Customer Reviews for

Everything Must Go

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This album is a outstanding follow up to Steely Dan's Grammy comeback album Two Against Nature, and it's great from start to finish, but on "Slang of Ages", Walter Becker provides the lead vocals. This album is a must for all Steely Dan fans to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not their best work

    Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of Steely Dan and of Becker and Fagen individually. I have all their albums, and recently picked this one up. The album is not bad, but clearly not up to their previous efforts. I heard nothing on this album that made me want to listen to it again, unlike Two Against Nature, which played nonstop in my CD player at work for hours the day I got it. It's almost like someone else making a poor copy of a Steely Dan album, or perhaps a collection of Steely Dan studio rejects from previous recording sessions. "Slang of Ages" clearly shows why Fagen should handle the vocals. "Green Book" has a quirky, repetitious groove that is the best track on the album. Otherwise, the lyrics make for better poetry than music. Definitely at the bottom of my Steely Dan collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They're really back this time

    I was thrilled to have them back with Two Against Nature in 2000, which had a taste of the old Dan, but sounded more like a Becker/Fagan solo album colaboration. But this is the real deal. Things I Miss the Most, Godwhacker and Everything Must Go..hell, even Last Mall...all great, classic up to the minute Steely Dan, like they never went away. "I still recall the way they led the charge and saved the day", indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inconceivable

    I was blown away when I heard the digital stream recently. I am a casual fan of the dan, as I am with many other artists but this album has hit a cord in me. Specifically, the groove. Their last effort was "great" but no more or less. This album is infectious. Case in point, I was literally humming "Godwhacker" for hours after having only listened to it once. The same is true for the title track which is, IMO, one of the most well written songs in the last 10 years. That being said, to create this perfection after receiving a grammy for their last toil seems "inconceivable" as my headline states. I could only pity the person that doesn't find this music sometime in their life. 2003 will be delightful with this DVD/DVD-A in my car, home, office etc...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Dynamic Duo Delivers...Again

    Donald Fagen and Walter becker again prove they are the kings of sophisticated pop/jazz/rock music with this new release. The album has the usual blend of cryptic lyrics, great jazz solos, funky rythmic licks, and sparkling production that Dan fans have come to expect. Conceptually similar to their quadruple-Grammy Winning Two Against Nature, themes of love and loss, aging, and remembrances of 1950's & 60's culture abound. The melodies here are first-rate again. My favorites so far are "Blues Beach" and "Things I Miss The Most". "Blues Beach" is a great upbeat tune with sassy lyrics and most importantly, loads of little electric guitar and Rhodes electric piano embellishments throughout. Overall, this record has a more "live" feel than Two Against Nature, partly because it was recorded analog, and less multi-tracking was employed. The rythm section is really tight throughout, the horns tastefully blaring at just the right moments, and the whole album just moves along nicely, although I think the first half of the album is a bit better than the second half, at least at first listen. This CD is definitely worth buying. I'll be buying the DVD-Audio and the Deluxe CD, not wanting to miss out on any of the musical manna that Fagen and Becker have showered down on us. Rest assured that if you like Steely Dan, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great album. That first reviewer was a weirdo

    So far I really enjoy this album. Great suff. Catchy, funky, and Becker's vocals are great. But that review above, that just tripped me out man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Dan "Do It Again!"

    Becker and Fagan have done it again. Everything Must Go is a S.D. classic in every sense of the word. This recording has the "feel" of a 70's release by the Dan and along with the previous release,(Two Against Nature), make it seem like they were always there and didn't take such a long hiatus. Classic Dan tunes on the disc include, the title track and Things I Miss The Most. Do your self a favor and run out to get this disc. Do yourself another favor this summer and go see the Dan live! I am a veteran of past S.D. shows and you will have a great time with gentlemen that I consider musical legends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A three year wait down the drain

