best of their ability.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received Everyone Communicates Few Connect by John C. Maxwell free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>"Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Turn off the computer and connect!

    Never judge a book by its cover - or title - but both the author (John Maxwell) and the title caught my eye.

    I keep up with friends around the world via Twitter and Facebook, but what is the relationship? But how are we connecting? How do I build relationships with the people I work with, here and around the world? Am I stuck in e-mail world? With two teenagers in the house, how do I connect with their generation and help them to become a men and women of God?

    As with all of John Maxwell's books, what I enjoy is his ability to break down topics, using stories and humor explain the full topic - giving the basic principles and then how to put it into practice.

    Whether you are an extrovert or an introvert, a social butterfly or a wallflower, confrontational or passive aggressive - you can learn something about how to better connect with people in your life.

    What I especially appreciate about this book is that Maxwell points out that you need to know yourself and your style to connect effectively. You cannot duplicate anybody else and be successful, but you can put basic principles into action. He gives a variety of examples of how it has worked from blog comments that he received when writing on this on-line.

    Connecting is about caring about other people more than yourself. Connecting is about developing relationships. Connecting is about learning how to communicate effectively - at work, at home, with friends, everywhere.

    I put a few of the principles into practice this week. I picked up the phone and made some calls. I asked a senior manager to lunch. I tried asking more questions of others, listening instead of talking. I connected.

    Spend some time with this book, get away from the computer screen, and communicate with people to really connect with them.

    *Note: I was provided a copy of this book to review by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze review program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Communication: Trying Diligently to be Heard

    Communication. It is arguably the most important aspect of relationships, and yet it is often a source of great tension. Why? Because people have a difficult time communicating effectively. And everybody - from preachers to motivational speakers to movie stars to that guy you pass on the street - everybody wants to communicate.

    Thankfully, I had the opportunity to glean some insight from one of the world's foremost leaders in leadership, communication, and motivation. Through the graces of the Thomas Nelson Bloggers Book Review Program, I recently had the privilege of reading Everyone Communicates, Few Connect By John C. Maxwell.



    Asserting that it is not just with words that we must communicate, but with actions, attitudes, intentions, and energy, Maxwell shows there is more to communicating than simply speaking and listening. We must endeavor to form relationships and seek to truly communicate effectively in the context of these relationships.

    Maxwell defines connecting as: "the ability to identify with people and relate to them in a way that increases your influence with them." Going beyond the cliché statement that we all know - communication is only 7% verbal - Maxwell uncovers every nuance imaginable for the sake of ensuring that clear communication is possible.

    Everyone Communicates is broken down into two parts, Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices. In doing so Maxwell has not only provided the underlying foundation for effective connecting that leads to communication, but outlined practical and tangible steps to implement in relationships requiring more intentional communication.

    Thankfully, Maxwell relates that effective communication through connection is more a skill than a natural talent, meaning there is hope for even the most awkward of us. He shares how communication doesn't just take place in the midst of one conversation, but in the context of intentional relationships that have connected on a deeper level than the conversation at hand.

    Maxwell doesn't just prepare the reader for clear communication, but effective communication that allows for the individual not just to be heard in communication, but felt.

    Chock full of great insights and practical advice, John C. Maxwell's Everyone Communicates, Few Connect is a great read that I would recommend everybody go through at least once. I am not usually one to be so high on other "motivational" or "self-help" books that this could be qualified as, but I am truly impressed at the amount of insight contained within this volume. From work to family to church to friends, this book will enhance your ability to communicate clearly and effectively in the context of strong, healthy relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I think John Maxwell drove home an important point!

    I think John Maxwell drove home an important point. Though simple, his message is heavy weight. Yes, the book will hold the reader's attention. Though not as compulsive as his other books, Everyone Communicates, Few Connect will definitely connect with its reader in a unique way. "To be successful, you need to learn how to really communicate with others." Nothing can be truer than this irrespective of what you do or who you are. The book contains handful of tips that will sure help any individual to communicate and most importantly connect.
    Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, is also filled with quotes from John Maxwell and a host of others. Maxwell also shares five principles and five practices anyone can use to develop his/her skills in communicating.
    It's a book every leader should have in his library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2