BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Is Jesus Your Everything or Just Someone

    Mary challenged me throughout the book to focus my head, heart and hands on letting Jesus be my Everything. She doesn't shrink back from the difficult things. This book isn't about making you feel good about your great Christian life. It's convicting without shaming.

    Everything helped me see the dusty corners of my soul left hidden that Jesus wants to invade and heal.

    So He can be by Everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Everything by Mary DeMuth For everyone that has lived on half

    Everything by Mary DeMuth

    For everyone that has lived on half a tank of faith, Mary DeMuth explores the concept of giving everything to live for Jesus, letting Him take control of your deepest, untouched parts of your heart. Her book, Everything, which I received through Booksneeze®, discusses the stages we go through in struggle and despair, until we ultimately lay broken at the feet of Jesus and He begins to piece us back together.

    Written in a fresh voice peppered with description and warmth, DeMuth admits to her darker hours, where she struggled with many obstacles and hurts throughout the course of her life, most recently, moving to France with her family for mission work. Her honesty resonated with me, because when I started the book, I was coming out of a time of confusion and discouragement, as well. She helped me realize that I was not in my struggles alone, and that underneath all my heartache is the necessary abandonment to lose myself in Jesus. The end of each chapter had reflection questions to further let His truth sink in. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who is hungry to be healed from their hurt, and who longs to give their everything to Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Are You An Everyday Christian or an Everything Christian? When

    Are You An Everyday Christian or an Everything Christian?

    When I first saw Mary DeMuth's book, I was immediately intrigued by the title, and my initial thoughts were:

    "What is "everything"?
    How do I give "everything"?
    What does that look like in my life?

    DeMuth demystifies her title and answers all three of my questions in the Preface, where she explains the difference between regular Christians, who have known and followed Christ in their own way all their lives, and "Everything Christians," who may have only given their lives to Christ for a short time but have "learned the secret of giving Him every part of their lives" (emphasis mine, xiv).

    Drawing on her own personal experiences of loss and crises, Demuth explores why some people mature quickly in their faith while others will spend an entire lifetime maturing and still never truly grow. The solution is Everything.

    Those who give up everything--surrendering complete control of their lives to Christ--gain everything. Those who hold tightly to comfort and ease, trusting in themselves instead of God, lose everything because they never experience the life-changing growth that comes from complete obedience in God.

    "When we give up everything, we gain Jesus, who is our everything" (xvi).

    Everything is structured into 3 parts:

    "Head--What We Think"
    "Heart--Who We Are"
    "Hands--How We Live"

    Each part looks at ways to transform our lives from "the everyday" to "everything" so that we are changed, surrendering every aspect of our being to Him.

    Reading Everything has challenged me to get out of my comfort zone and truly experience the awe of God (chapter 1). It's only when I step out in faith--setting aside worry (chapter 5), practicing resilience (chapter 6) and optimism (chapter 7), and surrendering control (chapter 8)--that I will truly grow.

    And the beauty of this book, aside from the practical applications for my own life, is feeling like you have a friend right there with you. I don't know Mary DeMuth, but I do. Her book reveals so much of her self that I feel like I'm experiencing it with a close friend. Warm, inviting, deeply personal, she's like an old friend I've known for years. Unlike most books I have read on spiritual growth, Everything resonates with this feeling of cameraderie so I don't feel like I'm doing it alone.

    If you're looking for a book to take you beyond being an everyday Christian and becoming an Everything Christian, I would highly recommend Mary DeMuth's Everything. It's one that I will pull out and read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Having grown up in church, I have been handed many a ┬┐How to be

    Having grown up in church, I have been handed many a “How to be a better Christian” type books. I’ve read a few. However, this is not a step-by-step book. DeMuth does not try to be THE expert. She writes from her personal experience—what has worked for her and what hasn’t. She writes from observations of Christians she has admired through her life.

    It is a relatively short book, yet even as a voracious reader, DeMuth’s words made me read slowly and think. I wouldn’t say this book completely transformed my life, but it was definitely worth the time to read and gave me some things to noodle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything by Mary DeMuth is an incredible book. It is truly a o

    Everything by Mary DeMuth is an incredible book. It is truly a one-stop shop of inspiration and enlightenment. Written in a testimony-teaching style, this book shines a light on the power, presence and influence of the LORD on lives that are in pursuit of Him. To say I loved this book would be an understatement. It’s very special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This was one of those amazing books that you can't put down. It

    This was one of those amazing books that you can't put down. It was easy to read and, for me, so life changing! Each chapter was so amazing and I hated for it to end.This is truly one of the best written books I've read.

    This is a book that will make you look at your relationship to Jesus differently and better. Mary takes us inside her life (she doesn't sugar coat anything, which is a relief to those of us who don't lead a sugar-coated life) and shares what she has learned in her walk with the Lord. More exciting is that she shares what she has learned in this amazing book.

    The book is filled with Scriptures and at the end of each chapter, are "Questions For Reflections and Discussion". These are in-depth questions that you can really get into for yourself or in a group situation. They really made me think about how I look at myself and the Lord.

    Honestly, I felt like Mary wrote this book just for me. I have no doubt you will feel the same way when you read it - and read it, you should!! I highly recommend this book. It's a great way to start out the new year!

    *This book was provided to me for my honest review by the BookSneeze Program

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    I received an advanced copy of "Everything" to review.

    I received an advanced copy of "Everything" to review. I also had the privilege of endorsing this beautiful book.

    I read this book on my week off from vacation back in July. God spoke to me that week through "Everything". I was beyond blessed.

    While I was reading about Mary DeMuth's life and experiences. I was able to put myself in her shoes. At times, I even felt we lived parallel lives.

    I laughed and cried throughout this book. "Everything" made me think; it convicted me as well as challenged my walk with Jesus.

    I had to ask myself the same question many times while reading this book, is Jesus my everything? If I say He is my everything, do I live as though He is?

    I loved "Everything". I believe in the message and believe every Christian should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    If you long to know and love Him more, seek HIM with your whole

    If you long to know and love Him more, seek HIM with your whole heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    learning what "everything" entails...

    It's easy to say "I will give God everything I have" ... It's much harder to live that life. With sensitivity, short personal stories, and a slice of humor, Mary DeMuth's book, Everything, took me on a journey to discover what the term "everything" entails. I especially liked the short chapters that gave me time to process her points before moving on to the next topic. It's a worthy read... several times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    Everything is everything you'd expect and more!

    Occasionally, a book comes along that touches your heart, mind, and soul in an incredible way. Everything by Mary DeMuth is just such a book. She writes with skill and authenticity as she powerfully describes for us what it looks like to love Jesus with all that you are. If you long to know and love Him more, this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1