    This is the Dan's weakest effort yet with some of their most forgettable songs to be found in their repertoire. As usual, the playing is precise and spot-on. That is aside from Becker and his relentlessly unimpressive blues soloing. Let's get straight to it. The first of quite a few altered blues-structured pieces is the opening track Last Mall. Nothing special is to be found here. the lyrics are perhaps the best part, but they simply cannot compensate for the lack of depth and interest this song conveys. The next song is Things I Miss the Most which sounds like an even more boring version of Two Against Nature's What a Shame About Me (is that even possible?) Two words sum up this song - tame and lame. Even the melody line Donald produces is unsophisticated and dull. Add some Becker 'trademark blues twiddling' and you've got boring + pathetic. So far, so dull. Next up is Blues Beach, one of the cheesiest, stupidest songs Don has ever conceived, and this song is chosen for radio play? The gimmickry of Blues Beach is that it's a happy, bright song with dark subject matter for the lyrics. Excuse me for this, but so what? This song is uneventful and sounds like it doesn't belong on a SD album. Move to 'GodWhacker' - or 'one boring riff repeated over and over'. This is just Jack of Speed redone with different lyrics and a slightly quicker tempo. The lyrics are about knocking God off. "You better step back son/GodWhacker's on the case." Perhaps it would've been better if somebody knocked these 5 minutes off the album before it ever got the chance to bore me with corny lines like this one taken from Elmer Fudd (no kidding) "Be very, ve-ry quiet..." Oh, and that super-awful synthesizer harmonica solo by Donald is another lousy attempt by him to sound like Stevie Wonder (whom I might add is nothing more than a boring stand-in guy for all the new 'artists' out there). I'll sum up Slang of Ages pretty quickly - it sucks. Didn't Walter learn his lesson from 11 Tracks of Whack? He cannot sing and anything with his vocal is nothing less than agonizingly awful. This song just sucks, and it's a good thing he didn't get a chance to ruin a great piece of music like Any Major Dude or Home At Last. The album's first good track comes with Green Book. Here (at last) is a snazzy piece that is reflective of the Dan of old with interesting harmonic movements and a stellar arrangement of soft glowing sounds which all add up to create an atmosphere similar to Almost Gothic but with it's own personality. And what a nice segway into the cadence! Good stuff. Next is Pixeleen, an o.k. song with some quirky vocal work by Donald but the chorus is not satisfying and at the end it's a bit irritating to hear them sing "Pixeleen" nine times in a row. Lunch With Gina is probably the best song (at least as good as Green Book). Donald sings from the narrative perspective of some guy who's obsessed with a waitress (Gina obviously) to the point of being a stalker. The song itself is reminiscent of Donald's uptempo numbers off of Kamakiriad (Florida Room, Tomorrow's Girls) with a awesome sythesizer solo which is nothing short of the 'mad & wiggy' Donald used to describe this album. I don't know about the album being mad & wiggy, but this song? Definetly. Finally we come to the title track Everything Must Go. It's another o.k. song but pales in comparison to a Dan classic like Deacon Blues. The bridge starts out pretty and then just becomes average. Same goes for the sax solo by Walter Weiskopf - starts nice and quickly bogs down due to his over-stylish runs which are just too cramped with meaningless notes, like he's trying to showcase his ability to throw alot of notes around, but inevitably just winds up showcasing his one-dimensionality. This is not one of the better sax solos to be found in a SD song. There's 2 good songs, 2 o.k. songs, and 5 bad/boring songs. No classics. I've listened to the album about 20 times (which

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Bambi's mom gone. Bambi sad."

    Man, does Slick Pete know how to live or what? When I saw the 'Dan earlier this year in San Marino they flummoxed us all by pulling out "The Year of the Cat" after all these years. Even though I think it is actually the year of something else this year-- marmoset? lynx? I don't have the placemat here. No matter. Cornelius Bofus' sax thingie was slammin'. Don and Walt are real class guys too-- sticking around after the show to meet my little sister's field hockey team, giving them pointers and guessing correctly that they were from an all-girls Catholic school. (They even guessed the girl's ages with amazing accuracy!) But yeah, great album. Sure wish there were more stars than five. And you have GOT to check out that parody of the Sonny Rollins "Out West" cover. Too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    same old same old

    This album has an awesome feel. It felt foreign to me at first, but so did all the other Steely Dan albums. I played it twice through and have to say I'm very impressed. The music, and lyrics for that matter, have subtle hooks that really tear into you after a few times listening. The funky groove, Becker's guitar solos, and Fagen's keen emphasis of lyrics are just the shell. The rest is many layers of sonic bliss, including Carolyn Leonhart's backing vocals and the superb horn section. This album tops their previous album, Two Against Nature, which earned four Grammy's. This album is to music as filet mignon is to food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    whats missing?

    steely dan, the egghead rocker/jazzy/ funky musicians who wowed me threw the years , seem alittle out of shape. ilove 4 1/2 songs on the new album, you pick your own favs. that is the trick they allways have songs for diffrent people . the reason i give them 3stars out of 5 ,well the lyrics are kicking great, don F.vocal sound is great but i liked the horn days, hard driven jazzy sound with the great funny lyrics, don F. weird vocal sound. these tracks are for every one so go out to your store give the thing a wurl, and don't forget to kiss your check-out gurl. the horns are therebut, not as hard jazzy sound of the 70-80 and even part 0f the 90's.but you make up your ouw concusions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Steely Dan's Latest Tops Their Grammy-Winner

    "Everything Must Go" is an amazing gift to connoisseur's of creative and well-crafted music. The tracks on this album get better with each listen.....characters jump out of lyrics, mystery provokes meaning, mortality casts its dark shadow, yet energy abounds. The multi-layered rock/jazz beat showcases Walter and Donald at the top of their game. "GodWhackers", "Pixeleen", and "Lunch with Gina" are exhilerating. Outstanding concept songs, such as the title track, are complemented by the fascinating brood of "Things I Miss the Most." Any professional music reviewers who feel compelled to knock down recent grammy-winners should completely open their ears and minds to this album. In terms of total quality music and song production by original artists, "Everything Must Go" is as good as it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This one is really gonna be great

    If this album is anything like the songs I heard on the 2002 tour, this cd could be their best one yet. A bunch of co-workers and I went out to see the band last summer and we really had a blast. I finished off a pint of El Toro beforehand and was in prime form. I nailed our intern in the back of my 89 Tempo outside in the parking lot and she gave me a wicked case of crabs. That was the only highlight and bummer of the night. The funniest thing was that our boss came along and when he went to the bathroom, I stuck my tongue in his wife's ear and spit in his coke. Nobody likes that prikk. Afterwards, I volunteered to drive home and took the sidewalks the whole way back. It was awesome, we had AC/DC jamming the whole way. I actually hit some lady's shopping cart that she was pushing around the neighborhood. Stupid bag lady. Some of the songs that they played live featured saxophonist Michael Brecker, who is an excellent Altoist. Their new drummer is phenominal, too. He really adds a jazzy feel to the music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1