BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Everyone Worth Knowing

Average Rating 4
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    not that great

    I read Chasing Harry Winston and loved it so I got this book and I couldn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    I expected more than this

    Don't waste your time on this one. The story is way to predictable and boring. I couldn't stand how whiny the main character was. I really had to push myself to even finish this one. The writing is also very immature, this book really could have used a good editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Great book! Hard to put down!

    I am a big fan of Lauren Weisberger and after reading 'The Devil Wears Prada' I bought this book as soon as it came out. I loved Bette and Weisberger's depiction of the NYC PR world was so much fun to read about. I can't wait to read her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Possibly Worst Book Ever Written

    I enjoyed 'The Devil...' it was short and fun, not brilliant writing but moved quick and on point. 'Everyone' was simply awful, it was so awful, that I finished the entire book in some strange fascination, like watching a really bad made for TV movie. The characters were flat, the dialogue pointless and always trashy. The writing was ponderous, every scene explained in excruciating detail with characters lifting their hand or glancing aside or walking and standing, while stating a piece of dialogue that didn't move the story forward in any way. At points when a bit of humourous irony started to seep in and lighten the book, the author killed it by adding a three-paragraph long explanation about why it was ironic and how it contradicated a prior statement one-half or one-dozen pages ago. As if we were to stupid to get it. Worse the main character was unbeleivable and inconsistent. There is something snarky in a voice which is constantly trying to impress us with her brilliance and goodness and how much she dislikes the drugs/sex/falseness of the glitz scene, and then buys into it whole-heartedly. If she is so smart, why could she not figure out who the mystery gossip columnist is immediately upon her introduction, as the rest of did? If she is so smart, why doesn't she figure out Philip or Kelly or Eliza within two sentences of their introduction. If she is so good, one moment of loyalty or charity, just one, might have been nice. Even worse, her main love interest is hot primarily because he is hot-looking. So she doesn't like the shallow looks-oriented narcissists? Why does she fall for a hot boy toy? And sorry, the fact that he uses Lonely Planet as a guide book does not save him from being a gigolo. This may be the most awful book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    More of the same

    I couldn¿t wait for Weiseberger¿s new book to come out. But I am amazingly disappointed. It¿s entirely too similar to The Devil Wears Prada. By the time I was half way through it, I knew exactly how everything would turn out, and disappointingly, I was right. Don¿t bother reading. Read The Devil Wears Prada instead. Actually, read it twice if you¿re jonesin¿ for some good trash. Everyone Worth Knowing isn¿t original. Isn¿t creative. Isn¿t funny. And isn¿t worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    The same thing again!

    This is basically a rehash of the devil wears prada. I reaaly enjoyed that book, but this is more of the same. And the story is not so seamless and well written. For example the character of Sammy is extremely unbelievable - he is a bouncer, then somebody's assistant, then something else, then a chef...it's like he has to be doing every possible thing that would cause him to meet the heroine the maximum number of times. The book club characters are pretty cursory, and the total story seems to survive on name-dropping and the prices of designer items. Well, maybe that was the idea....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1